Protecting a radiator for the Fan when Xing water.

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 19:51
ThreadID: 55370 Views:4826 Replies:4 FollowUps:11
While I did the snorkel a friend helped with the fan protection.

1 : Undo the top hose and coolant bottle, then undo the fan shroud, then measure the hight and width.

2 : cut the mesh to measurements, then place vacuum hose over the edges and cable tie.

3 : Fit into the front of the core trying to fit the mesh snug up against the core, the hose will protect the core and help the shroud hold the mesh in place, you may need to adjust the size of the mesh to get it perfect.

4 : Replace shroud coolant bottle and top hose top up the water and with a beer in one hand stand back and admire handy work labour cost 1 carton of Red cans..

If you wish to use this info be my guest, as with the other thread a couple of mate a couple of beers and a Sunday afternoon.

Cheers Steve.

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:01

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:01
Jeeze!!! Your mates are cheap!
Would have cost me double that on the Saturday and a BBQ on the Sunday to finish the job!

AnswerID: 291823

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:18

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:18
He has done his 4 years but hasn't got his papers yet.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 557162

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:32

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:32
The lack of knowledge usually isnt the problem...just the over indulgence!
FollowupID: 557169

Reply By: rumpig - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:11

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:11
nice pics steve,
out of curiosity, have you ever noticed damage to the fan showing where it has hit the mess but saved the core from damage.
RUMPIG
AnswerID: 291824

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:16

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:16
I do have one broken blade tip.

But at $88 for a fan and close to $400 for the radiator + a possible blown engine, I find it cheap insurance.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 557160

Follow Up By: rumpig - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:24

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 20:24
i wasn't worried about the fan mate, just curious as to weather you knew that the mesh had done it's job by protecting the core or not. judging by the broken fan tip i'd say you know it definately works.

thanks mate.
FollowupID: 557167

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 21:34

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 21:34
There is a small gap 10mm between the core and the mesh, and still a fair bit of room 30/40mm between the fan and the mesh.

the photo does make it look closer than what it is.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 557192

Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 09:09

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 09:09
If the crossing is grille height- I fit a tarp shroud.
Any deeper I disengage the viscous fan from rotating.

AnswerID: 291873

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 12:38

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 12:38
Signman

How difficult is it to disenguage the viscous fan from rotating?...maybe a dumb question and simple answer because I have quickly asked the question without thinking too deeply about how it can be done!

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 557258

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 14:22

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 14:22
Just a little tab attached to the fan shroud.
Hinges down to attach to one of the fan blades, and stops rotation of the fan- the viscous clutch is not viscous enough to cause probs..

FollowupID: 557264

Reply By: jeepthing - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 21:37

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 21:37
Steve,
Curious as to what sort of gauze you are using I take it it must be reasonably tight to restrict water. Also whether you find that the airflow through the radiator is being restricted enough to cause an increase in engine temp? Partucularly when towing an offroad van with a bit of weight; could cause a rise?
I came across a fellow when I was in WA last year who had overheating probems with his Toyota due to insects clogging the radiator enough to restrict air flow. He did what I do and strap 50% shade cloth to the nudge bar to stop the buggers clogging the radiator.
AnswerID: 292009

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 21:52

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 21:52
??????????? What "gauze" are you talking about. He's fitted coarse mesh to stop the fan from hitting the radiator....nothing to do with gauze stopping water/air flow etc?????
FollowupID: 557357

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 21:57

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 21:57
Hey Roachie.

I get the impression your a switched on sort of bloke.

What do you think of the idea, I value your opinion??

It works for me as I have 4 cars and 4 drivers It just takes out the x factor for me.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 557359

Follow Up By: jeepthing - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 08:56

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 08:56
From my viewing of photos 1 and 3 I thought there was some sort of mesh between the grill and the radiator core which served 2 purposes to stop the grill rubbing on the radiator core and to slow water down when xing water, then someone mentioned putting a cover up in front of the vehicle when crossing water.

Anyway obviously my error. It is a good idea though Steve and pretty good insurance.
FollowupID: 557409

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 11:31

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 11:31
G'day Steve,
I'm flattered that you'd be seeking my opinion...... haha

I reckon that it's probably the best option in a "less-than-ideal" situation. What I mean by that, is that it's a shame that the fan is too close to the radiator in the 1st place (or maybe it's just a case of the fan blades being a bit too flexible, allowing them to be sucked forward when they hit water?)

I can't see any downside to it apart from the risk of damage to the fan blades (much less of a drama than damage to the radiator of course) as long as the mesh cannot interfere with the radiator via vibration etc..... but it would appear that the rubber surround would negate any possibility of damage from that source.

No, on the whole, I reckon you've done a bloody good job and Toyota should make that an optional extra and pay you HEAPS of $$$ for coming up with the solution.

FollowupID: 557431