Scam or not? What do you think?

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 10:43
ThreadID: 101119 Views:4166 Replies:26 FollowUps:16
I recently put an add for my off road campertrailer in the for sale section of this site and also on Gumtree. I got a text this morning seemingly from an Australian mobile as it has the +61 in front of the number. The text reads: "Sent from: Luccy. What's the present condition and final price of you trailer. Best way to contact me is via my email Luccysammy@outlook.com."

I sent an email to that address and got the following response: "Thank you for the mail,i am okay with the condition Likewise your asking price is quite reasonable and affordable considering others I've seen lately,Am buying it for my SON who has just graduated from Charles Darwin University NT. I'll have it for the listed price,please kindly send me your BANK details or pay pal payment email to set up purchase,as i don't have access to my bank account online as am not with my credit card details here on our mine site but i have my ANZ bank account linked up with my PayPal account so I will be paying you through PayPal to your nominated bank account.i would have love to call in person but we have strict no phone policy due to bad weather condition and i won't be able to come for the inspection due to the nature of my work 4weeks on 1week off,i will arrange for pick up and delivery by my pickup agent after the cleared payment to your account."

Now I'm thinking this is more than a bit shady and wondering if your guys are of the same opinion. Or....do you think I'm being a bit over cautious. Just seems a bit too good to be true to me.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 10:55

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 10:55
100%. Scam
AnswerID: 506879

Reply By: Kris and Kev - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 10:55

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 10:55
That email comes up a lot from people warning it is a scam. They are just grubs, lowlife etc... Kevin
BEWARE OF A SCAMMER CALLING HIMSELF "LUCCY " WITH AN EMAIL ADDRESS "LUCCYSAMMY@OUTLOOK.COM" AND PHONE NO; '0428465117" IT IS A SCAMMER TRYING TO RIP PEOPLE OFF
AnswerID: 506880

Reply By: get outmore - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 10:58

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 10:58
Definitly shady but not the normal scam ive heard of.
Most are generic ones but that one has specific elements of australian content . No wonder your unsure.
Cant really help. But your right to show caution.
AnswerID: 506881

Follow Up By: Member - Hunter Gatherer - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 11:20

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 11:20
No doubt in the world it is a SCAM have see others that are similar saying that he is on a drilling rig etc, as for the reason you or he can't contact each other verbally, please don't be sucked in.
FollowupID: 784010

Follow Up By: Member - Hunter Gatherer - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 12:54

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 12:54
There is a web site called "scam watch" you can check out the various scams that are around and subscribe to be alerted for new ones.
FollowupID: 784016

Reply By: Member - kym111 - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 11:03

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 11:03
Hi Patrol 22
I would be wary at this stage... Do you have a PayPal account? The fact that they're sending you money, and hoping you provide the goods goes in your favour, as opposed to the other way around.

I do know of some WA mine sites with 4/1 rosters, and no phone or internet service or access either at all or until after shift, so that could be legit. And some people have terrible grammar skills! Seems a bit strange, though, if he doesn't have phone or internet access for online transfer, but can pay by Pal Pal?

At the end of the day, go with your gut feeling. If you're not happy about it, don't go with it. If you do proceed, make sure you get the funds before releasing the trailer. Perhaps you could offer to hold the trailer until he can come in person (or an agent) with the cash...

Good luck!
Kym111
AnswerID: 506882

Reply By: Member - Russler - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 11:07

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 11:07
I call scam, and I wouldn't respond.

AnswerID: 506883

Reply By: D-Jack - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 12:12

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 12:12
If the money ends up in your bank account and is confirmed as cleared by your bank then where can the harm be??? If he wants money first to release funds or something then get him to deposit a small amount of money in your account first as sureity and keep it!
AnswerID: 506888

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 14:28

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 14:28
Sold my Defender to a bloke in Darwin who sent a mate round to look at it. (Newcastle) Paid the asking price $10,000 deposit one day and another $10,000 the next. like you say "what harm as long as he pays his money and it is cleared"? He doesn't get the car until it is so where's the prob? There was some genuine urgency about it though as I told him that somebody was coming up from Vic (true) to look at it the next day so he'd have to be quick.

Still a good idea, as suggested below for some info as security and check validity.
FollowupID: 784024

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:01

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:01
D Jack - spot on.
There is a lot of paranoia about selling on the internet.
You don't need to to do security checks - it doesn't matter if its a scam.
Don’t use a 3rd party like Paypal – keep control and deal direct
There isn’t a problem if you don’t part with vehicle till you have the money in your hot little hand.
Either cash, a cheque that has been cleared into your bank account or a direct deposit into your bank account – businesses do it every day of the week.
FollowupID: 784057

Reply By: Member - DavidC19 - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 12:14

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 12:14
Thanks for the warning, Patrol22. I've only just advertised a camper on Gumtree and was aware that not everyone who might reply will be a serious buyer. What other scams are being perpetrated on the unwary? I'd be interested to hear from anyone who has a story to tell.
AnswerID: 506889

Reply By: Gnomey - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 12:40

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 12:40
G'day Patrol22

Even without the post from Kris and Kev I'd be very wary. Why?

Can access PayPal but not his bank online... huh?
Can text but can't make/take calls on his mobile....huh?
He can't give you credit card details because he doesn't have them with him... huh?
His "pick up agent", no name, rather than I'll get Harry to pick it up

It's all carefully and plausibly constructed so that you can only get paid by PayPal and only contact him via email. Reversible payments.

AnswerID: 506891

Reply By: gordon_adel - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 12:53

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 12:53
Definitely a scam and well known one too. I wouldn't even exercise my thumb responding back with a txt.
AnswerID: 506892

Reply By: Notsoperfick - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 13:32

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 13:32
Hi Patrol 22
I had the same text for my 22ft Hallmark caravan.We sent a text back telling him to contact us through gumtree or by phone which can be traced.Obviously no reply.
Reckon its a scam ok/
Missis mi mad dog n me

AnswerID: 506894

Reply By: Dust-Devil - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 13:39

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 13:39
Ask this scammer for his/her PAYPAL account details so that you can check the integrity of his account and PAYPAL history.

Bet you don't get a reply.

DD
AnswerID: 506898

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 14:50

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 14:50
These scams all have the same core element - that of a rambling diatribe about ''communication, banking and location difficulties'' - largely difficulties that neither you nor anybody else has when buying goods - as mentioned above, his* rationale is riddled with holes like a swiss cheese.....he* doesn't want any money from you now, but I'm sure that will change if the discussion progresses.....
* he, she, it (computer program ? :-o)
AnswerID: 506903

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 15:24

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 15:24
total scam...

usually around some advanced deposit for transport fees involving a dodgy receipt or screen for your paypal account, then they pull out and ask for refund etc. etc. - not big, but you can lose a couple of grand if you get sucked in.....
FollowupID: 784026

Reply By: get outmore - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 15:38

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 15:38
Google is your freind
GOOGLING the email addy shows this is an Australian spin on an old scam
AnswerID: 506908

Reply By: jamie hank h - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 17:46

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 17:46
SCAM bud. I had the excact txt msg this morning regarding my camper trailer on gumtree. i sent a email back and the response was word for word as yours. i googled the email address and found heaps of simular responses. some have reported it to the federal police. not sure how far they will go with it. makes it hard to trust genuine enquirers.
AnswerID: 506913

Reply By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 17:47

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 17:47
Thanks everyone ...you have confirmed what my gut was telling me. Thanks again.
AnswerID: 506914

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:03

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:03
There is a lot of paranoia about selling on the internet.
Don’t use a 3rd party like Paypal – keep control and deal direct
There isn’t a problem if you don’t part with vehicle till you have the money in your hot little hand.
Either cash, a cheque that has been cleared into your bank account or a direct deposit into your bank account – businesses do it every day of the week.
FollowupID: 784058

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:46

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:46
Thanks Dennis. I too do business on the internet daily but there was just something about this particular transaction that didn't ring true. A google of the email address soon showed some anomalies that also led me to conclude that I just don't communicate further with this guy.
FollowupID: 784062

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:53

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:53
nothing wrong with paypal - same principle applies. You don't hand over the goods until the dosh hits your account.
FollowupID: 784086

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:02

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:02
Different principle
Purchasers are safe but sellers have a risk with Paypal.
I have seen cases where there has been a dispute over quality and Paypal has taken the buyer’s side and refunded money, deducting it from the sellers account.
In my latest dealings with Paypal they have changed the method of paying the the seller.
Now they debit my account, after the goods have arrived in good condition. This has added an additional risk to sellers. In a scam I could collect the goods, tell Paypal they never arrived or were faulty and then close the account before the dispute was finalised.
FollowupID: 784094

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:13

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:13
“close the account” should read “close the Bank Account” Paypal is not going to let you close their account and the links to your credit card and bank accounts while there is a dispute going on.
FollowupID: 784095

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:15

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:15
Fair enough Den. Thought it worked the same as Visa, when, as a seller the dosh was in your account the next day.

You mean credit your account?

I've recently been done on some tyre deflators on ebay. They looked exactly the same as the well known branded ones and almost too good to be true at $12. it was. I took it up with paypal/ebay and it was so long-winded to sort it out I let it go for what it was worth but disappointing nonethe less. Although, to their credit, I retrieved $400+ of my son's for an iphone rip off.
FollowupID: 784096

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:29

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:29
Sorry for the confusion – I meant when I am the buyer, they debit my account after I recieved the goods.
I don’t sell through Paypal - but I buy through Paypal where ever I can - they do offer some level of protection.
FollowupID: 784100

Reply By: aboutfivebucks (Pilbara) - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:03

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:03
Well, I'm still confused.
I applaud raising issues in these types of forums if you "smell a rat" But where is the actual scam?

As D-Jack mentions above. If you receive the money for the CT, then hand it over, where is the scam.

If you hand over the CT before funds have cleared - then I would say you have the sequence wrong.

Does anyone know how the scammer actually gains in these events?

Just for the record, I work on remote sites, I can't always inspect items before I buy them,for classified items I would usually pay first then have someone collect it for me and my preference to buy goods is through PayPal as it is easy (its also connected to my credit card - not that that needs mentioning. Failing that - direct deposit into the sellers bank account. Saying that i would definitely send someone around to inspect any item over $10k before handing the cash over.
AnswerID: 506938

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 00:05

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 00:05
Very commpn afb,

http://www.scamwatch.gov.au/content/index.phtml/itemId/829446

"For sellers:
Scammers posing as genuine buyers also target consumers who sell goods through print and online classifieds websites. The approaches used by scammers vary, but often they will contact you wanting to buy your goods, but will make up stories such as needing your help to pay an agent or third party for upfront costs like transportation or insurance. The scammer will promise you reimbursement for these costs, however once you have paid, there is no reimbursement and it is often too late to recover the money and/or contact the ‘buyer’.

Another variation is when the scammer poses as a buyer and makes you a generous offer for the item you are selling. If you accept the offer, the scammer then sends you a cheque, but the cheque is for more money than the agreed sale price. The scammer will invent an excuse for the overpayment, for example to cover the fees of an agent or extra shipping costs. The scammer might just say that it was a mistake.

The scammer will then ask you to refund the excess amount—usually through an online banking transfer or a wire transfer. The scammer is hoping that you will do this before you discover that their cheque has bounced. You will have lost the money you gave the scammer, and if you have already sent the item you were selling, you will lose it as well."
FollowupID: 784063

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 00:07

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 00:07
Sound familiar?

http://www.scamwatch.gov.au/content/index.phtml/itemId/777292
FollowupID: 784065

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:11

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 23:11
100% scam

Within 30 mins of me placing an add on gumtree for our camper trailer (bout 2 weeks ago) I received the same sms as you...identical.........what is it with these idiots getting their rocks off?

I figured that if it was serious all the clown had to do was to call me rather than txt so I ignored it and silence ever since.

In the last week I have had two emails from someone but they havent even bothered to sign off with any name....I have replied just in case they are genuine but I am a little sceptical or just maybe they might be ignorant sods who don't know how to communicate in a half decent manner.........the jury is out on that contact at the moment......supposdly going to make contact next weekend

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 506941

Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 00:01

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 00:01
Don't go any further its a 100% SCAM
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 506946

Reply By: jacent - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 03:04

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 03:04
Do not go through with it unless it's in your bank account, no paypal, apparently they can reverse the payment once it's been picked up. Don't fall victim! Tell them if their serious they can contact you when their swing is over and sort it out then
AnswerID: 506952

Reply By: rumpig - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 08:29

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 08:29
place an ad to sell something like a caravan on Gumtree and wait for the text messages from scammers to arrive i say.
i had 4 seperate scammers text me messages to buy my van, the 1 person that was real as far as being a buyer, actually called me and arranged a time to come inspect and then bought the thing.
AnswerID: 506960

Reply By: Shany - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:33

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 09:33
Scam, I recently came across another scam the the other day, basically a to good to be true jayco camper, kept in contact with seller she sent photos, everything was turning out to be the bargin of the century UNTIL she say we have been transferred to the uk ill ship the van from Darwin at no cost please deposit via some auction thing through google. There are so many scams, so basically if you can't inspect or have a face to face transaction, be very wary.
AnswerID: 506965

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 10:36

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 10:36
Hi Patrol 22,
Selling anything on gumtree will give you a problem, as you have to contact the buyer or seller via email yourself. If you use ebay they are the go between and you never get email from the buyer only the cash.
With gumtree you can be anyone with a hotmail, gmail and any other email account which does not require ID checks.
One way to beat them is to set up a new bank account not credit card but savings account, Do not let anyone take your trailer till the funds have cleared from paypal to bank account and have Withdraw the cash, and then close the account. When they try to complete the scam by getting the money back through paypal they can't. And you have beat the seamer.
Otherwise get a computer nerd to put a virus in the email you send back to him.

AnswerID: 506969

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:19

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:19
Hi Andy
Lot of hassle setting up and closing bank accounts.
Recently sold the wife’s car on Gumtree – I stipulated cash, cheque (pickup after clearance) or direct debit. The buyer turned up with the folding stuff.
FollowupID: 784098

Reply By: Member - johntoyo - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:13

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 11:13
Dont need to read what others have said' Stay right away from this one. Seen it before on Gumtree, is just a phishing scam.
AnswerID: 506972

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 14:02

Sunday, Mar 17, 2013 at 14:02
Careful with terminology ... a phishing scam is attempting to gain access to your computer or passwords via malicious software ...

this scam is essentially plain old fraud or false pretences by playing on someone's ignorance or good nature...
FollowupID: 784113

Reply By: Penchy - Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 10:21

Monday, Mar 18, 2013 at 10:21
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 507028

Reply By: briggo - Thursday, Mar 21, 2013 at 13:14

Thursday, Mar 21, 2013 at 13:14
Total scam mate the same thing happened to me when i tried to sell my car on gumtree,forget it.
AnswerID: 507271

Reply By: jodie a - Wednesday, Mar 27, 2013 at 23:48

Wednesday, Mar 27, 2013 at 23:48
hi
sorry but definitely a scam i got the exact same message from them about a boat im trying to sell, they go on to demand you pay their agent/shipping fees so that paypal can release the money...its all rubbish western union are rivals of paypal they do not work together, so anything that is paid via paypal that mentions western union is a scam straight out.
When this one doesn't work another one with the address of collejacob22@gmail.com will probably start on you. Both of those email addresses have actually been traced back to ip addresses and reported. All the best i hope you sell your camper trailer to someone honest that appreciates it
jodie
AnswerID: 507705