Storage: Buy your wine in the cask and remove the bladder from the box. Put the bladder in the fridge or esky to separate delicate items from the element/ice.
This is a 51-day personal trip
diary of the recent ExplorOz field research trip. On this journey we have
done a number of things - including road testing new equipment/accessories
along with recording GPS track files and new track information for adding to
the Trek Notes on ExplorOz.com This has also been a our first trip with a
baby, who was just 8-9mths old and crawling. From these experiences, we will
add new content in Trip Preparation regarding travelling with babies.
So sit back, and enjoy your
armchair travels from Perth - Alice Springs (via the Gunbarrell Hwy) then up
the Tanami Track to Halls Creek, further north to Wyndham and then along the
Gibb River and Kalumburu Roads into Mitchell Falls and Kalumburu and then
further west to Broome before tracking south through the East Pilbara back
towards Perth.
GUNBARREL HWY TRIP DIARY
DAYS 1 - 9
Day one
Start
Stop
Trip Odometer
Friday 22/6/01
Hillarys, Perth 8am
Mt Magnet - 4.30pm
568.2km
Stopped time
Moving average
Moving time
Max speed
1.09 hrs
91.4km
6.13 hrs
115.3km/hr
Heading out of Perth today
was a major relief – after months of vehicle preparation (yet again) and
some hiccups that delayed our departure by 3 days, we were craving the
“leave it all behind” aspect of departing on a long trip.
Probably the most
difficult and frustrating part of our trip preparation has been the
equipment supply from manufacturers and advertisers. Although we have spent
the last 12mths carefully selecting our choice of equipment, the whole
process of negotiating with suppliers and coordinating delivery,
installation and associated promotion has been painstakingly slow and
laborious.
In the end, some critical
items were not received in time for installation more than 1 week before our
departure. So, this 8 week trip will be our first real test-run with this
vehicle set-up! Not exactly what we’d
planned, but the formula is much the same with each vehicle and we’ve done
this more than a few times now. Does it get better each time? Not
necessarily – there’s no real “right” set-up that can account for
individual differences and preferences and even the same people will enjoy
using a different set-up just to experience a different way of “living”.
Our lunch stop today in
Dalwallinu on the Great Northern Highway was our first opportunity to put
the food and utensil storage to the test. The “Roller Drawers” came up a
winner! Two days before we left home, I realised I needed a way to make
access to the gear in the drawers easier so I had David build 3 wooden boxes
from 3ply with cut-outs for handles. We have the utensils and condiments in
the front drawer with a few days worth of tins, packets and lunch items in
the 2nd drawer and the 3rd drawer, which needs to be
slid forward to access, is tightly packed with Tupperware “Modular
Mates” with flour, sugar, rice, couscous, dried soup mix, various dried
fruits, baby cereal etc. For the two of us and our baby, we have all our
foodstuffs and utensils in one drawer, with long-term food storage in one
large fisherman’s tub stacked on top. This contains tins, UHT milk,
juices, packets, nappies etc as stores to reduce cost and to increase bush
camping range. The second roller drawer contains all the recovery gear and
tools – and is very heavy!
We had planned to
stop overnight in Paynes Find, although I’d never heard of it – but had
read it as a stopover on someone else's website – bad move! I can now
advise 2 options for bush camps - 24km south of Paynes Find is a really
great bush camp site with toilets, bins, water etc. Paynes Find is 144km
south of Mt Magnet where there is a great little caravan park or you can
continue another 8km north to another great bush camp called “The
Granites” – beautiful views. It is well signposted on the RHS –
we’ll stop there on the way back home. Taking the needs of a little baby
into consideration has altered our habitual methods of travelling and
camping and being our first day we opted for the caravan park. With an
overnight temperature of just 6 degrees I was keen to get her into a warm
bath after crawling around in the dust at our lunch and various stops. Just
for comparison sake, I’ll take note here that we payed $8.80 for our
unpowered campsite – on lush grass. We were quite impressed with our
ability to set-up camp in just 30 minutes and had chicken burritos for
dinner, washed up, put Leah to bed and all ready for bed by 8pm.
It was a very cold night
after quite a warm day. It had been quite a scenic drive, quite similar to
NT with rocky outcrops, ranges and plains of scrub. Saw lots of goats, roos,
emus, feral cats once we crossed over the vermin proof fence/grid. There are
also plenty of farm stay accommodation at homesteads along the way that we
could look into for advertising on EO. Most of the area is heavily mined,
mostly gold.Had to dress Leah
in 2 layers – a warm fluffy coverall suit plus her polar fleece sleeping
bag with a blanket over the top and another cotton blanket hung over the
mesh side of the portable cot to block out the cold draft.
Day two
Start
Stop
Trip Odometer
Saturday 23/6/01
Mt Magnet, 9:30am
Wiluna, 3:45pm
369.6km
Stopped time
Moving average
Moving time
Max speed
-
-
-
111.6km/hr
So far, travelling to plan
and Leah is settling in – dropping off to sleep about 15mins into the
morning trip, and then again after our lunch stop meaning she is still on
her usual routine of 2 daytime naps and is coping extremely well.
Found a good bush camp
15km north of Cue on RHS (blue lake, bush camp with shady trees).
Meekatharra had Telstra
mobile phone service. We stopped here for lunch, refuelling and since there
was a Woolies a small restock of things like fresh meat, fruit and veg. They
even had meat pre-cryovaked. We found our fuel consumption to be much higher
than we’d planned and decided to drive more economically – ie at 95km/hr
rather than 110km/hr. The first day and a half of driving at 110km/hr used
140L of diesel over 750km. We expect to get a range of about 1300 out of
that 140L. The 170L tank also seems to have a residual of about 30L that we
cannot use – unless we siphon it out. So we’re going to monitor that
some more.
We turned off the highway
at 1.30 and made the trip from Meekatharra to Wiluna in just 2hrs 15mins.
This was the first dirt road of the trip and it was just graded making
travel fast and easy. Found an ideal bush camp 25km west (before) Wiluna on
RHS – a grove of trees by the river, 22minutes from town. We continued on
however as we’d forgotten Spinifex mesh for the radiator and wanted to
pick some up at the general store if possible as we didn’t think they’d
be open tomorrow – Sunday. Town was closed however and after talking to
other travellers who’d just come off the Gunbarrell Hwy they said we
didn’t need it.
The only camping option in
Wiluna is behind the pub. $8 will get you a pretty rough camp but fresh
water on tap, grass, and hot showers and laundry. The locals can get a bit
loud with their partying and you will most likely be approached by hawkers
wanting to sell you paintings or spears. We camped there with just 2 other
cars. Probably the most striking thing about Wiluna is the night sky.
Day three
Start
Stop
Trip Odometer
Sunday 24/6/01
Wiluna , 9:50am
Mingol Camp (Harry
Johnson’s Water), 3:30pm
274.9km
Stopped time
Moving average
Moving time
Max speed
2.11hrs
81.2km/hr
3.23 hrs
111.6km/hr
Not yet the official
Gunbarrell Highway but it feels like it. No cars in sight, desert country
scrub and red dirt roads. The track out of town is about 7m wide, flat, hard
and only slightly corrugated. About 50km on the road gets a little narrower,
but still about 5m wide. Also a little rougher with loose gravel but still
no worries at all.
Early lunch stop at Yelma
– ruins of cattle yard with working windmill – water pumping out into
tank and overflowing onto ground. Banjo Creek flowing, but not over road.
Lots of birds, emus, bustards etc. Wongawol Creek – another great camp
site.
Crests and dips between
Princess Ranges and the first requirement for varying travelling speed due
to conditions ie. Down to 80km/hr. Many eagles in the area. Had a tyre
blowout here – new tyre (Cooper ST) only done 1000km should be covered
under warranty as there was no stake or evidence of picking up a puncture.
The actual hole was a blowout along the running edge of the tread that had
just torn open. Running pressures are 35psi (265/7.05 R16) standard GXL
Toyota 80 series rims. Unfortunately had to put on the spare – a Grandtrek,
but at least it is new.
While David was doing the
tyre change I entertained Leah and gave her a breastfeed under a tree in the
scrub, constantly on the lookout for snakes as the whole area was quite
overgrown. She seems content however to stay on the picnic rug.
Pulled into camp at Harry
Johnsons Water at 3.30pm its about as late as we can go with Leah as she
starts to grizzle and carry on around then.
Harry Johnson Water is a
near permanent waterhole named after the Surveyor General of WA in 1896. It
is also known as Mingol Camp because it was also discovered by another
surveyor a little later. The original stockcamp and yards is on Wongawol
Station and we didn’t realise at the time that we were not meant to camp
there. There was plenty of evidence of other recent campers and I had been
told about it on numerous occasions by other travellers, including those we
meant back in Wiluna. We put our yabbie pots in the waterhole and got
nothing but a turtle. The waterhole was attractive to a huge range of
birdlife, with Leah taking particular delight in the tweep tweeps of the
budgies, galahs and rosellas. And with probably the best night sky we’ve
ever seen it rates as one of the most memorable camps we’ve had – made
all the better by the fact that it was our first with our baby.
Day four
Start
Stop
Trip Odometer
Monday 25/6/01
Harry Johnson Water
Mingkili Claypan
227.2km
Stopped time
Moving average
Moving time
Max speed
1.56hrs
58.2km/hr
3.54hrs
-
Yesterday’s blowout
needed to be removed from the rim and our spare rubber put onto that rim as
our next spare wheel. The early sunrise, around 6am and a little baby
wanting to get up meant that we were able to do our maintenance and lift
camp by 10.15am. Leah screamed for a lot of this time however as she is
teething quite ferociously. When we left home she had 4 teeth, 2 bottom and
the top 2 “fangs” not the very front ones. But now we see the very front
right coming down and the other cutting just after it.
We made Carnegie for an
early lunch and refuelling stop. Our fuel consumption was as follows:
126L used between
Meekatharra – Carnegie (?kms).
Fuel at Carnegie was
$1.30, which is actually cheaper than at the Warakurna Roadhouse in Giles,
even though that is on the main road. Carnegie get their fuel from Geraldton
however.
Pam at Carnegie told us
that engineers are out surveying to re-route the Gunbarrel from Wiluna to
Carnegie to avoid low lying areas and also that there is currently a native
title grab on Carnegie and the surrounding area!
There were 3 other
travellers at Carnegie when we arrived, but we haven’t seen one traveller
on the road yet. All 3 had come from the east – west, and travelling in
the opposite direction to us. Conditions reported from them were varied, as
always, depending on the person’s frame of reference. For example, Pam
told us the next 200km east of Carnegie is good going, however one of the
groups told us that it had taken them 3hrs to cover just 100km. So, we just
headed out to find out for ourselves.
The track definitely
deteriorates immediately east of Carnegie but as Pam said it was pretty good
and we were travelling at a constant 70 – 80km/hr.
Views of Mt William
Lambert are great.
Arrived at Mingili Claypan
quite late – just on sunset by the time we’d driven the diversion track
around the flooded section and selected a camp. The claypan in flood is
quite interesting with lots of rosellas, budgies and galahs again but most
interesting were the red-legged swamp hens living in the flooded bushes
along the track. Another very cold night but no mossies.
Day five
Start
Stop
Trip Odometer
Tuesday 26/6/01
Mingkili Claypan
Camp Beadell
147.6km
Stopped time
Moving average
Moving time
Total Time
3.09hrs
44.6km/hr
3.18hrs
6.28hrs
We phoned Linda this
morning on the Radphone to get her to arrange a tyre for us to pick up in
Alice Springs. We didn’t want to take our chances on the right tyre
size/type being available on the only day we’d be there. We bought our
Coopers tyres from Richard’s Tyrepower in Osborne Park, Perth so Linda
only had to ring him. Coopers offer a written guarantee for 80,000km on the
ST tyres we bought and we felt it must have been a faulty tyre to not have
held up the last 5 days (they were only fitted a few days before we left).
We eventually lifted camp at 9.23am. Just one hour, 53km later we made
Geraldton Bore – an excellent campsite. There is fresh drinking water at
the bottom of the bore but you need to take your own string/twine etc to
reach it. Water Depth 16m. New Bore Depth 42m cased.
At the 78.8km mark from
the claypan are some more possible camps and after 85km you meet Everard
Junction but there is not a tree or clearing in site suitable for camping.
We sat right on the junction with our picnic rug and had cruskits and cheese
for lunch.
It was here we encountered
a convoy of 2 vehicles – the first we’d seen since leaving Wiluna. They
told of rough conditions and great wildflowers heading east.
9km past the junction we
came across great views of Mt Gordon so we stopped for photography and a
walk. There are great camps at the base of the mountain and wheel tracks to
the top, which is pretty lazy and unthoughtful as driving on the mountain
will just cause undue erosion. There are actually 2 small mountains together
so an overnight camp and a walk to both would be ideal, however we needed to
keep moving.
From here on we found
amass of wildflowers. It took us about an hour and a half to make the
journey from Everard Junction to Mt Beadell and Monument and we set camp
just 6km further on at Camp Beadell. As we stepped out of the car we heard a
distinctive “hissing” coming from the front left tyre – we had staked
it coming into camp by picking up a wood chip. There was little choice other
than to perform a puncture repair using our kit from Tyre Pliers. It was
only a small hole but just outside the tread on the sidewall. Another
Coopers hit the dust! If that repair didn’t hold we’d have to use our
last spare before we’d hardly begun the Gunbarrell. There was a lot of
rough conditions ahead of us so we weren’t’ too pleased.
We also had to contend
with an over-inquisitive dingo prowling the camp. He kept coming back, each
time a little closer and the Azaria stories in our minds, whatever our
beliefs, encouraged us to keep a light on the tent while Leah slept with our
chairs facing it and hurled stones at the dingo every time we came back. We
suspect that other campers have been feeding him as it was not only game,
but very healthy looking.
Day six
Start
Stop
Trip Odometer
Wednesday 27/6/01
Camp Beadell
Jackie Junction
181.4km
Stopped time
Moving average
Moving time
Total Time
3.09hrs
48.8km/hr
3.42hrs
6.52hrs
The puncture repair
hadn’t held so we had no option but to use our second spare – so after
yet another morning of tyre repairs. We had 2 nice new Coopers ST on the
drivers side and a never used Grandtrek and a nearly bald Pirelli Scorpion
ST on the near side. We rang Linda again on the Radphone and was happy to
hear that she had arranged for a tyre to be available inAlice Springs for us on Friday, although we expected to arrive on the
Saturday.
We finally lifted camp at
9.40am and made our way to the next bore camp, near Thryptomere Hill, which
had a pump! We stopped for photos and to operate the pump. The Spinifex by
the side of the track was as high as the bonnet and it not only felt remote
but the whole area looked very unused. There were camps here but not as nice
as at the next bore pump further on opposite the Len Beadell Tree.
Immediately opposite the tree is a long track - we started to walk along it
but it went for about 2km so we headed back for the car and drove down the
back to find the pump. The water was clear and fresh so we all had a wash
and topped up our water bottles.
Just ahead we came across
the rear end of what looked like a gypsy-wagon with 2 camels in tow and 6
pulling it. The track was narrow and washed out so we had to follow at
5km/hr until a place to pass appeared. The girl driver wove us on so we
continued without conversation but then came upon a 5tonne, 2wd Hino truck
stopped in the middle of the track. I went up to his window and the driver
nearly jumped out of his skin. We stopped to chat and heard their story and
they heard ours. We sat on the red earth track and shared our lunchtime
together.
We’re finding the
details on the Hema Great Desert Tracks digital maps to be excellent and
accurate and found the Gnamma rockholes and average camps nearby. If coming
from the west all you see is a silver tin sign hanging on a tree.
This final section of the
Gunbarrell to the Heather Highway Junction (Mt Samuel) was full of
wildflowers but quite washed out. If conditions were wet it wouldn’t be
fun, but for us it was very dry and easy to take diversion tracks. The
section between the Heather Hwy and Warburton Road junctions was probably the
slowest going of the entire trip with the very worst washouts slowing
travelling to around 15km/hr.
At Jackie Junction we
stopped for photos but there was no suitable camp clearing so we took the
left turn to begin the abandoned section of the Gunbarrel Highway and to
find a campsite.
After about 30-40kms we
still couldn’t find a clearing and had to settle for a patch of gibber and
Spinifex in a burnt out clearing. This section of track was incredibly
easy-going, travelling at 80-90kms/hr comfortably on a recently graded and
wide track.
Day seven
Start
Stop
Trip Odometer
Thursday 28/6/01
Jackie Junction
Warakurna Roadhouse/Giles
252.1km
Stopped time
Moving average
Moving time
Total Time
2.31hrs
54.2km/hr
4.38hrs
7.1hrs
The graded track only
lasted until we reached “Mipultjarra Junction” the turnoff to an
aboriginal community. At this junction we were 157km from Warburton, although
we didn’t go there, and 187km from Warakurna Roadhouse/Giles.
This junction has a fairly
decent spot for a camp if you need it – probably the only clearing along
the whole route from Jackie Junction.
Not far from the junction
we read a sign “Million Dollar Corner” but have no idea what it referred
to. We then started to look for Blaze Marks as positioned on our digital
maps. BM401 just didn’t seem to exist as its GPS position put it right in
the middle of a burnt-out area.
We stopped for lunch at
the 2nd of the Len Beadell plaques and met up with a convoy of 2
vehicles who had just done the Simpson and were now doing the full stretch
of Gunbarrel and then up to do the Canning. They were running on CST and we
were still on WST. Giles is also CST so we made our time change then.
From the second Len
Beadell plaque into Giles was definitely the most scenic yet slowest of the
abandoned section, taking us 2 hrs to get to Giles. We were too late for a
tour of the weather station and had to camp at the back of the Roadhouse. It
was our dampest and dirtiest camp and Leah cried for hours – teething?
Cold? I also think she is fretting a little bit about the constant change of
environment. I thought I was doing the right thing giving her a lovely long
warm bath but the second I took her out she screamed and didn’t really
stop for about 2 hrs. Unfortunately, we weren’t the only campers so I’m
sure we were popular neighbours! I can’t believe we’ve become the people
we detest at campgrounds!
Day eight
Start
Stop
Trip Odometer
Friday 29/6/01
Giles
Yulara
364.7km
Stopped time
Moving average
Moving time
Total Time
1.54hrs
70.8km/hr
5.09hrs
7.04hrs
We had tried to call the
Giles weather station using our Telstra Radphone service through our Barrett
HF radio in the car but couldn’t get a clear channel. The lady at the
roadhouse had also tried for us but couldn’t reach them. In the end we
decided to just drive up and walk in – knowing that they would be there.
We timed it nicely, as the balloon goes up at 8.45am, and we arrived at
8.30am. The station is manned by 3 men, with just one engineer and an
operator on duty while we were there. It is definitely worthwhile if only to
get a better understanding of what goes on “behind the scenes” in the
weather world. We seemed to befriend the engineer who conducted the tour and
he very kindly told us some local secret campsites that we agreed not to
disclose on ExplorOz.com
Giles to Yulara was an
easy and surprisingly scenic drive through Docker River. We saw the first
evidence of recent rains with some washouts, ponded water and even water in
the river alongside Lasseters Cave. Contrary to most maps, camping is no
longer permitted at the Cave, nor anywhere along the route between Giles and
Yulara other than at the one designated aboriginal bush camp. Fees are $5
per person over 5yo, but it is an honesty system. A sign in the information
shelter says “you maybe approached by locals bartering their art… please
take advantage of this as you are cutting out the middle man and can get
good quality art at good prices…” We didn’t get to see any of the art
but when we swung by the Docker River community I was very impressed by the
quality of the paintings I did see in town.
The drive from Docker
River onwards is really very beautiful with the Scherwin Mural Crescent and
Walter Samuel Ranges leading the whole way until you see the distinctive
afternoon purple hues over Kata Tjuta.
We have a secret camping
spot that we found in Xmas 1999 just past Yulara but with a baby and a
setting sun we didn’t’ quite make it and settled instead to sleep with
the masses at the Yulara Camping Ground on a lush piece of grass that costs
us $24.50 for an unpowered site that we couldn’t get our car onto. It was
cold and damp but the showers were sensational.
Day nine
Start
Stop
Trip Odometer
Saturday 30/6/01
Yulara
Alice Springs
-
Stopped time
Moving average
Moving time
Total Time
-
-
-
-
A long driving day on
bitumen. Our fuel consumption from Carnegie to Alice Springs was 252.63L
over 1580km, which equates to 12.5L per 100km – 4.2L diesel 80 series
Toyota Landcruiser weighing 3700kg fully loaded.
We have been
contacting the Jacka’s (my parents) every few days on the Radphone or
selcalling via the 4WD radio network to see whether we can meet up in Alice
Springs. They have spent the last few days at Ross River Homestead after
coming from Sydney via Longreach, Boulia and across the Plenty Highway.
As we pulled into Alice
and had mobile phone service we phoned them and discovered we were in the
same street! We met up and checked into our camping ground for 2 nights to
allow time for washing, shopping and tyre repairs/replacements.
So
let me introduce you to our travelling party. The ExplorOz team is David,
Michelle and baby Leah who is 8mths old and for the next 3 weeks we’ll be
travelling with Michelle’s parents Colin and Sandy Jacka travelling in a
GQ diesel Patrol.
Our setups are almost identical with Roller Drawers, Rhino
Roof Racks, Bushranger Rack Sacks, Barrett HF radios (both using Telstra
Radphone RDD service and AN4WDRN) and both carrying a GPS and two laptops
each.
Like us, Colin has one computer for work and one for interfacing with
the GPS. We both run the Auslig Raster maps on CD and we are beta-testing
Hema’s new Great Desert Tracks Map on CD.
Colin and Sandy are using a
Southern Cross centre-pole tent, although they’re replaced the centre-pole
with a square-frame to enable side-by-side sleeping. We have our old
faithful tent that has come around Australia with us since 1997. It’s a
Nomad canvas van-tent, which enables us to leave our rear doors open into
the back of the tent whilst in camp and to drive off for day trips. It makes
getting to the back of the car very easy and because you can leave the doors
open all night undercover, even in rain, means you don’t have to
constantly put everything away. We also have a second tent, a small mesh
dome tent for hotter weather or as a baby-safe crawling pen. The Jacka’s
also have a second tent, a quick erect dome tent.