Why north on the csr?

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 19:33
ThreadID: 108248 Views:2735 Replies:12 FollowUps:16
Why do most 4x4 travellers drive north on the csr?

Reply By: mikehzz - Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 19:46

Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 19:46
Because most come from the south side of Australia, so Willuna is the closest starting point. That's what I reckon anyway.
AnswerID: 534357

Reply By: The Explorer - Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 19:55

Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 19:55

Do they? Is there some sort of record of this or is in just based on what you have heard.

AnswerID: 534359

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 20:28

Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 20:28
...... and a lot like to end up in Broome!

FollowupID: 817984

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 23:31

Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 23:31
Hi Greg.

Judging from the condition of the dune sections of the track, in respect of scalloping on the dune slopes due to trailers, high pressures, silly 'run-up' efforts etc, it's pretty clear that N to S is vastly easier; presumably because of far lower numbers travelling in that direction.

North slopes are typically 'smooth as' while southern flanks resemble exploded minefields in many places...

Given that Gaynor walked the track, I reckon she'd know the proportions in both directions...

N to S every time :-).

FollowupID: 818000

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 23:49

Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 23:49
Hello John..

No worries..was just wondering if there was an "official" record of direction of travel or if, as you say, conclusions are based on (possibly well founded) circumstantial evidence.

Next time I go I am going to chop up the north side of the dunes to confuse everyone :)

FollowupID: 818001

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 00:10

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 00:10
Have a shoofty at the analysis in 'Work Completed, Canning' the epic CSR history by legendary author P. Bianchi, p592. Phil 'assumes a 70/30 split...

Gaynor, you started this, what's your estimate, proportionally pls...?

Greg, I'll be out there in three weeks time; at least you won't chop it up before then......:-)

FollowupID: 818003

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 00:16

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 00:16
No you are right..in ~three weeks time the closest I'll get is Wolfe Creek Crater.

Have a good trip

Greg..

FollowupID: 818004

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 08:30

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 08:30
Wolfe Creek....Hmmmm.....I hear there is a very friendly "tour guide" operating out of there, Mick something from memory...lol.

FollowupID: 818011

Follow Up By: Sash - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 12:47

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 12:47
Ease of travelling south is because of the wind effect on the dunes over many many years
FollowupID: 818023

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 17:57

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 17:57
What's even better is that the "four guide" gives you free lodging and safety harnes.

Were bypassing Wolfe Creek Crater by royal decree!!!

Also going N to S. It's downhill all the way.

However, if someone watching who is travelling S to N counts the oncoming traffic and we will count the same.

Will that do as a representative figure?
FollowupID: 818043

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 18:14

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 18:14
Yep, the wind action makes the dunes steeper on the south side. That little bit of north in it means the northerly slopes are slightly gentle and the southern drop offs steeper.
FollowupID: 818045

Follow Up By: Sash - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 18:21

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 18:21
Both ways are good
Last time I did it in 2012 I was in a 1987 vehicle, she was running on the original shockies as well no issues at all, no fuel stops carried all with me
Take your time
FollowupID: 818046

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 18:23

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 18:23
Freshstart, there is no question about there being much more northbound traffic, only the 'why' of it.

Would be very interested if you could discover the answers to that. I suspect there is one major common denominator and a sprinkling of other considerations.
FollowupID: 818047

Reply By: Sash - Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 19:58

Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 19:58
Easier going South
AnswerID: 534361

Follow Up By: Sash - Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 21:06

Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 21:06
Done it in both directions, North 24 years ago and South 2 years ago The good thing about going North is the driver (me) didn't cop the afternoon sun
First trip went up to 5 days without seeing anybody else, last trip would have seen around 5 groups heading North everyday and would assume the same was happening in the Southerly direction also
FollowupID: 817988

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 04:01

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 04:01
Ah interesting. See I saw it as driving into sun when heading north because the sun is more over the northern hemisphere in winter. I found that was an irksome factor when walking north in 2011 and driving in 2013 on the supply run.

When walking south the sun was always at my back and sides so not in my face. Track obviously does go east west a lot when running between dunes on some sections, but I look at the majority of the time.

But I do understand the setting sun being on the left of the vehicle when heading north therefore driver getting some relief. I have never been behind the wheel, but as a passenger I do remember having to put up a towel for shade on the passenger side.

And yes, without any doubt it is easier going south due to those dunes being chopped up by more traffic and steeper on the south side.

Thanks for the input!
FollowupID: 818006

Reply By: Member - DickyBeach - Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 20:31

Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 20:31
I reckon it's because the CSR is best done in winter and most people would prefer to end up in northern Oz in winter than in the south.

DickyBeach
AnswerID: 534364

Reply By: Idler Chris - Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 20:31

Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 20:31
More sun behind you going south. Done it two times both from the north.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 534365

Reply By: Wayne NSW - Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 20:51

Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 20:51
Hi Gaynor,

It is easier to count from 1 to 51 than 51 to 1.

AnswerID: 534367

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 04:03

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 04:03
There is always a comedian :-)
FollowupID: 818007

Reply By: pop2jocem - Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 20:54

Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 20:54
Did the CSR 16 years ago north to south. Probably won't be doing it again, too many permits and restrictions, but, if I were to, purely from a travel point of view, I would do it north to south again.

If most do it the other way I guess each has their own reasons.

AnswerID: 534369

Reply By: wholehog - Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 22:00

Saturday, Jun 14, 2014 at 22:00
I'll do it north to south next time.
AnswerID: 534375

Reply By: Gaynor - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 04:11

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 04:11
Okay. Interesting. So most would agree that a north south run is easier, but my own experience on the four trips I have done is that the vast majority traffic is south north - Phil's ratio estimate being about right.

I am guessing the answer might in fact be that most people are escaping the winter in the south and would like to spend the last bit of their holiday relaxing in the warmth of the north and that is why they take that route. A simple answer, but very likely it is the main reason.
AnswerID: 534382

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 04:17

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 04:17
I am however open to more theories ... or better still, northbound traffic from previous years perhaps sharing their reason for choosing that direction?
FollowupID: 818008

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 10:39

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 10:39
Gaynor,

I wouldn't have a clue, it's still on my bucket list.

Because most travellers are coming from the south, they hit the CSR from Wiluna, because their vehicles are in tip top condition mechanically(we hope!), and they can travel north with few, if any dramas. Any issues that might arise can be repaired once they have limped along better roads to the Alice, Halls Creek or Broome.

Coming from the north, they may have been doing a lot of touring prior to the CSR trip, so their vehicle might not be 100%. More risk of a breakdown, tyre dramas etc? But I wouldn't know if this point would influence their thinking.

AnswerID: 534392

Reply By: cookie1 - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 11:22

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 11:22
When we did it in 2012 my thoughts are pretty much what Bob.Y has mentioned in that the vehicles are in the best possible condition with Granite Peak & Glenayle as out points in the event of a problem. In my case I had a "fuel" issue which turned out to be a broken wire but plenty of fuel - thanks again to Granite Peak for providing "emergency" fuel to check.

We also live in the South so the Northern Sun was a good target, apart from that we done it in less time than we planned due to the sand being good and the CSR not being as bad as we had envisaged, so we spent time in the Red Centre on the way home.

When doing a trip like this you must have a plan B

AnswerID: 534396

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 16:53

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 16:53
Mechanical. Sounds like a good contributing reason. Thank you Cookie and Bob.Y.
FollowupID: 818036

Reply By: DiscoTourer - Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 20:26

Sunday, Jun 15, 2014 at 20:26
Have done it both ways....north to south so much better.

Steeper approach but smooth. No unnecessary heavy throttle to get over, due to the mogels created by many travellers with too high tyre pressures.

Not driving into the sun any day. Met heaps of travellers along the way, where they rarely meet anyone outside their own group....the penny drops when you meet them and tell them the reasons heading south. You get to exchange quality track information.

I prefer that travellers keep heading north...for selfish reasons lol.

Brett....l
AnswerID: 534436