Digi Cameras

Submitted: Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 09:51
ThreadID: 16525 Views:2866 Replies:23 FollowUps:24
With the missus in USA, Duty Free comes to mind. We dont smoke or drink much, both unhealthy enough as it is... We had a look at Melb airport when she tookoff at Downtown Duty Free, but there wasnt much there.

Want to see what the brains trust has out there.
What brand and model Digital Camera do you have?
How do you find it?
Do you wish you would have got another brand/model else instead?
What sorta cost was it?

Is a Digi SLR worth the extra coin with the depreciation of digi cameras dropping faster than a Brides nighty..

Thanks.

Reply By: flappan - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:03

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:03
I've got a Fujifilm S3000. Very happy with it. Some of the guys I know are using the Fujifilm S7000. Up around $800 from memory.

you can get the specs here

http://www.fujifilm.co.uk/digital/cameras/

The Canon Powershots are a good camera.

Is Digi SLR worth it.

Depends ?

If you are really into Photography , and or , already have lenses from a normal SLR (Nikon and Canon mainly) , then Yes. The ability to use different lenses and reuse what you already have is good. Its the cost of lenses that really are the big thing.

If you are really a point and shoot , then NO , I wouldn't bother. Some of the more type end variety of DC's are a lot of manual changes you can make.
AnswerID: 77664

Reply By: Leroy - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:05

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:05
look at something with a 10 optical zoom like the Olympus c700? 4meg pixel. Forget about digital zoom as the pics loose quality when you zoom. Also try to get something that's compact. SLR's are bulky so you don't tend to carry them around as much as one that will fit in your pocket.
I personally have a Sony DSC 75 but have had it for 3+ years. Happy with the pics but would now like something smaller (and maybe a 10x optical zoom). Feature packed but found in the end I didn't use them all.

Leroy
AnswerID: 77665

Follow Up By: cwebb - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:43

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:43
I have the Olympus C-770 (current model)
I got it because its 4 MP (or 3.9MP to be precise), 10 X Optical, has a fitting for a external flash (even though it has 2 built in), and gives you plenty of SLR type manual features. Plus its sure a bit more compact than the digital SLR's! They like chewing the rechargable battery though, but you can buy extra batteries on ebay for $20!
FollowupID: 337274

Reply By: Member - Graham P (QLD) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:15

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:15
Hi Truckster, i too have been looking for digital and yesterday was speaking to a professional photographer who uses digital he claims that a minimum of 4.2 megapixels is required for reasonable shots - and the cannon is the best make.
However when buying o'seas remember there is no warranty claim in australia nor are parts available. I repair electronics and the aust agents do not recognise o'seas models and have no cross referance. That being said the failure rate of these things is very low so balance that against the potential savings.

Graham
AnswerID: 77667

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:05

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:05
Actually warranty does work from O/S. Did with the bloke I 4wd with his Canon. Even reading the warranty work on their site it said it does/did - saying that, that was 12 mths ago.
thanks for heads up..
FollowupID: 337267

Follow Up By: ToyMotor - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 19:41

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 19:41
Fuji definitely honour warranty from o/s purchases as well.

FollowupID: 337345

Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:21

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:21
Truckster,

I have a Sony DSCP-93. It is 5.1mp with 3x optical zoom.

It also takes 2xAA batteries. This means I can carry spares with me easily when I go on extended trips. These batteries last at least a week with constant use.

You can also get lense attachents. There are filters available as well as a 2x attachment (which means you will have 6x optical) and a .45 wideshot lens thingy.

Haven't bought these extras yet but I will as they enhance the ability of the camera greatly.

Come up on ebay regularly too.

AnswerID: 77669

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:25

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:25
Hiya Trucky

I've got a Sony cybershot DSC-P92 - 5megapixel..takes great shots but only 3xzoom.[also takes mpegs]..would love one that was 10x zoom but this is light and compact and at the moment is all that I require..we went for the Sony as we already had mem sticks for our sony digi handycam..and were impressed by them..I managed to get if for $550.00

Lyn
AnswerID: 77670

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:36

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:36
Hey Truckster we have the Sony F828, 8 mega pixel with video capability, great camera got it through ebay $500 cheaper with 256 & 512 memory stick takes two cards they were $2500 retail now about $1700 but we paid $1500 the Canon was about the same, it was a toss up between the Sony or the Canon 300D, we have lenses for the 300D from our EOS 300 so we might get that too. As for the cost, compared to analog the digi has already paid for itself just in developing costs alone and you can just delete the pix that you don't like, just as an (eg) with the Sony set at 3 mega pixels you can take 3000 photo's, download them to laptop and away you go again and at 3 mega pixel it can be blown up to A3 size. There are some great digi cameras out there this was just our choice we love it.

AnswerID: 77672

Reply By: locallaw - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:44

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:44
Gidday truckster,On the subject of brides nighties when I was married 44 years ago the nightie was still in the luggage bag.I think that as you get older then the nightie will be on and off more often.And as your ball and chain is in the good ole US of A you have no problems with the nightie(you dont wear it do you!!!!!!!!)lol.
Seeya Locallaw
AnswerID: 77673

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:58

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:58
Should have mentinoed we have a FUJI S602Z already, but would like one each, as she has ours with her in USA is useless to me here.

Thanks for ideas so far. keep em cummin.
AnswerID: 77676

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 17:41

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 17:41
Truckster, I liked the Baz camera and it's output. Have a Sony too but will have to upgrade sometime. I would only go for the in-camera batteries as the AA batteries and the like don't have the lasting power.

Baz or at least Vanessas camera really had great movies (MPEG) too. Don't know whether you would use that part though ;-)

Now you should search the archives mate...............
FollowupID: 337337

Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 00:51

Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 00:51
JohnR,

When I bought my Sony DSCP-93 I was suprised how long the batteries last. It takes 2xAA. I bought it with the intention of being able to take extra AA batteries with me however even with heaps of use on trips away I don't need any spares as they last so long. They last longer than my brothers Canon Ixus 500 with its lithium battery (new). However I think the AA cameras have gotten better battery life in the current models than the older models as the DSCP-92 was what mine replaced and it didn't get near my DSCP-93 battery life with the same batteries. Guess technology is getting better :-)
FollowupID: 337421

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:02

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:02
Canon A80 - About $800 in Oz. - 4 megapixels - lots of functions - swivelling LCD display - AVI movies up to 3 minutes* - takes AA NiMH batteries - flashcard storage. I think brand, megapixels, battery type and storage mode are the main issues to look for (in that order I reckon). * AVI is a very basic movie format - best to use a tripod and don't expect great quality.
AnswerID: 77677

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:04

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:04
Gday mate,

Have you got a video camera yet? If not, for a few extra coins you can get a great video camera that doubles as a camera.

I just purchased a Sony DCRDVD201 video camera that's a video camera and digi camera in one, puts all info straight onto the DVD and it's going currently for around $1,900 but I picked it up duty free 4 weeks ago on a quick trip to N.Z for $1,400. Used one previously and it's awesome for day out 4wd playing, point, record and chuck on dvd player when home straight away, and they with the re-writable dvd's, you can rewind and record over. For digi photos:

Approximate Recording Capacity (Single sided 8 cm 1.4GB)

Still Mode on DVD-RW/R: 640x480 Fine: 5100 pictures
Still Mode on DVD-RW/R: 640x480 Standard: 8100 pictures
Still Mode on DVD-RW/R: 1152x864 Fine: 2150 pictures
Still Mode on DVD-RW/R: 1152x864 Standard: 4100 pictures

Just another option mate,

Chris.
AnswerID: 77678

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:14

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:14
Truckster,

I have just in the last month picked up a Pentax *ist D digital SLR (i already had a Pentax MX-50 so can just use my existing lenses) I am just back from giving it a good work out in Cairns.

Certainly for my use, a digital SLR was the only choice, but am also now looking to get a smaller compact one.

A mate of mine has a Nikon D-100 and he couldn't be happier with it. Both the D-100 and the *ist D use the same imaging CCD, so their is little difference in picture quality between the two.

The only gripe I have is the photoshop plugin for the Pentax RAW format and the browser software you get with it. The way the plugin interacts makes it difficult to batch convert the RAW files to another format (I am still yet to find a way to actually get a batch convert to work as I can't even see an option in Pentax's software). Nikon View, Nikon Capture and the photoshop plugin for Nikon's RAW format are a hell of a lot better. But if you are only shooting to TIFF or JPEG then this is not an issue as you can easily use a 3rd party product.

But software aside, the camera itself is great, but if you are only after something that can handle "Happy Snaps" then the Fuji S3000 or higher would be fine (believe this model has been superseeded - could be wrong). My folks were looking at getting one.

http://centre.net.au have pretty good prices. Best I managed to find for the Pentax (they are located at Tullamarine).

cheers,
Sam.
AnswerID: 77680

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:25

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:25
Batch conversions I use Thumbs + :) it works.

Nice unit.. too rich for me though ;)

The s3000 is still available Price: $362.36
Specs
FollowupID: 337269

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:18

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:18
I'll have a look at Thumbs +

It looks a useful tool to have, although I can't find any mention of it supporting PEF files (Pentax's RAW format). I notice it does have partial support for NEF's though (Nikon's RAW format).

One can but only try.

thanks for that.

must be old stock on the S3000, cause its been superceeded by the 3500 now

FollowupID: 337315

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:22

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:22
WHERE IS THAT EDIT FUNCTION DAVE!!

I should also mention I like a camera that feels like a camera, not one of them Matchbox sized things..
I also want at least 6-8x Optical Zoom. Its worth it!

Been checkin out http://www.dpreview.com/ good site!

So far Im liking (all from http://www.dirtcheapcameras.com.au/
Fuji FINEPIX S7000 - Fujinon 6x (35-210mm) optical zoom
[ View Image]

Would love a Sony F828 but $1700 :(
[ View Image]

Nikon Coolpix 5700 - Newly designed 8x Zoom-Nikkor lens with 8.9-71.2mm coverage (equivalent to 35-280mm in 35mm [135] format);
[ View Image]
AnswerID: 77682

Follow Up By: flappan - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:14

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:14
Thats why I picked the Fuji S3000 over the Canon A75 . . . It feels and looks like a Camera

As I said ,I have had my Fuji since Xmas. Cost me $500 back then. The bigger Bros , are now around that mark.

I would certainly recommend the Fuji series.
FollowupID: 337285

Follow Up By: Rod W - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:29

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:29
Truckster,
I was going to suggest the www.dpreview site, that’s what convinced me to buy my Sony 707. The feed back on this site was nothing but praise. The 707 is the earlier version of the F828. It’s been an absolute brilliant camera.

After you get a decent digi (5mg plus), you'll need a decent printer (6 colours). I regret not getting an A3 printer.
FollowupID: 337288

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:58

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:58
Truckster, have a look on Ebay according to the guys that import them from Asia there under $1000 there only expencive in Australia, get your wife to check out the price in the US. Ours was 1500 with the memory cards.

FollowupID: 337297

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:01

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:01
Sorry thats the Sony F828 they are a great camera.

FollowupID: 337298

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:15

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:15
Yea baz, was going to do that too :)~

Hmmm several GPS, as well maybe... Who wants to be a millionare..
FollowupID: 337314

Reply By: newb - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:23

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:23
I work in the camera section of my local department store...

email me if you want specifics but my general recommendation for a good "small" travel camera is the Olympus C-770 Ultra Zoom in Black - 4MP, 10x Optical Zoom - (because it comes packed with a 128mb XD card as opposed to a 16/32mb card for thesilver model). RRP $849 But you could easily pick one up for a bit less...

Digital SLRs are quite expensive and id really only recommend it if you are an enthusiest.
If you are looking down that road the Canon EOS 300D and Nikon D70 are your cameras of choice (I have a D70) at around $2000 and $2300 respectively Dont go above that unless you plan to marry your camera, or have a very fat wallet.
I cant remember what lens the Canon comes with but the nikon has a simple 18-50 lens, so id say youd need another maybe 70-200mm lens for it to be useful (around $500 for a low end lens)

Someone mentioned the Fuji series, theres the s3000, s5000, s7000 and some new models being released soon, i think they are s3500, s5500 etc not sure what the new models will bring, but the old ones perform well for the money, and the lenses can be adapted. i think we have a packaged s3000 for around $450 with bag and extra 128mb card and what not, only cos we're clearing them... so they are great value, but already similar specs have been packaged in more conventional cameras....

The Canon Powershot A85 is worth a look.
So is the Canon Ixus 500 (5mp 3x Optical Zoom) theyre very popular and use CF cards which are half the price for the same volume card compared to other media (xD,SD) And theyre a very small camera.

Sony are great but very expensive, and unless you are going for looks, you'll find what you need in another brand camera for less. Except maybe the W1 and T11, which are amazing :p (5mp, 3x OZ, and about 1cm and 2.5cm thick respectively)

People tell you that AA batteries are better... not usually the case. We sell 4 pack AA's with charger for about $100 for the good ones. Most brand cameras with their own batteries will sell for about $40 and most cameras come with a cradle charger that u can plug into most sources... dont use regular AAs in ur camera. Batteries really arent an issue when selecting a camera, unless you plan to lose them all the time!

my email is "danny" at "internode" dot "on" dot "net" if anyone wants camera info.
or check out www.dpreview.com

p.s sorry about the rant
AnswerID: 77683

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:27

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:27
Are there any that allow panoramic photos?
FollowupID: 337270

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:00

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:00
Most cams come with 'stiching' software so you can join pics together to get a panoramic shot.

Leroy
FollowupID: 337280

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:53

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:53
used a disposable panoramic camera the other day, came out awesome... that was the reason.

have had a go at 'stitching' but I have 0 talent at that sorta chit... Change setting would be nice :) but if not then poo.
FollowupID: 337294

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 17:50

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 17:50
Truckster, Heather has a "supposed" multiformat camera that slices either the sides for a narrow format or the top and bottom off prints to make a wide angle. It degrades the actual print quality significantly so I always ask to keep the standard format...........

There always used to be some expensive wide angle cameras of course that would probably be collectors editions now. I have seen some of those.
FollowupID: 337338

Reply By: newb - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:40

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:40
from memory the Canon A85 does, along with its predecessor models... Apparently the C770 does too, but i havent been able to find the option just by playing with it... ill get back to you on that one.

If you are looking at cameras in the style of the F828, then pay the extra cash for the Canon Eos300d the pictures from an SLR will win hands down every time compared to a point and shoot camera, albiet a very advanced one.
AnswerID: 77684

Follow Up By: cwebb - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:50

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:50
The C770 does support Pano, but often certain features are not available when the Auto mode is selected. If you actually change the mode to Landscape (where funnily enough is when you want to take pano's!), then you'll see that the option comes up in the menu.
Forgot to add before I like the Olympus as it has a fairly decent screen size, the second largest I've seen on a non Digital SLR camera. The only camera I've seen with a bigger screen is the now superseded (but still available) Kodak DX6490, which is also a good camera, with good battery life and 4MP, 10 X Optical, etc.
FollowupID: 337277

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:02

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:02
I thought bride's nighties went up, and off, not down, Truckster?

Been doing a lot of homework on this subject, and found out we need, or wanted 4 or 5 meg, and preferably 10x zoom.

Wife now has a Sony DSC-W1, which is 5.1 meg, and 3x zoom. Really impressed with clarity, Bruce, and she has blown photos up to A4, with excellent results. The Bride has had no probs downloading to her 'puter, and printing same. Have a staff member who has a Canon Ixus 300 or 400(?) with 3 meg, and 3x Zoom. Takes good photos, and is nice, weighty camera.

Beauty of the small cameras, is they can fit in your pocket, and don't always need the bloody big bag, hanging off your shoulder. Wish I'd had one of these digi's, when i worked in the Kimberly, about 30 years ago, with all the wild cattle, throwing, camp life and THE SCENERY!!

I've been looking at either Kodak something, w/- 10x zoom, or Olympus 770 , or 740 w/- 10x zoom also. Out here in west Qld, you need plenty of zoom, in some instances.

For the Sony, we bought a Power Tech Plus Ni-MH charger, 12v or 240v, from Jaycar, and 2 extra AA's 2300maH batteries. Working well at moment.

My Pentax MZ-60, with 2 zoom lens will be dropping the bottom lip, with all this talk of digi cameras. Kodak has already done the dummy spit down your way. We've had some problems with getting films developed, especially if you want cd's too. In 5 years or less, there won't be too much film available anywhere.

You're not playing up too much while the Family's away are you?

Hooroo...

AnswerID: 77689

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:47

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:47
Me? play up?
going out on town tomorrow night :)
FollowupID: 337292

Reply By: Des Lexic - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:13

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:13
Don't need to tell you about the dpreview site but I have an Olympus C740. 3megpixels and 10x optic zoom. I'm very happy with the quality and A4 prints are superb. Only fault is auto focus at night is crap but can manually change.
Had it for 18months now and I'm really happy with it.
Whatever you get, make sure it's from a reputable well known camera manufacturer except kodak. Film might be good but crap camera's.
AnswerID: 77703

Follow Up By: Allfour4x4 - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:33

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 20:33
DL,
Have one of these also, great camera.
But, haven't they dropped in price! Paid a shade under 1,000 big ones, at the time, and thought I'd done a deal. What are they now, mid 4's
Glenn B.
FollowupID: 337357

Reply By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 16:37

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 16:37
My wife has been looking at digital cameras for her magazine layout work and didital slr is the way to go if you have got the lenses .( canon rebel 300D )
AnswerID: 77715

Follow Up By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 16:45

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 16:45
Also with a SLR lens , lets say 300mm on a digital camera the lens would actually be equivalent to a 480 mm lens on a non digital SLR . (equation 300 x 1.6) .
FollowupID: 337333

Reply By: rolande- Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 16:59

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 16:59
If family is near or has access to New York, there is a large photo shop there that guarantees too have what you want in the store, photographer mate says they are the cheapest he has found, (spent 5 years as cruise ship photographer), may be worth the effort. Someone over the should know of them, I can't remember the name. Stick with major brands, sometimes its the little engineering things that make the difference just when you need them, such as battery type and power usage.
Rolande
AnswerID: 77720

Follow Up By: ToyMotor - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 19:50

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 19:50
B&H I think...

FollowupID: 337348

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 21:38

Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 21:38
Sadly they are in Sth Dakota.. 1 hour from Mt Rushmore in Hot Srings.. Pop:not many
FollowupID: 337462

Reply By: Peter 2 - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 21:11

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 21:11
We've got a Fuji S7000, takes awesome pics, either CF or XD cards, AA Nimh x4 which can be charged anywhere and 2000mah or better last well.
We've had it for a few months now and it has taken over 2000 pics so far.
Also takes good clear movies with sound which is a plus.
AnswerID: 77750

Reply By: Member- Peter & Mrs Peter, Lez - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 23:01

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 23:01
Truckster,
Have Canon G5 myself, feels and looks like a camera, made in Japan. Long lasting rechargeable battery and can do more than the average person could imagine. Can be used simply as point and shoot, or as technical as you like.
Cheers Peter
AnswerID: 77770

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 21:02

Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 21:02
I was lookin at the G5 when I got mine.
The only issue is lack of Optical Zoom...

Thanks for the tip anyway :)
FollowupID: 337459

Reply By: Croozer - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 23:20

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 23:20
Truckster,
I have had an Olympus C740 for almost 2 years and its been great. Main reasons for purchasing this camera were, 10x optical zoom and it uses AA batteries (I have 8 batteries & charge 4 while using the other 4) which can also be used in gps etc.

Stu
AnswerID: 77771

Reply By: Poe - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 08:35

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 08:35
Truckster,

I've got a Pentax Optio 550 link text which has now been superceded by the Optio 555 link text and which is great. It's 5MP with 5X optical zoom, very long battery life, fits easily into a pocket (didn't bring my SLR with many as it was too big and heavy), and has a very solid build.

A rellie after seeing this camera decided to go digital but wanted 10X optical zoom (for nature pics) and went for a Canon S1 IS link text
which is gives absolutely wonderful pictures. Far better for pics in low light than my Optio, and slightly bigger (fits into a large pocket).

He showed me a pic of a batman on the pitch from the grandstands and it was amazing. It has an anti-shake thingy in it so no tripod is needed at full zoom.

If mine ever breaks, I'd get the Optio 555 (as size IS important to me), or if I get bigger pockets I'd go the Canon S1 IS.

Poe :)
AnswerID: 77787

Follow Up By: Poe - Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 08:41

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 08:41
Sorry, my goodly English is not so goodly ... been away too long.

Poe :)
FollowupID: 337376

Reply By: Rob M- Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 09:48

Saturday, Sep 25, 2004 at 09:48
Truckster,
We have an Olympus C750 10X optical zoom and 4X digital zoom, excellent quality photos very hard on batteries, aluminium casing is strong and the size feels good. Also available external flash, wide angle and telephoto lens, dont know if these are available for many other digitals. Just came back from central Aus. and the Simpson, the wide angle paid for itself many times over.
Rob.
Rob M

AnswerID: 77792