Finding safe free campsites

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 16:36
ThreadID: 106204 Views:4231 Replies:17 FollowUps:32
Hi fellow explorers,

I am just wondering how easy it is to find a safe free campsite when on the road?

What tools do you use to find them? Word of mouth? Exploroz? Information Centres? Smartphone apps? Police?

Are there any areas of Australia where you wouldn't free camp at all, but stay at a caravan park as you will feel safer?

I am asking as I am researching for an assignment.

Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 17:08

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 17:08
Every Campsite is safe, or every campsite is unsafe. It depends on your point of view.

We have free camped all over Australia and have never felt unsafe, but we have met people who have had terrifying experiences.

So are we just lucky or has it got something to do with how we select a campsite? It may also have something to do with our attitude to people.

So, treat the locals as you would like to be treated yourself, listen to first hand accounts from people who have experience in where you plan to travel and if concerned camp where there are others around.
AnswerID: 526290

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 17:51

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 17:51
I agree with Notso
I would add that you need to use a bit of common sense though.
If you drive through a town that has its businesses windows covered with security shutters, or surrounded by a high mesh security fences, the streets littered with broken down vehicles and there mangy dogs roaming the streets – then don’t free camp with free within 100ks of the place.
AnswerID: 526294

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 19:04

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 19:04
Melbourne?

FollowupID: 808487

Follow Up By: Ross M - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 19:23

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 19:23
Mangy dogs are ok, it is the mangy people the OP is most worried about and there are some in Melbourne.

People recommended to me not to camp within a Hoon/Scum, happy joy drive distance. Outside 40km from that town Dennis mentioned.

FollowupID: 808489

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 19:37

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 19:37
I didn’t mention mangy people or petrol sniffers – I’m trying to be politically correct.
FollowupID: 808490

Follow Up By: slave - Friday, Feb 14, 2014 at 10:26

Friday, Feb 14, 2014 at 10:26
We stayed within 100 km of a town like that and didn't see or hear a soul all night and I am a light sleeper.

We did stay a night in a small town caravan park where a backhoe started up about 2am,drove around, digging commenced, lots of hushed voices etc. Very creepy.
WE left there earlier than planned the next morning. No barred windows or high fences there.

Mrs S
FollowupID: 808627

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 18:21

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 18:21
I usually make a point of camping out of eyesight of the road so as to not attract any unwanted attention
AnswerID: 526295

Follow Up By: Echucan Bob - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 19:07

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 19:07
Wolfe Creek?
FollowupID: 808488

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 14:38

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 14:38
Echucan Bob

Wolfe Creek is safe. The movie was made in the Flinders Ranges.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 808548

Reply By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 18:23

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 18:23
You've pretty much got it covered Glenn. Plenty of info on the web to get anyone started but this has to be tempered with comon sense and the knowledge that people with bad experiences are more likely to post than the reverse. So 'you' ask people for sensible comments on reliable forums, enquire from locals, and more often than not just bite the bullet. I've never enquired from the local constabulary simply because they have far too much else on their plates to be tourist guides as well, but I'd happily listen to their suggestions if the opportunity arose. Free camps close to population centres where yobbos are known to regularly congregate, eg Yalwal in NSW, are last resorts for me. We encountered some minor trouble there many years ago and from what I've read and heard it is considerably worse now. Depends on time of year and week that you visit of course.

Safety and ease of finding a free camp really depends on where you are and how you're travelling (single vehicle, multi-vehicle, or truck+caravan). Generally the more remote, the easier it is and the safer I feel. Overall, if you're looking for a short stay finding a free camp is not a big issue.
AnswerID: 526296

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 13:41

Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 13:41
Every time I've been to Yalwal I've decided not to stay there. It's boganville.

A shame, because if it wasn't for the regular clientele it would be a great place.

FollowupID: 808903

Reply By: Gary.L - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 18:41

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 18:41
Tools that I use to find information about campsites is an app called Wikicamps. Has information and camper reviews about most campsites where people can "rate" the camp site.

When used in conjunction with the Tom Tom app, it gives very good directions to get to the campsites. I use an iPhone, but I believe that both wikicamps and Tom Tom apps are in android phones/tablets as well.

Just be aware, if the campsite is located more than 40 metres off the main roads, then you're probably on private property and still need permission to camp, even if its a campsite on these apps.

Gary
AnswerID: 526297

Reply By: Echucan Bob - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 19:17

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 19:17
The worst campsite I ever stayed at was in the Deuer River National Park, NSW. Unfortunately, a psychopathic feral also chose to stay there. Generator, fluorescent street lighting, power tools, loud (bad) music til 0200, and a very bad attitude.

Otherwise I have never felt unsafe. I always try to get several hundred meters off the track. Its good to have trees or topography between you and the passing traffic. You don't want passing vehicles to see the loom of your campfire, or the reflectors on your rig.

Hundreds of kilometers of country roads in NSW and Victoria are lined by fences, making getting well off the road very difficult. So I tend to put in the long strides to clear these states before thinking about stopping for the night.

AnswerID: 526298

Reply By: rooster350 - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 19:40

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 19:40
There are lots of books on the market about free camping around Australia , Camps Australia Wide is one that is used by a lot of people and has a very large list of free camp sites...some with photos. We found that the cost of it could be recouped by just using 2 or 3 of the sites listed..cheers
AnswerID: 526301

Reply By: Member - John and Lynne - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 20:05

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 20:05
There are many quite official campgrounds organised or supported by local councils. These are well publicised in publications like Camps Australia Wide and usually have quite a few campers in them. Any of these are "safe" but might be crowded.
Otherwise, once you are well out of a major town it is just a matter of finding a quiet place where you can pull right off the road without trespassing. Gravel pits are a good example. It is always a good idea to be well out of town so local hoons are not likely to use your camp site as a party scene - empty beer bottle, rubbish, toilet paper etc lying around give plenty of warning! The hoons seldom travel far to party!
Generally anywhere is safe enough. The worst you are likely to experience is loud noise and stupid drunks - and we have met them in caravan parks! We have never felt threatened or met anyone who has been really frightened for their safety while camping. I suspect caravans aren't very attractive targets - they are difficult to steal and people generally don't carry a lot of easily disposed of valuables in a van.
In our experience it is much more likely that the house you have left in the city could be burgled and trashed while you are safely camped out in the bush. Lynne
AnswerID: 526303

Reply By: Member - Wildmax - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 20:09

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 20:09
Many of the above posts have hit on the best advice - make sure you're beyond hoon driver distance from towns and, if you can, get out of sight of the main roads. And the more remote the parts of Äustralia, the more enjoyable and relaxing the camping - especially if you like to avoid the traffic volumes of places like the Bruce Hwy in Qld.
Heaps of printed and on-line sources of information, but by far the best is the casual chat with a fellow camper who can tell you about a great spot just up the road - we keep a notebook for these tips.
Wildmax
2018 Hilux and Black Wolf 210 tent - for the outback tracks less travelled
Formerly an AOR Eclipse and a TVan

AnswerID: 526304

Reply By: Honky - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 21:29

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 21:29
Check for VB cans.

Honky
AnswerID: 526313

Follow Up By: Echucan Bob - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 08:07

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 08:07
Yep, the Engels full. What next?
FollowupID: 808517

Reply By: Nutta - Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 21:57

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 at 21:57
With a name like 4wdadventureoz I thought you would have new it all! LOL

Just kidding, when I do the big loop I'll be bringing my friendly self defence mechanism, the shotty, bet that gets em buzzing!

After shows like wolf creek and wc2 to follow I'm getting paranoid!

People will scream but if no one bothers/taunts me in the middle of the night all is good.

Have a good holiday!
AnswerID: 526317

Follow Up By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 09:08

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 09:08
And if you shoot someone you can have a holiday at our expense.....

FollowupID: 808522

Follow Up By: Nutta - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 09:22

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 09:22
Muz if I was in the bush and got attacked and had to defend myself to the death I'd probably just bury them!

What would you do to defend yourself in the stix if you had a gun pointed at you?
FollowupID: 808523

Follow Up By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 09:38

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 09:38
You just let us all know when you are on holidays and we will all stay well away.

FollowupID: 808525

Follow Up By: Dingojim - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 12:02

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 12:02
I'm in Nuttas' team on this one. If my wife, myself or our property is threatened in any way I will do whatever it takes to remove said threat. You can almost guarantee that any person/s causing you to be fearful for your wellbeing are not doing so within the law which means, as far as I personally am concerned, I have every right to act outside of the law. Furthermore, due to the increasing cost of ammunition, there will be no warning shots. Nulli secundus.
FollowupID: 808536

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 15:40

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 15:40
A very balanced response there Dingo. Tongue in cheek we hope.
FollowupID: 808550

Follow Up By: Nutta - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 17:53

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 17:53
Lol Muz, I'll try to give you all a warning!

You should hear the shots though!!
FollowupID: 808560

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 19:05

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 19:05
True or false? A week never goes by without the news reporting another grey nomad shot in his sleep by marauding gangs of criminals. The latest travel advisory for Outback Australia, bring guns. lol.

You've got more chance of winning the lottery than needing a gun, certainly much more chance of being cleaned up in a car accident on the way. They reckon in America, that the guns people keep for self protection are responsible for accidently killing family members or friends more often than criminals, so statistically you are safer with a criminal than a family member with a gun. lol. Being paranoid doesn't mean that somebody isn't actually out to get you I suppose.
FollowupID: 808569

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 13:49

Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 13:49
You don't have to fire the weapon for it to be effective.

I have a friend who hunts. At a camp he started getting harassed by some loud-mouthed yokels. He got his rifle out from wherever and started cleaning it. Suddenly had the campsite all to himself.

But he is a mean looking bugger :-)

FollowupID: 808906

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 14:24

Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 14:24
Yep Frank the outcome can be in the approach and your friend's was quite clever. Problem is that an aggressive defence attempt might mean you both end up dead instead of just minus some property.

Years ago we were camped at Yalwal. Three families with small kids. Late one night a couple of yobs on trail bikes decided they'd give us a bit of curry by riding close to our tents and yahooing. We had a sick child so our tolerance wasn't particularly high but it wasn't until they'd done a few loops before we males decided enough was enough and dragged ourselves out of our tents. They must have seen our torches (or possibly the log I'd picked up) on the next loop so disappeared back up a track. Next morning we grabbed the axe and set off looking for firewood. Okay we actually went for a walk to see if we could find the perpetrators. Lo and behold there they were camped less than 100m away. We said g'day and asked them if they'd seen the yobs mentioned above. They said no of course but we mentioned as we bade them goodbye that if they did happen to come across said yobs to inform them that a few madmen with an axe were looking for them. Got the message across and didn't hear a peep from them the next day or night. I'm older and hopefully wiser and yobs are far more aggressive these days so I'd be much more circumspect now.
FollowupID: 808913

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 11:55

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 11:55
I like to look at these from a different perspective Glenn.

Safe doesn't mean just safe from other people , it could mean safe from being flooded or fire , in fact it usually means safe from things you aren't prepared for on first inspection.

No matter what the situation , being more flexible e.g. being able to pack up and move quickly increases the likelyhood that you will move on earlier if you suspect trouble.

I have many times seen people stay when they should have gone simply because it was to much trouble to break camp despite a loudmouth moving in next door.

For this reason we like to sleep in car and have a setup which truly means we can be "Outta there" in 5 minutes max.

AnswerID: 526346

Follow Up By: Nutta - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 17:55

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 17:55
Good point, don't camp in creek beds!

And as for the threatening loudmouths, refer back to my shotgun post above!
FollowupID: 808561

Reply By: Member - John and Lynne - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 17:09

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 17:09
Talk of violence and self defence is hardly helpful to the OP!
We have yet to see or hear any evidence that the Australian bush is full of maniacs driving vast distances in the hope of finding a lone caravanner to terrorise. Hollywood horror films are not a good guide!
You do need to be careful how you respond to those you meet out there. Our only slightly scary experience was going for a walk from our van after setting up in an apparently empty area of bush. As we walked we saw a man, apparently very drunk, shouting and waving at us - we wondered if he was threatening us for being near his camp. When we got closer we met an elderly bloke who was having trouble walking because of a very bad hip but he was still out there in his old rig and enjoying the bush. He just wanted to attract our attention to tell us that if we walked in another direction we would find a beautiful waterhole teeming with birdlife! It was a good thing we didn't shoot him! The waterhole was lovely too! Lynne
AnswerID: 526372

Follow Up By: Nutta - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 18:00

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 18:00
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bradley_John_Murdoch
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ivan_Milat

Safe as pie!

Lol, I'm just fishing, can't help myself.
FollowupID: 808562

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 14:28

Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 14:28
Nice anecdote Lynne, and with touch of humour to boot.
FollowupID: 808916

Reply By: 4wdadventureoz - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 17:47

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 17:47

Thanks for all the replies, all of them are extremely helpful. It is a very interesting topic and I am enjoying researching it.

Myself, I am generally never worried when exploring and free camping. We prefer the bush and more remote places than the normal travel routes. We drove to Darwin last year and were astounded by how full all the free camp sites were along the Stuart Highway, some as early as lunchtime.

We have never had any issues with anybody as generally anyone else we come across is in the same boat as us.

AnswerID: 526374

Reply By: Dingojim - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 18:44

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 18:44
My post was not entirely tongue in cheek as over the last couple of years there have been well documented reports of 1. an elderly couple pulled up for a cuppa at a lookout in the Blue Mountains area who were robbed by three men one of whom presented a handgun. 2. A couple stopped for a break at Bulahelah and were robbed of all their valuables by a couple of men. Another bloke stopped for a break near Port Macquarie was robbed. I am not saying that it happens frequently but once is once to often. There are a fair few desperates in this world, desperate for money for drugs, desperate for money for food plus a smattering of mentally unbalanced people whose motives are largely unexplainable but not excusable in my book. A couple of Grey Nomads to these people are a very, very easy mark for the simple reason that most are unable or unwilling to resist. I have been the intended victim of an armed robbery and I did not enjoy it at all despite getting the winners sash. All of my wifes and my material possessions are our M/h and the trailer with the Suzuki behind it. We worked damned hard to put it all together and if some person thinks that they can steal our property then I hope they had their weetbix that morning because it won't be easy for them. I can, unfortunately, only see these incidents increasing in number as more G N's take to the road. As long as I am able I will take whatever actions are necessary to protect me and mine. I do not live in the shadow of fear.
AnswerID: 526378

Follow Up By: Nutta - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 21:13

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 21:13
Interesting no one responds Dj, they only believe what they want to believe, it doesn't happen!
FollowupID: 808577

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Feb 14, 2014 at 00:25

Friday, Feb 14, 2014 at 00:25
I Believe....:)

FollowupID: 808606

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Feb 14, 2014 at 04:23

Friday, Feb 14, 2014 at 04:23
Any money or jewelry they lost in such a confrontation will soon seem like a small donation compared to the legal bill you will rack up defending your position in court if you shot them
You will soon find out who the robbers really are then ;)
FollowupID: 808611

Follow Up By: Echucan Bob - Friday, Feb 14, 2014 at 07:46

Friday, Feb 14, 2014 at 07:46
Dj and Nutta,

the system you are espousing has been tried. In the USA. 30,000 gun fatalities a year!

A few GNs losing their Rolex is a small price to pay for avoiding the insanity of a gun totin' society.

I half expected Goran to come back and make a contribution.

FollowupID: 808615

Follow Up By: Dingojim - Friday, Feb 14, 2014 at 16:29

Friday, Feb 14, 2014 at 16:29
Echucan Bob I am not promoting free for all gun laws or USA style stupidity, but I will continue to claim for the right of law abiding citizens to protect themselves and their property. When you quote 'loose' figures for gun deaths in the USA why don't you accurately qualify those figures by stating the fact that > 60% of all adult gun deaths are suicides. Also, if you think that a few GN's losing their Rolexs is acceptable then just hope the little bubble in which you exist never bursts.
FollowupID: 808660

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 11:32

Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 11:32
hmm .. blue mountains, port maquarie, bulahdelah ..
I don't reacll ever seeing big fences, boarded up windows and mangy dogs in those areas... ;-)

Al
FollowupID: 808893

Follow Up By: Echucan Bob - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2014 at 21:51

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2014 at 21:51
DJ, nothin' loose about that figure. Perhaps 11,000 homicides is acceptable, assuming the 19,000 suicides don't really count as dead people. Maybe GNs with Rolexes should be the only people allowed to carry weapons.

FollowupID: 809117

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 19, 2014 at 11:49

Wednesday, Feb 19, 2014 at 11:49
Actually "bulahdelah" was at 4 mile rest stop south of Taree.. where there are known issues with the local "community"...

But let's not allow facts to get in the way of a good bit of sensationalism .....

People can get robbed by but opportunists anywhere ... just a case of being 'aware' but not 'alarmed'.
FollowupID: 809140

Reply By: landseka - Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 23:58

Thursday, Feb 13, 2014 at 23:58
There sure are nutters around but you have far more chance of meeting one (or two or three) in your home in the suburbs than out in the bush.
Most of the DHs wouldn't know how to drive a car to go bush looking for easy targets, easier to get them in their homes in the 'burbs.

As to being safe if you have a gun, puleese, give me strength, that should make USA the safest place to live as everyone has a gun. Why are there hundreds of gun deaths every day?
AnswerID: 526399

Reply By: Nutta - Friday, Feb 14, 2014 at 08:09

Friday, Feb 14, 2014 at 08:09
Well I don't think it's like you would have your shotty leaning on the door of the van like you used to see in the movies, but if I'm camped out at an isolated area and I heard or saw a car or something creeping up at 2 in the morning I might just have it loaded and ready to go.

What's the alternative if that scenario happened, hide under the bed?

AnswerID: 526408

Follow Up By: Member - John and Lynne - Friday, Feb 14, 2014 at 08:44

Friday, Feb 14, 2014 at 08:44
We were the vehicle creeping up to find a camp spot at 2am once as we had to quickly pack up and move from a clay pan when unexpected rain fell heavily! We certainly looked pretty muddy and undesirable by the time we found somewhere to stop!
We were glad no one rushed out to shoot us! Why would you assume any strangers are violent criminals? If they are, by the time you shot one their mates would have shot back! As far as I am concerned I don't want to camp any where near anyone with a gun. As I said before the old bloke we met looking threatening and waving what might have been a gun at us turned out to be waving an old walking stick!
No doubt nasty incidents can happen anywhere but they are far more likely to happen in a comfortable town or suburb where targets are easy to find for lowlifes.
We have only ever had stuff stolen from our van in a caravan park that boasted of its security! We have been burgled in our comfortable suburb. We feel safe out in the bush. Lynne
FollowupID: 808621

Follow Up By: Nutta - Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 07:31

Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 07:31
Horses for courses!
FollowupID: 808873

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 14:32

Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 14:32
A couple of years ago some locals (not sure if they were nutters?) caused us to move on just after dark (only the second time this has happened to us in 30 years of travelling). We had to drive about 50km before we found a possible campsite. We only found it because the folk already there were sitting around the fire and had lights on. As we drove in we were conscious of the need to identify ourselves as soon as we could, calling out a greeting before we reached the circle of light. Likewise we were glad that they didn't have a loaded gun out waiting for us!

Everything turned out well - there was a heap of space available, and we were invited to join the other group around their campfire where we all had an enjoyable and memorable evening.

Val.

FollowupID: 808919

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 14:36

Monday, Feb 17, 2014 at 14:36
Dead right Lynne. A paranoid redneck with a gun is a threat either way.
FollowupID: 808920