<span class="highlight">Cape</span> <span class="highlight">York</span> Prep 2014

hey people,

i am in the stage of planing for the Cape York in mid 2014. I'm going with 5 other people with different vehicles (2 x ranger, cruiser, patrol, prado and my bravo). everyone has different setups and skill levels but we are going up to have fun and tackle the whole thing.

we are based in Adelaide and are giving ourselves 4 weeks for the trip, we know its going to take 3-4 days just to drive to cairns. from there we are a bit blank as to which way to head. i know there are a few different routes to get to the top. we don't want to take the easy way outs to get to the top but we aren't afraid to say hell no on some difficult tracks.

what are your ideas of where to go and what bits to skip. and any good fishing spots along the way.

thanks

max

btw do we need to organise any permits or ferry tickets before we leave, or can that all be done once we get up there??

Reply By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 13:01

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 13:01
G'day Max....I've taken groups to Cape York on 4 separate occasions over the past 10 years the most recent being Jul-Sep 2012. If you give me an email address I'll send you the trip plan for this trip. You might find it useful and the bunch of contact phone numbers might come in handy.
AnswerID: 501378

Follow Up By: Max H - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 13:08

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 13:08
max1@internode.on.net
FollowupID: 777479

Follow Up By: Member - silkwood - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 13:37

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 13:37
Patrol, I'd appreciate that list too, if you wouldn't mind!

silknfeathers@gmail.com
FollowupID: 777482

Follow Up By: Member - Granty55 - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 14:24

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 14:24
Patrol22, Can I jump on the band wagon too, we're thinking about Cape York this year, so would also appreciate your trip plan as well!

Thanks, Ron
rjlmc88@gmail.com
FollowupID: 777489

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 14:30

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 14:30
Check your inboxes fellas - just sent a bunch of stuff to you.
FollowupID: 777490

Follow Up By: Max H - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 14:51

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 14:51
this has been a great help to start the planning. in regards to the national parks or the ferry, can this be done when we are up there or does it need to be done now??

thanks

max
FollowupID: 777491

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 14:56

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 14:56
Max...all camping in QLD National Parks must now be booked on line before you get there. If you are travelling in the Jun-Oct timeframe then I would book well in advance to ensure your spot....especially at the highly popular places like Eliot Falls and the like. The ferry doesn't require pre-booking.
FollowupID: 777492

Follow Up By: Robyn R4 - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 15:01

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 15:01
Hey, Patrol!
Pretty please can you throw one into
krypton006@bigpond.com?
Big thanks!
FollowupID: 777493

Follow Up By: Member - John - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 17:25

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 17:25
G'day, pretty please, can I get the info too? jlsulli@bigpond.com. Planning on doing the Cape in July this year. Thanks in advance. John

FollowupID: 777510

Follow Up By: Nicko 57 - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 20:15

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 20:15
if not too late can i be on the wagon we also planing
trip to the top thank you joenicholl@bigpond.com

joe
FollowupID: 777527

Follow Up By: Member - Rob K (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 10:52

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 10:52
Hi Patrol22,

I'm planning a trip to Cape York with two other vehicles in July/August this year. Any chance of getting a copy of your trip plan as well? Email address should be available through my membership profile. If not, get back to me.

Thanks in advance.

Rob K
FollowupID: 777568

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 12:25

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 12:25
Sorry Rob K....I'm not a member of the site so that facility is not available to me - you will need to post an email address. Happy to send the info to you.
FollowupID: 777582

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 12:30

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 12:30
Hey Patrol You asked for that one. (chuckle)

FollowupID: 777583

Follow Up By: Member - Rob K (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 13:50

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 13:50
Hi Patrol22,

Email address for trip plan is ausgorilla57@gmail.com.

Rob K
FollowupID: 777592

Follow Up By: Member - Peter H1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 16:14

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 16:14
Hi Patrol,
I too would appreciate one as well. I'm planning to go in June 2013.

petereholmes@bigpond.com

FollowupID: 777596

Follow Up By: Tony B3 - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 18:22

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 18:22
Hi Patrol,
I would appreciate one as well if not to much trouble.
Heading up in July 2013.
Thanks .
greatlaketony@gmail.com
FollowupID: 777608

Follow Up By: Digby R - Tuesday, Jan 08, 2013 at 22:18

Tuesday, Jan 08, 2013 at 22:18
Hi Patrol
I would also appreciate a copy
email digrayward@bigpond.com
Hoping to head up in July /August

FollowupID: 778421

Follow Up By: Kullamulla - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 14:13

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 14:13
Hi Patrol,
We are heading up late May 2013 and would appreciate a copy as well. Look what you've started!!

kullamulla64@gmail.com

FollowupID: 778989

Follow Up By: chirst - Monday, Jan 21, 2013 at 14:03

Monday, Jan 21, 2013 at 14:03
Hi Patrol

I would love a copy too ..... matnclaire@optusnet.com.au

Thanks in advance
:-)
FollowupID: 779683

Follow Up By: Member - astrogirl14 - Monday, Jan 28, 2013 at 14:24

Monday, Jan 28, 2013 at 14:24
Hi Patrol,
sounds like everyone's jumping on the band wagon, so hoping you can include me too.
FollowupID: 780218

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Monday, Jan 28, 2013 at 19:46

Monday, Jan 28, 2013 at 19:46
Can do astrogirl14 but I will need an email address...as I'm not a member of the site the PM function won't work for me.
Pete
FollowupID: 780257

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Monday, Jan 28, 2013 at 20:07

Monday, Jan 28, 2013 at 20:07
Seeing as the "boss" wants to go to Staaten River fishing looks like we are going back. Can I have one also: vk1dx@bigpond.net.au

FollowupID: 780260

Follow Up By: Member - astrogirl14 - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2013 at 14:35

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2013 at 14:35
Hi Patrol - Pete,

my email is debatay@hotmail.com
thanks for getting back to me

Deb
FollowupID: 780290

Follow Up By: Greg H8 - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2013 at 17:47

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2013 at 17:47
Hi Patrol,

Any chance I can get a copy of your trip planner as well. Am a bit nervous being in charge of the itinerary for our group.
reggiegirl@bigpond.com
Thank you in advance
Sam
ps. go the patrol!!!!
FollowupID: 780304

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2013 at 11:17

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2013 at 11:17
I think I've sent the material through to everyone who asked for it ....if I've missed anyone just holler and I'll get it to you soonest.
Pete
FollowupID: 780346

Follow Up By: Jackie M1 - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2013 at 19:51

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2013 at 19:51
Hi Patrol22,
We are planning a trip next year and would love to see your trip plan.

Can you please add me to your email list?
jackiemartin@y7mail.com

Appreciate your time thanks
FollowupID: 780406

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2013 at 21:05

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2013 at 21:05
Should be in you inbox JackieM1
FollowupID: 780414

Follow Up By: Ginny R - Thursday, Jan 31, 2013 at 14:13

Thursday, Jan 31, 2013 at 14:13
Hi Patrol22

We are heading up in May this year and I wonder if you could please email me your list as well.

Virginia.Pattison@bigpond.com

Many thanks
FollowupID: 780449

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Jan 31, 2013 at 14:40

Thursday, Jan 31, 2013 at 14:40
Done Ginny R - check your inbox. Holler if they aren't there.
FollowupID: 780452

Follow Up By: Clan Lindsay - Saturday, Feb 02, 2013 at 13:42

Saturday, Feb 02, 2013 at 13:42
Hi wondering if you would also mind sending it to cass@scozzies.net

We are looking at giving it a go next year
FollowupID: 780626

Follow Up By: Member - smiddy - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2013 at 06:55

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2013 at 06:55
Morning mate, just browsing and seen info about your trip plan. My brother with a dmax camper and boat nad me 75 series camper and boat heading up straight after Collingwood flog essendon, would love a copy of your plan

FollowupID: 780967

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2013 at 13:14

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2013 at 13:14
Happy to send to you smiddy but you will need to post and email address and the PM function doesn't work for me.

Pete
FollowupID: 780987

Follow Up By: snow.sammy - Saturday, Feb 09, 2013 at 23:45

Saturday, Feb 09, 2013 at 23:45
hi Patrol22, was just hoping to get a copy as well pls.... snow.sammy69@yahoo.com.au

cheers Shane
FollowupID: 781243

Follow Up By: Clan Lindsay - Sunday, Feb 10, 2013 at 10:20

Sunday, Feb 10, 2013 at 10:20
Hi Patrol22

Thanks for the trip info. It's brilliant!

FollowupID: 781262

Follow Up By: Member - John Paine - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2013 at 22:23

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2013 at 22:23
We are off to the cape in July. Ig I may ask for a copy to please.
johnpaine137@gmail.com
FollowupID: 781559

Follow Up By: Pauly_T - Thursday, Feb 14, 2013 at 01:20

Thursday, Feb 14, 2013 at 01:20
G'day Patrol,

Better late than never, I suppose, but if your still inclined, I'd appreciate the info as well.

paulatatton@gmail.com

Thanks Paul
FollowupID: 781565

Follow Up By: scrumpy1 - Thursday, Feb 14, 2013 at 16:31

Thursday, Feb 14, 2013 at 16:31
Hi Patrol22

I'll be a pain in the butt and ask for a copy also
sewextreme@bigpond.com

thanks very much: Mike
FollowupID: 781601

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Feb 14, 2013 at 16:36

Thursday, Feb 14, 2013 at 16:36
G'day Folks....I think I've responded to everyone but if I missed you please holler.
FollowupID: 781603

Follow Up By: Christine H3 - Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 11:14

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 11:14
could you please send a copy to email cptpeterharrison@gmail.com
we are heading up in july 2013
FollowupID: 782083

Follow Up By: Gmac52 - Friday, Mar 01, 2013 at 21:03

Friday, Mar 01, 2013 at 21:03
Hi there Patrol
Myself and 2 others are heading up there Aug 2014 any info or trip planing would be appreciated : gjrsh@optusnet.com.au

Gmac52
Go the Trolls
FollowupID: 782757

Follow Up By: Member - Fiona S (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 20:38

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2013 at 20:38
Hi Patrol 22

We are off to the cape in July 2 Landcruisers and a Suzuki Vitara . If I may ask for a copy to please, that would be great.

lulu2@iinet.net.au
FollowupID: 784348

Reply By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 15:40

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 15:40
HI Max,
If you do nothing else you must fish at a creek outlet about 5km north of Vrilya point. Assuming you are taking a tinny there is no better fishing on the cape.
Kev
AnswerID: 501387

Reply By: Member - John G - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 16:56

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 16:56
G'day Max

I don't want to second guess Patrol 22, but Ron & Viv Moon's book, Cape York: An Adventurer's Guide, is invaluable. Around $30 I think. Just be sure to get the latest edition.

AnswerID: 501393

Reply By: DaveO*ST-R - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 17:29

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 17:29
Max

We did not bother to book camp sites at Elliot Falls on the OTT. (August 2012) Instead of the hassle in committing to particular dates, we camped just a few k's further north at Canal Creek. no facilities here (ie toilets etc) but no requirement to book - first in first served - we enjoyed it there - we had 3 nights there and used this as a base to explore. Only a short drive back to Elliot Falls, Fruit Bat Falls etc.

Highlights of our trip to name just a few.... OTT south to north an absolute must do part of the trip. We stayed at Punsand Bay - great spot. Vrilya Point is nice too. Day trip to Thursday Island - can only be done out of Seisa now, no longer available from Punsand Bay.

AnswerID: 501396

Follow Up By: RodnSue - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 22:19

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 22:19
Hi Dave,
am interested to know if you have any troubles with your gear back at camp @ Canal Creek when you left for a days exploring the area?
Heading that way 2014 as well :-)

Sue
FollowupID: 777534

Follow Up By: DaveO*ST-R - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 15:43

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 15:43
Sue,

We had no issues whatsoever. Mind you, anything of value in the tent section of the camper, such as laptop etc was transferred to the vehicle. Sorry, I do not have that much trust in my fellow man which is unfortunate but sadly the case. I'd like to think 99% of our fellow campers have morals but it is the odd a...hole that ruins it for the rest of us. My fridge stays in the car all the time. We just locked the tailgate and lift up side of the camper and off we went. I always put a padlock through the pin on the treg coupling as well. Stops or deters the "less than fair dinkum" thief I suppose. Chairs were left under the awning and still there when we got back !!

We were peeved at the idea of having to book campsites and just could not commit to any particular date, so we winged it and found a couple of nice spots at Canal Creek. No booking, no fees - it was great.

FollowupID: 777594

Follow Up By: RodnSue - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 20:53

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 20:53
Hi Dave
many thanks for replying. I couldn't agree more about the trust factor. The majority are honest, but it takes just 1 bad apple.
If it's of real value, then it stays in the car.
We too place the chain through our hitch system & then add a high tensile steel (?) lock.

We tow a smallish Kedron van, & will try to wing it in some areas as well, but we don't plan to drive very much of the OTT.
Not even sure if we can get to this camp area you describe.
Will know more when the time gets closer to, or during the trip.

I agree about the having to pre book system.
Some of these really popular camp spots could follow some of WA northern national parks system & have caretakers on a rostered basis in high peak times. They take fees each day & look after the amenities, if any for the NP.
They get their camp spot free for their services. eg Karrijini NP.

Hopefully the relevant dept will get enough negative feed back & change their system before the end of 2013. But I won't hold my breath.

Sue
FollowupID: 777621

Reply By: Max H - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 21:50

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2013 at 21:50
thanks guys, all your info has pointed me in the right path.

but while we keep on planing ill keep on asking about different ideas and suggestions that you can help us with. there will be one asking bout my car :D
AnswerID: 501415

Follow Up By: beaul - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 11:01

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 11:01
I have done the trip many times,and personally I would not bother going.
It is hours of boring ,hot, dusty roads, intermingled with creek crossings where you see your vehcile disappear into the mud and water and may never come out or work again.
Plus there are now lots of crocodiles, which were not there 20 years ago.
FollowupID: 777570

Reply By: Lyn W3 - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 11:47

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2013 at 11:47
By 2014 there will probably be bridges over every creek on the PDR. a roundabout at Bramwell Junction and 4 lane bridge over the Jardine...................

Your 4 week window will be a bit tight if you want to see most things.

Have you thought about going up inland to Normanton and then up to Dunbar and crossing the Mitchell River there (I understand that the new crossing is either done or will be finished next year) then across to the PDR.

As for places to see/stay
Charlie's Mine
Chili Beach and come back across Frenchman's Track and Pascoe Crossing.
Iron Range National Park
Old plane wrecks
New 4WD wrecks

As to the difficulty. It's as difficult as you want to make it. If you want to drown your Bravo try Nolan's or you could drive a Falcon up the bypass now.

Sorry but lining up to drive into a bog hole doesn't do much for us, I can stay home and just drive into a dam down the paddock if that amused me.

Sure glad we did our first trip up there 25 years ago when you actually had to engage 4WD to get there.

Good luck and hope all goes well.

Just watch out for the bogans who think the PDR has a 150kph minimum speed limit.

AnswerID: 501440

Reply By: Member - smiddy - Friday, Feb 15, 2013 at 06:41

Friday, Feb 15, 2013 at 06:41
Hi Patrol, you missed me because initially i did not give an email address. I sent it later but it must have slipped through. Please send to pira@flexinet.com.au
thanks in advance

smiddy
AnswerID: 504782

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 11:55

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 11:55
Should be in your inbox now Smiddy.
FollowupID: 782089

Reply By: extreme - Tuesday, Feb 26, 2013 at 22:29

Tuesday, Feb 26, 2013 at 22:29
Hi Patrol, if you can pass on the details I would really appreciate it too. Plan on leaving last week of June from Canberra - lauritzs@yahoo.com.

Lauritz
AnswerID: 505653