Don't let you tyres down in the sand, what next?

Submitted: Monday, Jan 19, 2004 at 22:15
ThreadID: 9872 Views:2495 Replies:10 FollowUps:13
An employee just purchased his first 4x4 and with it came a free driver training course.
I could not believe it when he said that they had told them not to let their tyres down in the sand and only to let them down for recovery and then pump them back up. Apparently they don't wont to be caught up in lidergation by telling people to let tyres down. They also told them it would void their insurance and that all the "Lower tyre preasure" signs on Fraser island have been removed for the same reasion.
Apparently some backpackers rolled a hire 4x4 being idiots. I would think teaching people not to be idiots would be a better couse of action.

Big John

Reply By: Michelle from ExplorOz - Monday, Jan 19, 2004 at 23:01

Monday, Jan 19, 2004 at 23:01
Big John,
I appreciate if your employee doesn't want to publicly post the name of the 4wd trainer, but I would be interested in following up on this if you could pls send us an email directly (off forum) with the business details I will investigate. I would like to know if this is the current official line all 4WD trainers will be taking etc and also investigate the policies of insurance. It just doesn't make sense to me ...ExplorOz
AnswerID: 43596

Follow Up By: Big John (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 17:43

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 17:43
Michelle,
I will talk to my employee tomorrow and get the full story and then email you the details. Yes, I don't want to publicly name the trainer on the forum as they have had a good reputation and have helped A lot of people in 4wds, though if this is what they are now telling people it probably would not hert to ask where they got their information and advise.

Regerds John.
FollowupID: 305925

Reply By: Brett - Monday, Jan 19, 2004 at 23:08

Monday, Jan 19, 2004 at 23:08
That is a prime example of todays safety and duty of care advocates who preach"common sense cannot be measured" so we have to have rules and systems in place to avoid accidents at all cost.
AnswerID: 43597

Reply By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Monday, Jan 19, 2004 at 23:38

Monday, Jan 19, 2004 at 23:38
As a Nationally recognised accredited trainer I do tell people to let thier tyres down in sand, I also make it extremely clear to them that tyres must be pumped up to recommended pressures before driving again on hard surfaces. We don't recommend dropping pressures below 15lb. We also advise to try a 10lb decrease initially then lower if required. Cheers RobCairns Offroad Training & Tours
AnswerID: 43602

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Monday, Jan 19, 2004 at 23:55

Monday, Jan 19, 2004 at 23:55
Big John,
In the event of getting stuck with over inflated tyres and damage is done to the vehicle during the recovery or the vehicle can't be recovered because it's to stuck, where do you stand with insurance and the vehicle warranty? Does the "trainer" accept responsibility for this seeing as his "expert advice" was to leave them inflated, just interested.Keep the shiny side up
AnswerID: 43608

Follow Up By: jemima puddle duck - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 12:23

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 12:23
good point.
and how would you go with a burnt out clutch on a waranty claim.
you reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

FollowupID: 305884

Follow Up By: Blinky - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 14:55

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 14:55
That's if his insurer covers him off road.

DOH [ View Image]

FollowupID: 305904

Reply By: Member - jtb - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 03:33

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 03:33
what about enviroment rather be fishing
AnswerID: 43619

Reply By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 10:40

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 10:40
What about the potential litergation for those international tourists who died in the bush because the hire companies failed to advise them to lower tyre pressures in sand that resulted in them becomeing bogged and then dying because they couldn't recover their vehicle. Imagine trying to cross the simpson with high tyre pressures and the resulting damage to the enviroment.Dare to Lead not to Follow
AnswerID: 43643

Reply By: Member - Mal (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 11:23

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 11:23
QPWS rangers aren't allowed to tell you to let your tyres down but they will tell you what pressure they are running in their vehicles.

Mal T.
AnswerID: 43646

Reply By: jeff-wa - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 12:10

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 12:10
What the hell is happening to our country!?
When did all these morons that make these stupid rules and regulations get into positions of power. Looks like we might have to go live in the middle of the simpson desert just to get away from all this crap!
AnswerID: 43653

Follow Up By: jemima puddle duck - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 12:25

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 12:25
just remember when yoy move to middle of the desert.
dont let your tyres down lol.
you reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

FollowupID: 305885

Follow Up By: Member - Peter (York) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 13:03

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 13:03
they will still find you via satalite and then phone you on the sat phone to tell you your tax payment is overdue99 GU Patrol 4.2 TD
Peter York 4x4
FollowupID: 305888

Follow Up By: jeff-wa - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 13:44

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 13:44
I'd like to see the tax office representative try and catch me in the middle of the desert while he's driving along with his tyres at 42PSI!! :-P
FollowupID: 305892

Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 17:21

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 17:21
And when you eventually die out there, they will make a claim against your estate to recover your body when all you wanted to do is be buried out there. Hopefully the hearse will get stuck in the sand. LOLDare to Lead not to Follow
FollowupID: 305920

Follow Up By: Member - W.Wallace - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 11:52

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 11:52
Jeff,
Totally agree with you. Just say hello when you get there(middle of the desert), because I will probably all ready be there.
I have also had a gutfull of the way this over regulated/ over litigious/selfish/becoming the 52nd? state of the USA country is going.

What happend to the Help your mates/accept responsibility for your own
actions/no worries mate, she'll be right/ have fun without hurting anyone else country I love?

Peace.
FollowupID: 306031

Follow Up By: Slammin - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 22:02

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 22:02
Hey I live in the middle of the desert and you can all find somewhere else to hide.

Just to rub it in, I can't get a speeding fine either.

Naa Naa
FollowupID: 306113

Reply By: nugget - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 20:05

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 20:05
In W.A. there are some places where you will cop a fine if you do not reduce your tyre pressures. The sand dune area before Steep point being one.
AnswerID: 43716

Follow Up By: Bitsumishin - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 20:34

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 20:34
I can confirm this. Mind you, you'd have a job getting up there without letting your tyres down
FollowupID: 305951

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 22:57

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 22:57
Nugget,
Good point also, D'Entrecasteaux NP is the same in some places, the signs there TELL you to lower your pressures or you will get fined, and that's telling you to take them down to 10 psi, bit low for my liking but that's what's printed on the sign, this is specifically on the little track going out of Windy Harbour going East I saw it myself. Keep the shiny side up
FollowupID: 305988

Follow Up By: David N. - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 07:51

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 07:51
Martyn,
I'm sure the lawyers will hear about those signs and "fix" them...
Groan>>>
Nearly EVERYTHING we do nowadays is "driven" by the bloody lawyers!
I see it every day at work, and at leisure.
Sorry about that, but I hate 'em!
FollowupID: 306008

Follow Up By: Bitsumishin - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 09:32

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 09:32
Whats the difference between a prostitute and a lawyer?
There are somethings even a prostitute won't do for money
FollowupID: 306018

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 17:03

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 17:03
it's high time we all accepted responsibility for our actions and stepped aside from the litigous society that we've become.
Thankfully your employee had you to put him/her straight John and I reckon you'll be pointing them in the direction of this forum also so they're on the right track.
Good work
AnswerID: 43814