What is my Patrol worth...?

Submitted: Monday, May 14, 2012 at 21:24
ThreadID: 95570 Views:3435 Replies:13 FollowUps:24
G'Day All,

Now this is not a sneaky attempt to advertise my Patrol on the forum pages, but I am seriously considering advertising my car, as I'm in a position with my new job that I probably need to get a dual cab ute.

I've had a look on various car sale sites, but I can't find my exact car to get a price guide !

If a few of you learned lot could make a few suggestions, it may help with my decision on do I or don't I.

It is an 04 Gu TD6, with 298,000km on the clock
front and rear diff locks, bull bar, winch, Kings & Konis etc, tradesman roof rack, twyne shower, rear draws.....yada yada yada.

any suggestions appreciated,

Cheers....Browny

Reply By: Will 76 Series - Monday, May 14, 2012 at 21:37

Monday, May 14, 2012 at 21:37
Browny, have a look at rebook.com.au, hopefully it may help.
Regards Will
AnswerID: 485832

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Monday, May 14, 2012 at 21:43

Monday, May 14, 2012 at 21:43
Yeah had a look mate, bugger all TD6 engines (4.2 Intercooled Turbo) hundreds of 3ltrs

Cheers Mate.
FollowupID: 761080

Reply By: Teejay - Monday, May 14, 2012 at 22:10

Monday, May 14, 2012 at 22:10
Some here. http://www.carsales.com.au/all-cars/results.aspx?N=1282+4294963846+4294963358+1216+937&eapi=2&vertical=Car&silo=Stock&Range=Year:2004,2005
AnswerID: 485837

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Monday, May 14, 2012 at 22:17

Monday, May 14, 2012 at 22:17
Thanks Tj, I'll check it out
FollowupID: 761082

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Monday, May 14, 2012 at 22:33

Monday, May 14, 2012 at 22:33
Gee wiz TJ, Dont the low km ones hold some value.....Far out
FollowupID: 761085

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, May 14, 2012 at 22:10

Monday, May 14, 2012 at 22:10
Browny as you'd be aware the TD6 was really the last of the good Nissan diesels so are selling well above the 18 to 26 K price guide you'll find in Redbook. On the downside your KM's too are well above the average for a car of that age & with all those extra's it will be asumed it's been used for some serious offroad driving at times. Dealers in particular will give almost nothing for assesories so to get a reasonable price you really need to sell private. As with any older car it all comes down to how they are treated, the maintenance & how it drives. For example Koni's are great shocks but would be well on their way out at 300k.
My guess 28k to the right buyer if in above average order?
Cheers Craig..............

AnswerID: 485838

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Monday, May 14, 2012 at 22:22

Monday, May 14, 2012 at 22:22
Yeah exactly Crackles, the Konis have only done about 50k, I replaced before our round oz trip. When I mentioned to a dealer recently that I was hoping for about 30k he wouldn't even tell me what there offer was going to be, I guess he just saw the 300,000k and the year!

Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 761083

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 19:13

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 19:13
Craig, I feel its under valued at that price! I agree with the rest of your post , If looked after, 300k is not big ks for that motor. Its definately the best of the motors and models to be offering.. Michael

FollowupID: 761143

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 21:04

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 21:04
Well Mick if you feel it's under valued, what price would you expect to get? (As opposed to wish for) ;-)
While it's hard to see 20 to 30 thousand dollars of assesories devalue so quickly, that's pretty much a fact of life. In the past I usually stripped most of the extra's off & sold them seperately at 30 to 50% of new value then when the car's polished up & the orginal near new plastic bits put back on it doesn't look like it's had a hard life offroad. I'd guess a winch with a worn roller fairlead, double lockers & red dust inside the guards will strip most of the value of the extra gear. Add the high KM's V's it's age & you can't expect top dollar.
If in top condition 30K+ may be acheivable for a private sale to some young fella keen to buy something with all the fruit.

Cheers Craig...................
FollowupID: 761154

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, May 17, 2012 at 15:56

Thursday, May 17, 2012 at 15:56
make it shine and it will sell...they are very sought after....if you have the time and inclination to get some more back, pull the assessories, but its a balancing act between which ones and how far do u go....
Shine her up and put top dollar on it and see what happens....
FollowupID: 761294

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Thursday, May 17, 2012 at 17:34

Thursday, May 17, 2012 at 17:34
Cheers Dozer,

Yeah no real inclination to remove accessories, and try and sell them, like you say shine her up and see how it goes I guess
FollowupID: 761300

Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 05:07

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 05:07
G'day, one of the last true Patrols, priceless...................

AnswerID: 485850

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 17:13

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 17:13
Ha.....My thoughts exactly John....!
FollowupID: 761127

Reply By: GT Campers - Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 09:06

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 09:06
Can you sell it to mate or colleugue?
I know it is said 'never sell a car to someone you know' but it's good way for someone you know to get the benefit of a great vehicle (assuming it's agood rig with no hassles!!) with all the gear, rather than someone you don't. I did this with my last Pathy - loaded with a lot of kit. Accesories etc add very little $ value to the car but they do make it more appealing and easier to sell to an enthusiastic buyer who wants all the gear.

Now, you have to weigh up whether you will sell quick or cope wiith four months worth of phone calls, silly questions and no-shows to get a few grand more.

With those kays (said with respect, it's 2/3 worn out) try advertise it for a 3.0-litre price and it should catch the eye of someone who will appreciate it
AnswerID: 485858

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 17:19

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 17:19
Yeah I'm hearing you GT, Donk is still fantastic new oil every 5000k, but the buyer doesn't really know that I guess, be a bloody good truck for 30k I reckon

Cheers....Browny
FollowupID: 761128

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 17:46

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 17:46
It is 8 years old and its hard to get too much for extras but privately i reckon about $36 plus . On the patrol forum, there are plenty of guys with dud 3 litre engines, shelling out big dollars to convert their vehicles to 4.2TD. Michael

AnswerID: 485886

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 18:43

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 18:43
Cheers Michael, I'll have a look, I tried last night, but couldn't remember my log in details.

Cheers....Browny
FollowupID: 761137

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 19:06

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 19:06
Browny! That was only my guess, what do you think as a rough guess?? Michael

FollowupID: 761141

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 08:59

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 08:59
Dunno really Mick, I was sort of hoping for 35k but maybe 30k,It's also been a fantastic truck for me, literally general maintenance only, other than new clutch at 250,000k, brakes etc, heaps of sentimental value, but as you know, sentiment is worth bugger all in dollar terms. It is still straight, but some bush pin striping etc, one of the plastic flairs has a nasty scrape, the lockers have done bugger all work, I really wasn't into hard 4x4 stuff, the rear one was in it when I bought it new (of another exploroz member) the front I had fitted only 15months ago, before our round oz trip, just for piece of mind as we were travelling solo, I've hardly engaged it, but all this stuff is meaningless to a new buyer I reckon, as some have mentioned it is built for tough work, so it will be assumed it has done plenty.

Cheers....Browny
FollowupID: 761180

Reply By: Member - nick b - Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 21:46

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 21:46

SILLY Question that Browny .... LOL

Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 485922

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 09:04

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 09:04
Ha, Mate you'd be the perfect buyer I reckon......lol
FollowupID: 761182

Reply By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 22:13

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 22:13
Sorry mate but I'd wager that what you actually get someone to hand over for it will be a huge amount less than you are hoping. The mileage is the killer for you. My recommendation is to budget on receiving $4,000-5,000 less than the lowest estimate you get fom people who don't want to offend you.

I've recently been through this process twice and have been amazed at how little people would pay for really good cars. There was no reasoning with them, they just wouldn't pay and in many cases were downright offensive. We had people texting us offering $1,000 or $2,000 for vehicles that subsequently sold for 10 times that. One such guy even rang demanding we respond to his text!

Good luck with it, and sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

Cheers, Paul
AnswerID: 485925

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 09:03

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 09:03
Yeah no Probs Paul,

I'm hearing you I just hope the "Icon" value of the TD6 will attract the rite buyer, + all the fruit.....Maybe?

Cheers....Browny
FollowupID: 761181

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 10:42

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 10:42
A similar thing is/has happened with the 100 series factory turbo Landcruiser. I have seen plenty of examples of a similar year model with 200-300+ km go for around the $40k mark.

Now I'm in the situation of owning the 105 series Landcruiser which in contrast is worth bugger all. It's the factory turbo that lifts the price greatly.

I've thought about trading up/down (depending upon your perspective) but the numbers just don't add up paying those sort of $$ for a car that's done a lot of work and is 8 years old.

Yes, the 4.2 turbo diesel engine in both the Toyota and Nissan are very good reliable engines which from the factory are under-stressed and have a very long life if looked after well. What people fail to realise is that the rest of the car wears out at a 'normal' rate. Drive train needs work, bearings, electrical items and even more importantly the actual body parts. Stress cracks, dust inside door skins, locks failing, doors creaking, rattles etc, not to mention the interior wear, such as seat cushions, plastic items, carpets and the list goes on.

Yes they will probably keep going for years to com, but how reliably and how comfortably?

For me, I would rather stash the $$ away and save up for something that's not so old, as for the sort of $$ that is being asked for these cars for their 'perceived' icon value just does not stack up over the long term IMHO.

Good luck with the sale Browny. I would have no hesitation of asking what you think the market will pay. At the end of the day it's silly to accept less than what someone will pay.

Now to try to figure out what's next for me? It's tough....

CHeers,

AnswerID: 485954

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 14:50

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 14:50
G'Day Mark,

Yeah ya right, Funny you mention that stuff, I was just giving the inside a basic clean the other day, and noticed how my seat (aftermarket ARB) is showing wear on the sides, where you slide in and out, and also the centre console lid, where I rest my arm is warn and has a split in the vinyl, all stuff that to me seems bugger all, but maybe not to a buyer forking out $30-$35k

Cheers....Browny
FollowupID: 761218

Reply By: GT Campers - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 12:25

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 12:25
Browny, there are always a few hero sellers on the car sales sites that think because it's a 4.2 Nissota it's worth new Prado D4D money with 150-300Kkm on them so in comparison yours would be well-noticed at well below these "tell him he's dreamin'" prices.

can you buy a trailer instead of a ute? Serious suggestion....

AnswerID: 485960

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 14:56

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 14:56
GT,

Yeah I must admit to being a bit surprised at some of the prices on the 100,000k models!!!

I've got a little 6x4 trailer for work, but not really ideal for what I do

Cheers....Browny
FollowupID: 761219

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 13:53

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 13:53
Browny

I think there are a number of angles to this type of question, and whilst you can look at the vehicle and try assess based on what you paid for it, the accessories added, how it compares to others, what others are selling for and come up with a price.

In reality I think one of the things that points towards getting less, rather than more, is the lack of confidence people have in the current economic outlook, and their personal finances.

A Consumer Sentiment report released today is an interesting read, and on the question of “Time to buy a vehicle” the answer is negative, down by 11% from a year ago.

That doesn’t mean you can’t get the price you are looking for, but on average I think people are being far more cautious with their spending at present, and that reflects in many ways, including lower asset prices, cars being one.

Good luck with it...hope you get what you want!
AnswerID: 485966

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 15:01

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 15:01
Good point Landy,

One I hadn't really considered, but I guess if I wait 12 or more months for the economy to turn around, I could quite possibly have another 50,000k on the clock, then I'm advertising a 350,000k car..... sounds a lot more than 295,000k

Cheers....Browny
FollowupID: 761220

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 16:01

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 16:01
And I wouldn't necessarily suggest you do that, but simply highlighting that this will be a factor in used car prices softening...

Good luck with it, be interested how it goes for you...Cheers

FollowupID: 761224

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 21:28

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 21:28
Cheers Landy
FollowupID: 761243

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 17:54

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 17:54
Browny! What ever you get for it im sure will be ok and i would rather be selling a 4.2 with 300k on the clock that a 2004 3 litre with 100k on the clock. You will at least get a heap of interest. Start high and take all the phone numbers of the people that show interest and you can drop the price if you need to. Original price was $59,000 so even if you got half of that, there are not too many vehicles that can achieve that after 8 years. As i mentioned, there are plenty of guys who probably paid $25k for a 3 litre who are now fitting 4.2 and chev diesels at huge expense after the initial vehicle cost who wished they had paid more for a 4.2TDI.. My 2003 4.2 clocked 335k today, had it since new and has cost nothing other than normal servicing.. original alternator,clutch etc, you cant beat that!! My original 1999 4.2td GU is still in the family and has around 450,000ks and is original except for a new clutch at 350,000ks.....you cant kill them!!! Let us know how you get on!! MIchael.

AnswerID: 485974

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 21:26

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 21:26
Cheers Michael,

Much appreciated !
FollowupID: 761242

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 21:42

Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 21:42
Michael,

Just to add, I was thinking the other day, how good would it be if my young bloke was 16 or 17 yo, (he's only 10) I'd love to give it to him to keep in the family, when I told him I was thinking of selling "The Mighty Patrol" he was seriously disappointed, as he has so many fabulous memories from a family point of view......

Orrrr gee.....Gonna be tough to sell.....!
FollowupID: 761245

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, May 17, 2012 at 06:53

Thursday, May 17, 2012 at 06:53
Yes Browny, I understand the sentimemtal strings,,, It would be nice but its generally not practicle.... Good luck with the new truck and the sale if you go that way!! Regards Michael

FollowupID: 761256

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Thursday, May 17, 2012 at 13:15

Thursday, May 17, 2012 at 13:15
Cheers Mate !
FollowupID: 761278

Reply By: Nutta - Thursday, May 17, 2012 at 20:03

Thursday, May 17, 2012 at 20:03
I'm no expert but id just advertise it for $30 to $35k, with all those extras youll get something pretty close.

You can only come down, better to start a bit higher imo!
AnswerID: 486072