AnswerID: 351590 Submitted: Sunday, Mar 01, 2009 at 04:12
timglobal
replied:
Hey Al,
I have a Q and also love it.
Always be sure to let it warm up (lid down) for 5 mins at least when first
cooking.
Food sticking to the grill plate isn't ready to be turned yet. It may seem counter-intuitive, but the process of caramelisation in the meat will make it easy to turn when ready. Keep the heat up for steaks and similar as the steak absorbs plenty of heat. Barbecues are smoky and oily and food can appear ready to turn when it isn't. If it sticks, then leave it a bit longer. It'll give you those black stripes you pay so much for in a restaurant!
Don't over-oil the bbq. It will need a seasoning after liquid cleaning (annual) and occasinal light olive oil spray between uses, but nothing more.
Smoke is an inevitability of bbq
cooking and will depend on what you're
cooking. The only things which smoke a lot on mine are snags. The more fat (usually coarser pork varieties) and larger, the smokier. On the first blast, the appearance of smoke also shows when they're ready to turn.
I'm guessing here, but I reckon you've got some lovely sausages that you're pricking and putting on the bbq. If they're pricked as I reckon, they create a fat sprinkler system under the grill which no bbq can avoid lighting.
Even if you don't prick them, they'll squirt, but less so in my experience. (Modern sausage skins don't require pricking and in moderately controlled tastings I've found pricked to be drier and hence less tasty)
*Keep the lid down* and don't be tempted to look under, except when turning food at planned intervals - ie 5 mins. Constant fiddling loses the heat under the lid that is
cooking everything so beautifully. Over-turning buggers up your
cooking and can lead food to sticking and becoming messy because it isn't getting cooked.
Finally, leave all cooked meat from a bbq for at least 5 mins to "rest" and allow the moisture to stabilise itself in the meat before cutting or serving. This means the difference between a watery mess and a firm cutting piece of tender meat.
Hope that helps and your next bbq is a ripper.
Tim
ps - a roast works a treat under a Weber Q!
Reply 1 of 10