Just got our "SNOW PEAK" fire pit in the mail and have tested it.....

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 29, 2015 at 22:32
ThreadID: 117277 Views:4160 Replies:9 FollowUps:4
After seeing several Youtube clips of the set-up and operation of this brilliant Japanese-made fire pit, I decided to buy one for our camping needs as well as for use here at home....when we want to have a small "comfort fire" in the backyard and cook some tucker (to make us think we are actually camping even when we can't get away!!!...hahaha). The model I decided to buy is the large kit, including the canvas bag to carry the whole lot.

Let me say....the enthusiasm of the bloke in the video clips really is warranted.

The build quality is excellent, as is the choice of materials.

When we bought our Ultimate Camper in 1999, it came with a fold-up BBQ plate (half plate, half grill). This BBQ will no longer be taken on future trips as the Snow Peak more than fills the bill for this task.

We live in a small country town; only about 300 meters away is farming land with several pine trees on the edge, where I often take our dog for a walk. There is an endless supply of pine cones laying on the ground, which I will start collecting...I reckon they will make ideal fuel for the fire. However twigs, off-cuts of sawn timber (eg: from a disposable pallet) would also be quite okay.

Here is one of the video clips that inspired me:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TF3Y_beK_Eo

I have no financial interest in this product or company....just a satisfied customer.

Reply By: wholehog- Sunday, Mar 29, 2015 at 22:51

Sunday, Mar 29, 2015 at 22:51
Looks good..
AnswerID: 551775

Follow Up By: Grumblebum and the Dragon - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 09:28

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 09:28
I have a mate with one - just an excellent bit of kit. You get what you pay for.

FollowupID: 837298

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 06:00

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 06:00
Roachie, they do look good, but bloody expensive...............

AnswerID: 551781

Reply By: Sigmund - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 06:08

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 06:08
Compact folded up. But damn exxy. Will stick with my DIY brazier.
AnswerID: 551782

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 08:17

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 08:17
Hi Roachie
We have had ours for over two years and use is all the time both at home and camping.
Just bought the stand to get it of the ground by about 110mm
I have made a tripod to hang a camp oven over it with a chain to adjust bottom heat and it is easy to add more coals to the top of the oven.
So easy to shake out the ashes and brush clean.
Might be expensive but it will outlast me and have to be added to the will.
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 551784

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 12:44

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 12:44
Make sure you spell my name right then Stan. Don't want to be fighting your kids for it ;-)

FollowupID: 837317

Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 13:28

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 13:28
Haa Haa
Nice try Mick.
But you have to take the cat,the dogs and the chooks as well.

FollowupID: 837322

Reply By: Rod W - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 10:28

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 10:28
One good log and its going to be buggered.
AnswerID: 551792

Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 13:25

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 13:25
Wrong Rod
Had many logs and heatbeads in it so far including gidgee.
Mind you I thought the same think when I first started out with it.

FollowupID: 837321

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 19:27

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 19:27
Hi Bill

Good to see you back on the site after a very long break.

If you do not mind me asking, what did you pay for the unit?

Also did you have a look at the OzPig? They are a great Aussie invention, but the down side compared to your unit is the weight and size. But add a few extra feature like the Heat Beads basket and you have all bases covered.

AnswerID: 551828

Reply By: Nigel Migraine - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 21:13

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 21:13
This is one of those "more money than sense" products.
AnswerID: 551832

Reply By: jdpatrol - Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 22:29

Monday, Mar 30, 2015 at 22:29
I checked out the website and video. Impressive gear for sure. Be good at home but can someone please say why buy this for camping rather than just dig a hole in the ground.

Do caravan parks allow it? Also, is it helpful regarding fire laws anywhere (not in SA and Vic at least - law says dig 30cm deep hole etc during fire restriction season).

Sorry, just trying to understand benefits here.

AnswerID: 551836

Reply By: Jayk At - Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015 at 13:58

Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015 at 13:58
Just spent a week away and used our new Snow Peak fire pit every night.

It's a total cracker.

I was interested to see how good a fire we could build up - i.e. something to keep warm by and not just cooking coals - but we piled on the logs and had a very hot and warming camp-fire. All this in the middle of a camp ground on the grass in front of our set up. When we packed up we left no evidence of there ever having been a fire there at all.

Yep, it is ridiculously expensive but the build quality is excellent and the easy clean and very flat pack away make perfect for us.

Jeff
Why? ... Why not?

AnswerID: 551850