canning with a trailer possible?

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 14:50
ThreadID: 20910 Views:2871 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
Thanks for the prompt replies, nice to see a forum working well. I will need the trailer for the medical reasons etc, so we'll give it a go. We should be leaving Billiluna around the 7 th June, if it gets too tough I can always back track. I have a winch and the cruiser has a winch also, I guess the answer will be go slow and steady and really think about each obstacle as it happens, the GU has new tough dog springs and shocks. I will have 270 litres of ulp and 85 litres of gas, I'll leave the gas until the end near well 9-5, so I will have a reasonable reserve. will let you know how it all goes. Thanks again guys

Reply By: Casnat - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 17:25

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 17:25
Hi Ian,

just interested in your fuel configuration. My GU is also on dual fuel but my big problem is that I am only left with a small ULP tank (the main tank has been ripped out and replaced with the gas tank). How much of your 270 Ltrs is carried on the trailer?

Thanks and have a good trip

Trevor
AnswerID: 100820

Follow Up By: Ian Wall - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 10:06

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 10:06
Trevor

my large rear tank was also ripped out, they took out the original side tank and replaced it with a 70 l tank, so 70 l in the vehicle, 8 jerry's on my TJM roof rack(160 l), the trailer holds 2 jerrys, total 270 l, I may have to carry more reading the other replies these could go on the rack on the trailer, the gas holds 86 l of usable lpg but as you know power is down aswell as economy, I'm considering removing the gas tank and putting a 145 l ARB tank under the rear.

FollowupID: 359004

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 18:37

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 18:37
Ian,

I will be doing the CRS the same time as you but will be coming from the south.

We will be getting a fuel drop at well 23.

We still have to carry 350 lt for petrol and 300lt for diesel and that is with no trailer.

AnswerID: 100829

Follow Up By: Member - Timothy N (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 20:54

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 20:54
G'day Wayne. You really shouldn't need to carry that much fuel on the canning anymore. Several years ago in a GU 4.2 diesel I carried 200l from Wiluna to well 23. Carried 260l away from there and easily made it to Halls Creek. Both legs included trips off the main drag to Calvert Range, Separation well and part of Helena Spring track. Could have topped up at Kunawarritji or Billiluna. If you are prepared to ring ahead you could easily do the canning with only 180-200l on board a 6cyl diesel. Different matter with your petrol vehicle though, although I'm pretty sure Kunawaritji has unleaded. Thats a whole lot less weight on your poor old suspension. Hope you have a ball, cause I sure did! Tim.
FollowupID: 358967

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 19:19

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 19:19
I used 331lts of petrol(out of a total fuel load of 340lts) from Bililuna to Well 23 without towing a trailer. Admittedly it was in an older truck, but still. This did include a 180km side trip from Well 42 out to Helena Spring and back.

Go to my website below and click on 4x4 and then Canning Diary. Maybe it will help with your preparations.

You are going to find it very hard going getting up over the dunes from the north. Nevertheless, Good Luck!
AnswerID: 100833

Reply By: howie - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:26

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 21:26
having re-read your earlier post as well, i cannot help advising against a trailer.
if the spine problem is a mattress thing, can't you get something inflatable or suitable for your condition.
the canning has (apparently, i stopped counting) around 900 dunes which will test your health getting in and out to attach winches etc, and also test your mates patience. could make an enjoyable trip into hard work for everyone.
there are some big holes in the dune faces which make the climbs very bumpy (again thinking of the back) and severe corrugations, but i assume you have already considered this.its hard enough on the body without a trailer.
anyway, good luck and hope you enjoy it,
yours jealously,howie

AnswerID: 100861

Follow Up By: Ian Wall - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 10:31

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 10:31
Howie

thanks, however this trip is part of a 4 month venture in the centre and top end, some on the black top, some off road, syd to the rock, holiday with the family - darwin then the kids fly home - 2 weeks in the kimberly on the black top to broome, wife flies home, pick up my pop in broome - gibb river road, kalumbaroo if open - heaps of fishing around these areas- pop flies home from alice, meet up with the other two vehicles in alice 2 nd june, - tanami - canning - gunbarrell - simpson to birdsville then black top back to syd. away 25 the march till approx 20 th july no time constaints, comments from everyone are varied so we may just have to give it a go, if it gets too hard, just bactrack and go another way and leave the canning out, I wont know if I don't go. ha ha It'll be slow and steady and no rush. thanks

FollowupID: 359005

Follow Up By: howie - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 21:07

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 21:07
you didn't mention your itinerary before, now i am very jealous.
understand the camper thing now, good luck again and i'm sure/hope we'll hear from you when you get back.
cheers howie
FollowupID: 359065

Reply By: Troopie - Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 14:31

Thursday, Mar 03, 2005 at 14:31
G'day There
read the earlier post and felt things were covered.... Good luck with the trip - I hope it works out!

Couldn't help myself this time...

Make sure you have a rough idea how to fix your trailer and suspension...

When I did the trip last year - the vehicles we came across having trouble were usually overloaded and had suspension trouble. We came across two people with Trailers - both limping along after trailer damage problems. Suspect they were trying to punch up the dunes too hard from the chatter we heard from one group on the UHF!

I drive a Troopy (4.2 NA Diesel) with 275 litres worth of capacity - we made it from Wiluna to Kunawaritji no worries at all. Didn't bother filling up at Kuna for the rest of the trip - made it no worries.

Let your tyres down - it;s amazing what a couple of extra PSI out of the tyres will make.

Depending on water and heat - you could have an easy run - or a &*%^$ of a time!

All the best and don't rush it - it's magic!

AnswerID: 100968

Reply By: moss - Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 23:49

Monday, Mar 14, 2005 at 23:49
Suggest serious rethink.
The canning is no place for trailers, it can be done as a mate has. Trailer was as he said stuffed after getting through sth to nth. I have been on the canning 3 times and have seen wrecked trailers left out there. They were removed a few years ago during a big clean up.
contact Meekatharra flying doctor or Wiluna or Halls Creek Police for further info.
Travelling nth to sth may be easier with trailer but if you want a pleasant trip, leave the bloody trailer off the canning
moss
AnswerID: 102459

Follow Up By: Ian Wall - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 08:09

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 08:09
Hi Moss
still thinking about the whole thing, I spoke to the police at wiluna they said no problems can be done with a trailer, although I will need help over some of the sand dunes. I will call meeka amd halls creek Police today and have a chat with them also, thanks mate.
FollowupID: 360185

Reply By: moss - Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 23:40

Tuesday, Mar 15, 2005 at 23:40
There is a book out written by Eric and Ronelle Gard (think thats the right spell) which is exc as they have been there over a dozen times, I used to have a copy but sent to Holland for an adventurer on mcycle and lost touch and it did not return. It was updated a couple of years ago and is worth while as it gives history as well as details of Canning SR and where to find graves etc.
There are usually lots of vehicles on the CSR however everyone should be self sufficient and will take 2 to 3 weeks, we did it in 18 days steady steady.
One year we went Meekatharra flying Doctor asked some traveller with a trailer to leave the CSR as they were making the track very rough for others (we heard the radio trans) but they were going nth sth which is harder going over the dunes.
Dont forget to let tyres down for the dunes including trailer!!
good luck and enjoy
moss
AnswerID: 102613