Obelisk guessing comp

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 11:28
ThreadID: 137537 Views:3818 Replies:10 FollowUps:11
Hey there,
Came across this a few days ago.
Anybody know where it is?

Im on the road about to have breaky at Cocklebiddy.
I'll answer if I can at Caiguna, Balladonia, Norseman, Hyden etc...

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 11:43

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 11:43
Hi Alan

That Obelisk is next to that Survey Mark.....lol

Somewhere in the Nullarbor Region north of the Trans Line?

Cheers and Season Greeting

AnswerID: 622543

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 15:31

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 15:31
Hi Stephen,
Seasons Greetings to you too!!

You have most of the right words lol

FollowupID: 895487

Reply By: greybeard - Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 12:20

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 12:20
GAFA country springs to mind
AnswerID: 622544

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 13:23

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 13:23
Thought I saw something like this West of Mundrabilla, but very vague memory!

Photo is very much like country north of Cocklebiddy, heading up to Rawlinna too.

AnswerID: 622547

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 15:34

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 15:34
Hi Bob

A lot of the country looks the same around there doesn't it.
Never gets boring though.

FollowupID: 895488

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 13:47

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 13:47
Well, it isn't one of Lennie's. So that narrows it down a bit. lol

AnswerID: 622549

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 15:35

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 15:35
Hi Allan,

Just a bit, this one was put here before the second world war (and after the first)

FollowupID: 895489

Reply By: The Explorer - Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 17:19

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 17:19
Try again - first file was a bit big...OK - I have narrowed it down to one of these ...maybe

AnswerID: 622553

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 18:15

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 18:15
Hi Greg,

Gee, I had to get my laptop out here at BP Norseman to download that.

No none of them, though I am surprised it is not on the list.

OK big hint - It's one of the first two official border markers.

Talk in Hyden :-)

FollowupID: 895497

Reply By: Phil B (WA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 18:55

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 18:55
Corrected survey marker for WA SA border, from memory the previous one was hundreds of metres out.

Done to stop thwart thieving S Australia's!!!

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 622556

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 22:33

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 22:33
Mate I reckon there was a conspiracy between the SA Surveyor General and the director of National Mapping and none other than the King himself lol

FollowupID: 895509

Reply By: Member - Wildmax - Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 22:10

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 22:10
Maralinga?
Wildmax
2018 Hilux and Black Wolf 210 tent - for the outback tracks less travelled
Formerly an AOR Eclipse and a TVan

AnswerID: 622560

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 22:26

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 22:26
Hi see below, thanks for the guess

FollowupID: 895508

Reply By: equinox - Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 22:25

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 22:25
Hi all.
Thanks for your guesses.
This obelisk is about 1700m south of the Deakin Obelisk.
They were both put in by Surveyor Hambidge in 1926.

With the railway in between you have to cross west at Deakin

AnswerID: 622561

Reply By: Ron N - Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 23:41

Sunday, Dec 09, 2018 at 23:41
Interesting article below. I never knew that early surveying was such an imprecise science.
I often wonder about the accuracy of many survey markers and title boundaries, particularly in mountain-goat country.

State Border disputes

AnswerID: 622562

Reply By: Idler Chris - Monday, Dec 10, 2018 at 13:48

Monday, Dec 10, 2018 at 13:48
Thanks for that Alan. Several years ago I attempted to travel the railway line east from Zanthus. When I got to Deakin I had used more fuel than expected due to the wet conditions so had to bail out and go south to Eucla. You have now given me a good reason when I am next travelling home (Melb) from Perth I will go north from Eucla and find that obelisk and then head east to Ooldea and see if the big heap of wood delivered for the railway joining centenary ceremony is still there or if some vandal has burnt it.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 622566

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Dec 10, 2018 at 14:14

Monday, Dec 10, 2018 at 14:14
No worries Chris.
Great part of the country.

I was really impressed with Loongana too - heaps of spur lines, artefacts, diggings - might go back there at some stage - the Anketell Line is of interest too - it must be the oldest track/road in the area (before the rail), I need to do more research.

FollowupID: 895522

Follow Up By: Idler Chris - Monday, Dec 10, 2018 at 16:39

Monday, Dec 10, 2018 at 16:39
This was the water I mentioned.

Had to camp up for 4 days waiting for this to go down.

That was a fun trip. As we have said in other posts, use your experience and common sense and you eventually come safely out the other side.
An interesting aside was that while I was camped up I was in contact with the Kalgoorlie Police, when I eventually got to Zanthus they instructed me to go south to the Eyre Hwy. My experience and common sense told me to go east along the railway line because the track was much stonier and more used and less likely to be boggy. They were not impressed when I rang them from Deakin to say I was OK and now heading south to Eucla. You have got to love experience.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

FollowupID: 895527

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Dec 10, 2018 at 19:27

Monday, Dec 10, 2018 at 19:27
Gee Chris, I would have thought you have had a shave for the selfie.

Seasons Greetings

Stephen and Fiona

FollowupID: 895528

Follow Up By: Member - johnat - Monday, Dec 10, 2018 at 21:13

Monday, Dec 10, 2018 at 21:13
Why bother wit the shave? Wouldn't have made too much difference!
Shaving is a vastly overrated occupation!
FollowupID: 895530

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Dec 10, 2018 at 21:53

Monday, Dec 10, 2018 at 21:53
Hi John

That’s why I have had a beard for over 45 years.....lol

FollowupID: 895531