Road Rage!

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 11:02
ThreadID: 140825 Views:8126 Replies:7 FollowUps:17
If you don't get shot or have a knife stuck in you, it might be your lucky day!

What goes with these idiots these days, Ive had a few dingles over the years ,some my fault some not which has ended up in heated discussion at times, but nothing like the carry on these days!

As my ol mate told me if the guy is a lot bigger than you just start feeling for your wallet, money can do a lot of talking...lol.

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 12:13

Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 12:13
A major problem isn't it? I reckon it's got something to do with the "Me Group of People" They used to call it the "Me Generation" but I think that it's broader than a particular generation or age group.

If you make a bit of a mistake, maybe indicate a bit late etc. then this type of person thinks it is an attack on them personally and feel the need to retaliate.
AnswerID: 634334

Reply By: Hoyks - Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 12:49

Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 12:49
Feeling your wallet?
Who carries cash these days?

Ice is also an issue, causing people to seriously over react to even the slightest thing.
AnswerID: 634335

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 17:46

Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 17:46
There are approximately 350,000 " ice" users in Australia but the Government say they don't have the resources to combat ice use and the dealers.

But $omehow they have the re$ource$ to deal with tho$e hardened criminal$ that accidently creep 5kph over a $peed limit that is $et 15kph too low for modern day vehicle$ and modern day road$ !

Happy and safe travels, hopefully without rage and a fine :)

Gazz

FollowupID: 911481

Follow Up By: Hoyks - Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 18:42

Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 18:42
They don't really try, they just buy more automated speeding tax collectors and park them on roads that have an increased incidence speeding along them, but not in places where excessive speed has actually caused accidents because people braking heavily after spotting the van might cause an accident.

If they were serious they would have more police on the roads and confiscate/crush cars of repeat offenders.

FollowupID: 911482

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, Dec 05, 2020 at 08:24

Saturday, Dec 05, 2020 at 08:24
Hi Gazz, I agree with your sentiments, however most of our “modern day roads” just aren’t as “modern day” as they could be. Think Autobahn. A lot of our newer roads need repairs within a very short space of time, like less than 1 year.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 911493

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER - Saturday, Dec 05, 2020 at 09:46

Saturday, Dec 05, 2020 at 09:46
Very true Macca, a road near me was potholed within 6 months, and thats the way the new system works. Upgrade costs are 1 bucket of cash, road maintenance another bucket. Tail wagging the dog.
FollowupID: 911494

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2020 at 10:21

Saturday, Dec 05, 2020 at 10:21
Dozer,

Look past the road surface. Those "buckets" are pretty small in Australia. We simply do not have the economy or volume of 'paying road users' in Australia as do Europeans with their Autobahns. Those freeways that we do have are built and maintained pretty good, all considered. On top of that, we bicker about government expenditure and the "use of our taxes" and require them to take the lowest tender on most things.

To be frank, I often feel gratitude for the constructed roads that we do have considering their remoteness, construction and maintenance when there is so little traffic using them.

And actually, I wouldn't wish to walk 10 metres "in your shoes" even on the best of roads. lol

FollowupID: 911495

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, Dec 05, 2020 at 17:15

Saturday, Dec 05, 2020 at 17:15
Allan, I understand where you are coming from particularly with regards to some of our remote highways, however, with the new freeways and tollways, there should be no excuse for shoddy workmanship. It all comes down to the foundation work that is supposed to be completed. Too many shortcuts, or inappropriate materials used.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 911506

Follow Up By: axle - Saturday, Dec 05, 2020 at 17:42

Saturday, Dec 05, 2020 at 17:42
Dead right Macca, also engineers on site that dont get it right with material selection and compaction.

Axle.
FollowupID: 911507

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2020 at 17:43

Saturday, Dec 05, 2020 at 17:43
Hi Macca,

The ones I travel on in SE Queensland seem OK to me.
Must be the maroon dye they add to the bitumen. lol

FollowupID: 911508

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Sunday, Dec 06, 2020 at 07:49

Sunday, Dec 06, 2020 at 07:49
You could be right there Allan. Also, S.E. QLD seems to have an affinity with concrete roads as well. More concrete roads in S.E. QLD than anywhere else in the country.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 911513

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Dec 06, 2020 at 08:31

Sunday, Dec 06, 2020 at 08:31
Yes Macca. They seem to use concrete where the soil is maybe a bit boggy.
Surprisingly, it is not as smooth as bitumen though. Bump, bump of joint lines.

FollowupID: 911514

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Sunday, Dec 06, 2020 at 08:58

Sunday, Dec 06, 2020 at 08:58
I've regularly driven most of the freeways and autobahn's in Europe and I reckon our main dual lane roads are comparable. It's a myth their roads are better in my opinion. The original Autobahn from Hamburg to Berlin was very ordinary.
FollowupID: 911515

Follow Up By: Member - Jim S1 - Sunday, Dec 06, 2020 at 09:25

Sunday, Dec 06, 2020 at 09:25
Hey Allan

I'm reliably told that if you are a politician in his/her limousine, chauffeur driven, then the concrete road is just fine.
And yes, plenty of dodgy soil between the Gold Coast and Brisbane. Not sure how well the roads were built because I think it was in the days of Russ Hinze !!!???

Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

FollowupID: 911518

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Sunday, Dec 06, 2020 at 16:54

Sunday, Dec 06, 2020 at 16:54
Hey Allan, just to clarify what you said about bump bump on joint lines on concrete roads. Concrete roads have a bump rate in there design of between 12 to 16 bumps per Klm. Joints today are designed so only one wheel hits the join at any one time. Not like the old concrete roads where the joint was straight 90% to the roadway. With independent suspension in today’s cars it won’t make your car feel like a yo yo. The bump rate is designed to keep you alert.
Andy

FollowupID: 911524

Reply By: The Explorer - Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 16:53

Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 16:53
Same 13 years ago by the looks :)

Road Rage 2007

AnswerID: 634336

Follow Up By: axle - Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 17:09

Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 17:09
At least the gun was left at home, back in those days Greg!!....:))))

FollowupID: 911480

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 18:20

Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 18:20
For some time now I have refrained from blowing the horn, flashing lights or making gestures at offending motorists. It so easily may be someone up to the eyeballs in drugs, who will climb out at the next set of traffic lights with a tyre lever in his (or even her) hand.

AnswerID: 634337

Follow Up By: Member - Jim S1 - Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 18:54

Thursday, Dec 03, 2020 at 18:54
Entirely agree Allan. It's just not worth the risk ....... there's too many of them.

Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

FollowupID: 911483

Reply By: Notso - Friday, Dec 04, 2020 at 10:16

Friday, Dec 04, 2020 at 10:16
I remember a few years back I was driving home from work after a night shift. I must have offended a young fella in some way and as I pulled into a servo on the way home for some fuel, this young fella pulled up beside me, started yelling and whacking the window.

Anyhow , I just opened the door and stepped out. You should have seen the look on his face when he saw the Police Rescue Squad emblems on my white overalls!

I just smiled at him and he slunk away!
AnswerID: 634338

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Dec 04, 2020 at 10:25

Friday, Dec 04, 2020 at 10:25
Notso,

Sounds a great idea. Are those overalls available on eBay?

FollowupID: 911485

Follow Up By: Notso - Friday, Dec 04, 2020 at 10:44

Friday, Dec 04, 2020 at 10:44
Hmm, should have hung onto a few sets Eh!
FollowupID: 911486

Reply By: Member - DOZER - Friday, Dec 04, 2020 at 22:28

Friday, Dec 04, 2020 at 22:28
I watched these 2 clowns, Brighton la-sands, 6 lanes of traffic, peak hour, 1 was running away, 1 was chasing, in and out of lanes, then it became cross the medium strip and head the other way....never seen anything like it since...scary.
AnswerID: 634349

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Monday, Jan 11, 2021 at 18:28

Monday, Jan 11, 2021 at 18:28
YouTube dashcam videos has turned into a hobby for me in the past couple of years or so, great entertainment . . . or from a different aspect an incredible scary look at what drivers in some countries are like !!
Yes, I have noticed Australian drivers are now starting to do more things that were more commonly seen in videos from Russia, Poland, and not quite as simply inept as the Chinese drivers, yeah, pretty bad behaviour.

This includes the road rage elements, along with aggressive driving, impatience, and downright stupidity.
Ice users are no doubt dangerous in the extreme, that drug affects users in ways much more than others.
Very aggressive, violent.

Hopefully you can all avoid these types of situations, but the way society is going it's probably just a matter of time, and good (or bad) luck, how often or whether you encounter them or not.
AnswerID: 634726