Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

mack tuck bonnet mascot

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 15:47

Mr Z

probably a bit of a silly question but i am really keen to get a mack dog to put on my bull bsr does anyone know where i might be able to find such a trinket and for how much? someone told me there are 2 sizes a small and a large? anyone know the actual sizes of both

i dont want it to be too big

thanks
ThreadID: 25287 Replies: 11
Views: 988 FollowUps: 7
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 123365   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 16:15

dicko1980 replied:

There's only one size for these mascots that I know about and it is the one on the bonnet of any mack. You can either purchase a bulldog mascot from Mack new, don't know an exact price, but my father used to own a Mack truck, and their part prices can be a little harsh sometimes. The best place to source a bulldog is Ebay. There are always mascots for sale here in Oz, but if you find it hard to source one, Ebay in the US has heaps of them listed. Good Luck

Regards Dicko1980
Reply 1 of 11
AnswerID: 123367   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 16:19

flappa replied:

Technically of course it would be illegal to have it on the BB , but , thats a seperate issue.

Cant help with locating one , sorry
Reply 2 of 11
FollowupID: 378432   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 17:24

Mr Z posted:

but , thats a seperate issue...........................

indeed it is.........................
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 123388   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 18:00

Bullwinkle replied:

I paid $160 for mine years ago and on the legal side of it our favorite local tax collector told me it had to come off as it has no give if I hit somebody.
Reply 3 of 11
AnswerID: 123391   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 18:09

Member - Brad G (SA) replied:

Try any truck wrecking yard
Cheers Brad
Between two evils, I always pick the one I've never tried before. - Mae West
Reply 4 of 11
Activities Index
Sydney Whale Watching Adventure Sydney Whale Watching Adventure
Sydney - NSW
Ride the surf and swell out of the harbour and enjoy the greatest adventure whale watching tour in S
Ningaloo Adventure 4WD Safari Tour Ningaloo Adventure 4WD Safari Tour
Mid West - WA
This 7 day adventure covers the best of the West Coast while you soak up WA''s sunshine!
Microlite Joy Flight - 70 Minutes Microlite Joy Flight - 70 Minutes
Fraser Coast - QLD
Take a 75 minute joy flight over Lake McKenzie, 75 Mile Beach and the Maheno Shipwreck on Fraser Isl
Introductory Surf Lessons in Byron Bay Introductory Surf Lessons in Byron Bay
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
Learn to surf with the most personalised surf school in Byron Bay!
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 123395   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 18:19

spondo replied:

try mack trucks at chipping norton........... after driving a mack for a large number of years i found nothing more boring than looking up a dogs @$$ all day & night long, or you could always turn it around and spark up a conversation with it.....

all in good fun
Reply 5 of 11
FollowupID: 378443   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 18:51

dicko1980 posted:

They reckon the reason that the Mack dog is smiling, is because he's only standing in the sh%t, not sitting in it.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 123407   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 18:50

Exploder replied:

Yes $160 is about the right price, Mate had one on his 75 series T/Top, He said I should put one on my Explorer thought it would look good.

I said you’re an idiot, and it wasn’t going to happen.
Reply 6 of 11
AnswerID: 123426   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:00

V8Diesel replied:

Mack sell them in various configurations - chrome, gold, eyes lit up etc. Think they start around the $100 mark for the Belmont. You can even get half ones for the sides of the guards / bonnet. Never actually fitted one, but I 've always wanted to;-)

I had a Mack 12 speed shifter on my Patrol too. Am I a tosser you ask? Probably, but I'm having loads of fun!

It's a shame Mack and Caterpillar both decided to go ghey with their caps these days. Very poxy now days.
Reply 7 of 11
FollowupID: 378503   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 23:47

Mr Z posted:

do you know of anywhere online where i can view the different styles?

otherwise i'll do a ring around the mack dealers in melbourne
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 378534   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 09:33

V8Diesel posted:

I'm in WA and I know Mack sell them from their Gt Eastern Hwy branch near Westrac - as for Melbourne, 'fraid I can't help ya mate. Haven't looked on the internet myself.

They sell mudflaps for under $20 too.

Gotta love the 'real' Mack's though, what a truck. Used to drive a Value Liner with the 350hp Econondyne donk in it pulling double side tippers. After driving Euro trucks I discovered Mack horsies seem to be a bit different from Swedish ones:-)
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 123428   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 20:10

PhilRob replied:

You should get 1 free at any good truck stop while 1 of those big fat blue
singlet wearing T bone steak eating slobs is in there stuffing his face.

he he.
Reply 8 of 11
FollowupID: 378501   Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 23:34

rickwagupatrol posted:

just don't ever let me see you doing it philrob.........heheheh

from one of the " big fat blue singlet wearing T bone eating slobs"

cheeta bars look reeeeel cool embeded in a thiefs head...hehe

So many choices
Click Image to Enlarge
on top of the world.............:)
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 378702   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:57

PhilRob posted:

I thought i'd get a bite with that one.....hehehe
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 123481   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 00:19

ellmcg replied:

As someone who has nothing to do all night but look stuff up on the web, I have discovered a couple of reasonably priced stainless steel ones on ebay:

http://search.ebay.com.au/mack-mascot_W0QQsofocusZbsQQsbrftogZ1QQfromZR10QQsacatZ-1QQcatrefZC6QQsargnZ-1QQsaslcZ2QQsadisZ200QQfposZPostcodeQQga10244Z10425QQftrtZ1QQftrvZ1QQfsopZ1QQfsooZ1QQcoactionZcompareQQcopagenumZ1QQcoentrypageZsearch
Reply 9 of 11
AnswerID: 123555   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 13:01

Mr Z replied:

for anyone else that might be interested i found them here

http://www.macktrucks.com.au/index.cfm?ContentTypeIDList=6&ContentTypeIDs=1000&MenuID=242

you can also get a base for them,(same as on the trucks) but i'm not sure if this would look to big on a 4b. The base is $88! the actual dog is $75
Reply 10 of 11
AnswerID: 123582   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 14:49

Truckster (Vic) replied:

You would be much better off with a set of these
Reply 11 of 11
FollowupID: 378594   Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 15:28

Mr Z posted:

already got a set of those
FollowUp 1 of 1