Astonished by GPS

Submitted: Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 15:49
ThreadID: 83576 Views:4183 Replies:6 FollowUps:29

Okay I am a novice with much of this technology and stuff, and I am slowly (very slowly) learning how to use my GPS.

I sent my first test run results to Bushwhacker, as he is assisting me to learn, (for which I am extremely thankful), and he contacted me and described my actual house within the community that I live, using Google Earth.

Does this mean that if someone breaks down on the CSR, I could obtain their GPS position and see enough to determine what vehicles need to go out and help. I thought makybe the Google Earth thing may be responding with up to date live pictures, or are they previuously taken images. (Never used Google Earth, just heard about it).

Can someone please give me a website where I can learn this stuff.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

Reply By: garrycol - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 15:54

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 15:54
Google earth is not real time so is not suitable for what you want - the pic of my house is about 2 years old.

Garry
AnswerID: 441387

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:21

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:21
The Google Earth images over my place are from around 2003, prior to earthworks and shed building, and are too pixellated to be of any use. Our property adjoins the town site in a south west town, so hardly remote.

I know some areas are covered clearly. Last year, when looking up a friend now living near Newcastle in NSW, i used Google maps to find the address, and it brought up a clear picture of her house in street view. We didn't need to look for house numbers - we just turned into the street and there was the house as pictured.

I don't think anyone will recognise my house from this

FollowupID: 713414

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:31

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:31
Thank you Garry and MH, it seems that such may be their next step the way things are going. Have a good week.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 713415

Reply By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:05

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:05
Hi Marc Luther,
As Garry said, Google Earth photos can be a year or 2 old so you couldn't see the vehicles. Where a GPS position helps in this case is that you will know exactly how far you must travel to reach them instead of a rough estimate. You could also look on Google Earth to see the type of country they are stranded in. My GPS also tells me how long to the destination at the current speed and direction which may also help. I don't know of a particular website - I read a bit of the manual then tried it out, slowly building my knowledge. I still keep the manual in the pocket of the driver's side door.
AnswerID: 441390

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:35

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:35

Thankyou for that information.

FollowupID: 713418

Reply By: Karunjie - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:17

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:17
"Never Used just heard about it" - Didn't you ask this same question or have the conversation about 6 months ago on the 4x4Action forum?
AnswerID: 441393

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:34

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:34
Hi Karunjie

As Shaun from 4x4 Action was able to find out for me, that account (plus all my other accounts) had been accessed and I was receiving strange emails from everywhere. My fault for not having internet security then.

The nightmare I went through back then was horrible, and even getting my monies back from various locations was difficult.

FollowupID: 713417

Reply By: equinox - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:32

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:32
Hi Marc,

Please don't get into the habit of saying "GPS position". I know you're new at this so I will let you off this time.

It is "Position", whether that is worked out with satellites, sextant, map or even dead reckoning. A person or location can only be at one position.

Others will say I am being pedantic, you can be the judge!!!

AnswerID: 441395

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:36

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 16:36
Hi Alan

Not that I am that clear on what you mean, but fair enough.

FollowupID: 713419

Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 17:03

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 17:03
Alan - yes I think you are being a little pedantic.

Just saying "position" gives no indication of its accuracy.

By adding the GPS in front of position you are automatically implying it has an accuracy of about 30m or less.

An "estimated" position has an accuracy of - who knows but indicates there may be a substantial error. A Dead Reckoning position implys a bit more accurate position than estimates as it uses direction and speed etc etc etc.

So to me GPS position is relevant as it indicates an exceptionally low margin of error.

Garry
FollowupID: 713426

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 17:14

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 17:14
I'm with Garry on this Alan :-).

When I'm out on the water Sea Rescue always ask me for my "GPS co-ordinates" when I notify them I'm diving. I suppose I should correct them by saying that they shouldn't be asking for gps coords; just coords.

I'll tell them you sent me.

FollowupID: 713429

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 17:31

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 17:31
OK you two (I must have missed that piece of woodwork).

It's just that some people seem to think travelling only started with the introduction of GPS. In the transition from Scale Ruler to GPS I noticed that people started referring to "GPS Position", when in reality they could have easily left off the "GPS". Rolls off the tongue easy and I have been caught out myself - I quickly correct myself though when I notice.

I will maintain silence on the issue and only mention it every other year :-)

FollowupID: 713437

Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 17:56

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 17:56
Alan - everyone has a valid point of view - you obviously thought it important enough to raise it and I had to have a long think about what you said before responding - I assume you also made and will make a few people to think about the issue as well.

Garry
FollowupID: 713445

Follow Up By: Ruffy-Dan - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 18:30

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 18:30
Certainly made myself think about it and have come to this conclusion,
If in fact you are going to state your "GPS" position you also need to state the DATUM the position was calculated in as this can move you positon by several hundred metres.
eg; My GPS position in Australian Geodetic 1966 is .........

I prefer "Location" to position.
If you give a location form either a mathematical calculation or from a GPS then i'd assume you have enough skills to acquire the correct location or you'd say "Approximately"

Just my take on it. Not being pedantic, just at the times i have need to know an reasonably precise location for emergency services they like to know whether it IS your location or APPROXIMATELY your location.

Dan

FollowupID: 713455

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 20:07

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 20:07
Even the map people get in on it :)

These are some GPS positions for certain locations around the Canning Stock Route.
I'm not sure what the real positions are, might have to refer to another source lol..sorry I said I'd be silent....

FollowupID: 713472

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 17:10

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 17:10
Yes Marc, GPS technology and applications are truly amazing.

Are you into Oxiexplorer and GPS mapping yet? I'd never go anywhere remote without it these days. It's just so good to know absolutely exactly where one is lost :-).

AnswerID: 441399

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 18:58

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 18:58
HI John

I have my first hand held GPS, so I guess not.

FollowupID: 713460

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 19:06

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 19:06

To explain that previous comment regarding 4x4 magazine.

The magazine ewditor contacted me and askwed for a few brief comments about safe outback travel, so I obliged. Quite some time later I was informed that "I" was a member of their forum, and that I was giving out some strange facts about "myself".

The amount of emails (quite nasty) that I was receiving then was ridiculous, but on checking with the magazine, they were able to cancel that membership for me.

Why anyone would do something like that is beyond me, but then it takes all kinds of people to make the world. Thankfully that nightmare is over, but there are still those believing that is was me. I guess there is nothing that I can do about that.

AnswerID: 441410

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 19:23

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 19:23
You could ask the administrator to put up a thread pointing out what happened and clarifying the situation.

FollowupID: 713464

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 19:41

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 19:41
Hi Graham

It wasn't on this site Graham. Since that event I have had Internet Security installed on my computer, and it is probably why I can not open links and stuff like that.

I would rather have the security and miss out on a few things. Believe me it is a horrible feeling when someone pinches your identity.

FollowupID: 713466

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 19:57

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 19:57
I meant on the 4x4 site.
Internet Security shouldnt stop you form opening links.

I have Nortons IE 2011 running and can open anything normally except now I have Internet Exporer 9 beta running am having a few probs.

Its how you set NIS up that defines what you can do Turn off auto protect for 15 mins and then try a link If it still doesnt open links its something else.

FollowupID: 713468

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 20:24

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 20:24
If that's the case Marc, then your identity has been stolen again because you're telling the exact same stories and using the exact course of conduct to build your profile up as you did previously!

That’s the risk of the internet Marc, anyone can create an on line persona that bears no resemblance to the truth. You can exaggerate and tell porkies to your hearts content. Whose gonna know whether you own the biggest cattle station in the Kimberley and work 90 hours a week or your just bull bleep ing. Even a persons height can vary by 5” between forums and forum posts, This is why any internet forum and social networking sites can be such a trap for the unwary. Thankfully though, there’s that much info in the public arena that you would be AMAZED at what you can learn with some basic information. It's also very easy to trip up when ones prone to exaggerate. You tend to forget just what webs you've spun after a while.

I find it hard to believe that a bloke who can get a degree in science from Murdoch can claim to know nothing of computers and technology yet you still actively maintain sites on facebook and Myspace.... identity theft again? (You’re on the Academic Register at Murdoch for receiving your degree in the 1990’s. All available on the internet. See what I mean)

Marc you got the nasty emails because of your behaviour on the 4X4 Action forum and the way you seemingly and deliberately took offence to responses on the forum. You seemed to want to make everyone apologise to you. Strange that you're doing that here again. Strange also that the hijackers of your profile knew details of your area that only someone with a long long experience of the area would know. The places, names, people. Incredible coincidence.

I've been following you here since you arrived and its truly worried me. It's the same all over again. It would be interesting to know just how many members or advertisers you've contacted through the trader offering to buy their stuff. A lot of fun having them run all over the place trying to find out how much it costs to get stuff to Mulan.

FollowupID: 713475

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 20:37

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 20:37
Well, this is a worry, as someone contacted me regarding purchasing my Engel, and I wonder if it was Marc, or someone using his ID.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 713480

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 20:51

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 20:51
Mick O

Yes, I have told everyone that I have a Science Degree, done fully externally. I have computer skills but not to the extent that some people have, I have never been into IT that much Check the academic register, I did not do IT). Having a Science degree simply means that someone has been trained in an aspect of scientfiic academia, nothing else, it does not verify training or learning in everything involved in Science. My degree had a triple minor, being environmental science, international politics and social ecology, nothing at all to do with IT. The computer I typed my assignments on was a 386 DX33, not much more than a glorified typewriter.

I have never heard of MySpace, so have no idea of that one, and have not used Face Book since my identity was used.

My comment was honest, I am a novice to GPS and such.

For local names you only need check the Balgo Arts Centre. I have bought, paid for and received some tyre dog monitoring system guages, nothing else, and some books from EO Shop which have been paid for and posted, so I have no idea what you are talking about there. I did try to buy one fridge, but the Post Office stated they will not handle that much weight, it has to go through a freight company, so I do not know what is going on there.

Nobody owes me any apologies at all, so I have no idea what that is about. I have said nothing or done nothing, to anyone, that would require an apology either way.

Yes I know this area like the back of my hand, as do many people around here, for that I make no apologies. This area is well documented, it's history and everything, as I helped an anthropologist to speak with a lot of the people.

You wish to judge me for actions that were not mine, I cannot stop you. Please feel free to check with Murdoch University, you will find that I have nothing to hide. I just hope you never suffer from Identity FRaud, as then you will know whwta I have been through.

FollowupID: 713486

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 21:30

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 21:30
Marc,

Marc, I’m usually the last one to say a bad word about anyone I just hate seeing good people taken advantage of. I have no doubt as to your intelligence because it takes a lot to carry this sort of stuff off. Even in this last response we see a crack in the persona, the intelligence showing through that you've hidden to build this character. You are very articulate and very intelligent. I’m also sure that you have a lot to contribute you just do it in the strangest way possible. You build up this persona to seek almost instant credibility but that type of foundation is built in dust.

Did you report this Identity theft to the authorities? An easy way to find out just who and where would be the IP addresses used to carry out all these mystery posts on both this forum and the other forums. This will still be held in the relevant forum website info and all the same. All very easy to establish. Want to bet their the same? I know a fe blokes over at 4X4 Action so how about you give them permission to release those IP address details only or have them referred to the police. It sounds like there was money involved so maybe a crime was committed.

Marc, here's a few things that worry me the most. I'm sure you've got answers for them.

This relates to your car trailer that you built. I'm sure you're not exaggerating but just about every state government provides an online personal properties security register so when you buy a vehicle, you can check out if it’s stolen or has insurance history. This is why vehicles and trailers have nationally recognised VIN/Chasis numbers attached to them. These are all unique and have a national format so they are not duplicated in each state. You would have to have put one on the trailer you built. It’s funny that when you check the rego number for the trailer you registered (it's on the blog you posted for all to see), it comes up as being built by a firm in Garbutt (a suburb of Townsville) in 2004 and was recently registered in WA. Another mix-up perhaps.

Your career in the army that you “don’t want to talk about” sets off a lot of alarms for people. There are well known and acreddited groups on the net who take great umbrage at false claims of military service. Again Marc, it's probably not exhaustrive search but do I need to enlighten you with their result. Probably not an exhaustive search Marc and not conclusive proof but providing a service number would be a good way of establishing your bonafides. There is a NZ Airforce officer named Marc Bridgman who appears quite a character though, not you though a bit younger and better looking)

I also find it increduluos that a man who has achieved so much academically and possesses such an intellect as you do can fail to have his credentials as a fluent speaker of five aboriginal dialects recognised in any way by the WA government. Even being semi fluent is a sought after commodity by WADIA

As for you never taking offence, here's a link to your most recent post. It'll take up too much room to post the rest. As for 4x4Action, way too many.

Jayco on the Canning

Marc the Murdoch academic register is a public access document, the university maintain it. Received science degree in 1996.

I've kicked about up your way quite a bit since the mid 1980's Marc and have friends and relatives up there so it's interesting what you find when you start asking around places like Halls, Balgo and Kununurra.

I'm sure you'll have considered, well thought out responses to my concerns in fact I have no doubt.

As I said Marc, just concerned and I consider justifiably so.

FollowupID: 713495

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 21:32

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 21:32
G'day Marc.

SPRUNG mate.

Always a bugger when ghosts come back to haunt ya mate !!!!

BTW tell us all about your military career that you didn't want to discuss in your belated introduction, as an "ex-soldier".

What's that ??????????

FollowupID: 713496

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 21:51

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 21:51
Mick O

Ask anyone what you like. At least I know now why some poeple have been asking me why someone is trying to find out about me. I enrolled in 1996 in Murdoch, I did not graduate that year, incorrect information.

People need to certified as official interpreters in any language, something I do not hold. The new trailer, which has not been completed, has not been put over the pits yet, so have no idea what that is about. The completely rebuilt trailer is in my blog, but say what you like there.

I have built no false profile, I do know that things can be checked. Oh, by the way, tell yoiur friends they missed the other 7 Marc Bridgman's in Australia. That one in New Zealand is apprently a Skype customer and can be found that way as well. PLease enjoy yourself ridculing me further for now. EO have my ISP and can check I am who I am anytime they wish.

FollowupID: 713498

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 22:03

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 22:03
G'day Marc.

SPRUNG mate.

Always a bugger when ghosts come back to haunt ya mate !!!!

BTW tell us all about your military career that you didn't want to discuss in your belated introduction, as an "ex-soldier".

What's that ??????????

FollowupID: 713501

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 22:11

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 22:11
Cut the crap Marc. The games up. I'm not ridiculing you at all so stop trying for the old sympathy trick. It's like your look at me posts. You build a house on falisity and exaggeration then it's going to come down around you like a house of cards. I don't need to riducule you because I can prove that you're telling porkies.

Yes Marc I know people need to be certifed and accredited as interpreters. You claim to speak five dialects fluently yet no one will credit or certify you. You hold a flaming tertiary qualification for goodness sake. This says to me that the poeple who knocked you back are idiots.....or you don't speak five dialects.

I'm sure EO have your IP address. I know 4X4Action will as well. So will you give written permission for them to release simply the non identifying IP number that you log onto EO with and the IP address that was used to post all the frausulent posts and responses on 4X4A. Of course if they're the same it means someone has not only stolen your identity, they've also broken into your house and used your computer as well.

I see the trailer is now a completly "rebuilt" trailer and not one you built from scratch as clearly indicated in several posts.

Simply trying to encourage the man behind the facade to contribute in a meaningful manner without all the bull bleep and falsity. You don't need to.

FollowupID: 713503

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 22:50

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 22:50
You obviously have a mind set that I am someone that I have not pupported to be, and your mind set is not going to change. No sense going any further. There is no such thing ans a non identifying IP, i just checked on that. David and Michelle are free to check that I am who I say I am.
I would never give you, os someone not officially involved in a site, information that would allow access to details I do not want know. You could be, as you so easily accuse me, Jo Bloggs from anywhere.

I shall stay away from your threads or responses.

FollowupID: 713506

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 22:57

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 22:57
Yes there is Several programs allow you to surf the net anonymously

I don't care who or what is going on but your Ip address can be spoofed quite easily.
Only time I tried it I could not open links when it was running.

Now that brings back a thought from earlier tonite.

FollowupID: 713507

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 23:22

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 23:22
Nice try Marc. Thought as much about the IP adress. The IP is a unique identifyer Marc so It would identify the computer and internet "address" that was used to log on to your profile. No police then? Fair enough.

I didn't want to do it for you Marc. Perhaps you could authorise the editer at 4X4 Action Sean Wales to do it his end and he could compare the results with those obtained by David or Michelle Martin at the EO site. I'm sure their integrity is beyond reproach so you couldn't have an issue there.

Believe me Marc, I know who you are and I know who you're not. You've told the lies, you've been caught out just like on the other forum. I have no mind set at all and I would be more than happy to be proved wrong. My motivations are purely from concern over what you're doing. I would be the first to make a full apology to you if it is warranted. All you have to do is answer the questions. Prove me wrong. Please prove me wrong. You've told the stories, not me. At least the truth is out there now so people can at least make a considered decision when some of your claims are posted.

By the sounds of the many member messages I've received tonight, a lot of others have received the special MLB treatment. This is a great site Marc that engenders a great community and great spirit Don't damage that and don't do what you did at the other forum.

Oh and I'd like to see a photo of that working 8-track cassette unit you've got fitted to your car as well. I know you handily can't post photos to the site (despite doing it in previous posts and blogs) so please email it to me at Mickolsen13@hotmail.com. I'll post it to the forum for you.

I shall be watching your threads and responses. I'm sure you'll have had time to think up some other excuses and reasons by the morning. Goodnight. Mick

FollowupID: 713509

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 23:40

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 23:40
Oh please, bring the police into this, then I will know exactly who has been sending the disgusting and threatening emails.

I have nothing to hide, but you now accuse me that I am going to destroyt this website. I will stop posting forthwith, as this is a great website. I will also bne requesting some refubd on my membership payment.

Goodness knows I do not need people with mind sets levelling this at me, and I do not want any further comment or "sympathy" garbage as you seem to think that I am after.

I am not looking for excuses and reasons, I do not need them. People who admit to having knowledge (as you did) of such disgusting emails need to be looked at for their breaches oif the Telecommunications Act.

I am tired of all this. You have stated that people have messaged you about me on this site, so I will refrain from an y further comment on this site. I do not want something denigrated just because I am here and other want to continually come for me, without accepting valid facts.

FollowupID: 713510

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 00:03

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 00:03
Marc......don't go mate :-((((( ........We want to hear of your "Soldier" days, before you go, digger ????

Ahh that's right, you said some time ago you wouldn'nt talk to me any more.

Too Bad.

Fred.
FollowupID: 713516

Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 00:32

Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 00:32
Stop being so melodramatic Marc. YOU GOT EXPOSED AGAIN, nothing more. This is just what you did when it all came to a head on the other forum. The posts are amost word for word (probably the identity stealer). Demanding the refund. Next it'll be David and Michelles fault.

Stop looking for sympathy. You're the one who'se engaged in the outrageous conduct, no one else. Knowledge of emails, what?? Nice try again Marc. You are full of it. Your conduct speaks for itself "Digger".

PROVE ME WRONG!

You would be the last person who would want the coppers sniffing around but then I'm sure they know who you are. It's up to you to bring them in Marc because you're the one who's alleging a crime has been committed against him (identity theft).

FollowupID: 713519