Nitrogen in <span class="highlight">Tyres</span>

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 16:51
ThreadID: 138665 Views:7740 Replies:13 FollowUps:24
Does anyone know if there are DIY kits to fill caravan tyres at home with Nitrogen. If so where can these be purchased from. Any links to such sites would also be appreciated.

Reply By: RMD - Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 17:03

Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 17:03
BOC gasses can sell you a bottle, but is it worth filling your tyres with nitrogen?

Less loss of pressure over a long time, because of larger molecules.
Even if you do, you have to purge the air from it, some of which is nitrogen anyway, to ensure a fill of nitrogen occurs. If not, the initial air in there is still in the tyre and the nitrogen becomes diluted in %age.
Unless running at near max load/heat and pressure there are few tangible benefits for the average motorist.
AnswerID: 626574

Follow Up By: Member - DickyBeach - Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 17:15

Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 17:15
Air is 78% Nitrogen anyway.

(And that important plant food, Carbon Dioxide, is 0.04%.)
FollowupID: 900407

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 01:29

Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 01:29
another 1 here ross
FollowupID: 900445

Reply By: Ken O3 - Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 17:16

Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 17:16
The air for free from servos or your pump is 78% nitrogen ! In my view waste of time and effort and your chances of ever getting 100% nitrogen is slim indeed.
A well known caravan maker is touting this as some sort of groundbreaking benefit but my tip is it is the work of the marketing department not the engineering department.
AnswerID: 626575

Follow Up By: Member - johnat - Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 20:05

Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 20:05
Absolutely!
Nitrogen in tyres is one of the things that aircraft use. Reason for this is the really stressful "instant acceleration" the tyres undergo on landing - they go from standing to full rotation in under a second, and the temps go from sub zero in the air to really really high in the same time frame.
For that application, Nitrogen (being an inert gas, not prone to ignition) is an absolute benefit.

Unless you are intending to start flying your van, and landing it at around 300kph, I'd suggest that the Nitrogen fill is pure and utter marketing bull.

As suggested above, the free air from a servo (or your own pump, come to that) is mostly Nitrogen, anyway!
FollowupID: 900411

Follow Up By: RMD - Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 20:38

Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 20:38
Johnat
Nearly all aircraft spin up the tyres to a reasonable survivable speed by a finned accelerating device or they drive them via a servo motor. They don’t begin from a stopped position. If totally stopped a large aircraft simply shreds the tyres and they then have no tyres to land on.
I agree the “nitrogen” idea is a great money income for caravan dealers and auto dealers. Anyone for cream if you can get it?
FollowupID: 900413

Follow Up By: Hoyks - Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 21:00

Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 21:00
I call BS on everything just about all the salesman's reasons related to the "That's why they put it in aircraft tyres".
None of ours 'spin them up', other than using contact with the ground.

Its put in aircraft tyres because it is dry, its also used in the oleo struts (suspension) for the same reason and its a bonus it comes conveniently in a 3000psi cylinder so you don't need a expensive mechanical compressor out on the tarmac that will struggle to reach the 200psi+ you need to inflate them in the first place.

You can be confident that when you check the tyres in the morning that the tyre and strut pressures will be pretty close to what you set them at to account for the aircraft's weight when it lands after everything has been soaking at -30 for a few hours.

Water when heated can take up 1,700 times its volume when at room temperature, which can make it a bit difficult to accurately set the pressures in the morning when doing the Before Flight servicing. Pump them full with hot, humid air in Townsville and the tyre will be well under inflated when landing in Melbourne.
FollowupID: 900416

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 06:20

Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 06:20
FollowupID: 900419

Follow Up By: Jarse - Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 10:12

Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 10:12
A spin-up device? What bollocks. Mate, I fly the Boeing 737, and I can tell you none of the wheels are turning at touchdown. Nor have they on any other plane I've flown in the last 38 years.

You've been watching too much Thunderbirds :D :D

The tyres don't get hot in a split second, either. The majority of the heat generated depends on the brake setting used and the weight of the aircraft at touchdown.

I've landed in Adelaide at 60T, used minimal braking, taxied in, and the tyres are barely warm when you check them.
FollowupID: 900423

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 11:05

Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 11:05
There have been experiments from the '40's through to the '60's, I think, to test spin-up devices on aircraft wheels. None have got off the ground, so to speak :-)

There are all sorts of reasons propounded: impracticality, expense, weight, complexity, gyroscopic forces possibly affecting aircraft controllability just prior to touchdown, tyre manufacturers buying up patents so they can sell more tyres (surely not :-)) etc, etc.

The top post in this link offers a credible reason.

Some corporate jets have offered a nosewheel spin up option for operations off gravel runways, supposedly to reduce debris being flung up and possibly damaging the aircraft's underside skin, or worse, entering aft-mounted engines.

But in general, no manufacturers employ pre-landing spin-up of main gear wheels.

FollowupID: 900426

Follow Up By: RossX4 - Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:14

Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:14
Well, you didn't read the question well then, did you. I didn't ask for you opinion on the pros and cons of using it. Just asked if there was a DIY kit.
FollowupID: 900441

Follow Up By: Hoyks - Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:23

Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:23
yes there is
FollowupID: 900442

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 19:51

Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 19:51
Perfect response given his ungracious replies Hoyks.

For those interested in the issue rather than the specific question, here's another detailed report by Robert Pepper at PracticalMotoring. Unlike many motoring scribes Robert generally does his homework, as his in-depth vehicle tests show.
SHOULD I PUT NITROGEN IN MY TYRES DEFINITIVE ANSWER
FollowupID: 900508

Reply By: Member - willawa - Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 17:36

Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 17:36
How far from major centres can one get nitrogen fortyres .?
May just solve the "why bother" question
AnswerID: 626576

Follow Up By: RossX4 - Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:13

Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:13
Well, you didn't read the question well then, did you. I didn't ask for you opinion on the pros and cons of using it. Just asked if there was a DIY kit.
FollowupID: 900440

Reply By: Frank P (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 18:12

Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 18:12
Ross,

Would you carry the kit when travelling?

Depending on where you travel, you may need to deflate and reinflate your van tyres just as you should do with your vehicle tyres. So first deflation you'd lose some nitrogen which would have to be replaced with the kit. No kit, you'd have to use air and lose the advantage.

If you're going to this trouble for the van, what about the tug? Same principle applies.

To be honest, I don't think this nitrogen thing is worth it. Use air and carry a conventional 12 volt tyre inflator instead.

AnswerID: 626578

Follow Up By: RossX4 - Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:12

Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:12
FollowupID: 900439

Reply By: swampy - Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 21:52

Saturday, Jul 06, 2019 at 21:52
HI
Racing cars can use it to keep stable pressures.
Racing caravans nope not gunna work!! LOL

BBBBBBBB.. BS
AnswerID: 626585

Follow Up By: Ron N - Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 13:14

Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 13:14
I dunno, Swampy - Don't ya reckon, some of these blokes might be using nitrogen in the tyres, to get a slight race advantage?! [;-)

FollowupID: 900433

Reply By: Member - DOZER - Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 16:53

Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 16:53
Bottle of nitrogen and a regulator and your set. Mericans use it to reinflate after wheelin....instead of a compressor.
AnswerID: 626593

Follow Up By: RossX4 - Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:12

Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:12
FollowupID: 900438

Reply By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 17:43

Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 17:43
Absolute waste of time and money.
Just another way to suck some money out of your wallet!!
AnswerID: 626594

Follow Up By: RossX4 - Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:11

Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:11
FollowupID: 900437

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:43

Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:43
There you go NITROGEN INFLATION KIT, 2 minutes on Google.
FollowupID: 900443

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 13:23

Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 13:23
Wow just had a look at the cost Shaker posted for the tank plus refill plus you need to add on for a tyre valve pump going to be expensive especially over the long term.

Glad I set my 12v Bushranger air compressor up 15yrs ago with no ongoing costs.

FollowupID: 900472

Reply By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:27

Sunday, Jul 07, 2019 at 21:27
Fair response Ross, but my comment is the truth! When I was a tyre dealer the companies I was involved with pushed it a bit , but I didn’t go along with selling useless things like that. My opinion of course.
Go for it if you like.
AnswerID: 626595

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 01:28

Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 01:28
Another 1 here ross
FollowupID: 900444

Reply By: Batt's - Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 01:54

Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 01:54
Shame on you all for not precisely answering the question and offering good advice trying to help someone out from being fed false info.
Seriously ross what a joke you can tag mine now if it helps.
AnswerID: 626597

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 15:03

Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 15:03
Short answer is YES , YES you can get a nitrogen 'kit' to inflate your tyres , be it caravan /car / motorbike /wheelbarrow / pushbike tires at home ......another option is C02 , it however tends to leak out over time ...The wifes Tri bike will drop 30 psi every 24hrs when filled with C02 [ start at 120psi ]...
AnswerID: 626611

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 17:24

Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 17:24
There are better things to waste your money on

Nitrogen in tyres scam
AnswerID: 626617

Reply By: Michael H9 - Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 20:19

Monday, Jul 08, 2019 at 20:19
Is there a kit to completely suck all of the air out of the tyres before you fill them up again with magic nitrogen? Otherwise you'll still have some oxygen in there. A completely flat tyre still has 1 atmosphere of pressure in it.
AnswerID: 626623

Follow Up By: Batt's - Tuesday, Jul 09, 2019 at 12:55

Tuesday, Jul 09, 2019 at 12:55
No but it does sucks money out off your wallet
FollowupID: 900534

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Jul 09, 2019 at 17:14

Tuesday, Jul 09, 2019 at 17:14
The link I posted mentions that issue Michael. Dot points from Robert Pepper's article:
* Some racing cars apparently have two valves to reduce the "problem" - one to purge, the other to fill.
* As he explained, in practical terms a nitrogen-filled tyre will be ~90% N while an air-filled tyre will be ~80%N.
* There is no data to back up any significant performance/ride/handling improvement claims for "normal" use. N- and air-filled tyres perform the same.
* N-filled tyres still have to be checked and re-inflated.

Air contains water vapour so if you intend to pass your wheels down through multiple generations perhaps N2 is your gas of choice. Add some oxygen for a laugh or two.
FollowupID: 900543

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Jul 10, 2019 at 07:25

Wednesday, Jul 10, 2019 at 07:25
You will probably get better value filling your tyres with helium,

It will reduce your GVM and give you better fuel economy :)
FollowupID: 900558

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Wednesday, Jul 10, 2019 at 09:08

Wednesday, Jul 10, 2019 at 09:08
Also beneficial if you want to talk like a chipmunk...
FollowupID: 900560

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Jul 10, 2019 at 10:20

Wednesday, Jul 10, 2019 at 10:20
Not to mention some added excitement Alby. You coud try using Hydrogen for even more bang for your driving buck, but you'll probably only get one opportunity to enjoy the experience
FollowupID: 900561

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Jul 09, 2019 at 14:13

Tuesday, Jul 09, 2019 at 14:13
Ross, I believe you can get Bob Jane and maybe others to fill your car tyres with nitrogen but I don't know about DIY kits.
I have a neighbour who said that they filled his car tyres with it but refused to fill his caravan tyres. I don't know why but I suppose there is some good reason.
I don't know much about this but I understand that there are certain advantages.
Why did you want to use nitrogen especially in caravan tyres?

AnswerID: 626639