off
rid
repel
wack off
hands free
avon
just to name a few
or is there some good home made brews that are better to use
im heading to cape york soon so i need to no from the people that have already been there what realy works up there
thanks!

Reply By: Rangiephil - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 16:49

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 16:49
Mate for flies there is nothing better than Desert Dwellers cream.

http://www.desertdwellers.com.au/

But this does nothing for mossies and you better not be allergic to Rosemary.

We use good old citronella candles and Aerogard for mossies and were relatively unbitten at Coward Springs which is the worst we found for both.

Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 397935

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 16:49

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 16:49
Mega vitamin B , start taking daily 10/14 days prior to trip and keep taking daily , wont stop all bites but seriously cuts down on quantity /scatching , of all the rest you name we swear by Bushmans but be wary using it on young uns and if into fishing be sure none is on your hands or gear.
AnswerID: 397936

Reply By: time waster - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 16:56

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 16:56
Good as a repellant but even better for stopping the itch is The Locals Mozzie Stuff from Broome made where the midge's live in Point Samson WA. Made from natural ingredients, it is hard to find a stockist but my Mum orders in a box at a time to sell in there camping store in Adelaide.
AnswerID: 397939

Follow Up By: creek dog - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 21:12

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 21:12
I have to agree, we found it the only thing that stopped the itching. It also works as a good repellent to. My boyfriend likes it coz it makes him smell really nice. We found it at a lot of caravan parks and visitors during our trip from Derby to Perth but we now buy it online at www.thelocals.net.au as it doesn't seem to be in many places across the border.sandfly and mozzie stuff
FollowupID: 672430

Follow Up By: creek dog - Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 21:25

Friday, Feb 05, 2010 at 21:25
hey I just noticed my typo. I meant to say we found it at "Visitors Centre"
FollowupID: 672431

Follow Up By: early bird - Tuesday, Feb 09, 2010 at 04:50

Tuesday, Feb 09, 2010 at 04:50
Hey great to hear my product get a mention. I started making it from home when we moved to Point Samson with our 3 kidlets back in 2004. Since then it's become so popular it sells in nearly 100 outlets, mostly in WA, but I'm hoping to get some more interstate stockist soon, so look out for it. Thanks for the rap, Susy
FollowupID: 672836

Reply By: Member -Paintar - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 17:38

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 17:38
Hi putrol

Try going to stock feeders stores and ask them what they have to keep flie's of horse in the way of creams or sprays, and buy that it will be the same as all the natural creams but it will be quarter of the price, smells ok, not horsing around.Why the long face
Regards Paintar
AnswerID: 397943

Reply By: iamian - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 18:23

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 18:23
Would you believe LISTERINE often works well. Put it in a normal spray bottle with about 2/3rds Listerine and 1/3 water and it keeps mozzies at bay...haven't yet tried it with &%$! sandflies yet.
AnswerID: 397949

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 18:30

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 18:30
You beat me to it. We used Listerine whenwe were up north. My wife gets eaten really badly but with Listerine on hardly a bite, and she finally melt fresh too LOL. Seriously it works a treat.

Josh
FollowupID: 666768

Reply By: Member - Carl- Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 18:53

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 18:53
For mossie bites... dip a cottom bug in cloudy amonia and then push it into the mossie bite for 20 seconds, while twisting back and forth.

No good as a repelent but kills the pain of the bit in seconds. Well 20 anyway. No good for midgies.
AnswerID: 397956

Reply By: mickf69 - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 19:25

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 19:25
i got an aboriginal mate in Meekatharra that i go out in the bush with to look for gold and he uses home brand fly spray. could not believe it when i saw him using it. i prefer bushmans.
AnswerID: 397960

Follow Up By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 14:05

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 14:05
yeh the black and gold fly spray is great to spray on the bites, takes away the itch instantly
FollowupID: 666917

Reply By: jabiru340 - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 19:29

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 19:29
Try Avon Bug Guard we swear by it. If you do get bitten put it on and it will stop the sting from sandies, ants, scorpions and the like.
AnswerID: 397961

Reply By: ljsroslyn - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 19:29

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 19:29
For flies try -Natures Botanical

Very effective, all natural, smells good and we swear by it. Can be a bit hard to get - our local disposals store sells it.
AnswerID: 397962

Reply By: Wilk0 - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 19:39

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 19:39
I've heard of oldtimers using a mixture of Rosewood oil and peppermint oil to repel insects.

It seemed to work when I used it many moons ago but the mixture repelled just about everything (people, insects & animals) lol.

Cheers Wilko

AnswerID: 397963

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 19:54

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 19:54
I have got a plastic tub (about 7-10ltr size) full of bottles, tubes, pots and sprays of "preventions and cures" for Midgie bites that we bought and tried while up north last winter.
Most were recommended by others as the wonder "preventer/cure" but NONE, I repeat, NONE worked for us, cost us a damn fortune and a lot of discomfort.

Then a lady working in a chemist shop, who was not trying to boost the sales, suggested that Vitamin B1 tablets work as a preventative and Anti Histamine tablets will stop the itch.
She was right the VB1 took a few days to work 100%, but the Anti histamine tablets worked after just a couple of hours. Bloody great to be free of the itching I can assure you.

Try not to camp any where within 1/2 klm or more of Mangroves, every place that we had a problem with Midgies there were Mangroves within 300-400 mtrs.

Good Luck.

Scrubby
AnswerID: 397965

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 13:16

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 13:16
Scrubby

When Phillip Parker King sailed up the Fitzmaurice River in the late 1800's in HMS Bathurst, there was a young aboriginal boy beckoning to him from the banks of the river. They let the boy on board in the evening and suddenly all types of mozzies amd midges disappeared. The young bloke had sourced the age old question and found the answer.

He was wearing a dead Flying Fox around his neck :-)

Anyway HNY!

FollowupID: 666902

Follow Up By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 08:33

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 08:33
Willem,

When the first European settler's arrived at Port Jackson, they found that the local tribes people used a very effective process to repel mossies and sand flies.

They rubbed fish guts into their hair, and allowed the juice's created to run down their bodies.

Very effective for biting insects, but Arthur Phillip and his associates didn't think too highly of the practice, and bear in mind they didn't have the hygiene practices like we have nowadays, and ponged pretty well themselves.
FollowupID: 667344

Reply By: Fatso - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 21:16

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 21:16
Can't give you much advice on mossies. They don't bight me much.
Sand Flies bite everyone though & the best repellent for them is baby oil.
Don't know how it works, but it does. Pretty messy though.
AnswerID: 397975

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 21:25

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 21:25
Baby oil eh.

Might tell wifey tonight there's some sand flies in our bedroom...
FollowupID: 666810

Reply By: equinox - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 21:28

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 21:28
Sorry putrol, can't help much, maybe aeroguard..

However I just find it so funny how some people handle flies. Some people can't and I do have to have a laugh sometimes at the measures taken to deal with it.

To keep flies away: Bring other people with you ;))

AnswerID: 397977

Follow Up By: Member - T N (Qld) - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 22:09

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 22:09
Yep vit B helps,
a mix of baby oil and disinfectant works.
plus Vicks vapour rub helps with the itch, Happy scrachting.

PS Bundy taken internally takes your mind off everything.
FollowupID: 666822

Reply By: Haza - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 22:44

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 22:44
Use sandle wood stick just before dusk for the miggies, we just use two upwind from the camp site and find by the time there half used the miggies are gone and put then out for the next night.
If walking through the mangroves use Bushmans gel.
For flies/mozzies bushmans spray.
Bushmans does leave a residue and a shower is nice before bed. If your in a swag/tent/annex or mozzie dome make its got fine enough screen to stop miggies.
Have tried most of the others andhome remedys, Ammonia does work on the bites to reduce the itch. But have found the best thing is not to schatch no matter how much you want to.
Never really found flys a great problem up north.
And a beer at night to build up the vitiam b helps I guess.
AnswerID: 398002

Follow Up By: Fatso - Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 22:50

Wednesday, Jan 06, 2010 at 22:50
That bushmens is pretty potent.
Some of the bigger companies stopped using it because of the OH&S worries. It has a load DEET.
It is about the strongest & it works.
Don't get it in plastic.
FollowupID: 666833

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 08:39

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 08:39
I used the Bushmans in the aerosol bottle on a recent spray trip and was really pleased- no bites! My other half did not apply so religiously and was bitten many times. I'd be a little more concerned about the tube too, though I have been told that you only need to apply the tiniest amount because it is so concentrated. This is probably where people go wrong!
FollowupID: 666868

Follow Up By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 21:45

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 21:45
I use Bushman Plus but only last ditch. It is toxic. It dissolves some plastics. It works but I only use it on occasion. Never routinely.

I have seen people adversely affected buy it. My tolerance is a little higher and I can get way with it in SMALL AMOUNTS. Even so I try and wash it all off before bed.

I would rather change to something less toxic.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 667517

Reply By: Member - Carl- Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 09:29

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 09:29
There certainly are many cures.

On New Caledonia and also on St Johns islands there is a fantastic plant for midgees. Good luck getting it back through customs however. You could tell them that it is a midgee cure but I suspect they have heard that one before.

Vitamin B is great but each tablet is 100mg. If going above 200mg a day, you can get head aches as a result.

Bushmans you have to check that you are ok with DEET (active ingredient)
AnswerID: 398038

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 09:55

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 09:55
I've heard a mixture of Baby Oil and Dettol is supposed to work well.
AnswerID: 398041

Reply By: trainslux - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 10:11

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 10:11
For mossies, we use Dettol and baby oil, mixed in equal portions.
Works well.

Others add a few drops of citronella oil, and others have used equal parts of metho, dettol, and baby oil.

Dosent repel flies, but its great for no mossie bites.

Trains

Plus its a great hand wash, cut cleaner etc.
AnswerID: 398042

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 10:55

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 10:55
Yep.....Baby Oil and Detol or Desert Dwellers Cream works for me. (you can get the Desert Dwellers stuff in a roll on now too)

AnswerID: 398047

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 13:29

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 13:29
Yep, Desert Dwellers for me too. But I usually go to the desert so only have to contend with flies.

Bit of a worry that roll though....wouldn't want it to get mixed up with the toilet roll in the dark...LOL

Anyway HNY!

FollowupID: 666905

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 13:52

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 13:52
Gday Willem,

If you have trouble telling the difference between a toilet roll and a roll on repellent at night ,you need new glasses, less red or softer toilet paper! Hahahaha

FollowupID: 666909

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 13:57

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 13:57
Ah! I missed 'on' bit....lol
FollowupID: 666913

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 14:11

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 14:11
Phew.....I was a bit worried about ya! LOL
FollowupID: 666918

Reply By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 14:10

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 14:10
Putrol

We always swore by bushman's for how good it repelled all the nasties but it seems like they have changed the ingredients and its crap now, we use it when fishing in the mangroves but doesn't seem to work any more. And for the price for bushmans it should be able to repel crocs.

We have started buying aeroguard and that seems to work better and its heaps cheaper

Mixture of baby oil and dettol works well too.
AnswerID: 398085

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 17:28

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 17:28
I use either "Off!" or "Aeroguard" - the Off! has a low scent that won't upset people, but the Aeroguard has that traditional anti-mozzie smell! If you're going to tropical areas, make sure the repellant has DEET (both Off! and Aeroguard are available with DEET).

I also carry a tube of Paraderm cream for when/if I do get bitten - deals with the itch and also has other uses including minor burns, etc.
AnswerID: 398317

Reply By: 60series_adventurer - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 21:38

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 21:38

We use Avon Bug Guard or Off. We have a 2 year old and I saw at the chemist the other day a mixture (natural apparently) in a bottle u give them orally and it helps repel the mozzies. Didn't read to much into it at the time so not sure if it's suitable for adults or not.

AnswerID: 398396

Follow Up By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 17:38

Sunday, Jan 10, 2010 at 17:38
Bushman works. However it dissolves watches, jewellry,tables, chairs, tents, caravans, fishing rods, kures and just about anything it touches!!! Stay covered up before 10am and after 4pm, and use "Rid Roll On" on bits left exposed. Seems to work for us.

Cheers............
FollowupID: 667668