TRU BLU CAMPERS

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 15:10
ThreadID: 10971 Views:7722 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
WE ARE LOOKING AT BUYING AN OFF ROAD CAMPER HAS ANY ONE HAD GOOD OR BAD EXPERIENCES WITH THESE CAMPERS?

Reply By: jackablue - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 15:58

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 15:58
Can't help you with your query. Just use lower case when asking your question, it looks like you are shouting.

Jackablue
AnswerID: 49020

Follow Up By: jules15 - Thursday, Mar 04, 2004 at 07:59

Thursday, Mar 04, 2004 at 07:59
G'day - if you do a search on this site for sometime over the last month - you will find some very interesting comments re a Tru Blu - also a Dingo Camper Trailer (dandenong) - nothing wrong with the dingo the the drongo who sells them - our Dingo has been all over the place - never had a problem in the four years we have owned it - except for a wheel bearing - which was all covered under warranty -
see ya
jules
FollowupID: 310941

Reply By: Peter Guy - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:05

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:05
Hi I can highly recommend a Wander Camper made in Perth. They are more recently known as wandering star. You cannot buy a stronger off road trailer. We have had our over 10 years it it has traversed some of the roughest tracks in the country.
They have a web site to view.
AnswerID: 49022

Reply By: Member - The ghost - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:59

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:59
G/day Wonga
This is a bit biased as the manafacturer is a mate of mine. I have one of the early ones and am about to upgrade to a more frills model and it will another tru blu as I can't find better value for money. They are now making their own trailers which is what I know a bit about having been in the industry and what is the shiniest is not necessarily the best,and there are no short cuts taken here. Mine has done a lot of trips Gulf, Cape among a few and with no problems. Had a few minor problems with the canvas design and these have long been modified, and have better dust free covers.
The main thing I like is that it is totally free standing no poles or guide ropes, and pegs only if it gets a bit windy, we normally throw a bag in each corner for overnight stops and can be in bed in 2 minutes max. Also has plenty of windows with plenty of breeze when up north, a friend has another brand and his is stifling in the hotter climates no flow through.
Can't make any comment on the accessories available like slide out kitchens etc as mine is the basic but having seen them made they are very solid and know of no come backs.
Good luck with your choice.The Ghost
AnswerID: 49027

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 19:27

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 19:27
I know of 2 that have been taken back, one of which was mine! Both were so badly built & misrepresented that neither the other owner or myself could stand to keep them. He sold his unused, & I forced Tru Blu to take mine back, also unused. It took 7 months & a VCAT hearing to get them to accept it back. They are poorly built & dangerous!
I would be happy to discuss it with anybody that cares to email me ..... patrol6@ozemail.com.au
FollowupID: 310899

Reply By: Andy - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 17:37

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 17:37
Check out thread 10586

Interesting reading
AnswerID: 49028

Follow Up By: Member - The ghost - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 18:46

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 18:46
Andy can't agree more, interesting read. It is also worthy of note that tru blu, dingo and outlook all sourced their trailers from the same place a while back, not sure about the last two currently . Dingo Jack can dance rock & roll but sure as hell can't communicate with customers.The Ghost
FollowupID: 310898

Reply By: loughma - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 22:54

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 22:54
Please do not confuse Tru Blu Campers in Victoria with my company,
True Blue Camping Trailers in Mackay, North Queensland.
We are a small North Queensland business called True Blue Camping & Canvas.
We have a retail camping shop, Canvas goods making workshop and we make our our brand of camping trailers.
We are NOT associated with this other business you have mentioned.
Just thought I'd clean this up.
www.campingcanvas.com.au
AnswerID: 49060