What do you guys think of THIS

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 12:43

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 12:43
It will only be for new vehicles if it ever happens!! Michael

AnswerID: 442682

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 12:44

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 12:44
Please fill out the survey.

The Federal Government is presently considering

5 minutes out of your day.
For every completed survey, the 4WD Industry will be donating $1 to the Royal Flying Doctor Service, to a maximum total of $20,000.

AnswerID: 442684

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 14:50

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 14:50
Onya Hairs....done.

FollowupID: 714702

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 15:01

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 15:01
Onya Hairs....done.

FollowupID: 714705

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 16:01

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 16:01
Hi Jon.
Thanks for the info.
Survry completed.
Vince
FollowupID: 714714

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 17:13

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 17:13
I've tryed three times and it wont recognise my Email address.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 714728

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 17:15

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 17:15

FollowupID: 714729

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 17:23

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 17:23
You you like one of my spare ones Dave ;)

FollowupID: 714732

Follow Up By: Member - colin J (VIC) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 17:32

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 17:32
Survey completed.
FollowupID: 714734

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:09

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:09
Jon, tried the two I've got and it doesn't want to know, Maybe I don't exist lol
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 714737

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:27

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:27
Got no Idea why it wont mate. :(
I just use another address, same name, post code and it accepted it.
Don't know.
Hmmm
FollowupID: 714739

Follow Up By: Member - Tanka (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:35

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:35
Survey complete.
FollowupID: 714744

Follow Up By: Member - Tezza Qld - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:56

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:56
Another one complete

FollowupID: 714747

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 19:35

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 19:35
Yaah Hooo, success at last.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 714752

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 19:39

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 19:39
That's good Dave, Ya got a win.
FollowupID: 714753

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 20:00

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 20:00
Done

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 714758

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 21:43

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 21:43
Done it to thanks Jon
FollowupID: 714770

Follow Up By: Member - Ian F (WA) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 22:55

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 22:55
Thanks Jon,
All done
FollowupID: 714778

Follow Up By: Member - John D, Wandong (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 09:44

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 09:44
Thanks Jon,
Survey completed

John D
FollowupID: 714803

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 10:56

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 10:56
Just completed survey

Ray
FollowupID: 714811

Follow Up By: Scott C (Coolum - QLD) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 13:51

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 13:51
Another survey completed.
FollowupID: 714822

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 06:58

Friday, Feb 11, 2011 at 06:58
An update Guys,

"the Minister has already released a statement acknowledging the safety aspects of bullbars and that they’re not planning on banning them."
20,000 plus people whove fired off emails letting the government know what we think of their ridiculous R.I.S. draft proposing a ban on bull bars.

FollowupID: 717212

Reply By: Member - Terry (SA) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 15:17

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 15:17
Just completed the survey, stating the reasons for a Bull Bar on my vehicle. I urge all members to fill out the survey.

Terry
AnswerID: 442703

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 17:32

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 17:32
DITTO!
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 714733

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 15:18

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 15:18
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Post Removed by Request Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 442705

Reply By: mike39 - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 15:47

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 15:47
I filled in the survey just so that another $ goes to the RFDS.
As for the whole proposal just another load of bureaucratic nonesense. (or is it Scruby, the one man pedestrian band?)
I do see the point of banning those protruding tubular fishing rod holders though, I certainly would not like 2 or 3 washers cut out of me from too close an encounter.
Yes, I do have a bullbar, winch, spotties and antenna provision, but they are all behind the main structure. And it will be staying on the truck.
It simply wont happen as they see it.
mike
AnswerID: 442713

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 16:02

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 16:02
Survey done.

Having lived through several animal strikes I would not be without one.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 442715

Follow Up By: miandering fiander - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 16:39

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 16:39
Onya Dodg, My Survey done,
Where do they propose we mount winches, driving lights, sand flags, aerials and high lift jack points etc.???
What do they propose for protection of animal strikes in rural and remote areas???
FollowupID: 714839

Reply By: SDG - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 16:31

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 16:31
I can understand a ban on bullbars IF your vehicle has never left the city. Never been on the open road or bush. A lot of those people consider it a status symbol. In fact if your vehicle has never seen dirt why even have a 4wd. There are a lot of easier vehicles to drive with in the city.
As for protuding objects like fishing rod holders, they are already illegal in NSW.
AnswerID: 442720

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 16:51

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 16:51
"As for protuding objects like fishing rod holders, they are already illegal in NSW"
I pointed this out to a H/way copper one day when he had pulling me over for my High Lift jack mounted on the top of my bull bar, but it is behind it. Several utes went past with fishing holders on their bullbars, He choose to ignore them. He was more interested in my high lift jack.
I produce for him,

And this,

Which he seemed puzzled about, another ute with rod holders drove past, which I pointed out again, He gave me back my license and drove off in the opposite direction to them.
My jack on the bar complies with RTA regs.

FollowupID: 714722

Follow Up By: SDG - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 17:41

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 17:41
Looking at the field of vision diagrams, I wonder how many people have got their GPS positioned that would affect this? If small things that hang off your mirror affect vision, what about a dirty big rectangle thing stuck on the window?
FollowupID: 714736

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:17

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:17
Hmm, True SDG.
I've often wondered about Air fresheners and the fluffy dices hanging from the rear view mirror being a problem.
Not that long ago, I heard a weird ting tangle sound as a woman reverse in next me and she had a set of wind chimes hanging from her mirror.

FollowupID: 714738

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 00:10

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 00:10
Re the GPS.... I got told to remove mine in WA, even though I showed the policeman that it didn't in any way affect my fideld of vision. Apparently they are big on this over there..... ridiculous!

FollowupID: 714788

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 06:31

Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 06:31
Hairs

Ever tried to reason with the "Jacks", when they have gone out of their way to pull you over..

You will have to let me in on your secret !

Buicky
FollowupID: 714903

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 10:12

Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 10:12
Hi mark,
It's frustrating when one copper interrupts the regulations differently to another.

Hi Bucky,
It passes rego each year sitting up there proud as.
The mechanic that writes my papers out each year for the past 5 years has measured my field of vision and all the other relevant details with the ADR and the RTA's regulations and it complies.
The Young Copper that pulled me up the first has a reputation for being a bit gun ho, and when I was confronted by him, 1) I held my ground, 2) I questioned his knowledge of the ADR & RTA reg's, 3) pointed out examples of what was illegal, 4) I questions his method for pulling me over about it.
He was previously parked opposite our school(100 meters with my vehicle in full view for 30 odd minutes) hoping to catch speeding parents dropping of kids at our local primary school. He had plenty of time to approach me and ask about it, instead I get the Lights and siren blaring and pulled up in the main drag through town. To which he had no answer.
I also questioned why he wasn't wearing his High Visibility Safety vest.

No secret mate, just knew I was right and I backed it up with fact.
Now, I'm not having a crack at coppers here, there is a hell of a lot that they need to know about all manner of stuff from family law to motor regulations, but a little common courtesy does go along way.

FollowupID: 714922

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 17:02

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 17:02
done as well

lots of near misses in cars not equiped with bullbars.

id rather play russian roulette, at least there is one winner. if a roo goes thru your windscreen you are dead.
AnswerID: 442728

Follow Up By: Ray - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 10:12

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 10:12
Same thing applies to a pedestrian.
FollowupID: 714807

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:27

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:27
In a metropolitan situation is a bullbar on a 4x4 any more dangerous than the front of a bus or truck?

Should we ban buses and trucks from city traffic as they a less able to stop in an emergency?

AnswerID: 442737

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:30

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:30
Oh yeah

I did the survey - hope it helps.

FollowupID: 714742

Follow Up By: SDG - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:49

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:49
Apparenty as far as pedestrians are concened they are. Somthing about the body not being able to get thrown over or under vehicle, thus creating more damage, compared to a non bullbar vehicle.
As for buses and trucks, while people want mass transport, and food delivered to shops, they will always outweigh the needs of 4wdrivers.

In the event of an accident with another vehicle, most of the older 4wd's have a stong enough standard front bar that will wreck a sedan if the 4wd tbones it. A head on colliso will probably result in both vehicles being wrecked, regardless of who has a bullbar or not, and if someone tbones into a 4wd, does not matter about bullbar.

Personally i'm not getting rid of mine, not that I believe this is going to happen. This arguement comes up in government almost every year for the last decade or so.
FollowupID: 714745

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 19:42

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 19:42
SDG,
It'll come up more often now that the Greens are practically running the country.
Cheers Dave.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 714754

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 19:43

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 19:43
"this argument comes up in government almost every year for the last decade or so."
True,
But the moment we as a group do nothing it will pass through legislation.
FollowupID: 714755

Reply By: mullyman - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:59

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 18:59
They are ROO BARS not BULL BARS. Like 4WDs aren't trucks.
AnswerID: 442739

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 19:29

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 19:29
You'd have an argument on ya hands if you were talking to my 8 yr old son LOL
FollowupID: 714751

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 19:50

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 19:50
I have hit more cattle than roo's so it is a BULL BAR ;)

FollowupID: 714756

Follow Up By: Ianw - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 20:53

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 20:53
Was always a ROO BAR where I came from. Now I work on a large cattle farm with a couple of hundred bulls. They are BULL Bars here !!! With a 2 tonne bull facing up to a Zuki, the bigger the bar the better !!

FollowupID: 714762

Follow Up By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 22:15

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 22:15
Ianw
Ian if you were from Eyre Peninsular, if so good day. If not my apologies and good day anyway.
Charlie

sorry for thread hijack
FollowupID: 714773

Follow Up By: Ianw - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 22:40

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 22:40
Yep, gidday Charlie, hows things in Kimba? Many roos about? (just to keep it on topic)
FollowupID: 714775

Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 23:16

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 23:16
Damn I have hit more Wombats than Roos! no bulls, a few sheep, but I did hit a wild Turkey once. Oh and heaps of malley trees.

FollowupID: 714782

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 10:37

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 10:37
I've never hit a roo or a bull, but I hit a crow once so does that make it a crowbar. lol
Cheers Ray
FollowupID: 714810

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 11:18

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 11:18
Morning Ray,
Only if you hit a Crow.
;)
FollowupID: 714813

Follow Up By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 16:42

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 16:42
Hi Ian
Yes more roos, emus and sheep than bulls
Have a good one
Charlie
FollowupID: 714841

Reply By: Member - baffle (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 22:00

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 22:00
Survey completed. Hope those who are to make decisions on this have at least lived in the bush.
AnswerID: 442752

Reply By: Dust-Devil - Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 23:41

Saturday, Jan 22, 2011 at 23:41
You ask what do I think of THIS;

Well I think all contributors to this thread should visit EX-OZ member Robin Miller's posts as to how he has dealt with this perceived problem on his brand new Patrol.

In my view he is a revolutionary, innovative and forward thinking dude who has neatly sidestepped any Roo/Bull Bar issues re any proposed legislation which seems to have peoples 'jocks in a twist'.

How the 'Jurassic Park' people deal with the anticipated safety legislation is anybody's guess, though I bet that Mr Miller has this well under control with speed management, evasive driving tactics and his excellent 4WD skills.

I also have no doubt that in the event of vehicle - animal/inanimate object contact, Mr Miller would rely on adequate insurance and tow truck to see the situation corrected as any 2WD person would do.

Don't see any problems with this issue as my Two (2) 2WD's do not have Bull/Roo bars and never will.

DD

AnswerID: 442755

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 19:34

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 19:34
You are certainly entitled to your opinion but you obviously haven't been in a situation where you have needed a bull bar. Maybe also you havent planned a trip for 12 months, taken a large part of your well earned holiday and Long service leave and spent considerable thousands on getting your vehicle and gear in order, only to have your vehicle demolished by an animal strike a few days into your well earned holiday!! Luckily you stick to the suburbs and dont have that problem. Maybe you are on the wrong forum..... Michael

FollowupID: 714858

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:32

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:32
But your third one does have I believe!

FollowupID: 714882

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:36

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 21:36
Michael you couldn't be any wronger mate. DD does extensive outback travel as well and caravanning and lots of travel. He has rebuilt the front end of one of his vehicles more times than Toyota, not from Roo strikes but from washouts. He is most certainly on the right forum, with a differing opinion, that's all he's guilty of mate.

FollowupID: 714883

Reply By: Roughasguts - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 00:36

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 00:36
Wonder if we are going to adopt the higher speed limit ! and the generally 20 % cheaper than petrol price for Diesel.
You can probably drive more intoxicated over there as well.

It's just some copy cat here trying to justify there job as usual.

AnswerID: 442762

Reply By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 09:21

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 09:21
Another dollar for RFDS.
Rob M

AnswerID: 442773

Reply By: Member - ken b (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 13:06

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 13:06
hi all well i just put in my two bobs worth, the very vocal greenies in the country make me weep. its just common sense that the roads in oz,and wildlife,are nothing like western europe. happy travels from the brown family
AnswerID: 442798

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 17:07

Sunday, Jan 23, 2011 at 17:07
hi all
yes i did my survey yesterday
this is just another go at the 4x4 owners
the media will be back onto it this week koshie and co he rides a moped or something and hates roo/bullbars
today tonight// aca
this topic is more consistant and so repetative its like balli belly
and has the same effect
i'm not taking my bar off either
over the years i have hit
roos
emus
turkeys
pigeons
ducks
cattle
crows
eagles
but hitting the bar for a beer used to be a favorite until health reasons put a bar on that
totally barred
FollowupID: 714843

Reply By: Member - MYPRADO - Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 02:07

Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 02:07
Put my survey in.
AnswerID: 442863

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 06:27

Monday, Jan 24, 2011 at 06:27
Remove the Bull bars..??
Obviously the person thinking up the legislation has a vested interest in Panel Beating Shops.
With no bullbar the 4b would be off the road, getting fixed, all the time because some doo-gooder says we do not need them.

There are still a few people I would love to get !
( the notches are already there )

Animal strikes, wow heaps of them.

There will be an outcry

AnswerID: 442866

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Jan 29, 2011 at 22:39

Saturday, Jan 29, 2011 at 22:39
Voice your protest to the Minister for Infrastructure and Transport, MP Anthony Albanese.
We NEED your response and we need you to take action..
Simply fill out your details in the email to the Minister to voice your disapproval. By clicking the submit button you will be sending the letter below to A.Albanese.MP@aph.gov.au

AnswerID: 443486