Outback toilet paper litter

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 16:48
ThreadID: 139797 Views:11887 Replies:14 FollowUps:16
We've all seen the disgusting sight of white toilet paper streamers hanging from bushes and littering our bush but has anyone taken any photos and have some to share with me please? I am working on a graphic concept but can't seem to find the right photo...
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 17:39

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 17:39
Yuk!...........................

AnswerID: 630508

Follow Up By: Member - Jim S1 - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 17:48

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 17:48
Funnily enough Michelle, we do have some rather bizarre photos ............ but not of used toilet paper ...
Good luck.

Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

FollowupID: 905923

Reply By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 17:51

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 17:51
I think I know what you’re after, but no photo’s here. Burnt plenty, but haven’t photographed!
Do you mean you are going to put together an Ad/educatin piece?
Shane
AnswerID: 630509

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 19:19

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 19:19
Just an idea to make a "meme" graphic ...for comic relief in these stressful times of no toilet paper in the shops...if no one can buy toilet paper then there is one positive to come of it...there'll be no toilet paper litter in the outback this season. (haha, we wish).

But of course that too is unrealistic.
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 905927

Reply By: Hoyks - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 17:56

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 17:56
No, sorry. I didn't think poo ticket streamers to be particularly photogenic.

The washed out paper blends into the background that a standard image lacks definition and, well, zooming in is even less visually appealing.
AnswerID: 630510

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 19:21

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 19:21
Correct....its a tricky subject to perfect!
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 905929

Follow Up By: Hoyks - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 19:49

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 19:49
Something about collecting wild poo paper? You just have to beat the crap out of it before use.
FollowupID: 905934

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 18:13

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 18:13
With the way so many dumb people in this once great country are panic buying up all the toilet paper on offer - I reckon there could be a market to recycle all those pre-loved poo tickets and streamers all over the bush you are talking about lol

Can picture the brightly painted up Troopy's now - " Jims Wipe Twice It's still Nice "

Happy safe and poo-ticket-less travels

Gazz

AnswerID: 630511

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 19:12

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 19:12
You're on my wavelength....!!
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 905926

Reply By: 9900Eagle - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 18:54

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 18:54
Michelle, just get someone to slip down to any out of town roadside rest areas with no toilets and you will get as many photos as you want.
AnswerID: 630512

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 19:20

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 19:20
Yes someone...please do.
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 905928

Reply By: Member - ACD 1 - Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 21:41

Sunday, Mar 15, 2020 at 21:41
Michelle

I don't know where this photo came from. I found it years ago on the net and took a screen shot it.

Don't know if you can use it?

Anthony
AnswerID: 630514

Reply By: Member - MIKE.G - Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 10:13

Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 10:13
Hi Michelle.

After our last trip across the Nullabor and seeing first hand the mess left by travelers, I wrote to the General Managers of all the "Whiz Bang" hiring companies, pointing out that we had witnesses on more than one occasion, their clients relieving themselves in inappropriate places and walking away with no intention of burning or burying the waste. These are of course not he only travelers that cause the problem.

I asked that the companies educate their clients, as part of the hiring handover procedure, on bush etiquette and at least provide a shovel!

Needless to say I didn't get an answer from any of them and the problem persists.

It shouldn't be too hard to get some photos.

Mike.
AnswerID: 630517

Reply By: Phil B (WA) - Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 11:05

Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 11:05
Hi Michelle, a delicate subject indeed, its a pity some fellow human beings weren't more discrete. I've attached a few photos from my files and a copy of an article I wrote for Western 4WDriver Summer 2014.
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 630518

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 11:28

Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 11:28
Great post, Phil.Well done.

FollowupID: 905946

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Mar 20, 2020 at 11:24

Friday, Mar 20, 2020 at 11:24
Yes, the pit toilet smelled so bad that he decided to make the whole area smell just like it.
FollowupID: 906051

Reply By: axle - Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 11:20

Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 11:20
Hi Michelle

Author Kathleen Meyer, and the late Galen Rowell could teach some of these grubs a thing or THREE if they where to read there third edition of ( How to shit in the bush}.

Galen was a very good Photographer, not sure what could be DUG up there.....LOL.

Cheers Axle,
AnswerID: 630519

Follow Up By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2020 at 20:53

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2020 at 20:53
Gday Axle
I read that book years ago, i even gave it to my son to read.

FollowupID: 906003

Reply By: Candace S. - Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 15:56

Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 15:56
I thought I had a good pic for you. But when I dug it up, it turned out to be not so great. But here it is anyway.

The sad thing here (Lambert Centre) is that there's a multi-stall toilet. But it was unserviceable by September 2019. So people were back to creating a mess. Because it's just soooo difficult to put your used paper in your rubbish bag, or burn it.

This isn't exactly what you asked for, but it's relevant. :) It was here: WA bore
AnswerID: 630527

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 16:04

Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 16:04
Thanks to those that have contributed. Yes, we've written about this for 20 years now but the issue remains and infact it simply gets worse every season. I am been pouring through my image library but like a lot of you, whilst we react to the sights, we rarely photograph them so not finding it easy to find the right shot for my needs. I have a vision in my head - and can't yet find the right photo. Please keep looking through your photos - I've got plenty of instructional photos and videos of how to poo in the bush that we've prepared, and so have many others, but none that are truly depictive of the problem. Phil's last couple come close but was hoping to get a wider angle landscape scene so still open to submissions if you find any please share.
This is a national disgrace.
Michelle Martin

AnswerID: 630528

Follow Up By: Ron N - Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 16:59

Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 16:59
Michelle - A Google image search brings up numerous photos of toilet paper scattered through the bush.

You could probably find and contact the photo owners, for permission to use their photo/s.

Unfortunately, I got the best results, using "4WD", in front of "toilet paper litter" .... [:-(

4WD toilet paper litter

FollowupID: 905959

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 17:02

Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 17:02
did that all weekend but didn't find what I wanted...
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 905960

Follow Up By: Ron N - Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 17:21

Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 17:21
You're obviously looking for a very specific, up-close photo, of multiple toilet paper streamers hanging from bushes and low shrubs, then?

I can't recall having seen anything quite that bad in recent times - just lots of small pieces of toilet paper - and more often than not - piles of general rubbish, full stop.

FollowupID: 905961

Reply By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 17:53

Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 17:53
Hi Michelle,

Is it just toilet paper that you're focusing on? General bogan camping litter is arguably as much or more of a problem and often (usually?) combined with your subject.

If you browse these pages you may find a suitable image.

Frank

AnswerID: 630530

Follow Up By: Candace S. - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 05:00

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 05:00
Yes, I've seen more general rubbish and abandoned/burned out vehicles than "poo tickets."

Tissue paper also degrades in the elements within a relatively short amount of time. Not so much with metals and plastics.
FollowupID: 905963

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 15:48

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 15:48
Thanks Frank
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 905975

Reply By: Croc099 - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 22:09

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 22:09
Wasn't me. Haven't been able to buy any.
AnswerID: 630547

Follow Up By: Member - JOHN C16 - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2020 at 09:57

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2020 at 09:57
Was’nt me either. Supplies are running low. Does anyone have a square to spare?

I Dont Have a Square to Spare
FollowupID: 905989

Follow Up By: Croc099 - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2020 at 10:34

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2020 at 10:34
Only need a single sheet to do the job.

Single sheet wipe

Done.
FollowupID: 905993

Reply By: Gramps - Friday, Mar 20, 2020 at 12:47

Friday, Mar 20, 2020 at 12:47
I should have taken a picture at Desert Queen Baths last year. Someone had left their deposit, neatly stacked used paper on top then weighed it all down with a small rock.

AnswerID: 630591