Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

First 4x4 to cross Simpson Desert was a NissanPatroll

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 07:40

Willem

I am reading the book The Simpson Desert, Natural History and Human Endeavour by Mark Shephard to refresh my knowledge of the vasrious crossings done by earlier explorers through the Simpson Desert.

The first 4x4 crossing of the desert was done from West to East in 1962 by Dr Reg Sprigg and his family driving a 3 speed Nissan(Datsun) Patrol while they were conducting gravity surveys for petroleum exploration. The book does not actually mention the vehicle I suggest but the photograph attributed to the the crossing has a soft top Patrol in it. Any Simpson lumenaries may correct me if I am wrong.

The book is fascinating reading and should be a 'must' read before crossing the desert on your adventure. The book is available through ExplorOz Shop.
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to get a rabbit

Advertisement
ThreadID: 18242 Replies: 10
Views: 1127 FollowUps: 14
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 86742   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 08:04

Truckster (Vic) replied:

Why are you suprised? You wouldnt risk it in anything else would you???

But ... was it Rosie?
Reply 1 of 10
AnswerID: 86752   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 08:24

Member - Rick (S.A.) replied:

It follows that one should read

" Dune is a four letter word "
by Griselda Sprigg & Rod Maclean. pub Wakefield.

This is an easy read, full of anecdotes about their holiday/working trips to many Outback regions, before they became 'fashionable'.

And if you wish to have some more references about the Simpson, including how it got its name:

"Crossing the dead heart" by Dr C (Cecil) T Madigan. pub JB Books, with a forward by Colin Harris, a pre eminent source of knowledge about the mound springs/ L Eyre/ Simpson region.

Or you could look up www.simpsondesert.fl.net.au

Reply 2 of 10
AnswerID: 86758   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 08:40

GO_OFFROAD replied:

And one of the members here actually has that nissan patrol G60 that first crossed the Simpson.
Reply 3 of 10
FollowupID: 345300   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 09:01

Willem posted:

G'day G O

Maybe you could ask him to post a pic of it on the forum..for general interest?
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 1 of 5
FollowupID: 345309   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 09:08

GO_OFFROAD posted:

Im sure he will see the thread.
FollowUp 2 of 5
FollowupID: 345324   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 09:54

Andrew posted:

The vehicle was indeed a Nissan Patrol.
Reg Sprigg was unable to get commercial backing for his crossing so he went to great lengths not to acknowledge the make of vehicle used. This stance is continued today by his family.
The Patrol was later sold to locals from Oodnadatta and was rolled and extensively damaged. It then went to a junk yard and was partly stripped but the parts were never sold. It is pretty much beyond restoration as every panel is damaged and the chassis is bent/broken.
FollowUp 3 of 5
FollowupID: 345329   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 09:59

Member - Chrispy (NSW) posted:

Really? Wow! How very cool!

I'm sad about having to sell our G60 - but the rust had eaten the chassis out to the point of no return. I was in the middle of planning a competition truck based on it, as Zeke Steggall (Aussie champion snow boarder and brother to Zali - the champion skier) has done.

Didn't realise that they dated back to 1962 though.... mine was a '74.

Tough as nails.... just drive one and see how your back is after a few hundred kays... :)
Our Pug Chops - Defender of the Realm'00 Land Rover Defender TD5
'96 Mitsubishi Delica 2.8TD
'95 Nissan Patrol GQ TD42T
'91 Nissan Patrol GQ RB-30
Our property: http://www.omaroo.net
FollowUp 4 of 5
FollowupID: 345331   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:06

Utemad posted:

We used to tow a 25 foot tandem axle van with a G60 when we went on family holidays. 3.9L 3 spd. Only stopped using it because of extensive rust as it also went to Moreton Island every year for about 10 years. We stopped using it all in about 1997 I think. It was a 1979 model bought brand new as a runout model.
FollowUp 5 of 5
AnswerID: 86764   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 09:34

Des Lexic replied:

And I thought it was some lanky South African and his mate driving a couple of Suzuki's. How dissapointing.
Both books mentioned by Rick are a great read. Reg and his family were crossing the desert while his company were running out sisemic lines and is was not without incident.
It's not the years of your life that matters, it's the life in your years that count.
Reply 4 of 10
FollowupID: 345321   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 09:49

Willem posted:

A bit before my time Des. I was a still at school then and you were still in diapers.......hahahaha
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 1 of 6
FollowupID: 345323   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 09:53

Des Lexic posted:

Some might argue that I should still be in diapers.
I might grow up one day but no plans to do that yet.
It's not the years of your life that matters, it's the life in your years that count.
FollowUp 2 of 6
FollowupID: 345350   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 11:39

Member - John (Vic) posted:

"Lanky South African" Hmmm not how I picture him. LOL
Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Photo 1 - Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Photo 2 - Flinders Ranges - July 2009

FollowUp 3 of 6
FollowupID: 345398   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 15:09

Bonz (Vic) posted:

Not that far before your time Willie!!

Click Image to Enlarge
Ever wonder what the speed of lightning would be if it didn't zigzag?
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
FollowUp 4 of 6
FollowupID: 345420   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 17:33

Willem posted:

John and Bonz....You are marked!!!!!
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 5 of 6
FollowupID: 345448   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 19:25

Bonz (Vic) posted:

7/10 Willem? I dont go out for less than them marks?

Click Image to Enlarge
Ever wonder what the speed of lightning would be if it didn't zigzag?
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
FollowUp 6 of 6
Activities Index
Young Cooks Cooking Party Young Cooks Cooking Party
Sydney - NSW
Why not get a group together and join us for a fun, creative and exciting glimpse into the many joys
Sovereign Hill and Historic Ballarat Sovereign Hill and Historic Ballarat
Goldfields - VIC
Travel to Ballarat and visit Sovereign Hill, a perfectly re-created 1850s goldmining settlement.
Helicopter Picnic Escape For Two Helicopter Picnic Escape For Two
Hunter Valley - NSW
Experience the absolute romance of being whisked to picturesque, historical Wollombi in your own pri
Pilot for a Day Pilot for a Day
Perth - WA
Experience the thrill of flying a plane yourself over Perth with one of our experienced instructors.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 86784   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 11:03

theshadows replied:

Only thing to say ...GO THE G60 ...Go you good thing

shadow
Reply 5 of 10
FollowupID: 345418   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 17:29

Willem posted:

I retired my G60 to a station in the Flinders three months ago. It is still in daily use.
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 86836   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 16:10

Peter replied:

i bought a new g60 in 1970/71 for $5143.00 incl f/w hubs,drove it to Gove,and used it for 8yrs incl 2 trips to darwin,which then took about 4/5 days sold it when i left for more than i paid for it
Reply 6 of 10
AnswerID: 86845   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 17:11

Rhubarb replied:

I was of the believe that the Leyland brothers were the first to cross the Simpson by vechile in Landrovers.

I read it in Mike Leylands Biography. I will pull it out tonight to double check if I am remembering corrrectly. (Unless they are claiming the first South/North crossing...?)
Reply 7 of 10
FollowupID: 345419   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 17:32

Willem posted:

The Leyland Brothers were some of the early travellers and my bibliography tells me their first journey was in 1966.
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 86870   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:06

Peter 2 replied:

Just looking at the Leylands book about their trip (Where Dead Men Lie) and they travelled west to east from Andado to Birdsville roughly in line with the Madigan line.
Started from Steep pt on 3rd May 1966 and finished in Byron Bay on 20th august 1966. The section from Andado to Birdsville took from 15th July till August the 5th.
The Spriggs travelled in similar route, possibly a bit further south, but it would appear that the first vehicle crossing should go to them in 1962 in a G60 Patrol. They were joined by two Toyota's and an International Scout towards the eastern side for the trip into Birdsville.
Funny though I couldn't find any pics of the G60 in 'Dune' but there are quite a few of the Toyota's. But the Nissan is definitely mentioned as the vehicle used in the text.
I also echo Willem's comments on Mark Shephards book on the Simpson.
Mark also wrote a similar book on the Great Victoria Desert which is also a must read before travelling in the area.
Madigan Line 07
Click Image to Enlarge
1988 M1026 Humvee
Reply 8 of 10
AnswerID: 86881   Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 21:01

Bros replied:

Willem,
Are you sure that there was not a little piece of toyota on the nissan somewhere. Maybe a wheel nut or two.
Bros.

Click Image to Enlarge
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.
Reply 9 of 10
AnswerID: 87010   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 16:42

Davoe replied:

There you go , I would have just assumed it was a landrover as they seem to be the comercial vehicle of choice before yota took over
Reply 10 of 10
FollowupID: 345748   Submitted: Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 23:33

Richard Kovac posted:

Have a read of this

link text
Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
FollowUp 1 of 1