Wineguard sensar batwing type <span class="highlight">antenna</span>

Submitted: Monday, May 12, 2014 at 14:13
ThreadID: 107746 Views:2344 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
Just can't get any receptipn no matter where we are or what direction antenna facing. Can anyone recommend how we can improve reception. I know lots of caravans have these wind up antennas now and some get great reception but not us. We get either very weak to no signal strength and can't get any channels. I can live without it but hubby loves his abc news and AFL footy

Reply By: Member - bbuzz (NSW) - Monday, May 12, 2014 at 14:52

Monday, May 12, 2014 at 14:52
Who invented TV for vans? What a can of worms!

There are a lot places where you just don't get reception.

I use a single bar Wanderer with a signal booster inside the van. If I can't get a picture we read a book!

I've found that most other people are not getting a signal either and those that are, would watch a Test Pattern.

If you are desperate, get a satellite dish.

bill
Bill B

AnswerID: 532339

Reply By: SDG - Monday, May 12, 2014 at 15:32

Monday, May 12, 2014 at 15:32
How old is it?
A few around here lost reception when digital came in. This included my parents. After a trip to a tv installer they now have reception. Different reasons, different fixes. My parents just needed an updated booster. Another I know needed new cable, etc All had the Winegard setup.

Had to laugh at my parents last Christmas. They were complaining they were not getting reception again. Haven't been able for a couple of trips.
I got in and turned the booster on. Reception fixed.

Have you got one to turn on??
AnswerID: 532341

Follow Up By: ozwildlifecarer - Monday, May 12, 2014 at 15:41

Monday, May 12, 2014 at 15:41
No don't seem to have a booster button. Everyone we have spoken to asks us if we have a button to press. We have a sensar pro on wall which apparently is different again. May need to look into a booster. Hubby has spent most of arvo playing with it. Not sure which is worse, having it working or not (ha ha)
FollowupID: 815591

Follow Up By: baz&pud (tassie) - Monday, May 12, 2014 at 15:51

Monday, May 12, 2014 at 15:51
The booster button is the little green light when pressed, which is in the white box where the aerial /coax cable comes out.
If you haven't got one suggest you see a tv guy.
baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 815592

Follow Up By: baz&pud (tassie) - Monday, May 12, 2014 at 15:53

Monday, May 12, 2014 at 15:53
Should have added, if you don't have phone reception then 99.9% of the time you won't get tv reception.
baz

FollowupID: 815593

Follow Up By: baz&pud (tassie) - Monday, May 12, 2014 at 16:17

Monday, May 12, 2014 at 16:17
Also don't forget that nearly every time you move you have to reprogram the tv.
baz

FollowupID: 815596

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, May 12, 2014 at 16:06

Monday, May 12, 2014 at 16:06
Exactly where is your van located? Could be there is no reception in your location.

AnswerID: 532346

Reply By: greg l2 - Monday, May 12, 2014 at 17:02

Monday, May 12, 2014 at 17:02
twenty odd bucks in tricky dickys hand will get a signall strenght meter, just plug coax cable in and tun ant till you get best strenght reading then unplug and put coax into tv and that is the best you will get
AnswerID: 532349

Reply By: phil300 - Monday, May 12, 2014 at 22:00

Monday, May 12, 2014 at 22:00
Instructions for sensar pro

Have a read it tells you how to turn up the gain.

cheers Phil.
AnswerID: 532381

Follow Up By: phil300 - Monday, May 12, 2014 at 22:30

Monday, May 12, 2014 at 22:30
TIP........ Should the SensarPro not function as this guide indicates,
press and hold both the UP and DOWN buttons at the
same time for 3 seconds. This will reset the SensarPro

Cheers Phil
FollowupID: 815638

Reply By: dublediff - Friday, May 16, 2014 at 19:03

Friday, May 16, 2014 at 19:03
You may be in an area with a vertical signal spectrum. The standard batwing sits in the horizontal plain. You can modify the antenna to tilt for the appropriate signal orientation . Check the orientation of the antennas on vans in your location..this will give you the correct orientation.
AnswerID: 532579