QLD rules for LED light bars

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 20:58
ThreadID: 98126 Views:12586 Replies:5 FollowUps:16
Interesting reading for those who have already purchased a LED light bar for the 4WD.

It's just for QLD but the others may well follow. It appears that nothing has changed. Lights in pairs and at the front. Not allowed on the roof as that could NEVER be understood to be the front.

QLD LED light rules

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 21:25

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 21:25
As the Press Release said......."ONLY IN QUEENSLAND" lol

AnswerID: 495259

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 22:05

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 22:05
Not sure why they need to be in pairs but mounted on the roof can certainly cause problems. Recently followed a fella with a light bar on a main road who was in a long dip. He thought he was fine being on high beam but because he was sitting lower than the light bar, didn't relize he was blinding the on-coming traffic. I suppose a bit like cars bliding truck drivers at times because they sit so much higher than their headlights.
Cheers Craig.............
AnswerID: 495261

Reply By: MP - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 22:14

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 22:14
The way I read that is that the moratorium only applies in Qld but the ADR 13/00 the article refers to is Australia wide. So if your driving lights are not mounted in pairs ie. single bull lamp between 2 spotties or your spotties are not 600mm apart you are breaking the law. Mmmmmmm
AnswerID: 495262

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 22:39

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 22:39
MP,

As I read it, driving lights are exempt from the 600mm minimum distance.

FollowupID: 770938

Reply By: muzzgit - Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 23:53

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012 at 23:53
I've never understood why spot lights on roof bars are not policed more. We see them in the country all the time yet it is in the country where truck drivers have to put up with them.
AnswerID: 495267

Follow Up By: disco driver - Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 00:36

Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 00:36
Wank Factor perhaps ??

Disco.
FollowupID: 770940

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 08:37

Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 08:37
We all know roof lights are up there as part of "driver ego". I actually got a headache once from the reflection back off the bull bar in a mates car with lights on the roof. Wont go in it at night again. Sure it took a couple of hours but it did strain the eyes. I refused to drive it and got in the back.

The answer is simple Muzz, paperwork and police presence. They cannot be everywhere and booking people for everything can they. Not enough time in the day. It's the same with jay walkers, loud exhausts, broken headlights or not working ones, cracked windscreens etc etc etc etc. Something has to be left alone and that means the minor issues are neglected.

What was that saying: "Take care of the pennies and the pounds will take care of themselves". That's been forgotten. Time and money is the driving force.

The one that annoys me is missing or lousy mud flaps on trailers and vans. Broken windscreen one day from stones tossed up by a fisherman with a trailer and no mud flaps on it. Protected his "precious truck" but cared stuff-all for anyone either following or passing. We have a stone guard on the front of the bull bar all the time now.

That was another good present. Cheap but effective. I think that it cost around $30 and it also stops bugs getting to the radiators. I have changed the wire as it has been bent a bit by stones.
FollowupID: 770948

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 09:16

Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 09:16
Thanks for posting this info, Phil. Very interesting.

The example photo of the prime mover would obviously belong to the mob I've been working for. They've spent a lot of money fitting those big light bars to all their trucks, so imagine they would welcome the "dividing cover" option.

Agree with with your comments re police presence too, Phil. Plenty of unroadworthy vehicles on the road, day & night.Police regularly, well, 2-4 times/year, run a road block on the Thomson River bridge, near Longreach, for about 4 days. They catch quite a few druggies, and even the odd truck driver, for being a bit naughty.

I rocked up one morning, heading home, and with headlights on. Pulled up, had the breath test & license check, and another copper wanders over: "How do you like the HID headlights?" Done, I thought. "Good, lot less eye strain etc etc" He didn't say anymore, and the attending officer let me go. Phew!!!

Unless they bring in regular roadworthy inspections, nothing will change. And even then those tests would be open to rorts.

FollowupID: 770952

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 09:42

Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 09:42
We have two cars. One, a Maxima bought new in 2000, that is now 12 years old and a 100 series, bought 2nd hand in 2009, now 7 years old. Both were inspected when we bought them. Not one single inspection since. It's a joke and no wonder there are so many bad cars on the road.

We keep them both legal for two main reasons, one for safety and two to just plain old "do the right thing". We are not alone in this and you could walk around any car park and see heaps of all types of vehicles that appear illegal.

Most of the "legalities" are safety and reliability issues anyway. So what's the harm. Yep I tossed the ego hat out back when I was quite a bit younger and met a girl who was not impressed by "ego"s. Still married to her 43 yrs later.

You take care of your car and it will "look" after you in the bush in return.

FollowupID: 770956

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 10:09

Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 10:09
Phil,
how do you get them registered in NSW without a Rego check?
Cheers Dave
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 770960

Follow Up By: Capt. Wrongway - Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 10:32

Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 10:32
I just got pulled up with a group of cars last weekend. There were three cops doing breath tests and licence checks. On my 09 120 Prado I have two LED flood lights on the rear of my roof basket, two LED flood lights on the front on the basket ( angled slightly outwards for track navigation ) and another two mounted on the bullbar between my two driving lights.

The young cop thought he would make life difficult for me by quoting rules and regs. My response to him was that the roof LEDs were for off road only and were controlled by a separate switch, and that the ones on the bullbar were wired up with the driving lights on high beam.

He was getting a bit heated when the older cop ( sergeant ) came over, listened to my reasoning, and then told the young cop to "pull his head in".

So it goes to show that some cops use common sense and reasoning when given the chance.

Capt.
FollowupID: 770962

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 10:47

Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 10:47

Check the PM. Nothing illegal that way.

For track navigation the two fog lights put out a nice wide and low spread that suits us. We aren't usually going fast in "close" country so we do not see the need for anything else. And the twin headlights are enough for us.

No external flood lights just two good bright reversing lights and one flood light for inside the annex to the roof top tent. Ever since we were annoyed by a bloke camped near us with lights all over the car we said NO to them for us. We just have enough for us alone in our "space" in the annex. If we go out then we take a torch.

Besides it ruins the atmosphere such as that in the photo below.

Catchya

FollowupID: 770963

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 10:59

Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 10:59
Bob Y

Nice looking truck. I used to drive the one below in my Nasho days. Very interesting at night in blackout conditions following the tanks. Where they went so did we. Many a tree disappeared that we didn't see. Bent the front bar on a big one once. Pulled it out with a little help of some oxy and a big 1" cable.

Only lights allowed in blackout were those masked "slitted" ones that only shone out a narrow thin strip about a meter off the groung to light up a white object (such as a whilt painted diff) on the vehicle in front or a white cross on the back of a tank. Fun and games like you have never had before.

The blackout ones are the outermost yellow looking ones with the "slot" just visible.

FollowupID: 770964

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 11:36

Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 11:36
Mean looking lorry, Phil. A real bruiser.

FollowupID: 770970

Follow Up By: Lyn W3 - Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 21:34

Thursday, Sep 20, 2012 at 21:34
I'm also wondering how you get away with not having inspections

(That's if you are actually in NSW as your signature indicates)
FollowupID: 770989

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Sep 21, 2012 at 08:36

Friday, Sep 21, 2012 at 08:36
Lyn

Totally legal and nothing to do with the topic.

FollowupID: 770998

Follow Up By: Lyn W3 - Friday, Sep 21, 2012 at 14:00

Friday, Sep 21, 2012 at 14:00
Phil,

You were the one who bought up the subject of your lack of inspections

"We have two cars. One, a Maxima bought new in 2000, that is now 12 years old and a 100 series, bought 2nd hand in 2009, now 7 years old. Both were inspected when we bought them. Not one single inspection since. It's a joke and no wonder there are so many bad cars on the road."

Just wondering how you do it.
FollowupID: 771010

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Sep 21, 2012 at 14:16

Friday, Sep 21, 2012 at 14:16
For crying out loud.

Like some people who like to hide behind user names and cover the number plates we do not necessarily want to say where we live as it is just more information for the ratbags who like to invade your home when you are in the Simpson. We have been burgled before and don't want it again.

Just drop it please Okay!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like I said - Where I live has nothing to do with LED light bars. I don't even want any. Okay!!!!

FollowupID: 771011

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Sep 21, 2012 at 15:01

Friday, Sep 21, 2012 at 15:01
At last someone took the hint.

Lyn
FollowupID: 771012

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Sep 21, 2012 at 15:56

Friday, Sep 21, 2012 at 15:56
Phil,

Tell me about the stone guard. What is its construction? What angles does it protect you from?

After two broken screens I am interested.

Thanks mate.

AnswerID: 495362

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Sep 21, 2012 at 16:23

Friday, Sep 21, 2012 at 16:23

I will PM you

Okay.

FollowupID: 771014