Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

4th of July

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 04, 2004 at 12:32

Willem

On the 4th of July 1987, myself, my mate Judith and our friend Dave reached the Geographical Centre of the Simpson Desert where we erected an aluminium pole with plaque commemorating our trip. We drove there in 2 Suzuki Sierra 1300 JX's.

Excerpt from my website and article 'The Spinifex Trail'............
"After reading books by Madigan and Bonython and a recent article by Dennis Bartell, we decided to visit the Geographical Centre of the Simpson Desert and to do a north/south crossing. Now this centre, rightly or wrongly, has been suggested to be Latitude 25 degrees 22 minutes South and Longitude 137 degrees 5 minutes east, by Messrs Bonython and Bartell and for our purpose we chose that position."

Time flies......... Wouldn't mind going out there again but not in the G60! Would need a fuel tanker in tow lol
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to get a rabbit

Advertisement
ThreadID: 14360 Replies: 2
Views: 364 FollowUps: 9
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 66386   Submitted: Sunday, Jul 04, 2004 at 13:06

Mad Dog (Victoria) replied:

Yeah I read it some time ago. Makes great reading Willem.

Reply 1 of 2
FollowupID: 327178   Submitted: Sunday, Jul 04, 2004 at 13:41

Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) posted:

Hey Ray - if you don't mind me saying so..... You are a real cutie!
Yes - Luke's got a bigger one than me
Click Image to Enlarge
2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
FollowUp 1 of 8
FollowupID: 327181   Submitted: Sunday, Jul 04, 2004 at 14:11

Mad Dog (Victoria) posted:

Yeah but wait till I grow up :)

That's my oldest daughter at 3.5 yrs old....nearly 5 now.

I must take another pic of her :)

FollowUp 2 of 8
FollowupID: 327203   Submitted: Sunday, Jul 04, 2004 at 15:32

Lone Wolf posted:

Andrew & Jen. Clicked on the Rig ( cake ) Pic......... count the candles on the cake......

Is there actually a cake under that lot?

Okay...... I'm a runnin' now!

Leaping Wolf
FollowUp 3 of 8
FollowupID: 327211   Submitted: Sunday, Jul 04, 2004 at 15:40

Muddy 'doe (SA) posted:

I'm with you Wolfie,

I thought they had lit a bonfire! Bring on the marshmellows.....

Click Image to Enlarge
Playdoe GXL TD Manual with lots of MUD
FollowUp 4 of 8
FollowupID: 327215   Submitted: Sunday, Jul 04, 2004 at 16:11

Hey Lone Wolf and Muddy'Doe,

Hope you are not implying I am old with all those candles!!!LOL
My kids decorated it lovingly with 35 candles, and yes, it was a bit of a bonfire, managed to burn a couple of holes in the tablecloth!! But they had great fun trying to blow/spit them out.!!........the cake retained an extra layer of icing LOL Gotta love the kids.

Jen
Click Image to Enlarge
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
FollowUp 5 of 8
FollowupID: 327244   Submitted: Sunday, Jul 04, 2004 at 21:15

Allan Mac (VIC) posted:

Yeah, I posted a query about the candles the day of "THE" Birthday and was greated with deathly silence...reckon the cake might have been overcooked by the time the candles were blown/spat out. Just another thought too .... Reckon that the cake might have deflected attention away from the fact that somebody forgot the birthday and failed in the present situation ?? Just a thought
FollowUp 6 of 8
FollowupID: 327250   Submitted: Sunday, Jul 04, 2004 at 21:48

Cmon Allan - she's nearly forgotten about that I reckon!

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 7 of 8
FollowupID: 327252   Submitted: Sunday, Jul 04, 2004 at 21:57

Allan Mac (VIC) posted:

Sorry mate.. could help myself..
FollowUp 8 of 8
AnswerID: 66613   Submitted: Monday, Jul 05, 2004 at 23:33

Member Colin - NSW Bungendore replied:

Memories !!
Willem
You may have read my post about our trip to the Calvert Ra/CSR about 2 weeks ago. We spent 6 days in at the Calverts - 4 Foresters and MY82 ?

On the way back we rediscovered a drum and plague my brother put beside the CSR to 'commemorate' being bogged there for 4 days.
It says 'Noah's camp - 4 subarus and a Hilux' - they had to drive the Hilux out to the west across country in a big arc and then attempt to extract the other cars from the south of the bog.
The drum is shown on the RAC map - but of course I have forgotten exactly where it is - Doh! - north of Well 10 I think?
We had a great trip - no dramas.
Colin

Click Image to Enlarge
Subaru Forester - "size isn't everything"
Reply 2 of 2
FollowupID: 327382   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 06, 2004 at 10:36

Willem posted:

HI Colin,

Yes I read your report with interest. I am still hoping to get out there to the Western Deserts in September. Carrying enough and obtaining fuel is a problem with the G60 in the remote country. Am looking at some alternatives.
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to get a rabbit

FollowUp 1 of 1

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website