AnswerID: 485121 Submitted: Sunday, May 06, 2012 at 13:07
Ron N
replied:
Doug - A good write-up for Sunday, thanks for the effort. I can recall I went North from
Perth in July 1969 with a mate in my near-new HK Holden ute, for a months tour that encompassed the length of W.A., across to
Darwin, back down to
Adelaide and then back to
Perth.
When we got to the (now defunct) Barradale Roadhouse, on the banks of the Yannarie River, we were met with two things that would be a sign of things to come, travelling North.
The first, was the end of the sealed road, and the start of the N.W. Coastal Hwy "track" (you couldn't call it a road) - and the second was a fully loaded, tri-axle low-loader, bogged to the makers name in the floodway crossing of the Yannarie River (there were very few bridges then, unlike today).
Once we got past the bogged float, and headed North again, the N.W. Coastal Hwy was just two wheeltracks across the red plains. Every few
miles you'd get a shock as you suddenly came across a massive hole in the "Highway", where a semi had gone down, and been dragged out, leaving a huge, unmarked hole.
I can remember talking to an old Slav prospector in the Goldfields in the late 1970's. Mick had come out here in 1923, and worked mostly between
Kalgoorlie and
Norseman. We were discussing the new, vastly improved, widened
Coolgardie-
Norseman Rd that had been recently built.
Mick said - "You wanna know something? They reckon that highway cost a million dollars a mile! You know what? It's worth every cent of it! When I first drove down from Widgiemooltha in 1923, the road was so bad, with bulldust, bogholes, corrugations, and ruts - you spent more time driving through the bush ALONGSIDE the road, than you did actually
ON the road!"
So, in one succint statement, old Mick summed up what good roads mean to us nowadays. The ability to travel long distances with little damage to vehicles, the ability to have our supplies delivered to us at low cost, and the ability for people to live in remote areas without the many deprivations that our older generations endured.
Cheers - Ron.
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 5 of 8
FollowupID: 760415 Submitted:
Sunday, May 06, 2012 at 20:58
Member - Doug T (NT) posted:
A good long reply Ron, and thanks, I went from
Perth to
Darwin in my 1962 EK Holden in 1967, it was ok until I turned of at Roebourne to
Marble Bar , from then on the sealed road was in or near towns , the 80 mile beach was quite a drive back then , nothing for 400
miles and the road was very close to the ocean with white sand.
No sealed road until within 34
miles of
Katherine, but I really enjoyed the trip.
| My sadly Missed Mate
Dusty, 8/6/1996 - 20/1/2010 |
Thumbs UpThanks 0
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 760450 Submitted:
Monday, May 07, 2012 at 14:19
Member - Dunworkin (WA) posted:
"Mick said - "You wanna know something? They reckon that highway cost a million dollars a mile! You know what? It's worth every cent of it! When I first drove down from Widgiemooltha in 1923, the road was so bad, with bulldust, bogholes, corrugations, and ruts - you spent more time driving through the bush ALONGSIDE the road, than you did actually
ON the road!"
I remember, as a
young kid back in the 50's and 60's, doing that across the Nullabor, over the years we were doing bush detours around detours. LOL
Great History Lesson as usual Doug, I remember doing that Highway towing a caravan (with 4
young kids) in 1980, towed that van over all the roads up through there, including Wittenoom and
Tom Price, the then Hammersley Range, but the worst patch of road that we travelled was between
Fitzroy Crossing and
Halls Creek, it was horrendous when we traversed it, we were fortunate that the van held together and we got no dust in the van, (mirracle), the only damage was broken eggs in the fridge, I was happy with that. :) :) :)
|
Simba, our much missed baby.
|
Thumbs UpThanks 0
FollowUp 2 of 2