Mobile Weigh Station

Submitted: Friday, Jul 24, 2020 at 19:55
ThreadID: 140281 Views:12586 Replies:12 FollowUps:10
I am new to this forum but was hoping I can pick your brains.
I am looking at setting up a mobile weigh station, where I would come to you and check the weight and compliance of your caravan and tow vehicle. I will provide fast, accurate and reliable weight reports on the spot. My questions to you all are:
1. Would you be interested in using a mobile weigh service?
2. Has anyone used a similar service? If so, would you recommend it to others?
3. Do you think $250 is a fair price to pay for the weigh service including weight certificates.

Thank you in advance for your assistance and ideas.

Cheers Lewis

Reply By: RMD - Friday, Jul 24, 2020 at 20:16

Friday, Jul 24, 2020 at 20:16
1. NO
2. NO
3. Most definitely not as a short drive I can get a weight certificate from a certified weighbridge for 2
$20. A mate did his the other day and towed his 3 t van 8km to the site.n
AnswerID: 632680

Follow Up By: Member - reggy 2 (VIC) - Friday, Jul 24, 2020 at 21:18

Friday, Jul 24, 2020 at 21:18
$25 here in NE for certificate.
Cheer's
FollowupID: 909531

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Friday, Jul 24, 2020 at 21:23

Friday, Jul 24, 2020 at 21:23
G'day Lewis,
Ouch $250.00!
I just got my rig weighed a few months back. On my way out fully loaded for a trip. Just google searched passing towns & found a weigh station. 5 mins & $20 later had a certificate.
Sorry don't think you will get many takers.
Stu
AnswerID: 632681

Reply By: Member - peter_mcc - Friday, Jul 24, 2020 at 22:48

Friday, Jul 24, 2020 at 22:48
Are you going to weigh each wheel and give a report that says what the actual weight is vs allowed axle weight for the vehicle? That might be useful - going over a weighbridge isn't too hard but getting axle weights is difficult because you need to unhook the Tvan and have a patient operator.

Will probably also depend on where you are located - there is a map of public weighbridges here: Link

I'm from the north side of Sydney and there aren't many around.

I suspect $250 would be a bit much for most people.

EDIT by ModSquad to provide the weighbridge link

AnswerID: 632683

Follow Up By: Member - Vince M (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2020 at 15:29

Sunday, Jul 26, 2020 at 15:29
Peter a lot of council tips are licensed weight stations nowadays
FollowupID: 909550

Reply By: Member - rocco2010 - Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 00:10

Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 00:10
There are of course companies already offering this service.
Saw a YouTube video a month or so ago of a couple of vloggers getting their new loaded up van and Ute weighed before they headed off.
Was interesting watching the process which I think looked at individual axle weights, towball weight etc.
Then watched them figuring out what they could leave behind to save some weight.

AnswerID: 632684

Reply By: Member - Bigfish - Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 06:07

Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 06:07
Some may find it useful but many will flinch at the $250 charge. Dont forget that this corona virus issue/effects will remain for years to come. We are currently in a recession and a depression is on the cards. Money will be awfully tight for many. It would be a good service but I,d expect to pay about $120-$150 for the same service with axle weights issued. Good luck ...you never know...you may prove us all wrong!
AnswerID: 632685

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 06:57

Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 06:57
For about that price I could get a set of digital scales and weigh my camper every day.

No thanks.

Maybe $60 - 80
AnswerID: 632687

Reply By: GarryR - Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 07:50

Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 07:50
Hi Lewis, my answer is no on all counts and as above I can go to a private weigh station near home at no cost when they are not busy ( the chap is a caravanner and will help like minded people out, even if you do not own a van and need to weigh ). I also have a Vicroads Public weigh bridge 15mins from home cost free should I wish to go down that path. The Vicroad staff are also really helpful with hints and advice, as to stay within the recommended limits and rulings.
location - Warragul -Victoria
life is too short, so out and about enjoy

AnswerID: 632688

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 08:16

Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 08:16
Hi Lewis,

I think you may have your answer. The concept sounds great, but far too expensive. I know you need to cover your travel costs, but when people can travel to a public weighbridge and get certified weigh tickets for less than $30, you will struggle to find many customers willing to pay $200+.

Also, will you supply a guarantee that your weight scales are accurate? Think of what might happen if you supplied a weight certificate that showed the customer was under weight, and then he gets weighed by the authorities only to find he is over weight and cops a fine. Lawyers might get involved, becomes expensive.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 632689

Follow Up By: Member - John - Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 09:02

Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 09:02
Macca, one problem with a certificate, it is only valid for that point in time, the issuer would have no control as to what is added to van after weighing.

FollowupID: 909534

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 11:33

Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 11:33
Guys,
I did calibration & certifications for much of my career in the engineering & aircraft industry.
All traceable & valid for 12 months.
You cannot have control from the moment you walk out the door so have to rely on the customers to advise you if they make any changes or exceed the equipments operating parameters.
Otherwise what do you do?Calibrate & issue a certificate every day & not use the capital equipment for its intended purpose. Had this discussion with auditors many times.
Just to give you an everyday example. Get your wheel alignment done & supplied with report. Drive down the road & hit the curb. Up to the owner to go back & get it rechecked & adjusted.
Stu
FollowupID: 909539

Reply By: Mark C9 - Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 09:36

Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 09:36
a big no here. sorry mate but you can get a free one at most dumps.
the ones that provide a cert charge around $20.
sorry to burst your bubble.
next idea
AnswerID: 632691

Follow Up By: Member - Blue M - Sunday, Jul 26, 2020 at 01:14

Sunday, Jul 26, 2020 at 01:14
But that depends on where you are.
They are few and far between when you live in the West.
FollowupID: 909545

Follow Up By: Mark C9 - Sunday, Jul 26, 2020 at 09:35

Sunday, Jul 26, 2020 at 09:35
Blue M
im not sure old mate would travel that far for the price anyway
You can buy a set of scales for a lot less
FollowupID: 909546

Reply By: DiggZ - Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 09:41

Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 09:41
How long is a weight certificate good for?
AnswerID: 632692

Follow Up By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 11:57

Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 11:57
Once you leave the weigh bridge you can add or subtract the weight. So it is accurate on the weigh bridge.
FollowupID: 909540

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 12:33

Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 12:33
Yep.
Once the certificate is issued the issuer has no control over what is added to the vehicle when it leaves the site.
You would be suprised at the amount of modern equipment that has installed sensors recording when operating parameters are exceeded.
Get your electrical lead tagged & tested for 12 months then run over it with your car. Tag is now invalid!
Stu.
FollowupID: 909541

Reply By: Member - john y - Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 10:58

Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 10:58
not sure of your location but this service is already available in Victoria he provides a very comprehensive report Can be found by googling weigh stations
I will go anywhere as long as it's forward

AnswerID: 632693

Follow Up By: lindsay - Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 18:59

Saturday, Jul 25, 2020 at 18:59
I own a weighbridge and regularly weigh vehicles and vans for no cost. Remember if it used as a public bridge where you charge a fee, the bridge must be registered and tested every 12 months. Our bridge must get tested every 12 months at a cost of $1500 to $ 2000 for each test as we also have to pay for a weighbridge tech to adjust it electronically if it outside the parameters. Under the new rags since it has been a federal entity one must be registered to operate a bridge.
So forget it.
Lindsay.
FollowupID: 909544

Reply By: Member - Vince M (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 26, 2020 at 15:54

Sunday, Jul 26, 2020 at 15:54
I have certified portable weight Matt’s (8) that we use inside my factory on a flat level floor that we use for aircraft load leg placements but if I was to use them on the concrete drive out side they will show totally different weights on each axle . Tried this on my own 4x4 camper & gave different axle weights due to the angle/load but spot on inside in the accredited level area, so good luck 1) the cost & 2) finding a area that will suit your equipment
AnswerID: 632702

Follow Up By: lindsay - Sunday, Jul 26, 2020 at 16:32

Sunday, Jul 26, 2020 at 16:32
Yes the difference allowed is 3 mm between the bridge and the surrounding pavement.
Lindsay.
FollowupID: 909552