AnswerID: 7255 Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 08, 2002 at 00:00
Damien
replied:
The 3.5L V6 is a very strong & reliable performer but for long distance touring, towing & off-road work you just can't beat the T/D - i must admit, i am biased, i own one!
Servicing costs so far have not been too bad, comparable to petrol. Fuel savings can be huge, depending on your use. My figures range from 10-12L/100km & these figures remain fairly constant whether city driving, long distance touring or towing. Petrol figures start at around 16L/100km but can blow out to well over 20L/100km whilst towing.
While the petrol is zippier, especially round town, the T/D is certainly no slug & is very comfortable & easy to drive.
Out on the highway, it will quite happily sit on 110kmh in 5th & still have ample grunt to get you up any hills without the need to shift down.
The only downside is the traditional diesel "clatter" which is sometimes evident in the cabin & the occasional puff of smoke out the back - nothing too serious to worry about though.
Good luck.
Reply 4 of 7
FollowupID: 3327 Submitted:
Tuesday, Oct 08, 2002 at 00:00
John posted:
I recently bought a Jackaroo (1500km ago). I went for the petrol as we don't do heaps of
miles, mainly do local driving and the odd weekend trip. Damien is spot on with the fuel consumption with mine running between 20 - 24 L/100kms around town, down to 15-17 on the highway. I'm hoping it will get better as the engine runs-in properly, my mate has a 3 year old Monterey that's doing 2 or so L/100 better. I guess it's horses for courses. The more
miles you do the more economical the diesel becomes. Either way we're pretty happy with our and reckon it's great.
FollowUp 1 of 1