Pajero Rollover....oh cripes!!!!!

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 19:58
ThreadID: 52663 Views:9420 Replies:22 FollowUps:92
Hope I'm not breaking any rules by cutting and pasting this from another forum, but thought it was worth a look.....

Quote:

Well guys I'd thought I supply you with some detail on a recent mishap of mine.

Late November I went away with a group of guys up near Talbingo Reservoir up behind Tumbarumba NSW. There was 5 vehicles in total and it was a drive in on Saturday and out Sunday swag camping over nighter thing.

Nice little spot but we got rained on over night but hey you get that.

Anyhow we left our camping spot about 9:30 am on the one way in same way out track and I was second last.
There was a step incline on the track and although we made it up the last older 4x4 didn't have the power to get out.

So we were asked to back down to provide a snatch/tow up.

In the Pajero was myself and a mate.
We both had the thought as we got back in the Paj as to getting one of us to maybe guide us down but neither of us voiced this thought. There were a couple of young guys with us who were going to video tape the snatch and we also thought that they'd yell out if something was going wrong, but nor did we say anything to them.

Now you'll very quickly see what went wrong and how quickly and easily it happened.
Basically I backed and went out of the wheel ruts, then slide back, the back left hand side wheel ended up in the right handside rut and this wheel then acted as a wedge and then gravity took over.

As we went on the side I looked down and checked that my mate had his head, arms, etc inside which he did. I then said we're going over mate.
We then rolled on the roof, then the weight of the front end took us over the bank.
We then collected one tree and took that one out. This then pushed us over towards the second tree as we started to go for another roll. This second tree stopped us thankfully as after that there just really wasn't to many large trees and simply put we won't be here.

I stuck my hand out and touched the tree and checked it was stable, checked my mate was ok grabbed the mobile and sat phone and said lets get the out of here.

Other then a bit of whip lash and shock we both came out of it pretty well.

We got a lot of gear out with out putting anyone in danger.

A couple of impressive things, the motor was still running, the Waeco fridge not only survived but was also still running when we opened the back door. Front and back windows remained in tact.

Took the insurance company's salvage crew 19 hours to get it out.

Now go easy with your opinions guys as I'm sure you'll appreciate that I've beaten myself up pretty much over the incident.

Car's can be replaced but people can't and to effectively walk away with very little injury we can just be thankfull hey!

So I supply this detail and the video to the world as just to show everyone how easy things happen and take it easy out there.

So here's the bit I know you're all wanting to see, the video: - http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=GeYmDOzoibk or http://tinyurl.com/2ntu9g

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:05

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:05
Very lucky boys, looks like the seat belts did the job.
It can happen so easy.

Good clip Bill.

AnswerID: 277317

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:09

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:09
can't really see how steep it is, however looking at the video, I'd say you payed a fair sort of price for just dropping a wheel in rut,
Shane
AnswerID: 277320

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:32

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:32
Shane

Being serious for a minute. (LOL)

I would respectfully suggest that the driver of this vehicle had no idea what they were doing when reversing down a hill that had surface conditions like that one.

I will be bold and suggest that it possibly wasn't in 4WD and wasn't
in reverse gear and if yes to these two - then wasn't being reversed with the engine controlling the decent.
'locked' suggesting the above.

Whatever - expensive exercise.

Plus a new pair jocks.

FollowupID: 541234

Follow Up By: wiseone - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:29

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:29
Lucy,

Being the driver I'll respond to your post and also for the benifit of all.

1) The issue wasn't the road surface. We'd made it up with no problems. We were reversing down to snatch up another 4WD.
2) The Pajero was in 4WD
3) The issue was, as stated in the post, that we didn't remain in the ruts, nothing more then that mistake
4) The Paj was in reverse and being controlled by the engine. We hand only reversed by about 3 metres.

Finally why did I post it?
Well for the benifit of all to learn from my mistake. It wasn't to be a show off nor was it to give people an easy target to have pot shots at or arm chair experts to puff chests out at.

The crew we had with us had a vast cross section of experience including SES members, two off duty police, etc.

So simply put I made a mistake and paid for it but as I said hopefully others will learn and think about what they're doing out there as they may not be as lucky as we were.

Russell.
FollowupID: 541263

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:01

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:01
Wow didn't that tree save something from being a whole lot worse?

FollowupID: 541278

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:02

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:02
Wiseone.

Firstly: A dude called Roachie posted this thread and seeing as how you have picked up on it I take it you know him real well.

Secondly: Most of the respondents to this thread have made the assumption that Roachie was in the said Pajero driving it.

Put those two facts together on this forum and its 'open season' on the 'shooting gallery'.

Thirdly: Roachie is well known for his alter ego 'Russell' as in 'Russell Coight' the TV 4WD expert.

However at this stage I am giving you the benefit of the doubt.

In view of that:

(1) Yes! it is a valuable training video

(2) I did a 4WD training course run by a Canberra Based 4WD school somewhere between the ACT and Queenbeyan where amongst other things they took us out into near by mountains on near vertical fire tracks etc etc.

One of the exercises was to deliberately stall the vehicle 2/3's up the track ( rutted, rock strewn washed out mothers they were) and do a reverse recovery.

Not one vehicle experienced any uncontrolled sliding, which I was expecting as a given.

So in view of your comments I guess you had a bad day out, and I will be playing that video to remind me what not to do - reverse down to snatch another vehicle when there are (must be ) other options.

Nice talking to you Russell.

FollowupID: 541279

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:06

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:06
looks like the passenger wheel is in the drivers side rut and the drivers side wheel up the bank and over she goes. Same thing happened when we were training, 80 series on its door, nowhere near as speccie as that rollover though, thats a purler. Wiseone, thanx for posting it mate a valuable lesson

FollowupID: 541284

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 07:03

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 07:03
Looked at that video last night and thought the engine revs didn't control the descent at all, so out of gear. I am with Lucy that, it just seem to roll back uncontrollably.

I like to keep a view out of the mirrors to keep alignment with whatever is behind me - the side mirrors that is, not the internal one. Even in three or four metres, you would have noticed that, especially in low range. It really looked like the Paj didn't have much of a wheel articulation either.

Thanks Russell, it is a warning to everyone! Low Range, watch your side mirrors. It may take concentration.
FollowupID: 541340

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 08:19

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 08:19
Sorry John and Lucy, but Bonz is the corect one, the car came out of the rut and the rear up the left bank, scewed sideways and over.

Wiseone, your a very lucky boy, a guide probably would have helped i'd say, i watch the vid last night, things can go pear shaped so fast.

Is the car a rightoff do you think.

FollowupID: 541348

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 11:24

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 11:24
Lucy,

Read the first post carefully...
Roachie pasted it from ANOTHER forum...he didn't post the "original"

Wiseone,

thanks for posting the "original", wherever it was, it is an invaluable lesson to all. And to many here who think are bullet proof and seem to NEVER make any errors in their lives.

You were lucky you hit those trees old son !!!
FollowupID: 541369

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 13:05

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 13:05
Redback, Baz, when I say roll back uncontrollably, I mean without the control of the engine braking. When you say "the car came out of the rut and the rear up the left bank, scewed sideways and over" you aren't saying are you, that the car took over the steering? To me there didn't appear to be slipping sideways, but was steered to the upper side of the track, so I perhaps add uncontrolled there too, unless that was the intent of Wiseone.

Baz, I understand about wheel ruts and what they can do, but once again, the engine didn't seem to be controlling the descent. Perhaps High Ratio
FollowupID: 541376

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:36

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:36
I luv this forum because it allows freedom of speech to inform others of things like the following:

(1) It takes a knob to know a knob

(2) Gobbing off is a virulently contagious affliction on this particular forum.

(3) (2) included being a clever dick and smart posterior.

Which leads to the following conclusion:

Those of you who are a party to this thread and jumped to the conclusion that I was of the belief that Roachie was the driver of the unfortunate Pajero, have absolutely no idea whatsoever about either of us and obviously fall into the categories described in (1),(2) & (3) above.

John (R)

We are being underwhelmed by the (1),(2) & (3) brigade.

I can see exactly what happened,

There is no denying that the subject vehicle moved in a reverse fashion down a rutted (dry not wet greasy) track with precipitous
degree of downward incline.

Then veered off to the drivers side impacting the bank and the rest is history.

The Big question is how/why did it get itself into that situation, not the ensuing rollover etc etc.

Maybe the (1),(2) & (3) participants could explain that.

And if any of the above (1),(2) & (3) knew Roachie, they would know he wouldn't be seen dead in Pajero, He drives a Chevisan and always has his SWMBO and kids with him and would never, ever end up in such a situation.
FollowupID: 541390

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 16:10

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 16:10
Hey Lucy,

You can sure type some drivel...and you go on and on and on and on...stop typing so much as I haven't got the time to read it all. You don't have to make excuses !

FollowupID: 541396

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:51

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:51
Dunco

No.

FollowupID: 541466

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 21:13

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 21:13
hahaha...kissy kissy....
FollowupID: 541486

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 21:23

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 21:23
Merry X-mas and a Happy New Year to you and yours Dunco

FollowupID: 541488

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:03

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:03
Great to see you have a sense of humour.

Have a safe christmas and a prosperous and safe New year.

All's good in love and war :)

FollowupID: 541497

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:15

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:15
Pre-xactly (LOL)

FollowupID: 541498

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 16:50

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 16:50
GET A ROOM YOU TWO hahahahahaha

FollowupID: 541804

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:13

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:13
Obviously 'Pajero' is the key word here.

A whole pack of them including the author of the thread who should be ashamed of himself for admitting to dabling in the black arts of Pajero-ism.

You really have gone blind Roachie.

You own and drive a Chevisan - repeat after me Chevisan, Chevisan, Chevisan, Chevisan, Chevisan, Chevisan.

On second thought, maybe you should really get that 200series and be done with it, as the aforementioned aberration could be a side effect of your desire to own one.

AnswerID: 277324

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:08

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:08
Lucy.
This fellow has now brought a new nissan patrol!!!
FollowupID: 541249

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:31

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:31
So, he shouldn't have any more dramas I spose.....Nissan's DON'T rollover!!!! hahahaha
FollowupID: 541267

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:37

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:37
Aaaaah! wondering when you were going to pop your head up so we can shoot it off again. (LOL)

You have excelled yourself with this one 'mein capitan'

FollowupID: 541272

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 11:27

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 11:27
Lucy, Roachie hasn't been on much lately because of the excitement that is building up inside him with taking delivery of his new 200. I hope he hasn't been "Pajeroing" himself too much in his eagerness to take possesion of his new pride and joy.
FollowupID: 541371

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:42

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:42
It's obvious Mr D-L

A large number of the participants to this thread thought Roachie was the driver of that Pajero.

The other half have wasted their time effort and money berating my goodself for bagging Roachie re same.

AND Roachie, well he has just been laying ROTFLHAO until finally shamed into admitting he stole the post from another forum and wasn't in the subject vehicle after all.

The best think of all if the Pajero owner rushed out and bought a Missan-nissan as a replacement.

No doubt he will be pestering Roachie now as to how to upgrade to a 200's without anybody knowing.

Merry X-mas and a Happy New Year to you and yours.
FollowupID: 541391

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:15

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:15
Geez,
I rekon he would have needed a new pair of daks too! Thats one lucky guy.
Matt

AnswerID: 277325

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:45

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:45
By golly gosh Matt,

that's a really good looking 80 series you've got there.

FollowupID: 541328

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:20

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:20
Mr Roach!

This is how its done

Just Gobsmacked

AnswerID: 277327

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:36

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:36
What did the film maker say???...FAAARRRRKKKK?

Been there done that...lol..In the days beforeYoutube.

Dunno, must've been steeper than the video shows. Just goes to show you the poor suspension set-up of the Pajero. Jeep would probably have gone the same way with known raconteur driving...hahahaha

FollowupID: 541235

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:09

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:09
Just a crow in the tree .. LOL
FollowupID: 541250

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:31

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:31
Richard..what are you on, tonite?
FollowupID: 541266

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:33

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:33
Willie, I think he's referring to Graham Kennedy (RIP), who once got banned from TV presenting cause he was deemed to have dropped the magic word during a skit where he was mimicking a crow by saying.... "faaarrrkkkk, ffaaarrrkkk" etc
FollowupID: 541268

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:34

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:34
Oi! you 2.

I can see now why they say jealousy is a curse.

(ROFLMAO)

As you said Willem - It must have been steeper than it looks, otherwise the person in charge of the said vehicle didn't have a clue what was going on.

Personally, I reckon he was in 2WD or had his foot on the clutch and letting it roll back down under its own 'steam' so to speak and it got away from him.

It is a lesson well learn't though, as to the speed at which these type of mishaps can occur.

FollowupID: 541269

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:41

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:41
Willem
Carlton Mid.. Hic number 10 i thing start the red after tea, I read that Bogon's don,t drink beer after they have eaten, so I'm changing my ways .. LOL

Thanks Bill these foreigners just haven't been around long enought... LOL

FollowupID: 541273

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:19

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:19
Richard...the accident took place in NSW...you silly bugger
FollowupID: 541291

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:22

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:22
Plates look like he/she came from Victoria (maybe the problem),, LOL.. lost it in NSW.. :-)
FollowupID: 541296

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:23

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:23
Would never of happened if they had been in a JEEP.

AnswerID: 277328

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:44

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:44
OR LANDROVER!!, Gods other creation...Lol.
FollowupID: 541275

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:07

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:07
She was called 'Eve' and no one has ever forgiven him for it.

FollowupID: 541285

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:31

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:31
Wouldn't be so sure on that one!.

FollowupID: 541300

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:44

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:44
What????

The name or the forgiveness thing

FollowupID: 541392

Reply By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:31

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:31
Roachie.....you guys were really lucky that's for sure.....did a similar thing myself with the troopy when the eroded beach gave away when I got too close to the edge.....she went on her side, nearly into the waves...was able to rescue her BUT I really thought I had lost her and we would be walking home...my wife and I came out OK with minmal damage and able to drive her home but had bad dreams afterwards and it still makes me shudder when I think of it....Phil
AnswerID: 277330

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:24

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:24
Phillip,

It wasn't me or anybody I know....just something I picked up off another forum.....
FollowupID: 541258

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:08

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:08
Thats right, fess up to the public you imposter.

FollowupID: 541286

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:09

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:09
Thats right, fess up to the public you imposter.

FollowupID: 541287

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:27

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:27
You ought to get that stutter seen to, Mr Lucky......
FollowupID: 541298

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:43

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:43
I have given you enough for one day 'imposter Bill', however I will take on board you comments and do my best from now on.

Oh! what a feeling:

FollowupID: 541303

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:52

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:52
I would be interested as to what make of vehicle he was backing back to recover LOL
FollowupID: 541330

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:59

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:59
Oh! just some little ole iddy biddy Japanese thing other than a Toyota or Nissan.

Zero or some such thing.

FollowupID: 541333

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:38

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:38
Mate, we're probably all the better for seeing it. Glad you're ok. Cheers JD
AnswerID: 277331

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:25

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:25
No, it wasn't me or anybody I know.....
FollowupID: 541259

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:22

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:22
Woops, sorry Roachie - was ripping through day's posts too quick!!
FollowupID: 541320

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:38

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:38
Oooops!

Very remiss of me Roachie I know, however please accept my deep concerns for this mishap of yours.

However, could you tell us all how you really felt when everything came to a stop.

Did you wish you were in a JEEP or a Toyota.

(ROFLMAO x 20Billion)

AnswerID: 277332

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:26

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:26
Now who's the bloody Pajero....you silly wally!!!!!
FollowupID: 541261

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:12

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:12
Just about to ask how Nette and kids survived it all, so you are lucky you fessed up.

You really flushed the ants out of the woodwork with this one.
FollowupID: 541288

Reply By: GREENDOG - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:57

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 20:57
Just go's to show how things can go wrong so quickly,but still what a scary moment,i would of craped me self.cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 277337

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:10

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:10
Hi Roachie, now I've done a reasonable amount of 4 wheel driving probably no where near the amount you have, please correct me if I'm wrong but when in that situation arn't you suppose to stay in the rut/s ?? I presume this was the reason for this rollover.. I have been in ruts myself went through quit a few when in the high country last year and when we did the snowys and I just stayed in them where the 3 prados behind me run there wheels along the top of them bit like a balancing act. I didnt say anthing cause didnt know wether they were right or I was wrong. I presume ground clearance would be a factor in this situation ?? Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 277342

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:30

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:30
Yes mate, he should have stayed in the bloody ruts....should've been in low range (may have been....but could equally have been in neutral too; who knows???)

It seems some of the readers think this was me.......as I said at the beginning of the thread, it was just something I found, cut & pasted off another forum...... I don't know who the driver or his mates are/were etc....
FollowupID: 541265

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:05

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:05
Sorry should have worded it better, where I said " arn't you suppose to stay in the rut/s ?? " I was meaning me, you, whoever. Wasnt meaning yourself. I did read that you copied from some where else and was not you involved, luckily. Glad they were not seriously injured or his passenger. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 541282

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:58

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 15:58
"It seems some of the readers think this was me.......as I said at the beginning of the thread, it was just something I found, cut & pasted off another forum...... "

- I'm sure you've learned your lesson ! Before you do it again, I'm sure you'll attach a Statutory Declaration, in words of one syllable, making it clear it wasn't you driving !
FollowupID: 541394

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:33

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:33
Its a bit hard trying to keep ya wheels in the ruts when ya being pulled from the R send!! Bit like a new chum on a fork lift.!
AnswerID: 277349

Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:36

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:36
Glad no one was injured.
FollowupID: 541270

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:16

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:16
Yes. I'll second that.

I have a habit of leaving the seat belt off if regularly getting in and out of vehicle for whatever, whilst driving tracks.

I know, I know its bad practice and SWMBO gets on my case, however I still do it.

However I now have something to jog the safety cells (I hope).

FollowupID: 541290

Reply By: wiseone - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:37

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 21:37
Hey Roachie,

Have no problems with you stealing the post. I was going to put it on this forum but hadn't gotten around to it.

So all for the full post and updates you can have a look at: - http://tinyurl.com/2t55co

Regards Russell.
AnswerID: 277350

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:20

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:20
Hi Russell, as said above glad you and your passenger weren't hurt. Could have been a lot worse. Glad your mate was quick enough to think and keep his arms etc inside the door. Buy your self a lottery ticket. Great the insurance payed up. Geeez I think your going to get a lot of flack from your forum mates going to a Nissan LOL not that theres any thing wrong with them, tough vehicle. All the best and have a great safe xmas. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 541292

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:20

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:20
Just checked out the Paj Club URL and your pic there, I dont know whether you noticed that your bash plate is scratched. Just in case u go to sell the car it may pay to get that seen to!

:0)

Great to see you walked away from it. 19 hrs to get it out, hmm thats some recovery. I reckon Roachie, me and Lucky and a couple of OBC guys and we woulda had u out inside the DNF time!

FollowupID: 541293

Follow Up By: ricey241 - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:27

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:27
Thanks for putting this out there Russell. I hope people see it and consider when they're out on the tracks to take the extra time & care needed PLUS encourage those standing around to take an active role in watching out for each other. Guide each other out safely.
I was watching a youtube last night where some guys had set up a cam filming some chick in a hilux on Fraser island. They sat & watched her have a go at the one spot 10 times knowing that she hadn't known to drop her tyre pressures. The difference in these videos is one is to help educate & the other is to have a laugh at someones expense.
Thanks again wiseone.
FollowupID: 541297

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:30

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:30
Bonz you plick, stole the words right out of my mouth (similar anyway).

Yeah! Yeah! I know, only the quick and the dead when you are around.

Russell

You have withdrawn from the 'abyss' (Pajero) to the 'dark side (Nissan) but still have a way to go to reach the 'light' at the end of the tunnel (Toyota or JEEP).

Hopefully you won't have to repeat your experience in the Pajero to reach the 'light', which all serious 4Wd's including Roachie aspire to.

This has been a valuable post in more ways than one. It has I hope taught Roachie a lesson about stealing other peoples posts and if he does, then how to insert a link correctly in this forum.(LOL)

Just glad no one got hurt.

FollowupID: 541299

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:33

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:33
G'day Russell,
Like others have said (and you yourself), it's great that you came out of it without any injuries. Vehicles can be fixed or replaced; not so for people.
I probably should have attempted to gain your permission before posting this on here, but I gathered from the thread on the Patrol Forum that you were open to having it spread around as an educational tool......and thanks for that; it's very sobering to watch.
All the very best mate

FollowupID: 541301

Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:55

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:55
And I hope someone learnt the lesson of not gobbing off like an armchair fool.
FollowupID: 541306

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:58

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 22:58
I doubt that hahahahahah

FollowupID: 541307

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:04

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:04
Oooooo! Off-Track

I just luv it when you talk dirty - how about a kiss.

Bonz! you have never been soooooo right. (LOL)

Mery X-mas and a Happy New Year to you all.

FollowupID: 541311

Follow Up By: ricey241 - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:05

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:05
I doubt it too, goes to show reading the whole thread pays off as well ;)
FollowupID: 541314

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:08

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:08
I am atrocious at reading, read the first bit and think I have the gist BUT I read this as Mr Roach being a responsible citizen and passing on something else he had read elsewhere. Lucky didn't see that bit hahahahah

FollowupID: 541316

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 08:30

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 08:30
Offtrack, you sumed it up in a nutshell, armchair fools hahahahahah.

Can't believe the crap some of you blokes dribble.

FollowupID: 541351

Reply By: Lyds- Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:23

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 23:23
I was in a rolled Paj on the Gibb River Rd a few years back. A nice slow pike with a twist and the damn thing flattened into a sports car. Thank goodness for high headrests and a cargo barrier to keep my head on.

I too am now in a Patrol, and my Engel still works :-)
AnswerID: 277364

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 09:44

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 09:44
When you look at the way they drive the Pajero down the hill in the TV commercials I can't help thinking how many Paj buyers (perhaps not wiseone) can be led into a feeling of invincibility in steep terrain.

Mitsa Bishi should be buying this clip and playing it to all Paj purchasers.
AnswerID: 277389

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 11:15

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 11:15
Sorry, but that's like saying "I can't help thinking how many Prado drivers" because Toyota shows ads of Prados on bloody see-saws on cliff edges.

Bagging vehicle makes aside, it's obvious what happened - the rear left wheel crossed the track, got wedged in the opposite rut, and acted as a fulcrum. Hills never look as steep as they are really are when filmed - that must have been bloody steep for the vehicle to have what started out as almost a backflip rollover. You get a sense of how steep it must have been as the vehicle reverses, and the perspective of the vehicle to the camera changes.
FollowupID: 541368

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 11:39

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 11:39
Well I ain't seen the Prado add you speak of... this was a post about a paj... and there is a paj ad with a paj going down a hill pretty fast. Are you saying I didn't think that... crikey!

This was not bagging vehicles... this was a real situation with a Paj which was advertised in a real irresponsible way and this real life situation might save a few lives if Mista B used it that way.

I think your assessment is oversimplifying what happened - sure it happened all quickly and easily, but there were a lot of contributing factors - some vehicle specific, some driver and behaviour specific and I think any driver of any vehicle should be learning from it.
FollowupID: 541372

Reply By: Smudger - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 10:36

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 10:36
Roachie,
The scarey bit is, that's a prang that could happen to even the most experienced 4WDer, regardless of what some of the other smarta..ses are saying. We tend to think our fourbies can do almost anything, and this didn't look to be a risky manoeuver at all, I've slipped down similar in reverse on a greasy track. Just bad luck.
I'm interested to know the insurance companies response?
AnswerID: 277394

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 18:50

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 18:50
With all due respect to the driver I fear luck had very little to do with the situation. The "most experienced 4WDer" would have had the car in Low Reverse with his foot off the clutch or if it was an auto be powering through the brakes. This would ensure the front wheels wouldn't have locked up as was clearly seen in the video. When the driver turned the wheels at the last moment to correct the slide there was no steering response because they were both locked up, an experienced driver could have accelerated lightly to straighten up.
The rev's of the motor clearly didn't change through the whole incident showing it couldn't have been in gear/clutch out and Russell even admitted "the motor was still running" when it stopped rolling indicating at no point did he stall stop the car, something an "experienced 4WDer" would have done in such steep terrain.
The fact the driver doesn't believe that the road surface had anything to do with it and was solely the rut that caused the vehicle to roll shows this inexperience. Unsuitable tyres, poor wheel travel, no spotter along with selecting a poor line were all contributing factors.
Many drivers often say how easy a difficult track was to get up when in fact they don't realize how close to not making it or "risky" it actually was.
Bad Luck........... not really. Good to see everyone came out OK.
Cheers Craig......
FollowupID: 541431

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:59

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 19:59
That was my assessment too (on the balance of probabilities) Craig.
FollowupID: 541469

Follow Up By: wiseone - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:39

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 22:39
Guys I think I need to clarify a few things in the interests of the discussions going on.

Firstly I from the start stated that we weren't in the ruts. This was the primary mistake made.

I've also mrention in the post that we should have had a guide and that's another mistake made.

With regards to other details, the Pajero WAS an auto, it was in reverse and it was in low 4WD. So sorry there goes the clutch in theory. BUT a lesson to all auto drivers I hope.
The auto high gearing would have contributed to the situation as well.

The tyres were near new Cooper ST's.

Yes I do feel that wheel travel was a contributing factor.

The video as mentioned in various posts doesn't really show the incline so that's a little out of perspective as well for the viewers.

The wheels were rotating until about the last 3/4 of a metre and it's only at the last moment that the vehicle actually slid and no matter what any of you say it was all over at that stage as it happened to quick.

The reason the motor was still running was that it really spend very little time with any traction (I.e. wheels on the road, LOL)during the rolls and slipping down the side of the hill and thus it simply didn't have a chance to stall as such, plus remember it was an auto.

The wheels were not turned at the last moment to try an make a correction. If you look carefully you will actually see the front wheels change direction only as a result of my body weight pulling it left hand side down as we began to roll on it's side (and I was hanging on for grim life whilst thinking of my mates life as well).

Intially I was talking some of the comments on this forum a bit to heart, but
(a) I did put myself out there so I have to take some of it on the chin, (was hoping that people would be a little easier on my considering I did say in my intial post that I'd beat myself up a fair bit ;-)
and (b) It is stimulating discussion and hopefully others will take something away from this and this was a prime reason for me putting it out there in the public.

So I guess all I can say in closing is just remember one thing guys, those who live in glass houses.....LOL.

Cheers and happy debating guys, at my expense ;-( sob sob sob

Russell
FollowupID: 541512

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 13:53

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 13:53
Ahh the dreaded auto. Brilliant going up hills but not so easy coming down. At such a slow reversing speed at idle there would have been little or no drive to the wheels & once on that line into the ruts it would have been a gutsy call to get off the brake & on the accelerator with some opposite lock to correct it. It actually looked like you attempted to catch the slide with some left hand down as it dropped into the rut. As I said powering through the brakes with an auto is the main way to minimise skidding. (Left foot braking while right foot slight accelerator) The other way is a bit more contentious being to reverse down in a forward gear at idle, not something I've tried personally so wont comment further. I was wrong with the unsuitable tyres, poor resolution making them look like road pattern.
It's a pity Russ you didn't post the thread yourself 1st up, filling in the detail from the start which would have taken some of the speculation out of the discussion.
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 541589

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:41

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:41
Thanks for posting the clip originally Russell and contributing to the "debate" if one can call some of the pretentious comments debating.

It doesn't matter what vehicle you have or how experienced you believe you are, in the sort of country you were in one slip, one moment of inattention and things can happen so fast you don't have a chance to recover. The very steep inclines of the High Country are about the only thing which really worries me when 4WDing.

A good reminder to us all - glad you came out of it with just a broken vehicle.

PS. Anyone who's not made a mistake when 4WDing please stand up...?
FollowupID: 541605

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 21:45

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 21:45
Well I've watched a few times now ............ and no matter which way i look at it I'm glad it was NOT me as I would have needed a change and S$HIT load of rum and beer ....... not sure in which order either.

Also pleased noone was hurt ........... one I will remember thats for sure.

AnswerID: 277515

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 23:43

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2007 at 23:43
FFFAAAAAARRRRR out I tell ya!!

So glad that wasnt me in the car cos there would be no way i would ever get in one again!!

Looks like its rut problem....but has anyone mentioned speed?? Looks like going a little too fast for something like that, or could that be the low range? reverse? thing...??

so glad they finally stopped!!

Laura
AnswerID: 277556

Reply By: Ozboc - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 07:26

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 07:26
seen the same link on the Liveleak website ---- this clip is doing the rounds :)

Boc

AnswerID: 277581

Reply By: Smudger - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 18:42

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 18:42
I'm p,,,sing myself over all the information that some of these dopey experts have dredged up from watching your clip.
Clutch, tyres, hi-lo range. Some of 'em have definitely grabbed the wrong short stick.

You should have a test now.
..what colour shirt am I wearing in the rollover?
..who is the chick in the front seat?
..why WAS your wife in my car?
..what does my Grandma want for Xmas?

I wonder how many of them have ever actualy been 4 wheelin'. A lot of armchair experts here I think.

AnswerID: 277693

Reply By: youidiots - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 18:40

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 18:40
LUCY, JohnR Crackles, and Roachie, you are the biggest idiots I have ever come across on a Forum. Your comments infuriated me so much that I joined this forum just so I could reply to your dribble.

The guy rolled his 4WD. Obviously he could have done things differently, but he did not do anything stupid. In hindsight you can say he should have done this or that, but at the time he acted in a reasonable manner.

I have watched this video many times to see what could be learned from it. The ONLY thing that can be learned is that things can go pear shaped at anytime.

If you bother to have a descent look, there was a viable track where he was backing down. That is, there is a well worn section of track on the driver’s side of the ruts and would have been a viable option. There was obviously a large hole in the track that may or may not have been visible by the driver. Being a larger hole, it extended into the centre of the track. He was SLIGHTLY off line and the rear passenger’s wheel slipped in. This by itself would not have rolled the car, but the drop forced the driver’s rear wheel up the bank and over she went.

In hindsight, he probably took off a little quick and he would have been better off in the ruts. But these errors did not deserve the outcome. But it was over so quickly that it would have been difficult to get into the ruts from where he was parked before it went over.

So Lucy, you attended a basic 4WD course in Canberra and this somehow gives you the expertise to determine that the “ driver of this vehicle had no idea what they were doing”. I can tell from your other comments that you do not have a clue about being off-road and need to do another course or actually go off-road.
It would appear that your idol is Roachie, it would be impossible for him to know less than you. He somehow can tell whether the vehicle was in high or low range and what gear he was in. What rubbish! The person that thinks they can tell such things from a video is obviously a legend.

JohnR somehow can get into the driver’s head and tell what he can see and what he can’t. Even what mirrors he was using. Again another legend that can tell what gear, etc, the 4WD was in at the time.

Crackles, how would you know what most experienced 4WDers would do. You have obviously only read about 4wding with suggestions about driving through the brakes in an auto. Sounds good in theory. If you actually watched the video, the vehicle turned by a combination of the rear wheels falling in the hole and the front wheels sliding into the ruts. It is insane to think that adding power would have somehow got him out of the situation. How exactly do you stall stop an auto?

The incident was nothing more than bad luck. It was a few little things going wrong at the same time. I am glad that he got out of it OK and he has got himself another 4WD. This shows a lot more guts than the those making stupid comments
AnswerID: 278144

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 20:24

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 20:24
Ooo-ahh! - somebody didn't get 'theirs' last night.

FollowupID: 542181

Follow Up By: youidiots - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 20:41

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 20:41
Not at all. Just can't stand people attempting to kick people when they are down.
FollowupID: 542184

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 21:11

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 21:11
G'day to you, "youidiots".....

Of course you are 100% correct.....Neither Me, nor Lucy, nor JohnR nor Crackles have ever driven a 4WD, let alone been off-road. However, we have all read Ron Moon's book and Vic Widman's too and that means that we are all experts in everything to do with 4WDing.

I plan to actually buy a 4WD in the not too distant future; then I'll be able to put some of my "armchair" knowledge into practise.... I'm really looking forward to having that "superior" feeling on the open road and getting out there and doing some serious bush-bashing.

Sorry I got your dander up by making theoretical comments on something I know absolutely nothing whatsoever about.

Merry Xmas

FollowupID: 542187

Follow Up By: youidiots - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 21:47

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 21:47
At least one of you is prepared to confess
FollowupID: 542191

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 22:50

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 22:50
youidiot ......... you need to get a grip and chill out way to tense.

FollowupID: 542202

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 23:25

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 23:25
I just came back from church where in a 1 on 1 with the priest who advised me to do a similar thing like Roachie has done, as it will help atone for my 'arm chair ramblings' on the forum this year.

So I two must confess to the same things Roachie has and that I will undertake 'Real' 4WD training courses and endeavor to get a 4WD so that I can make the move to actual Off Road 4WD'ing before I make any further comments.

Also I pick up a new set of glasses tomorrow and I hope that they help me see Vid Clips much clearer so that I don't confuse fact with fiction ever again.

I am also thinging of appointing Member Truckster as my personal counselor to assist and advise me in all things 4WD from now on.

Also I must say tat word our ex Prime Minister couldn't say - SORRY - to all those who have been, might have been and could have been upset with anything I have written re 4WD'ing ( Don't believe any of it, I got it all out of thw 4WD Monthly)

Merry X-mas and a Happy New Year to you all.

PS

I am having nothing to do with Roachie ever again as I feel that it his bad influence that led me astray and caused my rash remarks.

FollowupID: 542207

Follow Up By: youidiots - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 11:44

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 11:44
The video of the roll over has been posted on various 4WD forums around the world. Virtually all the replies show sympothy to the owner. No where else have people posted comments about the driver's abilities, what gear he had it in, or what mirrors he was using at the time.

Yet there were 4 arrogant people on this forum that thought they were the best 4WDers in the world and therefore could somehow tell such things.

But when brought to task on their comments, they are not human enough to admit that they did not have the knowledge to make such comments. Instead that make a backhanded appology. This consisted of a stated fact that they did not own a 4WD so that others reading it would know that they did not really mean what they were posting. As we all know they own a 4WD. Roachie uses his 4WD to pull a campervan around outback Oz. I am not sure what Lucy does. Touring Oz is a great activity and the reason for this forum. I am not having a go at his ability to carry out such an activity. But unless in his travels he has obtained some mystical power from the locals, such touring does not give him the ability or right to comment on activities he has little or no knowledge about and cast doubts over a peron's driving ability.

So why don't you stop the stupid posts and simply appologise for the previous comments made. In the future restrict your comments to touring.
FollowupID: 542255

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:24

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:24
YES SIR!!!! AI-AI CAPTAIN!!!! YOUR WISH IS MY COMMAND!!!! ETC ETC.

On 2nd thoughts....nah, stuff it!!!! I've had a gutfull of youidiots!!

The one thing I am sorry for about this whole post, is that a cretin like youidiots has come along and think that the whole purpose of me putting-up this post was to sling muck at the driver. Nothing could be further from the truth.

In fact, I am pleased if what you say is true.... Quote: " The video of the roll over has been posted on various 4WD forums around the world. Virtually all the replies show sympothy to the owner. No where else have people posted comments about the driver's abilities, what gear he had it in, or what mirrors he was using at the time" Un-quote................

Any reasonable person reading this post would think to themselves that we (the 4 no-hopers you have referred to) were all collectively aghast at the rollover and have set-about trying to dissect what could have possibly led to such a horrific event. All of this was designed to be viewed in a constructive way. I reckon even Russell (the driver of the rolled Pajero) would tend to agree with me that, on the whole, the respondents to this post have been sympathetic.

Comments that I (or others) may have made about what gear/high or low range etc, were all inserted to try to piece together what may have occured. As an example, I noticed in the sound side of the video, that the engine didn't seem to rev-up at all as the Paj started to reverse, especially as it went back to the point where the descent started in earnest. This raised the question in my mind as to whether the vehicle was actually in gear at all and, if so, was it actually in high range? If the answer to either of those questions is "yes", then that would/could explain the lack of (obvious) change of pitch of the motor's revs. I know that if it had have been my big block chevvy diesel in that situation, you would have been left in doubt about what gear/range I was in as the sound of the motor increasing revs from 700 to say 1100 is VERY OBVIOUS. However, on a well-muffled Paj, this may not be the case.

I make no apology for the fact that a few of us have tried to solve the mystery of what led to this rollover and how it may have been avoided........ Crikey, for all you know, the 4 of us could be coppers in the Major Crash Investigation Unit and this could be our bread and butter......

But then again, no, youidiots would know more than the 4 of us combined....no doubt about that......
FollowupID: 542268

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:25

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:25
youpajero

No!

PS

You have inspired me to aspire to the zenith of 4WD's when I purchase one - yes! it will be a Nissan.

Mr Roach has assured me that they never roll over when going backwards.

FollowupID: 542269

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:37

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:37
Oi! youpajero

Does your mum know you are on the net unsupervised.

FollowupID: 542272

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:09

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:09
Crickey, Now I'm in a state of shock, Everything I know about 4WDing has been taught to me by Lucy and Roachie and JohnRandMoses(haven't met Kath yet) and know I'm in a state of utter complex confusion. What should I do now.
maybe I will sell the subby and buy a 3.0l Nissan so I can be like Bonz but his passion for breaking things is awe inspiring.
Roachie, if I wanted to reverse down that mound, should I have a lift kit fitted to the subby.

Merry xmas everyone.
des at work still.
FollowupID: 542274

Follow Up By: youidiots - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:33

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:33
You continue to prove the people you really are. Didn't think I would get you to apologise, but wanted to highlight to others your real substance. Come across you lot all the time, buy a 4WD, drive around on a few dirt roads, read a few books, and think they actually know something.

Nothing more can be said.

FollowupID: 542278

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:38

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:38
youpajero

Never books - always 4WD mags

PS

You have now convinced more than ever to pit COOPER tyres to my 4WD rig when I eventually get one.

FollowupID: 542282

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:55

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:55
Hey! youpajero

The stats show that this thread has been viewed 1,959 times.

How many of these viewings are yours - 1,900 ????????

PS

When I buy that Nissan I mentioned above I am going to replace all the suspension, front and rear bumper bars and add driving lights, winch and recovery gear all from Ironman.
AnswerID: 278265

Follow Up By: youidiots - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:36

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:36
Why don't you set it up like Roachies. Real confused machine there. Don't forget to list when you change a light glode as a modification.
FollowupID: 542281

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:42

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:42
youpajero

Nobody could emulate the engineering excellence that Mr roach has attained with his vehicle.

Nup! a GU fitted out with Ironman accessories and Cooper tyres will be my limit.

FollowupID: 542283

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:59

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:59
Lucky, don't worry too much.....it's only about 5 weeks until school goes back; then this fool will be out of our hair (what's left of it!).

Or maybe he doesn't go to school anymore.....in which case the question must be asked: "who left the gate of the asylum open?"

Are you still set to attend next year's Outback Challenge?
FollowupID: 542287

Follow Up By: youidiots - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:08

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:08
Roachie, Reckon I am a kid, yet you are not man enough to admit that you were wrong.

Looking at the photos you have listed in your profile, I use to drive many of the places you have listed in an XE Falcon pulling a campervan. I was driving the South Road before it was sealed. Yet you think you are a man driving them in a 4WD.

Go and watch the Outback Challenge and at least watch what people that know how to drive act. You won't see any of those guys attempting to kick others while they are down. They know how things can go pear shape even with their vehicles and skills. I wonder whether you are stupid enough to go and try and tell them what they did wrong when they roll or break something.

Grow up!
FollowupID: 542302

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 23:36

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 23:36
Youpajero

And.......

FollowupID: 542365

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 08:15

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 08:15
I think your name (youidiots) says it all
FollowupID: 542383

Follow Up By: youidiots - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:26

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:26
Luke, I thought it appropriate for the people I would be dealing with in this thread
FollowupID: 542472

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:46

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:46
Youpajero

I know a dude that an XE falcon once.

Had some bizarre driving lights on it apparently.

FollowupID: 542475

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:57

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:57
What are you up to Lucky? XE Falcon with BIG lights? Sounds like a certain fellow we know who shouldn't be allowed near power tools!!!!! How IS Bonz anyway? hohoho
FollowupID: 542477

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:27

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:27

With a modicum of good luck, it is hoped that someone gave him a 'nibbler' for X-mas and that when he 'test drives' it, it drops down his daks and nibbles his 'bitz' off slowly.

Then it will be hohohohoho alright as it turns him into a 'ho'.

ROFLMAO x 1 & 1/2

FollowupID: 542481