SD card found in Kakadu

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 15, 2021 at 14:57
ThreadID: 142178 Views:7465 Replies:9 FollowUps:26
64gb SD card found. Undamaged. Full of pics and drone video.
Identify it and make a $50 donation to the Royal Flying Doctor Service and I will post it to anywhere in Australia.
OKA196 motorhome
Back Expand Un-Read 13 Moderator

Reply By: dindy - Thursday, Jul 15, 2021 at 19:59

Thursday, Jul 15, 2021 at 19:59
Great that you found it and irrespective of your honorable intentions. Please be careful how you deal with this situation as the law frowns on demanding or seeking any sort of advantage, whatever it form it takes, to return property to its owner.
AnswerID: 637164

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Jul 15, 2021 at 21:06

Thursday, Jul 15, 2021 at 21:06
Oh FFS Peter is trying to do the right thing by everyone. And not even covering costs.

Good on him.
FollowupID: 915167

Follow Up By: RMD - Saturday, Jul 17, 2021 at 18:51

Saturday, Jul 17, 2021 at 18:51
Dindy
Those with knowledge of anything "out of the city" would normally want to reward the finder. Peter doesn't want a reward and will forego that reward but would like to see somone else receive a benefit, ie, rfds. Normal in the bush! Understand?
FollowupID: 915197

Reply By: Jackolux - Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 08:48

Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 08:48
I found a USB stick in WA a few years ago it had a lot of photos . I managed to track down the owner via Face Book and post it to her in Tumut NSW
AnswerID: 637166

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan2H - Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 12:33

Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 12:33
Did you demand a charitable donation prior to returning it?
FollowupID: 915173

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 13:03

Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 13:03
I found a wallet on a track in central Australia, posted it to the address on the drivers license in Melbourne
FollowupID: 915175

Follow Up By: Aussie1 - Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 13:16

Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 13:16
Hope Pete never finds a lost generator, would probably hold that for a huge ransom :)
FollowupID: 915177

Follow Up By: RMD - Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 19:05

Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 19:05
Aussie 1
Generators don't usually slip out of a pocket or camera slot as far as I know. Maybe with green illusion technology, maybe, nah.
FollowupID: 915183

Follow Up By: Aussie1 - Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 19:11

Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 19:11
Yah just never know mate. They are very "evil" things yah know :):) Just ask someone who knows :)
FollowupID: 915185

Reply By: Member - David M (SA) - Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 14:22

Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 14:22
And you thought it was such a good idea didn't you Peter. :)
Interesting to see how the names in likes /dislikes lined up.
Dave.
AnswerID: 637171

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 17:58

Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 17:58
I think it is a good idea and a very common request in the outback as a sign of appreciation for a good deed

There is no personal gain for Peter so don’t see what the problem is. I am sure that if the personal circumstances of the card owner were such that they were not in a position to make a donation he is not going to hold it ransom
FollowupID: 915181

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 14:33

Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 14:33
Wasn't a "demand". Simply an offer.
And that was a legal opinion.

AnswerID: 637172

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 20:06

Friday, Jul 16, 2021 at 20:06
Lucky Peter didn't accidentally write "OR I'll post it anywhere in Australia" then Allan?

Amazing how small changes in language can convey completely different meanings.
FollowupID: 915186

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Jul 17, 2021 at 08:11

Saturday, Jul 17, 2021 at 08:11
Well Baz, Peter is not noted for mistakes in his expressions so no worries, eh?

FollowupID: 915190

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, Jul 17, 2021 at 08:25

Saturday, Jul 17, 2021 at 08:25
So many cynical people.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 637182

Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 17, 2021 at 10:27

Saturday, Jul 17, 2021 at 10:27
If I lost data card (Mine uses XQD) I would gladly make a donation to RFDS & happily
buy the finder a beer.
AnswerID: 637184

Follow Up By: Aussie1 - Saturday, Jul 17, 2021 at 12:30

Saturday, Jul 17, 2021 at 12:30
So to make a donation to the RFDS, it would necessitate losing your data card. Come on, make a donation anyway, like many of us do.
FollowupID: 915191

Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 17, 2021 at 12:45

Saturday, Jul 17, 2021 at 12:45
Aussie 1, are You suggesting that I do not donate to the RFDS ?
FollowupID: 915192

Reply By: Member - DOZER - Saturday, Jul 17, 2021 at 19:32

Saturday, Jul 17, 2021 at 19:32
Peter, good on ya for taking the time to care and offer to return.
AnswerID: 637187

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Jul 18, 2021 at 16:34

Sunday, Jul 18, 2021 at 16:34
Now that a few of you are wound up, here is another RFDS donation story....... :)
Just one day before we found the SD card, we found a bloke named Kevin in a sticky situation in a remote corner of a tributary of the South Alligator River.
He made a mistake and found himself down to the floor pan with no exit option in sight and little likelihood of passing traffic.
After the Max Tracks, the shovel and the tyre pressure reductions combined had all failed, the OKA was manoeuvred into a spot with some difficulty and a winch extraction was effected.
Kevin was very grateful. He estimated it would have taken a week to extract himself.
He put $100 cash into our RFDS collection tin and made another donation of a similar amount on line later and sent us the receipt.
The RFDS thanks you Kevin.

OKA196 motorhome
AnswerID: 637196

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Jul 18, 2021 at 17:17

Sunday, Jul 18, 2021 at 17:17
Sounds to me like your running some sort of extortion racket Peter ;)
FollowupID: 915212

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 10:29

Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 10:29
Hey, Peter,

Every year after our AGM and national gathering, our Kimberley Karavan Owners Group donates at least $3000 to RFDS. Considering that we do that without anyone being stuck beforehand (well, none that they admit to!), would you be available from time to time to effect the occasional rescue should it become necessary?

:-)

FollowupID: 915216

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 10:58

Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 10:58
I just buys me a Cap. Bit costly but I looks very smart. ( Or so I'm told )
Dave.
FollowupID: 915217

Follow Up By: Steve in Kakadu - Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 12:30

Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 12:30
Gimbat crossing, lucky we didn't find him. It would have cost him a bit more than a $100.
FollowupID: 915218

Follow Up By: Aussie1 - Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 13:16

Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 13:16
I can see a good "trend" developing here. I will now ask all those I assist with power from my generator to make a donation to the RFDS. No need to thank me with a beer either :)
FollowupID: 915219

Follow Up By: Steve in Kakadu - Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 14:50

Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 14:50
Aussie1 this wouldn't have been for my services, I am a Ranger in that district and this fella is doing the wrong thing. He would be coping a fine for driving off track and around a closed gate.

FollowupID: 915220

Follow Up By: Genny - Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 15:13

Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 15:13
Steve .......... did Peter drive around that darn gate too? :)
FollowupID: 915221

Follow Up By: Aussie1 - Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 16:17

Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 16:17
Hi there Ranger Steve, and what the heck has that got to do with my comment? I will leave it to you to deal with those fella's and Pete if he breached the around the gate issue. Stay safe out there Cobber. :)
FollowupID: 915222

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 18:44

Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 18:44
So that's where that is? Thanks Steve.

We walked around the gate, & went up to Gimbat. An acquaintance worked there back in the pre National Park days, so it was on the bucket list. Doubt if I'll ever get there again.

FollowupID: 915223

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 22:14

Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 22:14
Extortion or extraction racket Alby?

Steve, you're jumping to conclusions. It's pretty obvious that fella was blown off course during a freak wind storm then got carried downstream by the proverbial 12 o'clock Sth Alligator wave.
FollowupID: 915224

Follow Up By: RMD - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2021 at 10:44

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2021 at 10:44
Aussie 1
The TREND which I can see, is you appear to be confusing the finding of an object and trying to return it compared to offering your generator to someone and expecting reward of action. A completely different set of circumstances.
FollowupID: 915227

Follow Up By: Aussie1 - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2021 at 12:10

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2021 at 12:10
RMD,

Not confused at all Cobber. Just thinking "outside the square", Purely in the interest of the RFDS. Just like our Cobber Pete.

Did you perhaps notice Pete's latest "adventure" helping to winch someone out of a situation. resulting in more income for the RFDS? And that did not involve "finding an object". But did appear to qualify.

All the same RMD, thank you for your input on this very important blog subject.
FollowupID: 915231

Follow Up By: RMD - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2021 at 19:04

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2021 at 19:04
Taint a Blog!
FollowupID: 915240

Follow Up By: Aussie1 - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2021 at 19:06

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2021 at 19:06
Maybe. But do you take my point :)
FollowupID: 915241

Reply By: Member - Jim S1 - Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 16:25

Monday, Jul 19, 2021 at 16:25
Strewth Peter you're in more strife than Flash Gordon ......... all because you wanted to help a couple of people.
Keep smiling !! :)

Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

AnswerID: 637211