Mitsubishi Pajero to be axed next year.

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 13:23
ThreadID: 140299 Views:10722 Replies:11 FollowUps:8
Its been a popular 4by over the years and given a lot of owners trouble free motoring for a reasonable outlay.

The 3.2 l mitsy engine has proved to be a solid motor and a shame it will disappear.

Just signs of the times i guess.

Reply By: OzzieCruiser - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 14:19

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 14:19
To be replaced no doubt by a similar vehicle just with a different name.
AnswerID: 632752

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 18:05

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 18:05
No Ozzie...thats the end of the Pajero. Mitsy in a bit of financial strife with the corona virus situation...according to news reports and reports from MM management.
FollowupID: 909634

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 15:32

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 15:32
G'day Axle,
May have been a capable vehicle but what were they thinking when they designed the rear of it!
I always comment how I loath the styling of the Pajero when I see one.
Looks like the person that designed the Sangyong Korando had a hand in it.
Stu
AnswerID: 632753

Follow Up By: Member - Warren H - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 15:53

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 15:53
Pajero Sport?
NT Pajero
2007 Goldstream Crown

FollowupID: 909629

Follow Up By: axle - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 15:58

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 15:58
Hi Stu

The later sports model is the one that has a rear end that resembles the back end of a cow!..lol

just Mitsubishi styling, then what about the Isuzu muck, oops!(Mux) not much better.

Still like my triton, know matter what is said about them :))))

FollowupID: 909630

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 18:04

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 18:04
Bushranger...Think you have your models mixed up.
FollowupID: 909633

Reply By: Member - Bigfish - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 18:10

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 18:10
Shame really. I,ve had 4wd,s since the 6 cylinder Nissan patrol with a 4 speed box that drank fuel like a drunken footy team drinks beer. Had many Toyotas and other Nissans as well. Travelled many hundreds of thousands of kilometers in remote Oz. My current vehicle is a 2015 NW pajero...purchased new. I have not spent one cent on any repairs or breakdowns on it. Not even a blown globe or fuse. Well modified and can honestly say that it is a much better vehicle for everyday use than any tojo or nissan 4wd I,ve ever had. A very highly underrated vehicle that is a great tow vehicle, off road vehicle and everyday driver.
AnswerID: 632754

Follow Up By: Keir & Marg - Thursday, Jul 30, 2020 at 13:31

Thursday, Jul 30, 2020 at 13:31
We have a 2008 NS purchased secondhand with 90k on the clock. It's now just ticked over 300k. Tows the caravan beautifully and is remarkably economical, particularly as I've put in a lock-up kit for the torque converter clutch. It's been super reliable, very comfortable on and off road, and has operated perfectly in temperatures between -10C and 47C. It's not serviced by MMA but has been recalled on several occasions for airbag replacement (major) and several minor items, so I can't fault MMA for customer service. Best vehicle we have ever owned, and, with depreciation, it's worth bugger-all, but there is absolutely no point in selling it and buying something newer. Perhaps I should be buried in it???
FollowupID: 909639

Reply By: BobR4 - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 19:15

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 19:15
I've been anguishing over the future of my 2005 NP 3.2 Paj.
I'm past 70, and thinking in terms of should this be my last vehicle or get another. I've been happier with this one than any other vehicle I've ever owned. It has only 250k on the clock, doesn't owe me a thing and should be reasonably easily maintained indefinitely if I keep looking after it.
For a long time I've smugly felt it's very underrated by many.
Sure it's not the quietest most comfortable vehicle on the road, nor the most stylish by a long shot.
I do love driving it under any conditions I usually encounter, and will be saddened to think they've come to the end of the line.
AnswerID: 632755

Reply By: Michael H9 - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 19:25

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 19:25
I've got a 2015 NX Pajero and it's a really honest no nonsense car, handy off road, great on fuel, enough power, easy to drive long distances and easy to park in town. What else can you ask for? My mechanic services the cop Pajeros and reckons they can't kill them.
AnswerID: 632756

Reply By: CSeaJay - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 20:08

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 20:08
The Pajero was actually one of those vehicles that opened up a lot of back country to a lot of people when you think back to when it was launched. Capable at a reasonable price.
Toyota saw this and the Prado was brought in as a direct competition to the Pajero, even with similarities in the name.
To this day it is a capable vehicle at a very reasonable price
Shame to see it go,
(No I do not have one, never had one, but realise it's place in the Aus lineup over the last couple of decades)
AnswerID: 632757

Reply By: Rod W6 - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 20:46

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 20:46
Looks like Mitsy owners will have to get an OKA.
AnswerID: 632758

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 23:31

Wednesday, Jul 29, 2020 at 23:31
Mitsi is closing down its operations in the UK, Europe and US. Word is they aren't going to sell any new models there. New models will be developed in cooperation with Nissan and Renault and sold in Asia, Africa, Australia/NZ and South America.

https://youtu.be/yzXNLMbO9tc
FollowupID: 909635

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Thursday, Jul 30, 2020 at 07:05

Thursday, Jul 30, 2020 at 07:05
Why would we want to go backwards Rod?
FollowupID: 909637

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Jul 30, 2020 at 08:46

Thursday, Jul 30, 2020 at 08:46
It was Class Leading at the time and remains up there with any of the current crop of possibilities.
AnswerID: 632760

Reply By: Hoyks - Thursday, Jul 30, 2020 at 19:37

Thursday, Jul 30, 2020 at 19:37
Was, Was class leading.
Now they are hard up for cash, so will be building the current models for longer and cutting back on R&D to pretty much re-badging Renalts and Nissans.
AnswerID: 632762

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Friday, Jul 31, 2020 at 00:21

Friday, Jul 31, 2020 at 00:21
Like the guy said, imagine the new Pajero replacement being a rebadged Pathfinder. Fair dinkum, the older Pathfinders were nice cars and capable, but the new ones are just uglier Klugers with no off road ability. The car makers are making everything softer, yet cars with off road credibility are attracting huge interest. Even a new Jimny has a year long waiting list.
FollowupID: 909640

Reply By: Gbc.. - Friday, Jul 31, 2020 at 12:05

Friday, Jul 31, 2020 at 12:05
I remember reading 3 or 4 years ago that Mitsubishi wanted to cease Pajero production, but due to the Australian market demand they would continue building them as long as they continued to sell here. I suppose the time has finally come.
AnswerID: 632771

Reply By: Bazooka - Friday, Jul 31, 2020 at 13:57

Friday, Jul 31, 2020 at 13:57
Unfortunate name. Test drove one when considering my replacement for the Jackaroo 3.5V6. Pretty decent but the front windscreen - wowie, like being in a shop window. Apply sunscreen before leaving home - well that was the impression compared to other vehicles. Excellent value new compared to many "similar" vehicles. Also drove the Everest (impressive but the adblue/cutout and a couple of minor off-road issues ruled it out) and the Prado diesel - great, but their dust and DPF issues are well known. On the basis of KISS, eventually decided to get a second hand Prado 4l petrol. Poor fuel consumption but superb motor and KDSS. Very happy although got a fright twice now going through one particular roundabout when the ABS on one or two wheels has activated momentarily.
AnswerID: 632775