all terrian <span class="highlight">tyres</span>

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 11:58
ThreadID: 137806 Views:4310 Replies:14 FollowUps:28
Good morning ladies and gentlemen of the traveling and caravanning kind. some months ago I started our planning of a trip down the canning stock rout for May this year, and nearly all the planning is done water fuel food and sleeping equipment and communications have been taken care of.

We are now coming down to tyres without going overboard, and the two brands that I am considering are the Kuhmo all terrians and the bf Goodrich ko2, I would like some input as to how thesetyres would fare on the track. I have Run bridgestone duellers for a lot of years and the last two sets that I had on the pathfinder I never got more that 25,000 klms out of them, so the question is asked.
any input would be greatly appreciated and welcome to another can of worms lol thank you ladies and gentlemen
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

Reply By: Ron A - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 12:14

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 12:14
AnswerID: 623822

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 13:27

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 13:27
I just love the response your a man after my own heart thank you I need a ,augh every day, thanks Ron
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 897100

Reply By: Member - David M (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 12:16

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 12:16
25000k. ! Stop doing dounuts. :)
Hello Steven.
Dave.
AnswerID: 623823

Follow Up By: KevinE - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 12:28

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 12:28
I hear him load & clear! I got 32K out of my last set of them & I drive like the grandad that I am :)
FollowupID: 897099

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 13:30

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 13:30
so do I and with towing the van and having to wheel align the tyres every 5000 or so was just crazy. Not A HAPPY BRUCE
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 897101

Reply By: RMD - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 12:33

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 12:33
Broodie
Can't see why you would only get 25k out of Duellers. It is a Nissan and it may have poor alignment, what sort of rear end has it got? If independant all round then that is the reason.

I have some Duellers 697 on a Dmax and they are around half worn and 40k so far.
For the price of $200 each they were reasonable value even if they don't get to 80k or so.
AnswerID: 623824

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 13:46

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 13:46
They were the exact same tyres that you are running on the D max and two of my mates have dmaxs with them on and towing 21 ft vans and they look like replacing them at around 30000 and they are waiting to see what I get and what I get out of them, but they wont be going back to duelers they just don't seem to last as long while towing larger vans our vans are between 21 to 23 ft mine being the 23fter, and fully loaded weigh in at 2.8 tonne, ball weight 280 kg and we all use weight distribution hitches from Hayman Reece and your right the independant suspension all round did create problems with wheel alignment.
So the question still remains Kuhmo or B F Goodrich
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 897102

Follow Up By: KevinE - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 18:09

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 18:09
I was running them on a live rear axle & got the same result. I have IFS, but the rears wore out quicker than the fronts. They just don't like towing.
I switched to cheap & cheerful Chinese tyres & wouldn't go back.
FollowupID: 897113

Follow Up By: bellony - Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 00:08

Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 00:08
Broodie, if you still have the Pathfinder it sounds like you need to get some of the negative camber off the rear when towing.

We have a R51 with dueller 697s that have done 53K and still have 7.5mm tread. It was used to tow a Kimberley Kamper that has 250-300kg on the ball, but does have stiffer springs and airbags to stop the independent suspension from squatting too much when towing.

Having said that I think the Toyo AT2 (have them on our LC100) are a better offroad tyre, but you will chew any tyre out if you are getting too much camber on the rear when loaded.
FollowupID: 897118

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 12:39

Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 12:39
We sold the Pathfinder two years ago, and brought a ranger px mk2 the pathfinder had air bags under it and spring upgrades done and the mods never solved the problem. so we moved on. Now with the Ranger we have done a gvm upgrade, with steering and brake upgrade to match, now all we need is some new rubber underneath her and Ill be happy going down the Canning Stock Route, so now I shall look at the Toyos thank you for your in put , every bit of information is very helpful.
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 897125

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 20:34

Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 20:34
Hi RMD

$200 for 697’s....you must be kidding

That or they have dropped their pricing by more than 40%

On my Prado with 265/65 R 17 the 697’ s were $350 per tyres and at only $240 for the Toyo AT 2 Open Country, I was willing to give them a try and the rest is now fact, the Toyo’ s are superier to the 697’s

FollowupID: 897143

Follow Up By: Ron N - Friday, Feb 15, 2019 at 00:56

Friday, Feb 15, 2019 at 00:56
I've found a big difference between Bridgestone tyres made in Japan, and Bridgestone tyres made in places such as Thailand, Indonesia, etc.

The genuine original Japanese-made Bridgestones are superior in both build quality and lifespan.

I bought two Bridgestones that were made in Thailand, and I could never get one of them balanced properly.
Watched it carefully on the balancing machine, and it had a deformed tread belt with a wobble built into it.

I ended up giving the set of two (that had been on the front) to a mate to put on his trailer.
I went and bought a couple of Maxxis and they are on a par with the Japanese-made Bridgestones.

FollowupID: 897151

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 13:34

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 13:34
Don't get Khumo if it is the AT51s you're looking at.
They stake very easily.
Had a brand new set of 4 for Geos trip (NT Simpson) and lost 2 of them to sidewall stakes, all be it small holes, but makes it sort of more frustrating as they couldn't be fixed obviously being sidewalls :(

I have the other 2 delegated now to spares.

After reading many good reports on them, I bought a new set of Toyo Open Country AT2, they have done about 20k now, including a 12.6k 5 state inland tour, some quite remote and rough going, no problems at all and wearing very well.
AnswerID: 623827

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 13:53

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 13:53
I had not considered the toyo tyres, my friends at the golf club are split between kuhmo and Bf Goodrich but I shall check them out . who sell s the toyos???
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 897103

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 14:19

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 14:19
I got mine from Tyrepower, they are stock oem size 235/75/15 and 4 new with balances and wheel align $800.
I found that supplier best at the time, but had to order in as they are very popular.
Before the trip mention in reply above, I wanted the Toyo, but they had a week or so wait, so I went Khumo AT51 and the rest (set of tyres) is history.
FollowupID: 897104

Follow Up By: Member - wicket - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 17:00

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 17:00
I swapped from Kumho KL78 to Toyo AT2; the AT2 are seeing better mileage and an all round better choice for me having a permanent slide on.
FollowupID: 897108

Follow Up By: Stevo_62 - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 17:14

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 17:14
Another vote for Toyo Open County, have them on my Dmax work ute , about 60% bitumen/ 40% gravel roads. About 50k so far with prob another 5-10k left on them , no punctures to date. I run them about 30-34 psi
FollowupID: 897109

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 19:13

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 19:13
I have the Toyo AT II's on my Landcruiser 79 series ute, and travelled with Les & others on our epic WA trip. They are wearing well, though I've only done perhaps 16-18K kms.

My choice was made because of excellent wear & tyre life obtained by an acquaintance who was thrashing Toyo MT's.

FollowupID: 897115

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 18:19

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 18:19
Hi Broodie

I had been a big fan of Bridgestone on the past, but not any longer.

I have always had the 694’s and then went to the 697’s.

As we travel into some great locations, I would never let my tyres get down less than 50% of tread wear, which was around the 20-25,000 km mark and something I would have hoped would have been better.

When Toyo introduced their new Open Country AT2 I thought that I would give them a try, and at over $100 cheaper per tyre compared to the 697’s, I had nothiing to lose if they worm similar to the Bridgestones.

Well with just over 35,000kms travel on the Toyo’s they still have well over 50% tread wear left and compared to the tread depth of when I would replace my Brisgestones, I still have more than 10,000kms before they get down to the 50% mark.

Another thing I like with the Toyo’s, they have a higher load rating.

So at the end of the day, I saved $440 on a set of Toyo’s compared to if I stuck with the 697’s, are just as quiet on the bitumen, great on dirt and sand and nearly double the life life before I replace them, they are made in Japan and a great tyre.

Just my thoughts.

AnswerID: 623830

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 19:35

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 19:35
Hi Stephen , you have done the same with Bridgestone as I did, went from 694 to 697, and it was an expensive exercise in futility.
I have now done some research into the toyos and from what I am reading it sounds good, stay tune as I still have a month to go before getting the tyres and six at once is going to be a bit of a problem getting the minister of finance to agree to.
at the mome4nt I am running a ford ranger with the Dunlop a/t highway tread 265/65. 17 and I think I will be putting 265/70 - 17 on it on steel rims, just to give the vehicle a bit bigger footprint when deflated. any thoughts good bad or indifferent. thanks for your input it is very much appreciated.
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 897116

Reply By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 19:35

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 19:35
Hi Broody H3,
We went down or should I say up the Canning 3 years ago and did not have a problem with the BFG ko2. No chipping and ran perfectly with the lower tyre pressure.
I have always ran BFG but have never had a problem.
My 2 bobs worth.
William
Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

AnswerID: 623832

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 12:43

Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 12:43
Hi William, just as a bit of curiosity, could you tell me what pressures you ran and were you towing a trailer, we wont be towing, but the tyre pressures are important.
thank you
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 897126

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 20:07

Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 20:07
From memory 18 psi and no problems .
It was an unaccompanied trip with my wife and daughter and I would have been shot if I had them out and digging. Lol
William
Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

FollowupID: 897142

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Friday, Feb 15, 2019 at 11:58

Friday, Feb 15, 2019 at 11:58
Hi William, thanks for that, we are doing the trip solo too, only the wives don't want to come on this trip because we cant take the vans, and I am not prepared to tow a trailer out into that type of country.
a couple of friends of mine have just thrown another brand into the mix last night, coopertyres, and I know nothing about them so more research to be done.
I understand not wanting to dig, I got stuck just North of Geraldton one time and the tide was coming in and the noise from the passenger seat was a bit loud at the time, we eventually got some one to tow us out, lesson learnt never been bogged since,lolthat was forty years ago, I learnt about tyre pressures.
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 897163

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 20:14

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 20:14
Have a good look at Kelly Safari TSR before you decide.

AnswerID: 623833

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 12:46

Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 12:46
I used to run Kelly tyres on the bobcat, not a bad tyre in sand, never put them on a vehicle, food for thought, thank you
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 897127

Reply By: Winner W - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 21:31

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2019 at 21:31
Consider Falken WILDPEAK AT3 .
Good price too
Have a set on my Ranger.
AnswerID: 623834

Reply By: qldcamper - Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 10:47

Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 10:47
I cant comment on any other AT as i have only ever had one set. Coming up to 100k with roughly 5k towing on average to poor tracks and still have reasonable rubber left, hoping to get one more trip through SA out of them. Small cuts on the tread but no chunks out of them. Not a cheap tyre but i wouldnt consider anything else, totally happy with them.

KO2s get my vote out of the two you are asking about, but as i say, have had no experience with the other.
AnswerID: 623837

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 12:50

Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 12:50
thank you very much for the info.
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 897128

Reply By: Member - nickb "boab" - Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 11:00

Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 11:00
Br00die : my two bob's worth ..... any of the big brands will serve yourwell , it will be up to you to look after then ...especially out in the sticks .
but if your only getting 25k out of duellers you may need to look into that , they wud normally get twice that easy .
The big dollar tyres are very hard ! , as in give you a very sharp ride unlike duellers . Also our local ARB agent was telling me when he did the canning few years ago he still was running the stand type tyres that the triton came with .
when it come to choosing what tyre to buy it will depend on who's spin you like .
IMO tyres these day are all pretty good .

Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 623838

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 13:07

Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 13:07
Hi Nick, you seem to be on the right track with the tyres not being all that much different and from what I have been able to learn so far it comes down to the different compounds they put into the making of the tyres,and what the tyre has been made for,
we mainly tow a 23 ft van and mainly on dirt roads, but this time I am travelling with a mate and swagging the trip and I would like a reasonably good tyre that can handle dirt rocks and corrugations without to much drama. they then have to be able to revert back to being caravan hauler when we get home again.
thank you great food for thought.
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 897129

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 13:18

Thursday, Feb 14, 2019 at 13:18
Have to agree Nick. As long as there black and round with the white lettering on the inside most are good for 60k.
Dave.
FollowupID: 897130

Reply By: johnny mc - Saturday, Feb 16, 2019 at 10:16

Saturday, Feb 16, 2019 at 10:16
Hi, for what it’s worth I have used Cooper STMax with never a problem towing across Australia. They lasted more than 50,000 kiln and have the strongest sidewall of any 4x4 tyre on the market. They have an extra ply in the sidewall, they call it Armor-tek3 construction claiming 2.5 times stronger than the other tyres. They are a little noisy but not like mud tyres, they start to loose their on road grip after 75% worn. I have used 2 sets but have changed to the Cooper AT3 now as I do less off road and more towing. The AT3 is very quiet, heaps of on road and off road grip, did the Creb Track alone in the rain and had no traction problems. They have done 40,000 and only half worn. I tow a 3 ton caravan so all good. Price is the only downfall. Just bought a new Landcruiser and can’t wait to get some Coopers on it. I have never used Bridgestone so cant compare, but don’t want take the risk of making a possible mistake by doing so.
AnswerID: 623887

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Saturday, Feb 16, 2019 at 12:18

Saturday, Feb 16, 2019 at 12:18
Good morning Johnny,
I have predominantly have always used bridgestone in the past, and after not getting the mileage out of them I thought I would change brands. but what to change to without braking the bank and upsetting the minister for financial resources, I thought I would try for a mid range type of tyre, but as one tyre rep has said to me you don't want to be caught out in the middle of nowhere with busted tyres.
I have had a look at the cooper tyres, and our friend in Tassie has them on his van and ford ranger, so that he can interchange without to many problems so far he has done 45000 klm towing a 20ft van and has no problems.
so I have now shifted thought from Kuhmo / BFG to BFGKO2, / Cooper tyres, the other tyre that has popped its head up is the Toyo tyres which I am at present researching.
thank you very much for your input, and every little bit of information helps, thank you
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 897211

Reply By: johnny mc - Saturday, Feb 16, 2019 at 13:24

Saturday, Feb 16, 2019 at 13:24
Certainly cost / affordability is a big factor in choosing anything, but for a trip in such a remote and harsh environment I would want the assurance I had the best I could afford, for me S/T MAX will be under me even though I prefer the AT3, on my van I have Mickey MTZ P3 a cheaper option you my want to consider? In any case enjoy the adventure!
AnswerID: 623890

Reply By: Member - Paul M55 - Friday, Feb 22, 2019 at 01:13

Friday, Feb 22, 2019 at 01:13
I am one eyed Bf Goodrich i admit, have had a few sets now on all landcruiser 76 series and 200 series both times I've averaged 90k out of 2 sets i have run them at 12psi in sand and 18 to 26psi gravel 35psi bitumen loaded a little heavy no towing no problems at all they both could have done more ks say 10000k but good value for money just on ks alone. My experience and my opinion
AnswerID: 624016

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Friday, Feb 22, 2019 at 17:21

Friday, Feb 22, 2019 at 17:21
I was leaning toward the BF Goodrich KO 2 until I went for a ride in my Nephews Hilux this morning and if the noise coming from the tyres is any indication, I am changing my mind rapidly, they would have to be the noisiest tyres I have ever ridden on.
they have only done 5000 klm's, and the noise is something else, and he reckons they are quiet.
so its now back to the drawing board. thank you for your contribution especialy about the tyre pressures. Thank you
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 897431

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Sunday, Feb 24, 2019 at 07:40

Sunday, Feb 24, 2019 at 07:40
Maybe it isnt the tyres the noise is coming from. Noise isnt a word id use to describe mine. Quieter than the original HTs that come on hilux.
FollowupID: 897457

Reply By: Member - Broodie H3 - Tuesday, Mar 05, 2019 at 16:07

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2019 at 16:07
Thank you to every one that has contributed to this query of mine the final result came down to price, and tyre quality, so I have gone for the BFGoodrich KO 2 265/70/ R17, with the white lettering on the outside, just so people know what we are riding on.
the cooper tyres although seemed the better tyre I could not justify the extra sixty dollars in cost. per tyre.
Thank you all for your input it is greatly appreciated
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

AnswerID: 624225

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 05, 2019 at 21:34

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2019 at 21:34
"with the white lettering on the outside"
Good luck with with the punctures. :)
Dave.
FollowupID: 897662

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Tuesday, Mar 05, 2019 at 22:43

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2019 at 22:43
but Dave I thought the Canning stock route was a pristine super HIghway and you didn't have to worry about punctures, and the white lettering shows how I like advertising for free, just to share with fellow travelers LOL.
thanks for the smile of the day I needed the laugh
thank you
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 897663

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Friday, Mar 22, 2019 at 20:39

Friday, Mar 22, 2019 at 20:39
Just to let every one know that the tyres are on the vehicle and have been for ten days now and so far so good.
they do have a slight road noise but not so much annoying as mud tyres would have been, they seem to hold the road quite well on wet and dry toads next week will be the biggest test, going from Moore river to sandy cape along the bush tracks and beach, as a test run for the Canning stock route.
once again one and all thank you for your contributions
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 898078