Caravan <span class="highlight">tyres</span>

Submitted: Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 09:33
ThreadID: 139984 Views:9653 Replies:11 FollowUps:8
Just bought a 2.9 T Caravan with the big 4wd tyres , the van will be 5 years old shortly , it has never traveled any where, it’s brand new, except the age , I’m inclined to believe that tyres should be changed after 3 years?

Reply By: Mick O - Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 09:40

Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 09:40
Ray, can you givea little info on the tyres. Type (AT/MT etc) their brand and model, size and there is also a manufacturers date usually represented as a 4 digit number '01/19' on the tyre usually positioned close to the rim edge.

Has the van been moved regularly? was it stored under cover? All those additional details will assist you and others in assessing the state of your tyres.

Is there any visible signs of weathering on the tyres or small radial cracks in near the rim?

As a general rule of thumb for serious outback travel in a 4x4 vehilce, I like to consider changing at 5 years but modern tyre compounds are made to last a lot longer than that and will do so under normal road use and conditions. Storage and exposure to sunlight and the elements will affect tyres so that's a consideration as well.

Mick

AnswerID: 631424

Reply By: ray t1 - Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 10:00

Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 10:00
The tyres are , general grabbers AT2, as for the dates 39/14, 18/15, 14/14, 17/15 , if these are the only 4 diget no’s I can see, it has been under cover & seem to be as good as any in the shop’s
AnswerID: 631425

Follow Up By: kgarn - Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 10:20

Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 10:20
This may give you some guidance:

"General Tire is unaware of any technical data that supports a specific tire age for removal from service. However, as with other members of the tire and automotive industries, General Tire recommends that all tires (including spare tires) that were manufactured more than ten (10) years previous be removed from service and be replaced with new tires, even when tires appear to be usable from their external appearance and if the tread depth may have not reached the minimum wear out depth. Vehicle manufacturers may recommend a different chronological age at which a tire should be replaced based on their understanding of the specific vehicle application; General Tire recommends that any such instruction be followed. Consumers should note that most tires would have to be removed for tread wear-out or other causes before any proscribed removal period. A stated removal period in no way reduces the consumer's responsibility to replace tires as needed.

General Tire recommends that you regularly inspect your tires. An inspection of the tires should be incorporated during routine vehicle maintenance procedures. If tire damage is suspected or found, it should be carefully assessed by a trained tire specialist immediately."

Ken
FollowupID: 907497

Follow Up By: Griffin - Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 10:16

Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 10:16
For the sake of clarity...
3914 =39th week of 2014
1815=18th week of 2015
and so on. That's the date of manufacture btw.
FollowupID: 907554

Follow Up By: Dion - Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 10:31

Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 10:31
Is there an Australian version of that Ken?
FollowupID: 907562

Reply By: Member - David M (SA) - Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 10:16

Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 10:16
Probably good for another 3 years Ray but now you've asked the question it will always be in the back of your mind as you travel. Start from scratch, stick some new ones on and travel in peace. :)
Dave.
AnswerID: 631426

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 10:21

Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 10:21
G'day Ray,
Not sure of years to change them but my 20 yo box trailer that is always kept under a carport blew out the left & right tyre in quick succession at the 10 year mark. They were new tyres at puchase & still had all the tread on them when they disintegrated.
The tyre shop said that as they spent most of their life sitting on dirt in a wet climate the moisture in the ground had compromised the construction. After that I laid some pavers & fingers crossed another 10 years down the track the next set are still ok.
Stu
AnswerID: 631427

Reply By: Mark C9 - Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 10:33

Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 10:33
Tyres do have a shelf life but that varies depending on the manufacturer.
I generally get 5 years and that includes a lot of off road stuff
I had a mate who had 20 y/o tyres on his van. The tread was in very good contition.
I suggested he get new ones fitted but he said he would risk it..
Nekminit, one blew out and he almost flipped it
Just get some new ones to be sure
AnswerID: 631428

Reply By: WAKO - Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 11:53

Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 11:53
If your about to drag it around the country on an extended trip I would replace.

If it’s just weekend/holiday stuff than keep and monitor.
AnswerID: 631433

Follow Up By: Mark C9 - Monday, May 11, 2020 at 19:12

Monday, May 11, 2020 at 19:12
Haha
So its ok to risk lives/damage for a short trip but not an extended trip
Interesting
FollowupID: 907612

Reply By: Kazza055 - Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 12:19

Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 12:19
Our van is a 2011 model fitted with light truck tyres and probably done about 30-40,000k and still have heaps of tread.

I have fitted a TPMS with 10 sensors which allows me to monitor all 8 road tyres plus the 2 spares.

I think the rule of replacing tyres after 5 years was invented by a tyre salesman.

If you are worried, give them a good inspection especially in the groves looking for any splits.
AnswerID: 631438

Reply By: 9900Eagle - Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 15:33

Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 15:33
The tyre manufactures standard for an old tyre, even if in good condition is replace at 10 years old.

Once they get some age on them it is a really good idea to check the side walls and tread thoroughly for cracking or crazing. Modern tyres that don't get used much, also appear to suffer premature failure.
AnswerID: 631441

Reply By: Bobjl - Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 11:10

Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 11:10
https://www.liveabout.com/the-science-of-tire-aging-3234377
Interesting information that contradicts some opinions on ageing, tread wear etc.
You need to read the entire report but of particular interest was the statement
Usage: When a tire is driven, the pressure and flexing motion circulate the internal oils through the rubber. These oils lubricate the internal rubber and keep it from drying and stiffening. So tires that are used less are often more vulnerable to aging effects.
AnswerID: 631459

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 18:19

Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 18:19
Without reading the report , I totally agree with that comment about usage keeping the Tyre pliable. I sold tyres for a living , and noticed the trucking businesses that constantly used their trucks had a good run out of retreads, where as the farm trucks would sit for months after harvest, then they would come out to cart fertiliser, and quite a few retreads would blow. Probably some non retreads as well.
FollowupID: 907581

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 23:09

Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 23:09
I think comparing retreads against normal tyres is a big difference.
FollowupID: 907590

Reply By: Member - Jim - Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 17:20

Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 17:20
ray t1,

The time to replace the tyres is now. At home where you have plenty of choice of what to replace them with and at a price that you are happy with.
It is no good having to replace one here, one there on a big trip with whatever is available at the time ending up with a few different odd patterned tyres.

It is not an expensive thing to do now, all things considered.

Jim
AnswerID: 631462

Reply By: Willykj - Monday, May 11, 2020 at 15:13

Monday, May 11, 2020 at 15:13
Replace them now as they are 5/6 years old.

I have been vanning for decades and over the years I have had 3 blowouts - all the tyres were 6/7 years old.

My current van is now 6 years old and I replaced all tyres at the 5 year mark. Better to be sure. Most vans do sit not used for long periods and that affects tyre life.
AnswerID: 631478

Follow Up By: RMD - Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 08:35

Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 08:35
Your 3 failures with 6 to 7 year old tyres was with used tyres worn to some degree. He has new almost unused tyres. Big difference.
FollowupID: 907617

Follow Up By: Willykj - Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 08:52

Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 08:52
No it's not a big difference. It has nothing to do with how much tread is left - its's the age of the tyre! If the original poster has a van with tyres not used for 5 years and the weight of the van on the tyres for that period then it's time for new tyres...
FollowupID: 907619