Tyres for Triton 4x4

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 15:15
ThreadID: 40730 Views:3306 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
A friend has just landed a job which comes with a current model Mitsubishi Triton. He wants to put different tyres on it and I suggested BFG A/T (coz that's what I use). He said that he had been warned off them for the Triton.

Has anyone any experience with all terrain tyres for this model?

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 15:36

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 15:36
Dont see why there would be an issue, I also use the bfg a/t, I have done 40,000k on them no flats, no problems and I reckon Il get another 40 out of them although I dont have the weight of your cruiser, but the mitsi would probably be approx same weight as the hilux. A few years back they did have an issue with them as they decided to make them in one of the Asian countrys and they were crap and they are now made in the USA again and have no issuses. Just my opinion. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 212583

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 15:42

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 15:42
I agree completely, they would be a good choice. If you have had a good run from them then he would too. I am on my third set and have never had a puncture and only 1 sidewall stake in 8 years and 140000kms. Other brands may be good but I don't see them being better. Quality is never cheap.
FollowupID: 472848

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 15:44

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 15:44
I can't see what the issue would be Mike... I have an '03 triton and I'm staring down the barrel of getting 100,000km out of my BFG A/T's... The only real difference with the current model is the change to coil/struts from torsion bars, can't see this altering much in the way a tyre performs.
AnswerID: 212587

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Jan 01, 2007 at 07:04

Monday, Jan 01, 2007 at 07:04
Hey Blue

My Cooper ATR's have done 70,000 km and they are wearing brilliantly, may get that much again ,, been outback twice now,, and never had a puncture !
I rotate them every 5,000 myself,

But there is a turn off,,, they seem to be getting harder,, ride is " shyte " in my Navara twin cab ,, tyre pressure is down to 28 in the back ,, and 31 in the front

Do BFGs do this, or do they stay a good soft ride ( as I have heard they do )
Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 472904

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Jan 01, 2007 at 13:07

Monday, Jan 01, 2007 at 13:07
Hey Bucky...

mate they seem to be the same as always although I run much higher pressure due to uneven wear when I first got them. Tell tale feathering was evident after the first 5000km and I upped the pressure to 38-40, this stopped the feathering but made the ride a little harsher. I guess each tyre is different and the Bridgestones that came stock only had about 32 in them and looked round but also gave a harsh ride. The BFG's look half flat with anywhere below about 35 and feel a little squirmy at lower pressure too, high speed corners generate the feel of an imminent bump steer. With the higher pressure they have extremely good road manners just a little harsh.

One thing to note between our 2 utes is that yours is a "spring over axle" rear and mine is "spring under axle". the spring over is supposed to give a superior ride due to improved spring geometry.

And Bucky, "What are the poor people doing?" Mate they're running around in dual cab utes with soft floor campers just like you and me...LOL

Have a good day.
FollowupID: 472932

Reply By: Eric Experience. - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 22:43

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 22:43
Penguin.
I run firehawk? on my triton, they are made in NZ and are cheaper and tougher than the BFG, The kiwi's can use a little help. The yanks don't need the money. Eric
AnswerID: 212636

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 16:58

Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 16:58
We run the previos model tritons at work. you will find it hard to get decetn AT tyres that fit perfectly as the 265x75s AT tyres scrape a touch at low speed turning but it hasnt been a problem. The standard 26x70 are not widely available in AT
AnswerID: 212873