Tasmanian Spirits into Geelong

Submitted: Friday, Apr 24, 2020 at 14:52
ThreadID: 139936 Views:10662 Replies:8 FollowUps:7
Great news for travellers to and from Tasmania......when we're finally allowed to travel again.
Spirit of Tasmania ships from 2022 will dock at Geelong, instead of Port Melbourne. A slight inconvenience for central city Melbourne residents, but for everyone else in the country travelling to or from Tasmania the new terminal will provide a much better access and avoid all the chaotic traffic of the existing waterfront terminal in Port Melbourne.
Wildmax
2018 Hilux and Black Wolf 210 tent - for the outback tracks less travelled
Formerly an AOR Eclipse and a TVan

Back Expand Un-Read 4 Moderator

Reply By: rumpig - Friday, Apr 24, 2020 at 19:55

Friday, Apr 24, 2020 at 19:55
When I took my 4wd and camper trailer to Tassie a few years ago, I had no issues with where the port currently is, seemed like a pretty easy place to get to off the freeway IMO. We (myself and a mate who also had his 4wd and camper in tow) parked up beside the beach there for over half the day for less then $20 from memory, we enjoyed our day by the beach waiting for loading time to arrive.
AnswerID: 631172

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Friday, Apr 24, 2020 at 23:10

Friday, Apr 24, 2020 at 23:10
It's nice to have a link or two - Spirit of Tasmania to move Victorian operations from Port Melbourne to Geelong

New Victorian home for Spirit of Tasmania

AnswerID: 631176

Reply By: GarryR - Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 07:25

Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 07:25
The Port of Melbourne was good for us, as it is central to most things. By moving the docking to Geelong, it disadvantages those that live in Eastern Victoria. It will now take an extra 1 1/2 for us to travel there as well as the extra cost of using CityLink, as the twincab ute is classified as a commercial vechile and not a passenger vechile. Hence double the cost, as well as extra fuel etc. No good complaining about it as it is going to happen anyway. I was just stating my thoughts about some of the mentallity of some beauacrats. The majority of the Melbourne population is on the eastern or south eastern part of Victoria.
location - Warragul -Victoria
life is too short, so out and about enjoy

AnswerID: 631179

Follow Up By: Members - Bow - Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 07:47

Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 07:47
Most Australians will come from the west or north.
Anything is better than going to Melbourne.
FollowupID: 907158

Follow Up By: Kenell - Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 08:44

Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 08:44
I'm not far from you GarryR so we are similarly impacted. We have family in Tas and travel down there a bit and yes it will be an inconvenience for us too. It has always been apparent to me though that Melbourne doesn't cater for passenger sea traffic. We have done 2 or 3 cruises including to some third world ports and it embarrasses me when I look at our port facilities by comparison. We were boarding the Spirit a couple of years ago on a day sailing and it was absolute chaos on the surrounding streets at 6.00am as the arriving vehicles fought the boarding vehicles for positions. To complicate matters all boarding had to stop as the Queen Mary attempted to dock and the passengers coming ashore became caught up in the confusion. I wondered what these people must have been thinking as their first impressions of Australia's second largest city. There were tour guides, buses, cabs, collecting the tourists and mixing it with the cars, caravans and semis trying to board.
As I understand it the Spirit operators couldn't agree on terms (read costs) with the port authorities so accepted a tender from Geelong where there will be facilities specific to the Spirit's requirements apparently. This forum is peppered with requests from non Vic travellers on how to get to the boat and where to stay before boarding etc. Perhaps Geelong will better be able to cater for the travellers arriving ahead of sailing and arriving vehicles can avoid the early morning traffic around the city / toll roads etc as they start their travels north.
I also understand that the TT Line is heavily subsidised by the Tas government so cost savings achieved by going to Geelong will offset the inconvenience and costs people like us will experience by travelling down there.
Incidentally I hear your pain with the tolls for your ute. It doesn't impact me but it is a crazy situation.
FollowupID: 907159

Follow Up By: Member - Wildmax - Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 11:35

Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 11:35
Certainly there will be some inconvenience for those in parts of Melbourne, but the further east you go the Queenscliff option becomes more viable - that's how we go to and from our son on the Mornington Peninsula, rather than battling though the Melbourne traffic.
I think on balance this change will be a benefit for the vast majority of Tasmanians travelling north, and people from all Australian states heading south, with the exception of a share of urban Victorians.
At least we will have a decent, purpose built terminal and (importantly for Tasmania) a modern and efficient freight centre.
All of which is academic right now, because we can't travel anywhere :-(
Wildmax

FollowupID: 907162

Reply By: birdnerd - Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 08:30

Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 08:30
We love the idea as we live in Geelong!
AnswerID: 631182

Reply By: Mark C9 - Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 12:58

Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 12:58
Most have missed the point that freight is the big winner here. Think of the truckies that have to fight traffic just to get to the wharf
Most of the spirit’s income comes from freight (which isn’t subsidised) and passengers just make up the numbers. Nomad travel is a huge asset to Tassie and that’s why its subsidised
AnswerID: 631195

Follow Up By: Kenell - Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 08:43

Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 08:43
Mark C9 - I am not sure that the freight benefits will be all that significant. I would have thought Geelong is less accessible for the trucks coming from the north and east than the docks in Melbourne are. The port isn't far from the major arterials. The extra 70ks each way after exiting the Hume (if they are coming from the north) compared to Port Melbourne is lost time for them and they still need to negotiate some of the Melbourne traffic (Western Ring Road etc) before exiting to the Geelong Freeway. There is also a significant manufacturing and supply network in the industrial suburbs to the east of the port. As GarryR rightly mentioned a large percentage of Melbourne's population is east of the city. TT Line earns $146m from passenger ferrying and $96m from freight according to its annual report.
The benefits to Tas from we travelling nomads on the Spirit as you say is the state's bread n butter and thats why our cars are subsidised on the ferry.
FollowupID: 907175

Follow Up By: Member - Wildmax - Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 09:20

Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 09:20
Kennel, trucks will come round the ring road and avoid heaps of congestion
Wildmax

FollowupID: 907179

Follow Up By: Kenell - Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 09:36

Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 09:36
I agree Wildmax that is the obvious route for north incoming traffic but when you combine the traffic on the ring road with the Geelong Freeway (depending on time of day) and 70 kms each way extra travel it will exceed the congestion time loss I reckon. Don't get me wrong I am actually an advocate for the change despite my personal inconvenience. My main point is that TT Line is primarily a passenger / tourist business and freight is secondary. For tourism travellers I think it will be a significant improvement and will particularly avert the mess around Station Pier when the tourist boats come in.
FollowupID: 907181

Reply By: Member - rocco2010 - Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 14:19

Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 14:19
In an ideal world I would be on the ferry back from Tasmania tomorrow night.

Well before my trip was canceled I had been researching what was involved in getting to Port Melbourne and I have to say the idea of parking on a wharf at Geelong next to the ship sounds a lot more convenient. For me.

I note that the new facility won't be open until 2022 but that won't prompt me to put off my holiday from next year if travel is possible. I'll take my chances in Melbourne traffic.

Hopefully by then WA is letting travellers back in without quarantine.

Take care people
AnswerID: 631197

Reply By: Life Member - Talawana - Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 22:36

Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 at 22:36
We are loving it, as we live in Geelong.
Marion
Talawana
VKS Selcall 2691

AnswerID: 631209

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 08:24

Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 08:24
If you follow the links, it is Corio not Geelong, close but no cigar. Will be much much easier for trucks and vans etc to access. I emailed TT Line with the suggestion to have a dedicated over night parking area for vans and campers etc, hopefully they take the suggestion onboard.

AnswerID: 631222

Follow Up By: Member - Wildmax - Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 09:23

Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 09:23
Corio terminal will be just on Melb side of Geelong, so travellers don't have to go thru Geeling CBD.
And agree Jihn, overnight parking is a good idea
Wildmax

FollowupID: 907180