Shenanigans.

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 15:55
ThreadID: 135392 Views:4280 Replies:10 FollowUps:15
Last trip out we stopped at the Warburton roadhouse to fuel up. While I was inside paying some nice person undid my safety chains and partly remove the hitch pin. Was away from the ute for less than 10 minutes.

Reply By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 16:20

Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 16:20
gady Ivan
I had the same thing happen to me at Marla some years back. My chains were undone and the lever on the coupling was lifted. I only found out because i did another check after all was set and done. I stood up on the tow bar and looked around and found someone who was very interested in what we were doing. I yelled to tell him he was illegitimate person .

AnswerID: 613035

Reply By: Dean K3 - Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 16:56

Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 16:56
Nothing new every place you stop overnight or for the mandatory rest break meal and refuel. ALWAYS do a check over the connections.

Some straight line walkers been known to play with levers on road-trains causing 1st or 2nd trailer to become unattached.

Tug test always helps with a 5th wheeler
AnswerID: 613037

Reply By: GarryR - Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 17:05

Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 17:05
I drill and padlock my locating pin as well have a secondary chain on the t,ug and padlock through the two crossed over safety chains. Yes you can call me paranoid but it works. I was fed up with the tom foolery from the idiots that I work with who thought it was funny to see me drive off and leave the trailer on the ground.
location - Warragul -Victoria
life is too short, so out and about enjoy

AnswerID: 613038

Reply By: Ron N - Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 17:15

Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 17:15
If you ever drove around the entire Warburton townsite, you would begin to understand the major problems in that community.
The inhabitants of that cesspit live in a parallel universe to normal, civilised people.

Warburton is a national disgrace, it makes some of the worst slums of Soweto look like Toorak.
When the whites living there have to live behind 3.3M wire fences with guard dogs, and the police posted there, rotated on a roster that is limited to months, then you have to ask what is wrong with this particular section of society.

The last time I drove around that town, there were barricades of junk and tyres in the streets to prevent one end of town from attacking the other end of town.
Every second vehicle had no number plates, mostly no windows or windscreens, and half the houses looked like the remnants of cyclone destruction.

They own all the land for hundreds of kms around, whites require permits to enter it, you cannot take photos with people in them, or you will be abused and attacked - and yet they claim they are permanently disadvantaged.

I don't know what is required to drag these people out of their stone-age, constantly violent, constantly thieving, constantly alcohol-and-drug-abusing, Neanderthal outlook.

Kalgoorlie is going the same way, unfortunately - and it won't be long before we have "gated communities" for whites in Kalgoorlie, the same as much of South Africa.

AnswerID: 613039

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 17:30

Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 17:30
Having worked in many remote area towns for several decades....this is the norm. Until people actually spend a few weeks in these places they will never understand what is really happening .
FollowupID: 883409

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 18:42

Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 18:42
What is happening then Bigfish? Just last week there was a piece in the West Australian where an indigenous person was saying that the cops have got to do more to stop the sexual abuse of their kids.
How much more can they do? Cop in every house, in every room, in every school class?
What about their elders who are supposed to be the respected tribe people? What are they doing?
They're no longer respected by most of their people and can do nothing so it's left to "activists" to constantly harangue whitey for not doing enough.
Tax payers money is poured into the aboriginal "industry" in the billions, mining companies pay billions and still the bottom line is nothing changes.
If you know so much maybe you'd better tell everyone else then the problem can be fixed....but I won't hold my breath waiting for change.
AlanTH.

FollowupID: 883412

Follow Up By: Member - Danny C3 - Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 18:52

Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 18:52
Very well said Ron..
Eventually you would hope people would take some responsibility for their actions and stop blaming things that happened 200 years ago...we have been through all that country many times...
Danny
FollowupID: 883413

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 19:46

Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 19:46
Bingo Danny.
FollowupID: 883416

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 20:16

Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 20:16
Maybe time to change your meds AlanTH..I was agreeing with the post...........
FollowupID: 883417

Follow Up By: IvanTheTerrible - Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 21:42

Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 21:42
Why the bleep does this always happen? You want to argue politics and history, do it elsewhere. About sick of this shit
FollowupID: 883418

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Monday, Aug 14, 2017 at 05:48

Monday, Aug 14, 2017 at 05:48
Ivan, I really can't see anyone arguing about politics or history mate.
I see people recognising there is a major problem here, one that has never been resloved, has only gotten worse, and usually gets buried in the sand.
It's good people actually talking about this, it keeps it in peoples minds that it is real and maybe a solution can be worked towards instead of just digging a deeper hole.
FollowupID: 883423

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Monday, Aug 14, 2017 at 09:10

Monday, Aug 14, 2017 at 09:10
Apologies BF. Read to me like it was heading towards blaming whitey once again.
I well remember a front page pic with an old bloke sitting on his block surrounded by filth him and his family had thrown everywhere.
In the story attached to it he was complaining and saying "They've got to send someone round to clear this up"!!!!
They're directly responsible for most of the shit they live in so they should clear it up.
The other bit they want to clean up is who can call themselves "aboriginal".
Now where's my pill bottle........
AlanTH.
FollowupID: 883428

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Monday, Aug 14, 2017 at 12:39

Monday, Aug 14, 2017 at 12:39
It's gotten off track to the OP quite a bit, but just to show a mainstream media story in the news yesterday, it is an issue out of control with some areas of the country.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4785834/Greens-party-paedophiles-opposing-cashless-welfare.html

Watching that video is heartbreaking, but the reality.
FollowupID: 883443

Follow Up By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2017 at 08:37

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2017 at 08:37
As someone who has lived in Kalgoorlie for nearly 20 years and been visiting it all my life I would have to disagree with your statement about Kalgoorlie, Ron.

The problems with Aboriginal crime in Kalgoorlie have diminished markedly in my time here as more and more Aboriginal people move off welfare into the mainstream workforce, buy homes and take responsibility for their lives.

It used to be the case that almost all the crime was related to Aboriginal youths and kids, but that's not the case any more. That is not to say there are no problems caused by Aboriginal people, but they are largely from itinerants.

I would say our biggest problem in Kal with criminality is related to drugs, especially methamphetamines, which is overwhelmingly a non-Aboriginal issue involving younger males aged less than around 35 and very often young fellas without good social skills.
FollowupID: 883471

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2017 at 08:44

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2017 at 08:44
That's encouraging to hear Paul, thanks for sharing your personal experiences.

Ice is a big problem all round, all demographics, rich or poor, but especially the vulnerable in Australian communities as it's so easy to get and cheap !!
Alcohol and pornography abuse is still looking like major problem is some towns of the Pilbara and Kimberley, most likely along with certain drugs etc.

Apologies to Ivan for the OT still, I realised it is his thread after his post on Sunday !!
It's a relative issue, I guess a lot of boredom / mindless vandalism / violence is obviously related to all sorts of substance abuse and resulting mental health.
FollowupID: 883473

Follow Up By: Ron N - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2017 at 09:46

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2017 at 09:46
Paul, I'm glad to hear that - but reading the news items about Kalgoorlie, it would appear theft is still a big problem - particularly when off-road motorbikes are involved.

What gets me about the Elijah Dougherty case is that the bloke chasing Elijah killed him accidentally, whilst trying to recover his stolen motorbike.

So that resulted in a 3 year sentence for manslaughter - and the Dougherty family and their supporters then screech there's no justice for black deaths.

These people obviously have short memories.
Bill Rowe, a white farmer from Geraldton, was killed in a cold-blooded murder on Xmas Day 2007 - violently bashed to death with a cricket bat by the Aboriginal Matthew McDonald.

Bill was merely trying to stop a gang of Aboriginals stealing his beer from his Esky, when his family was having a Xmas Day picnic.

McDonald served just 5 yrs and 9 mths for this outrageous crime, which would warrant a life sentence anywhere else.

I know where the injustice lies, and Doughtys supporters claims are pretty hollow.

In addition, the bloke who killed Elijah had his house burnt to the ground and his family had to flee town. I note no-one has ever been charged for burning the house.

Meantimes, the McDonald family live in Geraldton in peace and supported with every possible assistance - whilst Bill Rowes widow lives with the memory of every Xmas Day celebration being marred as the anniversary of Bill's needless death.

Bill Rowe murderer released

FollowupID: 883476

Follow Up By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 08:50

Friday, Aug 18, 2017 at 08:50
The Elijah Doughty matter was a somewhat isolated example and I thought the guy that killed him got off very lightly, frankly. Not that I didn't have some sympathy for his plight in having had his motorbike stolen, but it certainly wasn't worth killing someone over, no matter how inadvertent the killing might have been.
The bigger issue in my mind is how we deal with the social dysfunction that leads to these situations. Undoubtedly work is the critical difference and getting people, any people, off welfare dependency is just so important. The sooner the so-called cashless welfare card comes in the better.
FollowupID: 883544

Reply By: Frank P (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 18:36

Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 18:36
I always do a walk-around after I've hitched up and before we move off, mostly to back up my ageing fragile memory. I don't do it after fuel stops.

Maybe I will now.

AnswerID: 613040

Follow Up By: IvanTheTerrible - Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 19:04

Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 19:04
We never camp near towns or people. I run a business and when we go bush it's to get away from everyone and everything. :)
FollowupID: 883414

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 19:19

Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 19:19
Us too, Ivan. But there are still the fuel stops. You just don't know what dickhead wants to spoil your day.

FollowupID: 883415

Reply By: Banjo (WA) - Monday, Aug 14, 2017 at 07:33

Monday, Aug 14, 2017 at 07:33
Damn, something else that I, being white, have caused.
AnswerID: 613048

Reply By: AlanTH - Monday, Aug 14, 2017 at 09:19

Monday, Aug 14, 2017 at 09:19
Getting back to the point of the original post.... not just in distant places this unhooking of vans goes on (or other vandalism) as our van came away from the back when we were bringing it back from the repairers once.
I towed it there OK and know darn well it was secure, but overnight the vehicle was left in the driveway, back to the road (I usually reverse in) and then coming home the tongue slipped out of the receiver.
I know who did it but proving anything is a different matter. Especially when you get a magistrate from the same part of the world as the bastard we took to court once before....
Luckily there was no damage but a pair of rapidly beating hearts. A young lad passing helped me hook it up again and ever since it's been locked on.
AlanTH.
AnswerID: 613053

Reply By: Batt's - Monday, Aug 14, 2017 at 12:34

Monday, Aug 14, 2017 at 12:34
Thanks for the info it will come in very handy for those travellers who are spending their hard earned to see the country. Unlike others who bludge on the system and try to ruin peoples gear through pure jealously because their to lazy to get off their ar#e and earn an honest living so they can buy their own toys instead of getting free handouts generation after generation.

Who cares if politics and history keep getting bought up when the local natives are mentioned there's no use trying to bury the facts. I've worked with lots of them who have some self pride and want to teach their children to have some pride of their heritage but also make something of themselves in the process then there are the exceptions this includes whites as well.
AnswerID: 613064

Reply By: Sigmund - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2017 at 05:34

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2017 at 05:34
I lock the safety chain to the towbar when parked and always use a locking hitch pin*.

IMO it's crazy to have trailers that cost tens of thousands that have NO built-in security.

I'd like to see eg. a locking handbrake or some kind of axle/wheel lock.

-------

* It's possible to get a Talon bilock pin keyed alike with the DO35 hitch lock.
AnswerID: 613084

Reply By: Member - snippy - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2017 at 13:06

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2017 at 13:06
We had our lockpin removed while parked at Karratha.

Happens all the time.
AnswerID: 613099