Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Winch battery,, which one?

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 12:45

GeeTee

Hi all, I have just fitted and electric winch and would like advice on which battery to connect it to. I have a dual battery set up ( Arrid ie. batteries not paralleled )

Regards GeeTee
Advertisement
ThreadID: 13415 Replies: 4
Views: 405 FollowUps: 8
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 61492   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 13:25

Truckster (Vic) replied:

What sort of car?

Exide Extreme is VERY good..
Reply 1 of 4
FollowupID: 323038   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 20:09

GeeTee posted:

Hi Truckster, Winch is a Warn Magnum 9000 fitted to Prado 3l turbo diesel. Had an Exide Extreme but died after about a year, no reason ... not over or under charged, used for Chescold and thats about it.

GeeTee
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 323066   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 22:36

Mad Dog (Victoria) posted:

Maybe been cycled too deeply once too often. Thats the problem, cranking batts don't like a deep discharge, need a deep cycle for that but some find they accept a charge too slow. Hybrid batts which I think the extreme is don't do anything very well. Don't you get a 2yr warranty with it.

FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 323073   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 22:59

Truckster (Vic) posted:

Mate I 4b with has had his 2 yrs, not a problem...

FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 323079   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 23:43

Mad Dog (Victoria) posted:

Would depend on how it's used. I couldn't imagine it lasting long if deep cycled often. I thought my blasted cranking battery was in good nick also till yesterday when it failed. I suspect a mechanical failure from vibrations. I'm pleased it went south, just a cheapo that came with the vehicle.

FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 61494   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 13:27

srowlandson replied:

Main battery (Cranking)

It is used to the Deep Discharging and will get the bulk of the Alternator Charge.

Reply 2 of 4
FollowupID: 323035   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 20:06

GeeTee posted:

Thanks Steve, Thats the way I was thinking. Guy's that fitted the winch gave me the option of either .. their call was the secondary. Will swap over tomorrow, leads are long enough.

GeeTee
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 61519   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 16:32

Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) replied:

Steve's right , cranging battery & use with engine running as it uses heaps of power
Regards Bob
Where to next
Reply 3 of 4
FollowupID: 323040   Submitted: Thursday, Jun 03, 2004 at 20:10

GeeTee posted:

Thanks for the tip. Makes sense to keep the engine going ! !

GeeTee
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 323112   Submitted: Friday, Jun 04, 2004 at 09:46

Cruza posted:

Are there any safety issues with keeping the engine running while using the winch? I thought it would make sense to leave it running but thought that was too obvious and must be unsafe or not recommended?
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 323164   Submitted: Friday, Jun 04, 2004 at 15:52

Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) posted:

Just have someone steering
Regards Bob
Where to next
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 61840   Submitted: Saturday, Jun 05, 2004 at 16:30

Member - DOZER replied:

Another starting battery is best for a winch. They draw 3-400 amps at full load. Another good thing is a smart solenoid that joins both batteries when the winch is motored in.
Keep the motor running if you can.

Click Image to Enlarge
b4 you bag me out, walk a mile in my shoes, then your a mile away and have my shoes :)
Reply 4 of 4
Activities Index
Dreamworld & WhiteWater World - 2 Day World Pass Dreamworld & WhiteWater World - 2 Day World P
Gold Coast - QLD
2 Day World Pass provides unlimited entry over 2 days between both Dreamworld and WhiteWater World.
BBQ Game & Poultry Class BBQ Game & Poultry Class
Sydney - NSW
Always wanted to know how to cook a perfect chook on the BBQ?
Flying Trapeze - Sunshine Coast Flying Trapeze - Sunshine Coast
Sunshine Coast - QLD
Ever wanted to run away with the circus? Come and try your hand at all things trapeze.
Manly Bike Tour Manly Bike Tour
Sydney - NSW
Try something different and spend an afternoon cycling along the pituresque coastal paths of Sydney'
Book Now - Things To Do