Thread Watch Alert Moderator FAQ
ThreadID: 95237 Replies: 6
Views: 1248 FollowUps: 2
Thread Summary
AnswerID: 484533   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 29, 2012 at 13:19

louie the fly replied:

Here you go. Best to get it first hand.

http://www.spiritoftasmania.com.au/about/terms-and-conditions/carriage-of-dangerous-goods-policy.html
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 1 of 6
AnswerID: 484534   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 29, 2012 at 13:20

George_M replied:

Last time we made this trip we handed over the gas bottles at the boarding point, and picked them up at the other end.

George_M
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 2 of 6
FollowupID: 759823   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 29, 2012 at 14:32

Member - MUZBRY(Vic) posted:

Gday George
A night spent on Mt Blue Rag ,after the first Chivas .27.12.2012.
Lifetime Member: My Profile  Send Message
Thumbs UpThanks 0
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 484538   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 29, 2012 at 14:12

Member - Ian W (VIC) replied:

Thanks a lot Fellas
Hope to see you on the Road
Adventure before Dementure
Lifetime Member: My Profile  Send Message
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 3 of 6
AnswerID: 484540   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 29, 2012 at 14:32

Kris and Kev replied:

We took our camper trailer over last year and the gas bottles were fine if they were connected, i.e. plumbed to the camper. They do check, in fact they do a very thorough check of everything. Kevin
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 4 of 6
FollowupID: 759825   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 29, 2012 at 15:36

Member - Rod N (QLD) posted:

We just came back today.They check the engine compartment for old rags, crook wiring etc. Our inspector even found a dead rat one time. As said only loose gas containers of any description have to be checked into the special trailer. They are looking for items that could cause or assist a fire. Not good on a ship.
Thumbs UpThanks 0
FollowUp 1 of 1
SPONSOR MESSAGE Become a Sponsor
This could be an advert for your business!
Sponsorship of this page is available now – and for much less than you might think. Find out how you can reach Australia's largest online audience in the 4WD/RV/Camping industry.
www.exploroz.com/Advertising/Default.aspx
AnswerID: 484543   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 29, 2012 at 15:38

Lifetime Member-Heather MG NSW replied:

Hi Ian,

Just leave them as is and when the inspectors do a check of your vehicle let them know. They are only concerned about the loose ones which campers use for stoves and lights, also loose butane canisters.

Tassie is a wonderful state...hope you have a great time there.

Heather
When you have worn out your shoes, the strength of the shoe leather has passed into the fibre of your body. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 5 of 6
AnswerID: 484556   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 29, 2012 at 17:44

Motherhen replied:

They also checked that ours were in current date code.

Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 6 of 6