Buying Off Road Caravan

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 17, 2012 at 13:05

SueB

Related Article

Off Road Caravans
This article discusses the features and advantages for off road caravans and in what ...

We are planning a trip to Cape York next year, and looking at purchasing an Off Road Caravan.
Looking at Roadstar, Trakmaster, Bushtracker, Kedron and Bushmaster. The size of the caravan will be around the 17 to 18 foot.
I would really appreciate any feedback if you own one of these and have taken it off road not just down a dirt road.
Speaking with dealers I keep getting mixed messages about the vans.

Sue B
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Back to Forum
Thread Watch Alert Moderator FAQ
ThreadID: 94956 Replies: 11
Views: 2916 FollowUps: 4
Thread Summary
AnswerID: 483351   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 17, 2012 at 14:25

toffytrailertrash replied:

Hi Sue

For a trip to Cape York there are only two on your list that I would be looking at:- Kedron and Bushtracker..if you are wanting new I suggest you order very soon as they both have a pretty severe lead time. I have had a Kedron TE on order now for over 12 months and won't be ready until end of July/August. My main reason for ordering the Kedron is the fact that it was made for travel anywhere in this big country of ours and come back in one piece. Strength and reliability with quite a lot of touches of quality.

Merv/Di
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 1 of 11
FollowupID: 758611   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 17, 2012 at 14:43

SueB posted:

Hi Merv

Thanks for your advice.
I have been in contact with the people from Bushtracker, just have to find time to fly down to Brisbane and have a look at the factory.

Sue and TonyB
Thumbs UpThanks 0
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 483353   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 17, 2012 at 15:04

Motherhen replied:

Hi Sue

We purchased an older (no frills) 18' Bushtracker pre-loved and well travelled in 2004. We have taken it on roads including the Gibb River Road and to Kalumburu, the Tanami Road, Mereenie Loop, to Chambers Pillar, the Great Central Road and the Gary Junction Road. The Savannah Way and on to the Cape may be our next trip. We purchased it because it was the toughest. Even the toughest caravans still require due care and maintenance, and we run lower tyre pressures on corrugated roads (tow vehicle and caravan). We would not take ours on true off road driving (eg through the Great Sandy Desert Kiwirrkurra to Balgo) mainly becaue of weight, but some gold fossickers do take smaller BTs off road. Due to the market demand for larger with all the frills caravans, Bushtracker will no longer make anything less than 18', hence the older 14' and 16' are highly sought after for a small specific need. Friend with a 14' Bushtracker from the same year as ours (1998) went to the Cape last winter. Many with larger Bushtrackers have also done this trip, as have other brands.

Any of the true tough road caravans are heavy, so tow vehicle to suit is an important consideration. Bushtracker now make a 18' "hybrid lite" model to suit those needing a lower towing weight. You will not buy a new Bushtracker through a dealer, and even most second hand vans sell quickly privately. They are a custom made to order caravan.

Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 2 of 11
AnswerID: 483377   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 17, 2012 at 17:46

Member - Syd R (QLD) replied:

Have you thought about a Quantum Off road. I have been to all the place you descibed. Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 3 of 11
AnswerID: 483380   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 17, 2012 at 18:04

rossy replied:

we have a Kimberley Karavan and it tows amazingly and runs straight behind in the Landcruiser tracks of our car. No probs through sand at Inskip and Fraser and can't wait to get to the Kimberleys and Cape York again
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 4 of 11
FollowupID: 758633   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 17, 2012 at 18:12

rossy posted:

..oh and PS be careful with tyre pressures we have a tyre dog installed as if the pressure gets low for some reason without notice a blowout can cause a lot of damage and god forbid injury. I was up there in 2000 and saw a camper on it's side with a family and it was the hitch which saved the car from being pulled over as well. Either a treg or hyland hitch. Anyway the corrugations on the developmental road were horrible, you can lose control easily if you go too fast. and by fast sometimes up there 60km is too fast!
I saw a lot of other problems with vehicles which I won't go into but you are lucky to get outta there with zero damage. I know it's 4WD but with the amount of vehicles I feel the tracks should be better maintained.
Thumbs UpThanks 0
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 758713   Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 18, 2012 at 14:12

Grumblebum and the Dragon posted:

Rossy,
There is no such place as the Kimberleys, or the Kimberlies or even Kimberley's just The Kimberley - the northern most region of WA.

Cheers John
Sometimes I wake up grumpy
Other times I let her sleep in
Thumbs UpThanks 0
FollowUp 2 of 2
SPONSOR MESSAGE Become a Sponsor
This could be an advert for your business!
Sponsorship of this page is available now – and for much less than you might think. Find out how you can reach Australia's largest online audience in the 4WD/RV/Camping industry.
www.exploroz.com/Advertising/Default.aspx
AnswerID: 483385   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 17, 2012 at 18:35

RobAck replied:

We own and Ultimate and whilst not a caravan they sent us an email last night announcing a new off road caravan which looks and sounds flash. So you may need to put that on your list as well. If it's as good as the camper trailers it will be an excellent product

RobA
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 5 of 11
AnswerID: 483398   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 17, 2012 at 20:02

Rascal replied:

Hi Sue,

As suggested Kedron or Bushtracker, not saying the other brands won't make it up and back just my experience towing the 19'6 Top Ender as long as you drive to the conditions and set your tyre pressures up either of these two vans will get you years of pleasure. It also depends what creature comforts you want when you pull up at at the end of the day. We are on our second Kedron and with any van the tow vehicle is also something that needs to be considered.
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 6 of 11
FollowupID: 758648   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 17, 2012 at 20:27

Jeff P posted:

Hi go to one of caravan shows and have good look and talk to people there you will find out heaps, all the caravan makers are on the offroad van banwagon ,from my experience a van with coil or airbag independent is far superior to leaf springs !
Jeff
Thumbs UpThanks 0
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 483404   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 17, 2012 at 20:45

Searay replied:

Hi Sue,
I also have a Bushtracker caravan and love it. We looked at bushtracker , Kedron and Spinifex and Bushtracker was what WE liked the best. We live in the Northern Territory and travel around a bit. any of the vans you have mentioned will do it but look how they are made and really pick your accessories.

We went for more (5 in total ) water tanks and 4 x solar panels and 4 x batterys. We can leave water tanks empty when not needed but due to where we travel water and having solar was more important than having luxury items. Never had a problem with the suspension on our van but we always adjust tyre pressures to suit.

Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 7 of 11
AnswerID: 483427   Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 18, 2012 at 09:06

Shelto S1 replied:

G'day Sue
We did the same research over the past two years or so. Spoke to as many owners of offroad vans as possible, read heaps of reviews, looked at many second-hand vans, went to Melbourne and Brisbane caravan shows (twice) and spoke to the manufacturers. Our final choice was to buy a custom built tandem axle 15'6" Trakmaster Kimberley. The layout we chose to build was with single beds, shower/toilet, pop top with all the usual good gear but you can design to suit your own needs. Absolutely a pleasure to deal with this manufacturer, nothing was a problem and would highly recommend as compared with some manufacturers we spoke with. Also believe after sales service is exceptional but to date have had need.
Weight, Tare 2000kg, ATM 2700kg (plenty of payload), length and height was a consideration as many of the roads/tracks we frequent are quite rough, soft and with overhanging branches etc. Towing with a 100 series Toyota TD has been far easier than I anticipated and we are extremely happy with our choice. Do not discount Trakmaster.
Enjoy whichever you choose.
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 8 of 11
AnswerID: 483448   Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 18, 2012 at 13:49

energy marty replied:

If you're coming up to QLD to check out caravans, I suggest you check out Spinifex as well - based in Deception Bay.

Awesome off-road caravans that will handle as much as a kedron or bushtracker
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 9 of 11
AnswerID: 483451   Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 18, 2012 at 14:07

Grumblebum and the Dragon replied:

Hi Sue,

We have owned from new a 19' Bushtracker since 1 June 2005 and live/travel in it on a full time basis. It is a superbly made bit of gear and we spend 90% of our time out in the bush..... travelling those little dotted-line back 'roads' you find on good topo maps. We have travelled extensive throughout the Kimberley Region and down into central WA's Little Sandy Desert and across the Gunbarrel Highway from Carnegie Station to Warburton. This magic track last saw a grader in 1986 and is a fin test for an off-road caravan.

Since new we have replaced one 12volt pump and two fridge thermostats and a cupboad door hinge. Considering the mileage and country it has been towed over I think this is little short of amazing. There are more than a few Claytons's off-rRoad vans out there that have nothing more than a bit of thin propeller checher plate and an off-road sticker.

Choose wisely

Sometimes I wake up grumpy
Other times I let her sleep in
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 10 of 11
AnswerID: 483460   Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 18, 2012 at 15:31

bazz replied:

I see you have Roadstar on your list, my 2nd hand 06 RS LE 17 footer tandem is custom built on a heavy duty Chassis with truss under A frame, it was custom built for light off road use, while the build quality is good , it is nowhere as robust as the other brands you mention, ( no where as heavy as well). The first time I went off road there was dust inside,annoying,( and broke the WD hitch) but for general towing it is superb, Ive followed other vans towed by cruisers (I use Patrol Ute) and seen them fishtail when Trucks pass in opposite lanes, mine just sits there never moves, only time it does move is when a semmi passes me then I get the suckion effect. this is my 1st van ,and have towed from Melbourne , Adelaide, Yorkes SA, Steaky bay, kalgooli, Esperance, Margret river ,Kalbarri now in Karratha, no problems what soever with van. If you could get Roadstar to build a true off roader(mine could do with longer A frame as back of ute hits bottles in tight turn) then I think you will be well satisfied, probably a little cheaper than the others as well. Other vanners with the other brands love them but they all say you know youve got them on the tow ball ,ie heavy. personally i wouldn't like to tow a heavy van in true off road conditions, deep mud, steep banks ,deep water crossings etc.(some do tho...!!)unless in convoy.
The other makes of van you mention will outlast mine ,have seem some 10 year old Kedrons bushtrackers that have been every where & they have stood up to the punishment well, but they 50% more in price to purchase. Cheers Barry , Pilbra.
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 11 of 11