<span class="highlight">Tyres</span> which <span class="highlight">tyres</span>

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 13:14
ThreadID: 101065 Views:2305 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
I know tyres are like Nissan v Toyota etc but Im just after a bit of advice. Have 1999 troopey. Drive it mainley on bitium, sand/beach and a bit of off road stuff. Not planning to cross any desserts/really rough rocky terrain etc in the near future. Tow a 4.2 mtr tinny now and then. Spend a fair bit of time on the beach.

Would like to keep tyre purchase under $250.00 prefer $200.00

Many thanks

Trev

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 13:36

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 13:36
What size does it have trev - that affects cost a lot.

They may have come with skinny 7.50/16 and many replace this size with 235/85/16 for the extra width but approx same diameter.

I have used Toyo Opats in this size - these are at LT construction but are not aggressive.
They are quiet but not cheap.

The BFG AT is also good - and you can get a knock off copy which is cheaper (think called general)

AnswerID: 506699

Follow Up By: Trevor G - Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 12:06

Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 12:06
I had a look they are LT 285/75R16

I hope u know what that means
FollowupID: 783852

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 12:54

Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 12:54
Trevour the 285 is the width and that is much larger than standard for those cars but many do fit them. They are probably on 8" rims.

In that size, known as 33" more people would fit mud terain LT construction tyres.

From reading your post Mud terrains aren't the optinum for sand and on reading your requirement the All terrain pattern (but still LT light truck ) construction is probably best.

There are several good tyres available from KM2 quasi mud terrain tyres thru BFG AT down to Bridgestone 693's.

Howeverthe above are not in your desired price range.
As well as other tyres mentioned in other replies you might consider the Kumho KL78. These are well known AT and are currently $200 each on Ebay for example.

FollowupID: 783857

Follow Up By: Trevor G - Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 20:42

Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 20:42
Thank you for your help. I'll have to keep looking as I have been told sometyres don't like being run uninflated.
FollowupID: 783903

Reply By: bigden - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 19:51

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 19:51
hi all
have a look on ebay for federal courgia a/t if you dont want an extreme tyre. cheap and from what ive heard ok. i have federal m/t and very happy with them

dennis
AnswerID: 506728

Reply By: jacent - Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 06:54

Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 06:54
Hi I have had maxxis bravo's and they are really good all round tyre, I have had them on the beach, very rocky creek beds, mud etc and every one who was away with me on the trip were very surprised at how good a tyre they were. I never had to be recovered and the guys who had all the gear got into trouble a bit! They were on my landcruiser when i got it and were on split skinny rims. After alot of use they wore well without damage. I later sold them to a mate as I fitted larger 16 x 8 rims and he has them on his cruiser ute still now and that was a few years ago. I think the guy I got my car from paid around the $200 mark each. They are also a light truck construction. I would highly reccomend them!
AnswerID: 506756

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Friday, Mar 15, 2013 at 23:45

Friday, Mar 15, 2013 at 23:45
G'day Trevor,

I have an 80 series Cruiser. I reckon the best tyres I've had are Wrangler Duratrac. They are great on road, excellent off road, wear really well.

I was talked into a set of Dick Cepeks before we went to the Kimberley last year and it was a wate of money.I should have got another set of Duratracs. I baulked at them because the price here rose from $315 in 2010 to $350 last year, but the set I bought in 2010 have done over 70,000 kms - including Western Qld, Cape York, Broken Hill to Cameron Corner to the coast, Vic High Country, plus everyday work vehicle with plenty of freeway running.

The Dick Cepeks came back hacked up, one didn't come back and I'll be struggling to get 50,000 kms out of them. I treated them exactly the same as the Duratracs, the roads were as hard, or soft, and the loads were the same.

I hope that helps somewhat,

AnswerID: 506867

Follow Up By: Trevor G - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 06:32

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 06:32
Thanks for the info. I had a look at a few tyres after work yesterday. I liked the look of the Kumho and the Toyo but I think i might go with the toyo.

Hopefully Ill have a bit more cash next time. Im putting a Drifta set of draws in so they have used most of the budget,
FollowupID: 784001