Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Dune -pic

Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 06:38

Willem

The pic below did not come out all that well because I scanned it from my print database. The pic was taken in 1984 at the front of one of the highest dunes in the world at Sossusvlei, Namib Desert, Namibia( west coast of Africa ). I had to drop my wife, Judith, off about one kilometre away so that she could fit the dune and myself and the Suzuki into the frame.

The local Namib Desert Fishing Club(they actually drive acros the dunes to get to the coast to fish) took three days to winch three Toyotas up the back of this dune. Then it was a very scary slide down to the bottom as the dune is incredibly steep. They took heaps of photos and then sent them off to Toyota HQ in Japan. A reply came back saying thanks for the pic but one can do anything with trick photography these days!!!

Two days prior to reaching this dune we were caught in a sandstorm. In very poor visibilty I saw what I thought was some farm ruins and drove to look for shelter. At the back of the buildings I found a Unimog and on knocking on the door found a hunter and his helper cutting up a Gemsbok(Oryx). He was a likeable fellow and invited us in. We saw the storm out, stayed two days and drank most of his whiskey. Every couple of hours the workman had to shovel the sand, which had blown in under the door, in to a wheelbarrow and take it to the leeway side, out of the house. We slept on a bed that was covered in sand. Quite an adventure.

Willem Move over Big Red..this is a dune!
320 metre sand dune, Sossusvlei,Namibia
(note myself and Suzuki in foreground)
Advertisement
ThreadID: 10196 Replies: 6
Views: 512 FollowUps: 26
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 45137   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 06:53

Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) replied:

That sure is a lot of sand...is that you...the speck in the front? Great story..

LynLife - Live it , Love it !

Reply 1 of 6
FollowupID: 307240   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 06:59

Willem posted:

Normally I am lifesize...but in this pic I am just a speck...hahahahaha

WillemMove over Big Red..this is a dune!
FollowUp 1 of 16
FollowupID: 307241   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 07:01

Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) posted:

larger than life...xxLife - Live it , Love it !

FollowUp 2 of 16
FollowupID: 307253   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 09:20

Mad Dog Morgan (Geelong) posted:

I thought that speck was one of those thorny devil creatures BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
FollowUp 3 of 16
FollowupID: 307254   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 09:31

could be..some sort of devil anyway...hahhahahaLife - Live it , Love it !

FollowUp 4 of 16
FollowupID: 307257   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 09:46

Yes. There may be a devil in de skys in that photo BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
FollowUp 5 of 16
FollowupID: 307259   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 10:00

Ray...lol..yes definitely...ahhahaLife - Live it , Love it !

FollowUp 6 of 16
FollowupID: 307267   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 11:52

Member - Des Lexik(SA) posted:

Ray, and sometimes he's "T"hornyDare to Lead not to Follow
FollowUp 7 of 16
FollowupID: 307268   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 11:59

Des...how do you know?Life - Live it , Love it !

FollowUp 8 of 16
FollowupID: 307306   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 18:42

Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) posted:

I managed to enlarge you to near life size again Willem

Willem enlarged
2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
FollowUp 9 of 16
FollowupID: 307308   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 18:48

ahh..you've met Willem then Andrew...

FollowUp 10 of 16
FollowupID: 307309   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 18:51

Willem posted:

Andrew...you are a sad case. No wonder the world is in such turmoil....Move over Big Red..this is a dune!
FollowUp 11 of 16
FollowupID: 307310   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 18:57

Willem - you sound just like my wife.
Lyn - Now I know why you were so nice to him. I bet your thinking, "If I was 70 years younger........"2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
FollowUp 12 of 16
FollowupID: 307311   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 18:59

Damn! the man is physic as well. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lyn
Life - Live it , Love it !

FollowUp 13 of 16
FollowupID: 307317   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 19:22

that should read psychic...what can i say I've become forgetful in my dotage....Life - Live it , Love it !

FollowUp 14 of 16
FollowupID: 307318   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 19:26

I thought you mis-spelt because you were holding up your computer with Willie's image and singing, "Lets get physical"2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
FollowUp 15 of 16
FollowupID: 307319   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 19:30

you ARE psychic !!

I had better turn Livvy down..what will the neighbours think..and there's a noise curfew in the home too.....Life - Live it , Love it !

FollowUp 16 of 16
AnswerID: 45139   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 07:26

Member - JohnR replied:

Willem, forgive me but the pic that comes up for me to see is looks remakably like the front of your Nissan with the bull light......... and the one with the trailer with the other shot. Has everyone else got a different pic?Regards

JohnR - Not enough of the right travelling, some here..... some over there.......
Reply 2 of 6
FollowupID: 307245   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 07:41

Hi John

when I click on the dune pic..I see an enlarged sand dune with a little speck at the front...and the other pic is Rosie with her trailer

FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 307249   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 08:50

John, hold the control key down and click refesh BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 307250   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 08:52

Refresh BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 307283   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 17:20

Member - JohnR posted:

Lyn and Ray, thanks for that, there was no change this morning when I looked but it has tonight without pressing refresh for some reason. I did also click on Willems' pic this morning to see Rosie in both. Thought you must have been on Willems smokes.Regards

JohnR - Not enough of the right travelling, some here..... some over there.......
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 45145   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 09:00

Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) replied:

I reckon that it is a teatowel we are looking at Willem!2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
Reply 3 of 6
FollowupID: 307252   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 09:14

Can't read Welcome to "Sossusvlei, Namib Desert, Namibia" though...lol..

FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 307290   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 17:35

Willem posted:

Thanks for your support Mrs Al.....I tend not to take much notice from blokes who show a pic of a bogged Toyota....Oh what a digging!

FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 307295   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 17:51

Willie you know I care...

FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 45155   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 11:01

Member - Cocka replied:

Gee life's tough Will. Just when you tell an interesting and educational storey, they want to take the mickey out of you. Just jealous I guess.Carpe Diem
Reply 4 of 6
FollowupID: 307291   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 17:39

Willem posted:

G'day Cocka.......Yeah, unfortunately some of the posters are only hoi-polloi and of no consequence....I ignore them.

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 307328   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 20:38

Hey Cocka, my mates are always taking the mickey outta me. Must be because of all the good work I do :) Tell ya what though, they're that first ones there when I need a hand...yeah, gotta love this country BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
FollowUp 2 of 2
Activities Index
Astronomy Experience Broome Astronomy Experience Broome
The Kimberleys - WA
Experience a night of fun stargazing with powerful telescopes and laser beams to view the moon, plan
Giant Foosball Giant Foosball
Brisbane - QLD
Australian's biggest foosball table measuring 25 x 15 meters.
"The Ultimate Search" 14 Day Sydney Surf Camp "The Ultimate Search" 14 Day Sydney Surf Camp
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
This surfing odyssey is the best start to surfing possible.
Noosa Ocean and River Kayak Tours Noosa Ocean and River Kayak Tours
Sunshine Coast - QLD
Take in the natural beauty from a completely different perspective on a sea kayak, seeing the amazin
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 45180   Submitted: Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 14:37

Boeing replied:

Willem, Must have been a big dune to make you look small!

Reply 5 of 6
AnswerID: 45253   Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 03, 2004 at 07:59

Dennis (Brisbane) replied:

Afraid the pic doesn't work for me either.

And no amount of CTRL'ing, ALT'ing or refreshing makes any difference.
Reply 6 of 6
FollowupID: 307356   Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 03, 2004 at 09:20

Willem posted:

Dennis,

I can send you a pic of the dune if you wish. Send me an email through my website www.kempen.id.au

Willem1958 Patrol Pretty flash eh?
FollowUp 1 of 1

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website