Range Rover TDV6, 2.7lt Diesel

Wanting feedback (good& bad). Looking at secondhand with around 80,000 to 120,00 klms. Can I expect to be able to double those klms without too many issues. Currently a Landcruiser owner but like the Range Rover. Motors been around for a while now so hoping someone has driven one for up to 200,000 klms to fill me in on reliability.My mate tells me I'm thinking with my heart not my head. Same type of money will buy a new MUX/Colarado 7 or near new Prado. What do the experts think?

Reply By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2014 at 21:47

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2014 at 21:47
I think that buying a Range Rover is a life experience, sort of like owning a Rolls Royce. It's something a lot of people might want to do at least once if you like the look, feel and atmosphere that surrounds the car. They are a nice ride and very classy. But, there are a lot of factors that make them expensive. The electrics are unbelievable, they usually have big wheels that require relatively rare expensive tyres and I'm told that on some models you have to lift the body off to change the injectors. Better get clarification on that last one. Having said all that, I know quite a few later model Land Rovers with over 200K on the clock with no major dramas. All the info is on aulro.com.
AnswerID: 542765

Follow Up By: zappa - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2014 at 22:16

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2014 at 22:16
Thanks Mike. I've heard all the same stories but hoping to get some feedback from owners with testimonials good & bad.
FollowupID: 829349

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2014 at 22:22

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2014 at 22:22
My 2008 Land Rover has over 200k on it from new. No major dramas but it isn't a Range Rover.
FollowupID: 829352

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2014 at 22:34

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2014 at 22:34
What do you want to do with it?
I reckon the Range Rover is the only 4WD that I have ever heard of that was named as not suitable for the Simpson.
Those low profile tyres would need to go.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 542767

Reply By: garrycol - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2014 at 23:00

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2014 at 23:00
It is a shame you get so many people on here who have no idea what they are talking about.

Firstly a 2.7 Range Rover will be a Range Rover Sport not a Range Rover which is a completely different car.

Standard wheels/tyres are 18" the same as a 200 series but you can put 17" wheels on so there is plenty of tyre options - that have decent profiles.

The 2.7 is a great engine (same as in the Territory, Jaguar, Citroen and Peugeot). Its main problem like many CRDs are the EGRs.

Gearboxes are great but need an oil change about every 80,000km and changing to a metal sump makes servicing easier,

The suspension compressor is should really be a serviceable but it is not so fails around 80,000km - the dealer will charge an arm and leg to change but it is easy to do - the new AMK compressor is much better than the old version.

Fuel capacity is about 85 litres - a bit low but aux tanks are available of about 90 to 120litres but you have to move the spare - a Disco wheel carrier will fit but does not look good on a RRS.

Doscovery ARB and OL Bull bars fit but these companies will not compliance them for the RRS - so on your own back if you get one fitted.

The RRS is shorter and has a shorter wheel base than the equivalent Discovery. Also because of the shape of the rear - rear luggage space is not as usesful (is smaller) that a Disco or 200 series with 3rd row seats moved.

Plan on buying a codes reader as these allow you manage the computer systems. The issues most people talk about arise because owners do not take the time to properly learn about their vehicles. There is a story of one being tilt trayed because the electronic hand brake was on and would not come off - the owner had not taken the time to learn that under the center console there is a cable that is pulled.

They are a fine vehicle but if you value storage in the back I would go for a Disco 3 or 4.

Garry
AnswerID: 542769

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 08:35

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 08:35
An honest appraisal and to my way of thinking one that would certainly steer me away from the vehicle. A code reader as a good investment...buy one , you,ll use it a lot due to poor electronic package. 80,000k for a new compressor. No thanks.

They have a not so good reputation and as usual people will argue till the cows come home.
FollowupID: 829362

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 10:23

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 10:23
Whats the issue with replacing the air compressor - if you know where to buy quite cheap in the scheme of things. If you are handy with tools rebuild kits are cheap. You will replace tyres more often.

I am not sure what you mean about a poor electronic package but yes from time to time like your home computer a reboot is required - normally just turning off and turning back on.

Remember the electronics in most cars do not fail as it is in most cases a communications tool that relays information on mechanical matters and mechanically there is little that goes wrong with the RRS.

A great ride, exceptionally capable offroad, great on fuel and relatively cheap to run. Most services are just oil and filter changes.

I am not sure where this "not so good reputation" comes from - as Graeme says below somebodies friends cousin's best mate who has never owned one is usually the source. As highlighted in this thread, most people do not even know what a RRS is.

FollowupID: 829365

Follow Up By: Slow one - Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 18:18

Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 18:18
I have never driven a Range Rover but I have driven a Territory with that 2.7l engine, it the sweetest diesel I have ever come across. It is as quiet and smooth as a petrol and it just gets up and goes.
FollowupID: 829529

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 18:38

Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 18:38
You would really love the TDV8 Touareg then... :-)
FollowupID: 829535

Reply By: Member - Chris M8 - Tuesday, Dec 09, 2014 at 23:40

Tuesday, Dec 09, 2014 at 23:40
One Range Rover (TDV8 My08 L322) I know in Qld has done the Simpson - towing. A Quantum caravan. Gulp!
AnswerID: 542770

Reply By: Graeme - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 09:18

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 09:18
There are those who, with little experience or first hand knowledge, bag these vehicles.
All they have heard is that a friends uncles friends cousin has had a bad experience with some Landrover. No specifics of course.
Take the time and drive one for a start, and go to AULRO which is the Landrover forum and see there. There are D3 and Range Rover Sports which have over 300,000 km without dramas, just normal servicing. Make your mind up on facts, not hearsay. I am one very happy D4 owner.
AnswerID: 542779

Reply By: Ron N - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 11:32

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 11:32
I think the biggest single feature you have to look for, with high-range, high-tech used vehicles, is how many are for sale just out of the warranty period.

Range Rovers seem to feature largely in this group. Of course, it may be that the demographics of most new Range Rover owners is that they turn over their vehicles very regularly, and they do so, because they can afford to.
Most Range Rovers, as we all know, rarely get off the blacktop. They are loved by the Toorak Taxi set, by the wealthy mothers who need a status symbol to run the kids to school.

Having said that, that does usually make for a wider choice of better-condition vehicles when looking for a used one - and it does seem there are plenty to choose from.

The 2.7L V6 diesel engine is a joint Ford-PSA product that is particularly high tech, in the best European fashion. The engine is produced in many factories around the world, and fitted to a wide range of vehicles. Many specific engine components of the 2.7 are built in Ford South African factories and then shipped to other global factories for final assembly. Here's the main users of that engine.

2004 Jaguar S-Type
2005 Land Rover Discovery
2005 Land Rover Range Rover Sport
2005 Peugeot 607
2005 Peugeot 407 Coupe
2006 Peugeot 407
2006 Jaguar XJ
2006 Citroen C6
2007 Jaguar XF
2008 Citroen C5
2011 Ford Territory

Note that each vehicle uses a specifically-modified engine for the application. The Range Rover engine has specific variations in design over the other 2.7 engine users, typically such as a larger sump.

There are reports of a number of problems with the 2.7 engine. Most appear to be related to oil issues. The originally recommended service interval of 24,000kms appears to be too long to me, and is probably behind some of the engine failures. My personal opinion is that no diesel, particularly a high-tech one, should have engine oil changes this far apart.

The 2.7 engine uses bearings that have no locating tabs. The bearing shell is merely clamped by the conrod bolts. This smacks of cheapness in design, because bearing shell tabs have been an integral part of engine design for over 80 years.

This tabless design leads to bearing shells spinning inside the cap when lubrication becomes less-than-perfect.
This is typical of high-tech engines, they are called high-maintenance engines, because they are finicky with their required operating parameters. Let the oil get dirty and thick, and they will fail, because they can't cope with it.

Low-maintenance engines have much wider parameters of operation, they can cope with all types of poor maintenance and poor operating conditions.

The other problem areas with the 2.7 engine is in the variable vane turbocharger. The variable vane turbocharger is a very high-tech device that performs better with an increased ability to change to varying operating conditions, than a bog-standard, fixed vane turbocharger.

However, the finicky little moving components that operate the movement of the vane angle become clogged with carbon and other combustion deposits after around 100-150,000kms and then they start to fail.
Naturally, they then need to be replaced at high cost.

The 2.7 engine needs a range of special tools to repair it, such as the Ford timing tool.

Camshafts and crankshafts have been known to fracture, due to the high-tech, lightweight design, where weight was pared from the engine to produce a low engine operating weight (202kg) that was low enough to ensure that it could be fitted to many smallish sedans.

Other problems reported with the 2.7 engine are EGR problems (common with many newer high-tech engines, and also related to carbon buildup causing clogging of the EGR operation), particulate filters that cost a fortune to replace, injector and glow plugs failures, and intercooler failures.

Range Rover design is such that to remove the engine totally, for major repairs, requires removal of the body.

The following websites provide some insight into the 2.7 engines, where owners, repairers and potential owners discuss problems associated with the engine.

2.7L V6 Ford-PSA engine problems - Poland

The South Africans have had some 2.7 engine problems that appear to be maintenance and oil related. Once again, high-tech engines don't do well in harsh conditions and where maintenance is lax.

2.7 engine failures - South Africa

The Range Rover is a particularly comfortable vehicle that offers a "driving experience" that appeals to a certain demographic of people. There is also the status angle of driving a Range Rover that appeals to numbers of people.

However, buying a used high-tech vehicle such as the vehicle you're looking at, requires careful scrutiny of the level of maintenance and the style of use that it has endured.
It's highly likely you will find a very nice example, that has been well-maintained and only lightly used.

Against that is the knowledge that you must always keep in mind, that these vehicles are complex, high-tech, and very expensive to repair once they get high kms on them - and if you have no warranty to cover any unforeseen failures - be they mechanical or electrical - then you will be facing some heavy slugs to the wallet, when they happen.

Good luck with your search - a vehicle choice is a personal one, and one that we make according to our personal needs and requirements, and very often, how we wish to project our image.

AnswerID: 542783

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 12:05

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 12:05
The service interval on these engines is 12,000km not 24,000km. Certainly the vehicle is no more expensive or complex to maintain than on comparable 4wds such as the 200 series and high end Prados and Pajeros.

Most work including engine changes can be done with the body on but it does need to be understood that from the design stage the vehicle was designed to have the body off for particular work - as such it is designed to come off with the majority of fittings simply unclipping. Once set up - all is needed is a hoist - it is less than two hours to lift the body - it just unbolts and unclips.

Yes - like all modern engine - oil selection is crucial but it is easily obtainable form places like Repco, Supercheap etc.

Garry
FollowupID: 829371

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 14:01

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 14:01
I'm looking at the Ford tech drawing (explosion diagram) for the 2.7 "Lion" TDCI engine and the bearings look to have locator tabs on them. A bit hard to tell from the resolution of the image but there is something on the bearing shell in the shape and location where you'd expect a location tab to be.
FollowupID: 829378

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 14:08

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 14:08
Closer inspection of the said tech drawing indicates the marks are oil channels, not tabs.
FollowupID: 829379

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 14:29

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 14:29
The problem mentioned does exist but is exceptionally rare and only applies to early 2.7s. Later 2.7s including those in the Territory do not have the issue.
FollowupID: 829381

Reply By: cruza25 - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 13:04

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 13:04
Any modern CRD can have issues. Todays diesels arent like the old ones that chugged along for years without any maintainance.

Just have a look at prado and newhilux forums where owners are replacing $$$$$ sets of injectors every 100k or the pistons crack, or the seals leak and clog the oil pickup ( resulting in a seized motor)

or read about the V8 diesels choking on dust and water due to poor design of filter systems. Then the manufacturer blames dirty fuel or air filter and wants $12000 to fix.

Many owners of modern 4x4s carry a plugin code reader , simple to use read and reset any codes. I even bought one for my forester and have techstream to fix my prado.

Be aware this is just a forum ( and a very good one, most of the time) and often people have very focused opinions because of what the own. Have a search of some users names and you sometimes see a pattern.

good luck and enjoy whatever you purchase.

I am not saying RR are better or worse than any other brand, i know people with both toyotas and land rovers--- plenty of kms and few issues from both.

AnswerID: 542787

Reply By: Ron N - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 13:40

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 13:40
The DPF (Diesel Particulate Filter) is a particular problem on many current vehicles, and there's a roaring trade in removing DPF's and re-mapping the ECU to remove all DPF electronic control inputs and logs.

The Ford-PSA 2.7L engine is one of the engines known to have DPF problems.

With the DPF system, additional fuel is injected on the exhaust stroke, after the initial combustion has taken place, to increase EGT (exhaust gas temperature) to extremely high levels.
This process is referred to as "post-injection pulses" by Seimens.
The DPF cleaning process takes place approximately every 500-1000kms and is designed to burn off the soot particles that have accumulated in the DPF, which would otherwise clog the DPF.

This pollution control system is less-than-perfect, and it has been referred to as a failed technology.
However, it's still in wide fitment and useage amongst many European and even American diesels.

The problem with this "post-injection pulse" process is that it leads to excess unburnt fuel in the cylinder which promptly goes past all the rings and builds up in the sump. This is known as "crankcase oil dilution" and is a serious problem.
COD leads to oil that has reduced lubrication properties, because it is thinned with fuel.

It has been known about since the days of kerosene-powered engines of the 1920's, as kerosene doesn't burn fully in IC engines and causes high levels of COD.
Thus oil changes had to be much more frequent when running the old engines on kerosene.

All engine manufacturers have an acceptable maximum engine operating level of COD, as measured by the % of fuel in the lubricating oil, measured by oil analysis in a lab.

High tech engines such as the Ford-PSA 2.7L engine would be highly susceptible to COD, because they are operating within tight parameters.
Even a small reduction in lube oil lubricating properties, caused by COD, would almost certainly result in engine damage, such as the 2.7L engine bearing damage shown in the sites I linked to above.

As a result, it would be wise to do very frequent oil changes and perhaps even establish a regular oil analysis program for your engine oil, if you're running a Ford-PSA 2.7L engine, or any engine fitted with DPF regeneration.

This would be even more important once the engine has high kms on the clock, when clearances are increased, and the oil is working harder to counter the increased amount of contaminants coming past the worn rings.

AnswerID: 542790

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 14:00

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 14:00
Ron your thesis on the DPF is all well and good but an Aussie RRS TDV6 2.7 - the subject of this thread, does not have a DPF so the information is not at all relevant to the topic.
FollowupID: 829377

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 14:11

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 14:11
The Territory doesn't have a DPF either.
FollowupID: 829380

Follow Up By: DiscoTourer - Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 23:26

Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 23:26
Well that was a waste of 60 seconds reading Rons post....ill informed to put it nicely.
FollowupID: 829551

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 09:06

Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 09:06
Maybe it wasn't specifically relevant but I found it useful - having recently been in the market for a diesel, one choice among which has a DPF that's proved a problem. One owner had to replace it; the price was $8 K! Luckily it was still under warranty.
FollowupID: 829562

Reply By: Member - mark D18 - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 17:20

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 17:20
Zappa

Do yourself a massive favour , Don't buy the Range Rover , Every 4x4 will give you trouble at some stage, but a Toyota will give you a better chance at trouble free motoring.

AnswerID: 542804

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 19:30

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 19:30
If you have driven a Range Rover in standard configuration, (no aftermarket stuff, springs, air bags or anything) it will go further and in much more comfort than any standard configuration White Goods vehicle (aka Landcruiser).

All vehicles have owners who are passionate about their particular vehicle.

Some of us just happen to like vehicles with character and often annoying foibles, but we are prepared to put up with those things for the comfort and performance that we get from them.

It is much more enjoyable to drive such a vehicle than a mass produced "White Goods" vehicle with absolutely no character.

Just my opinion, you can disagree if you like but personal insults will be ignored .

Disco
(who has a thing for vehicles ex Solihull).

FollowupID: 829426

Follow Up By: Member - mark D18 - Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 09:19

Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 09:19
Disco driver .
Foibles , Is that the new word for unreliable ,
expensive to maintain or horrible resale value or all of the above

But they look ok

FollowupID: 829458

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 18:19

Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 18:19
Not at all. The annoying foibles that I have had are things like unlocking the central locking and one sticks closed, locking the central locking and a door is open but you can't tell which one because they all look closed so you are running around closing doors again, blowing a fuse moving an electric seat, flat electronic remotes so you have to open the passenger door with a key which automatically sets of the alarm. I've had each of those a couple of times in 6 years. Then there is the blinker on the wrong side of the steering wheel. They were annoying and all caused by high tech gizmos faultering. Mine has never left me on the side of the road though.
FollowupID: 829530

Follow Up By: DiscoTourer - Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 23:31

Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 23:31
Hilarious....owning my 200 was the shortest period of vehicle ownership of any make for me. I should have listened to family that actually work on them.

Expensive mistake.....
FollowupID: 829552

Follow Up By: Member - mark D18 - Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 12:49

Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 12:49
Disco

I hope in 2 years time with a few extra km you are still happy.
Enjoyed the banter
Happy travels
FollowupID: 829577

Reply By: zappa - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 23:15

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 23:15
Thanks for everyones input. Not sure whether I'll buy the Rangey, but I do love em to look at! Thanks for all the "Tech Talk" but wasted on me as my mechanical knowledge stops at oil & filter change. I have been driving company vehicles for the past 30 years and apart from tyres,servicing and brakes I've very rarely had any further work done for sometimes up to 220,000 klms on Ford factory vehicles so I was expecting to pay 50K plus for a 4x4 and get similar trouble free motoring.
Thanks again
AnswerID: 542821

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 23:29

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014 at 23:29
You will have trouble free motoring - I have had my RRS for over four years and it was over 3years old when I got it. It has been the most reliable vehicle I have owned.

Remember though, that the vehicle you are looking at is between 5 and 9 years old so you cannot expect the perfect vehicle and the usual precautions in buying a vehicle of that age apply.
FollowupID: 829443

Follow Up By: Graeme - Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 01:02

Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 01:02
I had a Nissan Patrol and it had a ZD30 and it blew up at 147,000. There were niggling little things as well and the fuel consumption average was 12.3l/100km. A three litre putting out 118 kW and 360 nm.
I now have a three litre D4 which puts out 180kw and 600nm for a fuel consumption of 11.1L/100km and has been trouble free and is so pleasant to drive. In nearly 3 years I have done 80,000km and have been to the Bungles and Chambers Pillar on "shock horror" 19" tyres with no problems! I simply drove to conditions.
I do service it when due but I do an oil change and filter every 12,000km as the service is every 26,000km. There are some D4 heading over the 200,000 km mark and here in Oz some D3 with well over 300,000km on them and just the normal service. There is one in UK which did 700,000 miles towing a car trailer before it gave up.
Cars are purely a personal choice, I chose a D4 and love it, others have the Range Rover Sport; same thing. There are also the Toyota tragics as well who swear by their Prado and 200; I have driven them but the D4 at the same price was head and shoulders above the Toyota.
All modern cars are computer driven and all throw a hissy fit occasionally and is something to live with. The Nissan you just shorted two pins in the diagnostic plug and read the flashes, Toyota ha scan gauge and other code readers, the Land Rover has Hawkeye, IID tool or the Nanocom to read and clear codes.
Cars are no different to all modern airliners B787, B777, A320/330/380 aircraft where all faults are read by the certified virus free laptop. The aircraft I work on are my age though and old technology, I understand them and they understand me!!
FollowupID: 829451

Follow Up By: zappa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 17:24

Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 17:24
Thanks for the feedback from actual owners of Landrover/Range Rover Sports. You showed factual and relatively unbiased views to help me out. I would be looking for one below 100,00 klms if possible with my budget so year is not overly important. Just one more question. Would I be better or worse off looking at the V8 diesel Sport.
FollowupID: 829526

Follow Up By: garrycol - Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 20:38

Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 20:38
The TDV8 being more powerful gets up and goes but so does the 2.7 TDV6, particularly if it is remapped. The TDV8 will cost a bit more than a similar condition/mileage TDV6. In everyday use I don't believe there would be much in it - If you need the extra Zoom Zoom and am prepared to pay for it then go for it.

Alternatively you could go for the later 3.0TDV6 RRS and get the best of both worlds - there is not much between the 3.6TDV8 and the 3.0TDV6.
FollowupID: 829542

Follow Up By: Member - mark D18 - Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 12:44

Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 12:44
Zappa
We are only trying to protect you from a vehicle over a short period of time will disappoint you with costly maintenance and so called (foibles) but at the end of the day it is your call.

Good luck with whatever you buy
FollowupID: 829576

Follow Up By: garrycol - Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 13:06

Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 13:06
What a load of nonsense.

Your claims are not the experiences of those you actually own them.
FollowupID: 829578

Follow Up By: Member - mark D18 - Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 16:53

Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 16:53
Garry
Zappa as indicated does not know much about cars
I am just trying to give him a fighting chance so he does not get stuck with a vehicle that could cost him a fortune in the future
As stated the resale value alone is diabolical let alone all of the other problems associated with being a Rangey Owner .
I know they are a beautiful car to drive and look great,
But you rangey will defend them to the cows come in , so this dialog is pointless .
Try a drive west out past Bathurst and 80% of the 4x4 out there are Toyota's or Nissan Patrol .

Happy travels )
FollowupID: 829596

Follow Up By: garrycol - Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 17:46

Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 17:46
Not sure where you are getting your resale information from but RRS resale is around the same as Toyota models of the same class, year and price.

Yes we will defend the vehicles when misinformation is being disseminated by people who have never owned them.
FollowupID: 829606

Follow Up By: Member - mark D18 - Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 18:24

Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 18:24
Seems to be a lot of people out there with the same disinformation ( your words )
4X4 ownership is expensive enough , and that's a reliable car

FollowupID: 829611

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 18:51

Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 18:51
Personally I think your information is out of date. If you want a reliable Toyota or Nissan it has to be any petrol model or a pre CRD diesel. I've heard some shocker first hand stories from the owners concerning the newer diesels from the Jap brands. The power and torque figures are way down on equivalent capacity Euro diesels and they still have problems. I wouldn't touch a Jap CRD with a barge pole.
FollowupID: 829615

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 19:02

Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 19:02
Further to that, I wouldn't touch a Land Rover older than 2006. I see first hand reliability issues with the older models. I've been on heaps of trips with newer D3 and D4 Land Rovers and reliability is never a topic of conversation around the camp fire. It certainly is with the older models, but then age and kilometres play a factor there.
FollowupID: 829618

Follow Up By: Member - mark D18 - Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 19:16

Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 19:16
Ok Fair enough
I have to admit I would never buy a CRD
Toyota have enough trouble with some of their motors , what chance have the Poms got ( none I am thinking )

FollowupID: 829622

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 20:05

Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 20:05
A good CRD is a really sweet motor. Quiet, smooth and heaps of grunt, you can't beat it for power with economy.
I think the problem with a Jap CRD is that it isn't put in that many cars relatively speaking. How many other models and makes use a 3 litre Patrol diesel? What about the Prado/Hilux D4D? If you travel to Europe, they don't have a good opinion of Jap diesels usually calling them unrefined tractors, so while Toyota and Honda etc can sell smaller petrol cars very well, you can drive all day in heavy traffic and not see a Landcruiser or Patrol. They are also too thirsty for Euro tastes and budgets. The European CRD's are common to many many models and brands of cars and commercial vehicles that do millions of kilometres a day across Europe. This aids the refinement process and I think they are a better product purely for that reason. And, all the Land Rover motors aren't English any more, they are European.
PS My Land Rover has the same gearbox as a Mazda CX5, you probably would never guess that. :-)
FollowupID: 829627

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 21:21

Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 21:21
Mike a German mechanic I use says that the Japs are the best at electronics but the Germans know how to build motors
The euro diesels are far superior to the Japs
FollowupID: 829637

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 21:25

Friday, Dec 12, 2014 at 21:25
Forgot to ad that Toyota has entered into an arrangement with BMW where Toyota will share its Hybrid technology in return for BMW's diesel technology
FollowupID: 829638

Reply By: Mungrel - Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 10:03

Thursday, Dec 11, 2014 at 10:03
The 2.7L diesels from memory had an issue with the timing belt tensioner. It's mounted to the oil pump were known for breaking, requiring an updated component to be fitted (from memory, this particular item was fairly reasonable at $150ish)

I dare say most would have had this done by now, but just something to ponder.
AnswerID: 542834

Follow Up By: Member - G.T. - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2014 at 21:39

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2014 at 21:39
I have a 2005 Disco 3 with the 2.7 motor. According to L/Rover the timing belt has to be changed at 168000 Km or at 10 years , whichever occurs first, also the fuel pump belt at the rear of the motor. Series 4 Models are the same Km`s but are to be done at an earlier interval of 7 years.
The timing belt cost me $1000.00. Not a cent more or a cent less.
This was done at Geelong by Rex Gorell motors, Parts $287.54, coolant $84.55. Labour was $537.01!!, yes right down to the last cent, first franchise dealer I am aware of that calculates its labour to that level! Parts total was $372.09. My guess is that they subtracted the parts total from $1000.00 quoted so as to get to the labour price.

I think that a new tensioner was fitted at this time.

I got the fuel pump belt done in Adelaide, was quoted $807.50 by a dealer, got the job done for just under $600.00 by a local garage.

I got mine done before it was due, for peace of mind, Timing belt at 132000 km, Fuel pump belt at 139000 km. Regards G.T.
FollowupID: 829899