Bloody thin <span class="highlight">beer</span> cans

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:22
ThreadID: 99962 Views:5410 Replies:22 FollowUps:16
Has anyone found a solution to carrying beer cans on rough tracks. They all seem to be getting thiner and thiner walls all the time. I almost always have one burst or leak on trips now. Soon they will be made of alfoil.

I have read about people using socks, and stubby holders but these don't really cut it. I would lov eto find some dedicated thin stubby holer type design that doesn't insulate.

Have anyone seen anything that fixes this problem?

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:24

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:24
oops,

I have read about people using socks, and stubby holders but these don't really cut it. I would love to find some dedicated thin stubby holder type design that doesn't insulate.

( I would also love an edit function on exploroz)
AnswerID: 502427

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:29

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:29
Google spell checker, its free and once installed you just right click and follow prompts.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 778874

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:44

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:44
Thanks, done.
FollowupID: 778880

Reply By: passionfruit - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:40

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:40
I have found that using '100 mile an hour' tape around 4 cans at a time, stops them rubbing and thus no pin holes can form.
AnswerID: 502430

Follow Up By: Flighty ( WA ) - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 18:52

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 18:52
Used to do that myself but found I wasted too much when drinkin em like that. lol

FollowupID: 779025

Reply By: Member - Alan John C (WA) - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:41

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:41
Easy solution put rubber bands around the cans this prevents them rubbing together or look at MSA products, they do a great sleeve that can be used for bottles or cans made of similar product to wetsuits we have used them for years regards Alan.

AnswerID: 502431

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:48

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:48
Thanks Alan, tried rubber bands, it did help but I still had issues. Also do you have the MSA products? I worry that wet suit material is made secifically to insulate, and the cans will take many hours to get cold.
FollowupID: 778883

Follow Up By: Member - Alan John C (WA) - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:54

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:54
Yes we have two packs and we recon their great easy to clean and take up very little space

FollowupID: 778886

Reply By: Lyn W3 - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:42

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:42
I've seen these used in other countries, not too sure where they are available in Oz

Fruit sleeve bags
AnswerID: 502432

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:49

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:49
Hmm that looks interesting.
FollowupID: 778884

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 16:16

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 16:16
Hi Boobook & Lyn W3,
Thanks Lyn W3 They look like a good idea.I'm going to see if I can find out where They are in Oz.
I've seen them in the green grocer shop.
What they do with them after I don't know. Maybe they throw them out?
Boobook., Hubby bought a heavy plastic container with a well fitting lid.
He lined the bottom with cor flute (plastic cardboard) Then he cut cor flute
into sections witch were then cut to fit into each other making little squares to fit bottles & cans. They used to have cardboard dividers like this in cartons years ago.
I then lined the bottom with Bubble plastic.
Next I wrapped each bottle or can in bubble plastic including the bottom (like some Pudding & cakes are wrapped)
all in one piece stuck together with rounds of Sticky tape one at top & bottom & middle & put in individual sections.
This works for canned food too, you don't want to get a hole rubbed in them either. Then, put a towel over the top & secure lid.
Put into fridge as needed and put the shaped bubble paper back in the
place ready for the next use.
It is a fair bit of work initially but they keep their shape & are easily repaired with sticky tape. We store the container in the back of the vehicle. They last a long time..
Take care Safe Travels Ma.
FollowupID: 778889

Follow Up By: Greg & Dianne - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 17:02

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 17:02
Hi We too use bubble wrap. We have an old esky that is cracked so no longer keeps things cold. We wrap the cans and bottles in the wrap and just take out what we need each day. Touch we we haven't had any breakages or holes rubbed in can yet. Cheers and safe travels everyone Greg & Di
FollowupID: 778892

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 18:17

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 18:17
Hi Boobook.& LynW3.
I said I'd find out more about this fruit sleeve as it did look Interesting.
We went into the greengrocers yesterday & found pears wrapped in these sleeve things.
They're very fine & wouldn't survive corrugations at all unless they make thicker, stronger ones. I haven't heard back from the makers yet
When they sell the fruit,the costumer takes it with them & truly I don't think they'd survive a second use. Looked like a good idea., but too flimsy.
Take care, safe travels.Ma
FollowupID: 779229

Reply By: The Explorer - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:54

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:54

At the risk of getting into trouble ...it has been discussed at length here before..

What do you use to stop cans rubbing?

I generally use the cardboard holders that come in cartons of coronas myself. I don't like the idea of an Engel full of wet socks :)

PS: I used the term "beer cans" in the forum search ..though most results appeared not to be relevant

AnswerID: 502433

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 15:26

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 15:26
Thanks Greg, I should have searched better.
FollowupID: 778887

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 15:41

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 15:41
Nargh - bit of team work never goes astray...us beer drinkers need to stick together. It is a very distressing occurrence, a punctured beer can, when you are days away from re-supply. Hope you find the solution that suits you best.

FollowupID: 778888

Reply By: Member - Russler - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:57

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 14:57
I've individually wrapped them in newspaper in the past (open at the top for removal and reuse). More recently I made a heap of tubes out of thin cardboard (eg. manilla folder or cereal box). They fold flat after use so take up little space and can be reused later on, or tossed on the campfire if you can't be bothered keeping them. Reckon I've got 4 dozen in the cupboard, waiting for my next trip.

AnswerID: 502434

Reply By: Axle - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 15:23

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 15:23
BooBook,...Just Keep drinking them mate,! a empty can won't spring a leak

AnswerID: 502435

Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 15:50

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 15:50
Boobook
For anything short of a week, Home brew in the 700mL "special" Beer plastic bottles.
Has the additional advantage of tasting better and not leaving you with a hangover than the half the beer sold. If more than a week well I suppose you have to resort to Bundy.

AnswerID: 502437

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 15:58

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 15:58
Some brands seem worse than others too. You might be able to find out who makes the strongest can if your not too fussy.

AnswerID: 502438

Follow Up By: Gramps - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 21:31

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 21:31
Can't be too fussy if he insists on drinking the Nectar of the Gods from cans :)

FollowupID: 778935

Reply By: Member - Penny C (WA) - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 16:31

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 16:31
We wrapped the cans in bubble wrap (saved from stuff we had been sent/bought) for the Canning Stock Route and had none of the (rather alot of ) beer cans burst/leak at all
AnswerID: 502439

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 17:35

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 17:35
You may think this is a wind up, but it is quite true....

Since we bought the OKA, we have almost no problem with cans rubbing through any more.
It is all about the suspension, I reckon.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 502452

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 17:46

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 17:46
I wasn't thinking of spending that much!

Besides it would be too big for the high country tracks I go on.

Trying to keep the budget under $80.000
FollowupID: 778905

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 08:42

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 08:42
I'm with Peter the Oka has no probs with high country tracks either.
Seriously though I've never had any problem with cans rubbing through in a vehicle, some came close in the troopy but in both the Humvee and the Oka it doesn't seem to be a problem. In both we've taken them away on extended trips for 3 months and there have been some that do the whole trip being at the bottom of the box.
We always carry them vertical though and they are usually jammed in so they can't move at all.
We've had them let go in a camper trailer fridge, made a right mess especially after the blackberry jam jar broke and stabbed holes in the cans. Never did get the pink tinge or the gouges out of the 3 way bin type fridge!
FollowupID: 778952

Reply By: Member - Nick T2 - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 18:35

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 18:35
G'Day Boobook
I dont have a solution but on the Canning stock route we found that cans rubbed through the tops when they were stacked on top of each other in the Engel for more than 3 days. That was WA wife basher (Emu Export)
Cheers Big Nick

AnswerID: 502459

Reply By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 19:44

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 19:44
Hi BooBook,

We saved heaps of 1 litre milk and juice cartons, cut them to height and made sure everything remained packed nice and tight.
Having said that we prefer our beer in stubbies, yeah yeah I know much heavier but when it comes to the favourite beveridge, a bit extra weight???..phfffffttt..lol

AnswerID: 502471

Reply By: Noisy Mango - Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 21:57

Sunday, Jan 13, 2013 at 21:57
Hi Boobook,
We have made individual holders out of that perforated rubber non slip matting material that you use to stop things sliding in cupboards, about 1mm thick - I think we got it from Clark Rubber. Cut it to size and stitched up 70'(two cases of beer & some cans of coke!) this did take quite some time but have used them now on many outback trips. We repack them the cardboard cases then straight to the fridge. They don't cool as fast as without the cover, but do stay intact. No material on the top or bottom of the can helps cool,them down. Just make sure they are packed upright in the fridge.
AnswerID: 502484

Reply By: dermie66 - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 11:01

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 11:01
It is a dilemma, isn't it? You want to cool them quickly so can't put too much insulation around them. I just tape them together, one wrap of duct tape around a six pack, and most importantly stand them upside down so the can weight and any rubbing is on the rim on the top, not the thin base.

As noted by others the main trick is to ensure frequent stock rotation!
AnswerID: 502512

Reply By: mike g2 - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 11:21

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 11:21
looking at all the comments, forum members should put a 'complaint' feedback to the beer producers! i havnt had this problem myself, but also would have suggested lacky bands, cardboard interleaves, waxed cooking paper,strips off your old jeans cut up or anything similar to act as a interspacer, perhaps combined with firm packing. there is a product thats plastic coated (rubberised) white interweved cloth, its fairly non slip and washable, usually used as a mat, sold in most supermarkets . will get details and send, may work. like your dune photo with the 4by.
MG.
AnswerID: 502515

Reply By: The Bantam - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 12:00

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 12:00
Not content with the massive profits they make from both beer and softdrinks, the drink companies have tried to reduce the single biggest cost of production...the can.

They have been getting thnner and weaker for years.....there is a new generation just come out...different shape so they can make em even thinner.

There is a problem that some batches of tins faile even in normal transport.....we naught a couple of cartons of soft drink a while back that took us about 6 months to use....by the end of it we lost about 30%....and the only travling they did was from the factory to our kitchen.

Don't be worried about slowing the cooling......insulation only slows down heat transfer and realy......stubby coolers don't slow the beer getting hot all that much in normal use.

AnswerID: 502518

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 12:28

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 12:28
I just rip the beer carton into strips and place the cardboard between the rows of cans.
works a treat and is free and easy.. not carrying anything extra.

Al
AnswerID: 502520

Follow Up By: muffin man - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 12:46

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 12:46
18 posts and finally a simple solution, works for us too.
I'm sure most posters are having a bit of fun and not too serious about their ideas, surely !
MM
FollowupID: 778975

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 12:40

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 12:40
In response to your request for a forum edit function - it's called Preview. From there you will see the post exactly as it will look when you've submitted. So use preview to check your post and make any changes by clicking the "Return to Edit" button which will bring you back to the text entry box. When you're happy then click submit. You'll also note there is also a spell check function button right beside the submit button. As circled in this image...
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 502521

Reply By: get outmore - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 14:55

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 14:55
chuck the missus in the back and the cartons on the front seat so you can hear when one gets a pinhole.

as soon as you hear it yell

SHOTGUN

and wrap your lips around the pin hole and tear off the tab sucking its contents straight out

- problem solved
AnswerID: 502526

Reply By: mike g2 - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 15:08

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 15:08
further to my suggestion, (umongst replies ) I have found the rubberised mat stuff. its called different names, but basically its non/anti slip mat ( not really the floor mat type). good for cupboards,drawer liner, wet area ( sink) and so on. I have a photo, but am not financial member-cant send image. was found in $2 shop and is in woolies isle near cleaning products/chuxies/ etc.. I reckon it would work, but as its non slip may cause difficulty in getting cans out if wrapped in it.
also try broad ( 1-2cm ) elastic -stitch as loops- as in pants elastic. easily found in haberdashery sect.
MG.
AnswerID: 502528

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 17:35

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 17:35
Just drink stubbies, end of problem.
Cheers Dave.
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 502538

Follow Up By: Norm C (WA) - Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 23:52

Monday, Jan 14, 2013 at 23:52