cooking facility on your vehicle

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 10:14
ThreadID: 134511 Views:4706 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
Looking for some help with a search, as anyone else seen, or know where you can get, those rear mounted cooker/bbq setups mounted on the back of 4wd wagons ??
Looks like they would be good idea for when just tenting/swagging it or for day trips.
I went past one on straddie, family all down fishing at dawn, and mum was cooking up a brekky on the back of the GU patrol on the beach.
I meant to pull up and ask but that was our last day and did not come across that vehicle again.

I have looked on the net but no luck.....any ideas??

I described it to one of the blokes at TJM and if they had seen one, he said he pulled next to bloke with one at fraser one avo on the back of a LC wagon cooking up dinner for the kids as they swam in Eli Crk.
He got a bit closer look than me, and said it certainly looked manufactured, not homemade, they seem to mount on some type of swing arm in place of one of the spare tyre carriers and swing out/unfold, his had a weber Q in it !!

Anyone know where to get them or how expensive they are ??

Reply By: Malcom M - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 10:35

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 10:35
Look at the marine suppliers. Most 4by units like that are really marine units.
One such is Sovereign Barbecues but they aren't cheap (little change from $1000).http://sovereignbbqs.com/ but they are stainless steel.
Always stainless units on display at 4WD shows around $500-$900.

If you are handy with your mechanical skills then you can look at other cheaper barbecues like Coleman RoadTrips of Weber Q's etc

Do really need much more than a small butane cooker from Bunnings etc? They do most cooking rather well and are dirt cheap, like $20-30.
AnswerID: 609562

Reply By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 11:05

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 11:05
Try Freedom bbq
AnswerID: 609564

Reply By: mountainman - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 19:47

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 19:47
Pirana do one now
AnswerID: 609588

Reply By: Michael H9 - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 21:04

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 21:04
Try one of the car back kitchens from Drifta. He seems to do a camping kitchen to suit most applications.
AnswerID: 609591

Reply By: lancie49 - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2017 at 22:02

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2017 at 22:02
This setup did me just fine for several trips away before I built out TearDrop
Cheap and efficient :-)

Lance

Lance
AnswerID: 609610

Follow Up By: ian.g - Thursday, Mar 23, 2017 at 11:32

Thursday, Mar 23, 2017 at 11:32
I would be worried about setting fire (or at least melting it) to the plastics on the back door, little bit of wind and the expandable net goes up in smoke.
FollowupID: 879493

Follow Up By: lancie49 - Thursday, Mar 23, 2017 at 20:58

Thursday, Mar 23, 2017 at 20:58
Never been a concern Ian.
That mug is not coffee, so I'm never too far from the bench bumper when I'm cooking.
There has never been any heat transfer that I can detect.
If the wind was strong enough to get the flame as far as the net it would be blown out.
Works just fine and I'm confident and aware of safety issues.
FollowupID: 879510

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Mar 25, 2017 at 09:45

Saturday, Mar 25, 2017 at 09:45
Understand about the heat transfer - but to me a worry also.

Luckily we have a cruiser with a tailgate that works perfectly as a kitchen bench. Rear door gives some protection but a small tarp and a couple of poles adds an awning over the rear.

I also have a mattress in the back of the car on top of the drawer system. It reaches right up to the rear of the drivers seat on a drawer extension (that can be removed to allow 2nd row seats to be set up.) Fridge (1 or 2) mount on the right. Warm and toasty. Beats setting up tent or RTT etc when on my own.

Catchya

FollowupID: 879545

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Saturday, Mar 25, 2017 at 06:55

Saturday, Mar 25, 2017 at 06:55
G'day.

We have a custom kitchen on a fridge slide made by ORS in Narellan.
It contains pots, pans, billy, kitchen utensils, crockery, cut;ery, two portable gas stoves, oils, foils, plastic wraps and more with a drop down bench.

We've had it for seven or eight years over hundreds of thousands of kilometres and it has been perfect for us.

I can't remember the cost but it wasn't overly expensive.

AnswerID: 609679