2 person kayaks

Submitted: Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 09:21
ThreadID: 75080 Views:7821 Replies:11 FollowUps:8
I am sitting in our van in southwest rocks and yes the big trip has begun,Iwill be heading back through SYD to drop off the roof top tinnie and we are heading south,we are not really happy about not taking the tinnie around the block with us but have decided that its for the best ,yet Im seeing everyone with these plastic kayaks and am thinking of taking one around with us,the 2 boys aged 7 and 11 really want one as well as the big child ME! I have no idea about what to look for and as soon as I post this Im walking up a few sites to have a chat with a fellow that owns one but if any of you guys have any advice or want to sell one yell out LOL!

take care all and cheers for now ,John.

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 09:55

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 09:55
Hi John,
Check these guys out, Maclean Outdorrs

I've known Doug & Sandra for many years. Give them a call.

AnswerID: 398779

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 10:19

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 10:19
We've had an RTM Ocean Duo sit on top kayak for a while now and it suits our needs fairly well. Weighs 29kg, which is fairly heavy for a single person to handle, so I made up a set of wheels, and its pretty robust - good in the surf as well as rivers etc. It has 3 seat positions, so you can use it as a single or double.
AnswerID: 398784

Follow Up By: jeep cherokee - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 10:30

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 10:30
Hi Phil,what sort of dollars are you talking for an outfit like this.And where in Adelaide is the best place to look for one.
Regards John
FollowupID: 667767

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 11:35

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 11:35
Gday John,
Adelaide Canoe Works on Daws Rd was where we got it. They had a very good range of better quality kayaks, good advice and most people I know have bought kayaks from them. Cost us about $1400 from memory and included paddles and removable seats. The seats are essential - supports your back and they have good storage pockets in the back of them. The life jackets (about $110 each) and a storage drum were extra.
FollowupID: 667774

Follow Up By: jeep cherokee - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 13:37

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 13:37
Appreciate the reply Phil,and will look into it.Cheers.
FollowupID: 667793

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 10:30

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 10:30
Johnny boy,
BCF at Hastings river drv Port Macquarie have all different styles to choose from. Which van park are you in at the Rocks.
Cheers Dave..
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 398786

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 09:03

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 09:03
Hi Dave,
If it rains I will go for a drive and have a look ,thanks for the heads up and we are staying at SWR Tourest park why do you ask are you up here as well ??

Cheers John.
FollowupID: 667918

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 13:02

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 13:02
Hi John,
Yeah I live here.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 667947

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Wednesday, Jan 13, 2010 at 08:54

Wednesday, Jan 13, 2010 at 08:54
You lucky bugger,so can you turn the fishing back on as we have had no luck at all this year inside and outsideLOL!,hey did you see the 5.8 Quinnie out on its lid? it washed up onshore after attempting the bar yesterday lucky the bloke and his family was not hurt ,they draged the boat up the creek to the ramp near me and it was a little worst for wear but as I said no one hurt .

Cheers John.
FollowupID: 668118

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 13, 2010 at 09:35

Wednesday, Jan 13, 2010 at 09:35
yeah the bar gets a few every year, If the currant picks up a bit the fishing might improve, there's a big comp on this weekend run by the Sea Breeze Pub. I might come for a run down near you this arvo.
Cheers Dave..
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 668123

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 10:30

Thursday, Jan 14, 2010 at 10:30
Yeah,true I do remember one going last year as well and as for the current ,I droped a good lizzard opp the big boat ramp yesterday arvo (SPEWING)
Mate just look for the Green cruiser with a windsor rapid beside it and I should be there :)

Cheers John.
FollowupID: 668301

Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 11:43

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 11:43
We have a Hobie Outfitter which is a peddle-powered tandem. Fantastic! The whole family has converted from a 5m runabout & 3.3m inflatable to the kayak without a problem.

As an example of the convenience, I loaded the Pajero up by myself in about 20 minutes on Saturday morning (the yak is 32kg but I made an extension bar for the roofrack that makes it easy to handle alone), another 15 minutes to set up to go fishing on Port Philip Bay with a couple of others from the Australian Kayak Fishing Forum (www.akff.net). A couple of flatties and pinkies and a great morning. No fuel, rego, insurance, servicing etc - just a bit of excercise! The kids are 13, 9.5 and 3. Can take the two youngest and an adult or works well alone.

Not cheap ($3,150 new) but hold their value well if you need to sell and are very well designed & made.

Adrian
AnswerID: 398798

Reply By: sweetwill - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 11:45

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 11:45
hi there Johnny boy.
we own kayaks made by Astralis they are single person but they have the full range two person,three person ect ect. our ones are called the bass kayak and are fitted with rod holders, we can fit enough gear in them front and back for a two week trip on the river, also they are a closed in kayak so no sunburn they are at Bellambi, south coast nsw hope this helps bill.
AnswerID: 398799

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 11:58

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 11:58
Adelaide Canoe Works is the place to start in Adelaide.

Also check this sitehttp://www.australiscanoes.com.au/
If we ever buy a canoe it will be this onehttp://www.australiscanoes.com.au/australis-plastic-sea-kayak-komodo.php
Bolts together. Can be a single seater or 2 seater. Comes apart for transport.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 398800

Reply By: Shaker - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 12:14

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 12:14
Try BCF, I bought a Manta Dragonfly Angler, 2 person with 3 rod holders etc. just prior to Xmas for $599.00. Unbelievable value compared to everywhere else that we looked.
AnswerID: 398802

Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 12:46

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 12:46
Consider also inflateables. I've got Sevylors. Made from the same material as Zodiacs.
AnswerID: 398808

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 14:25

Monday, Jan 11, 2010 at 14:25
Hi John
There gave been some good replies above. As I am from SA, I to purchased our kayaks through Adelaide Canoe Works. We have the Dagger brand sit in type kayaks. For the double, we have the Drifter 2, which is a very stable kayak with lots of room. When paddling solo I have a Dagger Discovery 15. We have used ours in many places, from the Coorong to the upper reaches of the Murray.

One very important upgrade that I would suggest is to go for good quality, light weight paddles. You might not think so at the time but they will make the biggest difference when out on the water. Just like when driving, I have my GPS mounted on the front of both kayaks and record my paddles to download on OziExplorer.

You are back to nature with kayaks, as you glide silently through the water, where to get to see, smell and hear nature at its best.

Below are a few pictures of the Drifter 2

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

AnswerID: 398818

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 00:54

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 00:54
Hi Johnny Boy,

I have to "sit on" Kayaks that must be one of the best value things I have for camping. They are nothing fancy but are great fun. My kids love using them and we aim to go to places where they can be used.

The red Finn kayak in the picture is the Widget (smaller version of the Gizmo) and is perfect for young kids while still fitting an adult (the Gizmo feet supports are too far for youngsters). The green Kayak is a Viking Pacer and I can easily have a kid sit between my legs and still paddle. I paid around $400 each for these a few years ago, waited till they had the specials at Ranger Camping (I think).

You can just make out in this last pic me paddling with one of my kids sitting between my legs. You can see how low its sitting in the water compared to when just one of the kids is using it.

AnswerID: 398928

Reply By: donk - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 03:05

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2010 at 03:05
We have a Hobie Kona http://www.hobiecat.com.au/kayaking/kona.html#
Love it

Regards Don
AnswerID: 398931