Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

I might be onto something - Pic Comp

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 08:31

Scoey

Do you reckon this place:

IS the same as this place:

I know these caves all look the same but what do ya reckon???
Advertisement
ThreadID: 31324 Replies: 9
Views: 656 FollowUps: 18
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 158034   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 08:38

Eric from Cape York Connections replied:

Could be but only tell me and ill go ya halfs.

Cape York ConnectionsCape York Connections
Member: Lapsed Membership
Reply 1 of 9
FollowupID: 412381   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 09:03

Scoey posted:

That's a good deal you know, buuuuut I'm not sure half a free membership will be any good to me! haha!

Hey by the way how long do you have to wait before you can try a new answer does anyone know?
FollowUp 1 of 5
FollowupID: 412383   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 09:09

cruiser posted:

Close your Explorer, reopen Explorer and log back in to Exploroz site and have another go
FollowUp 2 of 5
FollowupID: 412384   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 09:09

Trevor R (QLD) posted:

Scoey,
every time you get back on the site you can have another guess.
Welford NP local
Click Image to Enlarge
Thats...... KING Cane Toad to you!!!
FollowUp 3 of 5
FollowupID: 412432   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 11:52

ExplorOz Team - David posted:

Hum,

Maybe I need to put a re-entry lock of say 30mins to stop the close/open and re-enter option!
David & Michelle
Click Image to Enlarge
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
------------------------------------------------
Always working, not enough travelling ;-)
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
FollowUp 4 of 5
FollowupID: 412588   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 21:44

Laura B posted:

David,

I thought you had alrady done this!!!Every time i close and reopened it still said that i had already entered....i still staued up late looking for an answer thought....

Laura B
The GPS!!
Click Image to Enlarge
'Why be difficult when with a little extra effort you can be bloody impossible'
FollowUp 5 of 5
AnswerID: 158041   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 09:46

Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses replied:

Scoey, if I told you I would have to shoot you.
On the way to Gemtree
Click Image to Enlarge
Who?
Multi famam, conscientiam pauci verentur
Reply 2 of 9
FollowupID: 412396   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 09:52

Scoey posted:

haha! Mate I'm ready to shoot myself - this is driving me insane!!! I reckon I know where the caves are but I'm pretty sure the name that they're after is a local name for them. I soooooooo want this membership!!! ARGH!!! ;-)
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 412397   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 09:56

Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses posted:

Don't let me stand in your way Scoey.

...........Just locate the position on the internet and enter the comp til you get it right.
On the way to Gemtree
Click Image to Enlarge
Who?
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 412398   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 10:00

Scoey posted:

haha! You'd THINK that's all you have to do - yet here we are! ;-) Cheers for the moral support though John! *sigh* back to it!

Scoey
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 412412   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 10:52

Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses posted:

.......spit it out Scoey............
On the way to Gemtree
Click Image to Enlarge
Who?
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 158045   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 10:00

JJ replied:

Scoey, why didn't you take the pic straight on, and then we'd know if it's the same. If it's not, it's pretty damn close. Can you remember anything about the area?
If it's a typo, try starting name with a T/H/J/I (slip of the finger...).
Go for it! and G-O-O-D L-U-C-K!
Reply 3 of 9
FollowupID: 412401   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 10:06

Scoey posted:

Oh chit! Sorry - I didn't take the pic!!! I'm pretty sure I know the area so I Google'd it and I found a few pics of the area on the net taken by the same person which confirmed for me that I'm looking in the right spot. Didn't mean to take credit for someone elses pic! :-S Yeah I think I'm gonna have to start trying typo's! I think I'm running out of time tho' cause my boss is starting to wonder what I'm doing! haha!
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 158054   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 10:35

cruiser replied:

Give us all a clue, what part of NSW, north/south/cental/riverina etc etc, maybe between a few of us we can work it out and you can have the memebership as far as I am concerned, I just wanta know where it is
Reply 4 of 9
FollowupID: 412415   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 10:57

Scoey posted:

Yeah, righto. I'm not getting anywhere - I reckon it's in the judging comp as a typo. Pretty sure it's near Pilliga - North Central NSW. Lots of fairly small scattered Sandstone Caves. Like i said before but, it's either a typo or it's a local name for a smal cave.
Hope that helps someone!
Scoey :-(
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
V8 SUPER RIDE -VIC V8 SUPER RIDE -VIC
Melbourne - VIC
Experience V8 Racing / Driving at its best, with the best, one of our professional race car drivers
Harley Trike Picnic Ride For 2 - QLD Harley Trike Picnic Ride For 2 - QLD
Sunshine Coast - QLD
A lazy picnic lunch by the beach or at Mary Cairncross Park near Maleny, and a dream ride on a Harle
Massage For Men - 60 Mins Massage For Men - 60 Mins
Adelaide - SA
Man, oh man, have we got a gift for you!
5 day Sydney to Byron Bay 5 day Sydney to Byron Bay
Coffs / Mid North - NSW
Live the surfers dream learning to Surf and stopping at the best locations from Sydney to Byron Bay
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 158057   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 10:44

cruiser replied:

All that seems to be happening is everyone is making pretty much the same guesses, but trying variations on the name because of the "Type your answer using correct case (a place name is a proper noun)."

Someone said in an earlier post that the answers are being judged by the computer and unless you try the exact name as entered into the computer by David, then it will be wrong, even though you might have essentially the right answer.

To be honest, I think this one has passed the stage of being ridiculous, and the answer should be given out and the prize should jackpot, then we can all go back to our lives and wives.
Reply 5 of 9
AnswerID: 158060   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 10:57

Lyds replied:

Close Scoey, but it looks to me like your cave starts at ground level where as the comp cave is a bit higher.

Click Image to Enlarge
Stuart
A Rental Car: The only true all-terrain vehicle
Reply 6 of 9
FollowupID: 412417   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 10:58

Scoey posted:

Yeah I did notice that, I'm still convinced that I'm in the right area but. The rate we're going, we'll never bloody know! haha! Cheers Lyds,
Scoey!
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 158061   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 10:57

ExplorOz Team - David replied:

Scoey,

It does look similar what place name do you have for your photo?
David & Michelle
Click Image to Enlarge
Reply 7 of 9
FollowupID: 412418   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 11:01

Scoey posted:

Hi David,
I've tried a few combinations but I'm thinking it's going to be one of the Pilliga Sandstone Caves. Am I close????? PLEEEAAASSEE!!! hehe! When all else fails, act pathetic!

Scoey!
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 412420   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 11:10

Nup - No and Bad luck - No really you are over 100kms away.

I have loaded a few more clues into the page.
David & Michelle
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 412427   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 11:42

Scoey posted:

Fair Dinkum?!? Righto, back to the drawing board! Cheers anyway! Sorry lads for the bum steer! :-S

Scoey
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 412429   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 11:46

Scoey posted:

Damn it! Come back from a meeting and all the fun's over! :-D
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 158073   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 11:48

Lyds replied:

Gillian is a god.

Click Image to Enlarge
Stuart
A Rental Car: The only true all-terrain vehicle
Reply 8 of 9
AnswerID: 158074   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 11:51

Member - Gillian L (NSW) replied:

I think everyone was sick of this one. I think I want to go there now!

Click Image to Enlarge
I want to go back to the Dig Tree!
VK2HL
Reply 9 of 9
FollowupID: 412436   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 11:55

Oh my goodness - not again!

How do you do it - do not answer that as you will tell others.

Those last clues were way to easy. I think this one is a really good one and will take some time again - Ha Ha - (I hope)
David & Michelle
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 412457   Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 13:06

glenno(qld) posted:

I have a mental picture of your GU with a EO wheel cover on every wheel . But seriously congrats .
FollowUp 2 of 2