Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

You're a 4wd'er when ....

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 09:27

wazza

You know when you are a 4 wheel driver when...

-You stop and look at any old rusty heap thinking "parts vehicle...."

-Your rig has more [farm/boat/military/other vehicle manufacturer] equipment than OEM parts

-The weatherman says "Stay in, it's dangerous" and you think "Time to go 4 wheel driving!"

-You're happy that you can't use 1st gear in the street

-A military convoy passes by and you only look at the axles, tyres and antennas

-You take your other half out to look at new home construction sites so you can drive on the unfinished roads and sand piles

-You have enough straps, chains, rope, etc in your rig to keep the HMAS ANZAC docked during a cyclone

-You can break down on the road, fix the problem and get back on the road without calling RACV

-The RACV guy breaks down, you can stop and fix his problem and get back on the road

-You have a brand new set of tyres, but you keep looking at the tyre ads anyway

-You'll drive 2 days at 500 miles a day so you can spend 2 more days driving at 5 miles per day

-You get reallybleepoff because you spent over an hour to go 10 miles home on Friday, but are grinning from ear to ear because you spent 6 hours going 4 miles on your favourite track on Saturday

-You set your rig up to have a top speed of 100-105 km/h on purpose

-When you pull up next to a Ferrari and all the Ferrari driver can see is tyres and whatever is on the other side of you

-You challenge the Ferrari driver to a race .... if you can pick the course

-You spend three hours mowing the lawn contemplating how your ride on mower would look and handle with a 3" lifted, 5 link coilover suspension, Swampers, having the engine turboed, intercooled and blueprinted .... does Safari make a kit for Briggs and Stratton? What about a K&N air filter??

Taken from a jeep site in US and modified for Australian content
Advertisement
ThreadID: 5756 Replies: 14
Views: 562 FollowUps: 5
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 23930   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 11:03

bruce.h (WA) replied:

Guity as charged
Reply 1 of 14
FollowupID: 16040   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 11:23

Steve from Drive Systems Victoria posted:

Yep, must have the same ailment.
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 16061   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 14:49

Member - GOPE posted:

Count me in. Good post."Happy" :)>
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 23938   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 11:30

Member - Toonfish replied:

Actually one aftermarket filter company do make a filter for mowers ?????
guilty as well1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
Reply 2 of 14
AnswerID: 23956   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 13:57

Member - Peter (WA) replied:

...you pray for rain becauce tomorrow is your day off and the track is to dryBorn to drive a 4x4 , not a keyboard
Peter York 4x4
Reply 3 of 14
FollowupID: 16058   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 14:30

Member - Scotti posted:

HERE HERE!!!Looking forward to Kalbarri in July..
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 23962   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 16:09

GaryInOz (Vic) replied:

- You carry a tape measure in your vehicle and measure up other peoples vehicles, to the amusement of onlookers and interest of police.
Reply 4 of 14
Activities Index
Competition Glider over Byron Bay - 30 minutes Competition Glider over Byron Bay - 30 minute
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
This is one of the best ways to see Byron from the air, and it is the perfect introduction to the sp
Palm Beach Powerboat Ride Palm Beach Powerboat Ride
Sydney - NSW
Jump on and prepare yourself for our breathtaking “Palm Beach Pursuit” adventure!
Romantic Gondola Cruise On The River Torrens Romantic Gondola Cruise On The River Torrens
Adelaide - SA
Enjoy this unique Venetian experience on the River Torrens in the heart of beautiful Adelaide.
V8 Race Buggy and WRX Rally Car - 32 Lap Combo V8 Race Buggy and WRX Rally Car - 32 Lap Comb
Gold Coast - QLD
The ultimate in dirt driving!
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 23972   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 17:51

Suzuki Viagra replied:

You crawl underneath the front suspension of someone else's car in the carpark to see how he got that extra inch of ground clearance over you.....
Reply 5 of 14
AnswerID: 23975   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 18:30

diamond (bendigo) replied:

a guy in a 4wd pulls up next to you and say mine is bigger than yours and for once in your life you dont get punched lol.looking foward to september(landcruiser park/fraser island)
Reply 6 of 14
AnswerID: 23978   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 18:56

bruce.h (WA) replied:

instead of taking a playboy to the dunny you take a copy of 4wd monthly
Reply 7 of 14
FollowupID: 16362   Submitted: Sunday, Jul 06, 2003 at 09:11

Brian posted:

OK.... who looked in my bathroom????? LOL
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 23980   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 19:08

Member - Bonz (Vic) replied:

-you wash your pride and joy just so you can see how good it looks dirty

great postSo many places to go!
So much work to do :0(
Reply 8 of 14
AnswerID: 23985   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 19:49

Hilly replied:

- when you can only name 2 state premiers but at least 15 different tyre manufacturers.

- when you don't need to tint the inside of your vehicle's windows because the outside is already covered with stickers from the places you've visited.
Reply 9 of 14
AnswerID: 24015   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2003 at 00:16

Goodsy replied:

When you look at a dent on the side of your 4x4 and think bloodly good trip that one. : )
Reply 10 of 14
FollowupID: 16175   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2003 at 18:07

diamond (bendigo) posted:

very true
looking foward to september(landcruiser park/fraser island)
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 24021   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2003 at 08:59

stevesub replied:

You drive down the road and see a track leading to who knows where and think, I must try that track some day and see what it is like. Even got the wife looking for me when I am driving now but never had time to go back and try those tracks - bugger.

Relieves the boredom on the longer trips playing spot the new track.
Reply 11 of 14
AnswerID: 24050   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2003 at 18:09

diamond (bendigo) replied:

one from the wife.
when your pushing bubs in the pram and you go out of your way to hit the puddleslooking foward to september(landcruiser park/fraser island)
Reply 12 of 14
Activities Index
V8 Race Buggy and WRX Rally Car - 32 Lap Combo V8 Race Buggy and WRX Rally Car - 32 Lap Comb
Gold Coast - QLD
The ultimate in dirt driving!
Hunter Valley Wineries Tour (299) Hunter Valley Wineries Tour (299)
Sydney - NSW
Visit world acclaimed Australian wines from the vineyards of the rolling hills and valleys of the Hu
L-39 Fighter Jet Airshow Aerobatic Mission L-39 Fighter Jet Airshow Aerobatic Mission
Hunter Valley - NSW
Your 20 minute Airshow Aerobatic Fighter Mission adventure will involve a guided tour of the L-39 Je
Tandem Skydiving - Bells Beach/Torquay Tandem Skydiving - Bells Beach/Torquay
Great Ocean Road - VIC
Skydive the beautiful coast of the Great Ocean Road at Bells Beach, the only skydive centre in Torqu
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 24080   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2003 at 22:46

bruce.h (WA) replied:

after working an 13 hour day you still stop & read this web site before you go home
Reply 13 of 14
AnswerID: 24323   Submitted: Sunday, Jul 06, 2003 at 15:13

Browny replied:

When driving around for work during the day, and you spot another 4x4, all decked out and loaded up with camping goodies (usually a friday arvo) and you get an enormouse urge to follow him or to at least have a chat and find out where he's heading and for how long.

Browny
Reply 14 of 14