Kidson Track and on - anyone travelled it recently?

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 10:30
ThreadID: 95108 Views:3071 Replies:4 FollowUps:8
Hi. I'm considering travelling the Kidson Track (WAPET Road) from 80 Mile Beach to Kunawarritji and then on to Alice Springs by the Jenkins Track and Gary Junction Road. I'll be towing an off-road C/T

My Explore Australia book - published in 2005 - says that 'few people travel this route'. Is that still the case? It does appear extremely remote although with no particularly difficult stretches - it's standard is said to be 'Moderate'

I'd be very grateful for comments from people who have actually traversed it recently

Geo

Reply By: briancc - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 12:07

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 12:07
Sorry, not recent - june 2009 - with a camper trailer. We did the same , 80 mile through to Alice Springs.
It was fine, prepare to have the paint a little scratched though. It's pretty bushy in places. Its a mixture of sandy, washaways, mild rocky, overgrown, but not difficult. Not a lot of people out on it. We didn't see anyone else until we got to Kunawarritji.
AnswerID: 484004

Follow Up By: 222 - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 12:20

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 12:20
Thanks for that briancc - just don't want to get bogged (in sand) towing the C/T. From your description there's not much chance of that if you stay on the track

Geo
FollowupID: 759263

Reply By: Mick O - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 14:46

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 14:46
Conditions don't change too much unless there has been a heap of rain. It's a fair track with a bit of everything and generally not too corrugated. This Video might give you an idea of what to expect.

Canning to the Kidson

(Sorry it was the first one I ever strung together so no music ;-)

Mick

AnswerID: 484022

Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 14:55

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 14:55
This previous post from January may offer some info as well.

Kidson Track Post (Jan 12) - 91011

FollowupID: 759278

Follow Up By: 222 - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 15:02

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 15:02
Thanks very much Mick - just downloading your video.
FollowupID: 759280

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 23:05

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 23:05
Thanks for your links Mick.

We're heading across that way with friends in early August, so I've been mining the internet for info.

I always enjoy watching your videos. They're different, informative and entertaining.

How important is it to cover up the front to keep out the spinifex on the Kidson?

Did you see some Rocky outcrops just to the south of the road, about 80 kms from the end, near where it crosses the Old Telegraph Track? I was hoping to have a look around there if it's worth it.

FollowupID: 759334

Follow Up By: Mick O - Thursday, Apr 26, 2012 at 23:11

Thursday, Apr 26, 2012 at 23:11
Steve, spinifex is not a major problem on the WAPET until you step off the track. If you have a snorkel, turn the scoop backwards though lest it fill with acacia. Don't run a sand flag and make sure you have a broom stick type UHF areal on a spring base. Anything less will not last.

I'm not familiar with the rocks you speak of but gather they are around the co-ordinates shown on the image below. It's not often you pass this way so anything is worth investigating and exploring (well that's my thoughts anyway).

Have fun out there mate. It's a great run. You'll love it.

FollowupID: 759590

Follow Up By: 222 - Friday, Apr 27, 2012 at 08:26

Friday, Apr 27, 2012 at 08:26
Hi Mick

I'd be interested to know more about the sandhills - I'll be driving a 2.8 Triton dual cab ute - I've had a blower fitted and the power has increased but not by much! I'll be towing a Cub C/T and there's just 2 of us and only a'reasonably' loaded rig.

I'd like to get a handle on just what the sandhills on this road are like. I'd like to feel confident my car will be able to get over easilly.

I'd like to get the same info on the Anne Beadell sandhills too.

R

Geo
FollowupID: 759601

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Friday, Apr 27, 2012 at 19:38

Friday, Apr 27, 2012 at 19:38
Thanks for your tips Mick.

I'm really looking forward to getting going - 94 days to go.

I read a blog on another site where the author had some really interesting photos from around the rocky outcrop I mentioned before. I read your blogs further after I sent the follow up and figured you didn't go that far west on the Wapet.

We'll be poking around a bit on the way through. As you mentioned, we don't get out that way too often.

Have a good weekend,

FollowupID: 759666

Reply By: Member - Des Lexic - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 21:13

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 21:13
We did the Kidson last year in July/August last year. It wasn't difficult except for the overgrown track. At points the branches over reached each other and we did get plenty of scratches. Next time, I'd apply a scratch resistant coating to the side panels of your vehicle. We were also towing trailers.
Cheers Des
AnswerID: 484066

Reply By: Navigator 1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 10:52

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 10:52
It was way back in 2009 when we did the Kidson Track alone. It is a very remote area with very little traffic and really, I would suggest travelling with a companion.

In Our WA Adventures 2009, part 3 covers the Wapet/Kidson Track.

This article was presented as a PDF file so the pictures cannot be enlarged.

Have a great time,
Rob
The outback calls

AnswerID: 484144

Follow Up By: 222 - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 15:14

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 15:14
G'day Navigator - I'd prefer to have a 'loose' arrangement with a companion couple to travel this track - and the Anne Beadell - but I don't have friends or relies that into this sort of holiday.

We might meet up with others along the way for the occasional evening meal/UHF hook up though and that'll be fine.

Geo
FollowupID: 759396