Gas bottle sizes

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 15:42
ThreadID: 22385 Views:14368 Replies:12 FollowUps:0
Hi all, I need some advice on gas bottles/cylinders. I am currently doing some modifications to my off road trailer and I want to carry two gas bottles, therefore I am going to mount them on the outside of the trailer.

My problem is this - I need to carry two bottles, one for the gas light/2 burner stove and one for my BBQ and I only use them as required and don't waste them eg keeping the gas light on all night.

At the moment I carry one 4 kg and one 9 kg cylinder and I have to pack them inside the trailer. Most of my camping is done around the seven day mark and to date I have not run out of gas (ensuring that they are full when I leave).

To save major hassels on the modification I am thinking of only carrying two 4 kg bottles.

What I am after is what do other people carry and what sort of use do they get out of their gas bottles and how long do they last for.

Any helpful responses would greatful.

Thanks Karl.

Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 16:12

Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 16:12
I use a 4kg (or 4.5kg . . . cant remember).

I no longer use a gas light , and only my Coleman Low pressure Stove.

I can use the stove , morning , lunch , and tea , plus heating water etc etc.

I have used it for 2 weeks , and still didn't get close to running out.

I think 2 X 4kg , would give you plenty , even running lights.

Its been a quite a while , but I'm about 99% positive , we did 6 or 7 days running both normal stove and light , easily on one bottle. I had a second as a backup , but I dont ever recall having to switch over due to running out on a full bottle.

We tended to switch between them. One full bottle , and whatever was left in the other. Run the part one , till empty , then change. Then refill the empty for next time.
AnswerID: 108262

Reply By: locallaw - Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 16:43

Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 16:43
Gidday,I am glad that you are putting them outside as I can remember a trailer being blown to bits when a cylinder leaked and a spark from the lights ignited the gas.That would be a big bang wouldn't it and put a finish to the trip.
Seeya Locallaw
AnswerID: 108265

Reply By: Penguin (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 17:02

Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 17:02
Hi Karl

I use gas for the fridge and a four burner stove and carry two 9kg bottles on the A-frame. We have just clocked up 50 nights in our trailer and I have just started on the fourth bottle. There have been a few nights when we've been plugged in so the fridge wasn't using gas (about 4-5). Roughly, a bottle is lasting us 15 nights.

AnswerID: 108272

Reply By: TheUndertaker - Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 17:06

Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 17:06
Well Karl , we use 3x4.5kg ,,,1 for 2 burner stove, 1 for single burner with bbq plate and the 3rd bottle is/was used for the chescold fridge , we now tend to leave the chescold at home and use the waeco + engle and use the 3rd bottle for the coleman hot water system ,, we have no real idea of how long ea bottle lasts ,except that when running the chescold a full 4.5 bottle lasts 10+ days.
AnswerID: 108274

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 18:07

Tuesday, Apr 26, 2005 at 18:07
Karl, do yourself a favour and ditch the gas light. Go for a good 12v fluro with 1amp draw.(put out the same light as a 75w light globe) You will never look back.
AnswerID: 108285

Reply By: D-Jack - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2005 at 00:40

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2005 at 00:40
Take the 4kil cylinders and a butane cartridge burner (about $20 + 1.60 per cartridge which lasts for ages) as backup for cooking. They rock.

D-Jack
AnswerID: 108369

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2005 at 02:33

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2005 at 02:33
when I lived in a caravan 1 9kg gas bottle would last a year - cooking uses stuff all gas
AnswerID: 108376

Reply By: fozzy - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2005 at 07:38

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2005 at 07:38
karl
used to use 2 X 4kg but changed to 2 X 2kg as would want to fill up before each trip. used to use gas light on pole with 3 burner stove but have moved to flouro light.
sometimes used take gas light on trips where sitting for 3 or more days but rarely used-havent used for ages now.
depends on what bbq u have-if its a aussie bbq they actually use a fair bit of gas if on high.
2 X 2kg bottles lasts me approx 8 days worth of camping-could be more but generally fill up before run out.
if you got a flouro light to use then if run out of gas at least u have light to use and most likely will ditch the gas light.
2X4kg should be heaps for 7 days
i had 2X4kg for 2 week trip and had heaps left in one bottle-raq the other one out cos other people using it to cook on-that was running stove cooking brekky/boiling water for coffee and dishes/cooking tea and sometimes with light running
another mate had 2X2kg doing much same for 2 weeks but cooked camp roast on them but ran out one cple days before us

fozzy
AnswerID: 108382

Reply By: Member - Karl - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2005 at 16:56

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2005 at 16:56
Thanks to all who responded. I think I'll go the 2 x 4kg. I am going to mount them on the A frame behind my spare wheel and I didn't want the hassel of moving the spare wheel forward. When I can afford it I am going to get one of the converters (inverters) and mount it in the rear for ligths etc.

Again thanks.
AnswerID: 108434

Reply By: flappa - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2005 at 17:07

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2005 at 17:07
Just be careful where on the A frame they go. They have to be wholly within the frame (nothing sticking out). Depends on how much room you have.

Mine are down the side of the trailer.
AnswerID: 108436

Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 21:02

Saturday, Apr 30, 2005 at 21:02
Hi Karl,
We get good service out of two 4.5k bottles. We empty one completely and then connect to the new one filling the empty at our convenience. We use them to cook on a two burner low pressure stove. I like low pressure now I have converten and it is possible to run the gas over a longer run with low pressure which might be a consideration for you if you mount on the A-frame and cook at the rear of your rig.
Camper
AnswerID: 108994

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, May 01, 2005 at 14:20

Sunday, May 01, 2005 at 14:20
Karl a 4kg bottle of LPG has a heat value of approx 200MJs. Your cookers, light etc should have a max rating in MJ/hr on them somewhere (or find it on the net) Divide the MJs in your gas bottles by the rating and you'll be left with the hours of use you can expect to get if using the appliances at full rate..
AnswerID: 109067