Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

tools

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 22:10

Gunnie

Hi all I will be going camping with my Fam soon .
I have a GQ Patrol and was wondering does any one have a list of most common Mech tools I should take with me as a tool kit can any one help me Please

Thank Gunnie
Advertisement
ThreadID: 11750 Replies: 7
Views: 432 FollowUps: 2
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 52894   Submitted: Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 00:23

Member - MightyQ replied:

G'day Gunnie, I'm sure most of us members at ExplorOz would delight in giving you 'our' list but to stop any arguments why don't you go to the heading 'Vehicle Requirments' and look under Spare Parts & Tools there is a huge list there for you to choose from.
Hope that helps
MightyQ
Reply 1 of 7
AnswerID: 52901   Submitted: Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 07:10

rolande replied:

A wide floppy hat, a cool drink and a sat phone to let some other bugger fix it while I enjoy myself, LOL
Rolande
Reply 2 of 7
AnswerID: 52906   Submitted: Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 08:26

Member - Bob replied:

Gunnie,
some Toyota driver is going to say Block and Tackle, so as a Landie driver I'll just save them the trouble :-)
Reply 3 of 7
AnswerID: 52916   Submitted: Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 10:26

Member - Jeffrey replied:

Hi Gunnie,
Realisticly,...you can only really do minor roadside repairs..IMHO before you venture out into our beutiful country have you truck serviced ask the mech is there anything you should know ? Take the tools the manuel says and if you can travel with friends and ofcourse take reliable comunications,I mean you can take everthing you could think of and then you would have no room for anything else.40 mins in the driveway compared to hours in the bush!! Good Luck.
All The Best In Health And Wealth
Jefrrey (AKA JD)
It's hard to soar like an Eagle
When your surrounded by Turkey's
Reply 4 of 7
Activities Index
Facial Treatment - 60 Minutes Facial Treatment - 60 Minutes
Canberra - INT
'Face' it, this is a great gift and everyone 'nose' that we're not just being 'cheeky'!
120 Minute 737 Airline Adventure 120 Minute 737 Airline Adventure
Hobart - TAS
Take a fully-fledged airline flight in the flight deck of a life-size 737 Flight Simulator.
Rally Driving in a Suburu WRX - Full Day (QLD) Rally Driving in a Suburu WRX - Full Day (QLD
Brisbane - QLD
It takes around 10 years to reach the top in rallying and this is the first step!
Island Cruise in Paradise Island Cruise in Paradise
Gold Coast - QLD
Island Cruise in Paradise - 3.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 52950   Submitted: Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 16:03

Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) replied:

Do what I do & travel with a mate who's a deisel mech & carries half his work shop on trips, I supply the beer & he fix's whats broke
Regards Bob
Where to next
Reply 5 of 7
FollowupID: 314753   Submitted: Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 20:58

duncs posted:

Looking at your member pic I figure your mate is on a pretty good deal

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 314816   Submitted: Saturday, Apr 03, 2004 at 10:26

Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) posted:

He sure is , he looks after our trucks to , has done for 17 yrs top guy & brilliant mechanic
Regards Bob
Where to next
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 52971   Submitted: Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 18:40

KiwiAngler replied:

http://www.desertaccess.com.au/html/what_to_take.html
Reply 6 of 7
AnswerID: 52992   Submitted: Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 21:06

duncs replied:

Gunnie,

There are a couple of schools of thought here. Some say carry enough to do a full rebuild. I know a guy who carries a spare clutch kit!!! Then again he does drive a troopy.

My experience suggests that whatever you prepare for won't break it will be something else. Murphy lives in the bush.

I carry a full socket set and a realtively small toolbox tightly packed with a pile of mixed spanners, pliers, screwdrivers etc etc. Also I never clean out the toolbox. All those odd nuts bolts and bits of wire that end up in the bottom can come in very handy. I once did a temp repair on a steering linkage with a bit of 3/4 copper pipe and a 2inch nail. A good head is probably the most important tool you can carry.

Your driving a GQ you probably wont need anything. Then again he copper pipe and nail were used on a GQ.

Duncs.
Reply 7 of 7

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website